The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
  • GE
  • Model GNE29GMHES
  • Internet #205502677
  • Store SO SKU #1001100618

28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Discontinued Model:

Model # GNE26GMDES

Internet #203533361

Store SO SKU #700052

GE 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate
0084691249436

Discontinued GE

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate

Model# GNE26GMDES
Store SO SKU# 700052

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements
Haul Away Icon
Move or
Haul Away
We'll move your old appliance to another room in your house, or haul it away for $15
Price Match Icon
Price Match
Guarantee
We will match prices including shipping of any other online competitor
Learn More
Home Depot Protection Plan Icon
The Home Depot Protection Plan
Let's Protect This
Get 24/7 support and more with a Home Depot Protection Plan. 5-year and 3-year plans available, starting at $40
Learn More

Product Overview

The GNE26GMDES 26.3 cu. ft. French-Door Refrigerator offers an array of features for your convenience including an in-door water filter, and FrostGuard defrost technology. It also features Showcase LED lighting, positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside both the refrigerator and freezer. And with GE's exclusive Pure and Clean Filtration system, you have the peace of mind that your water is fresh and clean.
  • Factory-installed icemaker eliminates the need to fill ice trays and ensures you have a steady supply of ice on hand
  • GE’s exclusive advanced filtration system removes trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice
  • Internal controls with actual-temperature display eliminate the guesswork of temperature setting with actual degrees displayed digitally
  • TwinChill evaporators with separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help maintain temperature and humidity levels, keeping foods fresh
  • 5 Glass shelves total with 3 spill proof that contain spills and simplify cleanup, preventing liquids from leaking onto shelves below
  • QuickSpace shelf functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility
  • Full-width adjustable temperature-controlled drawer has 5 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods
  • 17.8 cu. ft. Fresh food capacity provides additional interior space, while 8.5 cu. ft. freezer capacity allows for additional storage space
  • 3 Freezer baskets provide organized storage for frozen foods
  • Express your unique style and harmonize your kitchen space with GE's new Slate finish, a sophisticated, rich and amazingly versatile matte metallic finish
  • Showcase LED lighting positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and incandescent in the freezer
  • 3 Fresh food cabinet drawers, including 1 full-width, adjustable temperature and 2 adjustable humidity
  • Three Door French Door Refrigerator has two fresh food doors, and one bottom mount freezer drawer
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter - Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)
  • Click here to learn more about GE Slate Appliances

Product Overview

Model #: GNE26GMDES
Internet #: 203533361

The GNE26GMDES 26.3 cu. ft. French-Door Refrigerator offers an array of features for your convenience including an in-door water filter, and FrostGuard defrost technology. It also features Showcase LED lighting, positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside both the refrigerator and freezer. And with GE's exclusive Pure and Clean Filtration system, you have the peace of mind that your water is fresh and clean.

  • Factory-installed icemaker eliminates the need to fill ice trays and ensures you have a steady supply of ice on hand
  • GE’s exclusive advanced filtration system removes trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice
  • Internal controls with actual-temperature display eliminate the guesswork of temperature setting with actual degrees displayed digitally
  • TwinChill evaporators with separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help maintain temperature and humidity levels, keeping foods fresh
  • 5 Glass shelves total with 3 spill proof that contain spills and simplify cleanup, preventing liquids from leaking onto shelves below
  • QuickSpace shelf functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility
  • Full-width adjustable temperature-controlled drawer has 5 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods
  • 17.8 cu. ft. Fresh food capacity provides additional interior space, while 8.5 cu. ft. freezer capacity allows for additional storage space
  • 3 Freezer baskets provide organized storage for frozen foods
  • Express your unique style and harmonize your kitchen space with GE's new Slate finish, a sophisticated, rich and amazingly versatile matte metallic finish
  • Showcase LED lighting positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and incandescent in the freezer
  • 3 Fresh food cabinet drawers, including 1 full-width, adjustable temperature and 2 adjustable humidity
  • Three Door French Door Refrigerator has two fresh food doors, and one bottom mount freezer drawer
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter - Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)
  • Click here to learn more about GE Slate Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $1,999.00
$1,799.00 /each
Save $200.00 (10%)
$1,999.00 /each
Was $2,999.00
$2,198.00 /each
Save $801.00 (27%)
Was $3,199.00
$2,398.00 /each
Save $801.00 (25%)
Name 28.5 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate 35.75 in. W 27.8 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator with Hands Free Autofill in Slate, ENERGY STAR 35.75 in. 27.8 cu. ft. Smart French Door Refrigerator with Keurig K-Cup and WiFi in Slate, ENERGY STAR
Brand GE GE GE Profile GE Profile
Ratings (535) (318) (388) (35)
Ice/Water Dispenser No No Yes Yes
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Refrigerators 28.5 26.3 27.8 27.8
Refrigerator Width (In.) 35.75 35.75 35.75 35.75
Depth (Excluding Handles) 33.75 33.25 in 35.25 35.25
Height to Top of Refrigerator (in.) 69 69.875 in 69 69
Height to Top of Door Hinge 69.875 69 in 69.875 69.875
Counter Depth (Yes/No) No No No No
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- -- --
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Depth (Excluding Handles)
33.25 in
Depth (Including Handles)
36 in
Depth (Less Door)
29.25 in
Depth With Door Open 90 Degrees (In)
48
Height to Top of Door Hinge
69 in
Height to Top of Refrigerator (in.)
69.875 in
Product Depth (in.)
36
Product Height (in.)
69.875
Product Width (in.)
35.75
Refrigerator Width (In.)
35.75

Details

Appliance Type
French Door Refrigerator
Capacity (cu. Ft.) - Freezer
8.5
Capacity (cu. Ft.) - Fresh Food
17.8 cu ft
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Refrigerators
26.3
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Total
26.3
Color - Appliance Cabinet
Slate
Color - Door Handle(s)
Slate
Color/Finish
Slate
Color/Finish Family
Slate
Counter Depth (Yes/No)
No
Defrost Type
Frost Free
Door Finish
Smooth
Energy Consumption (kWh/year)
483
Energy Efficiency Tier Rating
Not CEE rated
Freezer Door Type
Pull Out Drawer
Freezer Features
No Additional Features
General Features
Door Alarm,Hidden Hinge,LED Light Type
Ice Maker
Single
Ice Maker Features
Factory-Installed Icemaker
Ice/Water Dispenser
No
Number of Doors
3
Number of Freezer Baskets/Bins
3.0
Number of Freezer Shelves
0
Number of Fresh Food Shelves
5
Operational Features
Dual Evaporated Cooling System,Humidity Controlled Crisper,Sabbath Mode
Product Weight (lb.)
375lb
Refrigeration Dispenser Features
Filtration System,Water Filtration
Refrigerator Type
Freestanding
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Shelf Material - Freezer
No Shelf
Shelf Material - Refrigerator
Glass
Storage Features
Adjustable Door Storage,Deli Drawer,Gallon Door Storage,Spill Proof Shelves
Temperature Control Type
Internal digital
Water Filter Replacement Model#
RPWF

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,NSF Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year entire appliance

Specifications

Dimensions

Depth (Excluding Handles)
33.25 in
Depth (Including Handles)
36 in
Depth (Less Door)
29.25 in
Depth With Door Open 90 Degrees (In)
48
Height to Top of Door Hinge
69 in
Height to Top of Refrigerator (in.)
69.875 in
Product Depth (in.)
36
Product Height (in.)
69.875
Product Width (in.)
35.75
Refrigerator Width (In.)
35.75

Details

Appliance Type
French Door Refrigerator
Capacity (cu. Ft.) - Freezer
8.5
Capacity (cu. Ft.) - Fresh Food
17.8 cu ft
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Refrigerators
26.3
Capacity (cu. ft.) - Total
26.3
Color - Appliance Cabinet
Slate
Color - Door Handle(s)
Slate
Color/Finish
Slate
Color/Finish Family
Slate
Counter Depth (Yes/No)
No
Defrost Type
Frost Free
Door Finish
Smooth
Energy Consumption (kWh/year)
483
Energy Efficiency Tier Rating
Not CEE rated
Freezer Door Type
Pull Out Drawer
Freezer Features
No Additional Features
General Features
Door Alarm,Hidden Hinge,LED Light Type
Ice Maker
Single
Ice Maker Features
Factory-Installed Icemaker
Ice/Water Dispenser
No
Number of Doors
3
Number of Freezer Baskets/Bins
3.0
Number of Freezer Shelves
0
Number of Fresh Food Shelves
5
Operational Features
Dual Evaporated Cooling System,Humidity Controlled Crisper,Sabbath Mode
Product Weight (lb.)
375lb
Refrigeration Dispenser Features
Filtration System,Water Filtration
Refrigerator Type
Freestanding
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Shelf Material - Freezer
No Shelf
Shelf Material - Refrigerator
Glass
Storage Features
Adjustable Door Storage,Deli Drawer,Gallon Door Storage,Spill Proof Shelves
Temperature Control Type
Internal digital
Water Filter Replacement Model#
RPWF

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed,NSF Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year entire appliance

Questions & Answers

will mild dishwasing soap take off ther stickiness left after the protective film was removed?? What is considered"mild" dish soap?

Asked by: ess
I have the slate finish. Goo gone removed the sticky finish, then mufti surface cleaner. It took a couple times but sticky is all gone.
Answered by: Dj1966
Date published: 2015-09-20

what color is the sides of this refrigerator? are there any pictures? what about pictures of the freezer?

Asked by: kgbkenny
The sides of the refrigerator are black.
Answered by: robbieh
Date published: 2015-09-20

does the slate model come with indoor water and ice dispensors?

Asked by: Bella
Yes it does...I have one. I love it!
Answered by: LadyInLadyLake3815
Date published: 2015-09-20

what is the best way to clean the slate finish?

Asked by: appldept
I use a damp cloth with light soapy suds and wipe dry.... it works on the handles as well.
Answered by: LadyInLadyLake3815
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_, sid_203533361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 122ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

26.3 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Slate is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 318.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my frig! We purchased our refrigerator in June. We love everything about it. The freezer on the bottom is wonderful and is very spacious and everything stays organized. The lighting in the refrigerator section is terrific. The storage areas on the double doors hold so much stuff! The main area is very spacious and is very easy to clean. I find myself staying very organized and neat. Also the bins hold so much. This refrigerator is wonderful!
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous and user friendly! This fridge is gorgeous- I love the finish much more than stainless. It's elegant and easier to keep clean, and the handles are brushed stainless. The shelves are adjustable and there is plenty of room for large things like a turkey and bottles of wine. I love that it chimes when the door is open too long- we've lost entire refrigerators full of groceries from the door accidentally being left open on other new models.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from attractive finish except door handles I bought this 3 months ago mainly because of the attractive design and finger print resistant finish. I love the slate finish but was disappointed that the door handles are not finger print resistant. The interior is satisfactory except for the bottom drawer that in my opinion should be split into two, just like the drawers above, so that one would not have to open both doors to get to one side of the bottom drawer.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color I posted a review after I first purchased but now, after using it for 4 months, I would like to share a few more things. The fridge part is wonderful, so much room and easy to organize but there is a trade off in the freezer. I like organization and it is hard to organize since there is only one drawer. It is like one big box. I ended up purchasing plastic bins to maintain some organization. Also, the I noticed my coffee creamer would prematurely curdle if kept on the door but is just fine when kept in the main part of my fridge. I love the alarm that tells you the door is open. My previous GE Profile side by side doors would automatically swing shut; this model will not and the user has to actually close the doors. Four months out, I am still not used to this. Also, daily I have to clean the handles. I would suggest using a darker or textured handle on future remodels.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME REFRIDGERATOR I bought this about a month ago and am so glad I did. This refrigerator has everything we need. It is so roomy and has plenty of organization so food doesn't get 'lost'. The drawer for meat and cheese is perfect. The room on the door storage is ample and holds so much more than my previous refrigerator. The freezer drawers aren't wire racks so food won't fall through. Wonderful product would highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lights Bought this GE bottom freezer from the floor because I like the bronze finish. The bottom freezer is just like I wanted, ice maker with removable tray and two levels of storage. I like the divider, it's handy. The two door frig provides plenty of storage and access. My only complaint is the large drawer that spans the width of the frig always drags and pops. The draw isn't overloaded but doesn't fit well.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this fridge!! I bought this about 2 months ago and I am so happy I did. The freezer on the bottom has tons of space to hold everything from frozen large pizza's to full 10lb bags of ice! The ice maker creates ice fast and I never run out. I love the double doors on top. It allows me to put in large sheet cakes with ease. And I LOVE the color, so unique and looks classy in the kitchen. The color is very different from others and I love that. Great buy!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE Quality GE quality is only one of many reasons to buy this beautiful refrigerator. The slate color is great and fits into any color decor adding a unusual change from more traditional finishes. The interior design of the shelves makes finding anything in the frig easy. And I would definitely recommend the french doors we choose, since our kitchen is on the small side. GE products make buying a frig a no brainer!
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I bought it about a month ago, so tired of my side by side not having room. Got it just in time for my son's birthday, was able to put everything from my side by side in it plus prepare food for 20 dinner guests and store a 1/4 sheet cake with ease. Kids love they can open one door and have easy access to milk, love the LED lighting, the ease or finding anything, and the room for an always "starving" boy. Very happy with my choice.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great finish! I purchased my four kitchen appliances last May when I moved to my new home. This is the best refrigerator I have ever owned. The size and flexibility of shelf height is great. My favorite feature is the Slate finish on my four kitchen appliances. I need to clean the stainless steel handles several times daily, but the Slate finish stays fingerprint free. Everyone that sees my new kitchen loves the look of the GE Slate appliances.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Storage with Adj. shelf for tall items. I bought this 6 months ago and I'm very pleased with it. The color is great balancing the black appliances and stainless steel that already existed in the kitchen when I purchased the house. As required I would replace existing appliances to blend in with this refrigerator.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I purchased this fridge a month ago and i have to say i'm pleased with it. It's super roomy and the shelves are adjustable. has a meat, cheese, veggie, and fruit section unlike many. The lights inside the fridge are bright enough to where i haven't had a dark area as of yet. Over all it has plenty of storage in the fridge compartment and freezer compartment!
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Fridge We bought this refrigerator when our old side by side died. It has so much more room and ease of access to foods that things are less likely to disappear than with the old one. The lighting is excellent as is temperature control.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful...and works great too! I bought the slate colored appliances about a month ago. My goal was to find something that was smudge proof and had a large capacity fridge and freezer. Well, we accomplished both with this purchase. The color is beautiful, the freezer holds quite a bit and stays very organized and the refrigerator has flexible shelving which is great. We love it!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the size! We first bought a side-by-side and it was on back-order so the store gave us a loner (same model fridge that we had ordered) to use til it came in. After a week we didn't like it so we switched to this fridge and we love it! We really like all the space and the lighting makes it so easy to see everything on every shelf!! Would recommend to anyone!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Size is perfect. This is my first French door refrigerator and I love it. The interior space works for all varieties of products and the large flat drawer comes in handier than anticipated. The freezer is large and easy to use. The separated drawers help to keep similar items together and visible. All in all this has been a great purchase.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful Fridge, Poor Quality The fan on the fridge began making unusual noises about 30 days after installation, then failed entirely within two months. Under warranty, but doesn't bode welll...
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Buy! Our new refrigerator was delivered last week. I had done a lot of research online and I was impressed that GE make theirs in the USA! I had looked at other brands, some much more expensive, and GE was comparable in features and quality. My wife is totally blown away by the space and beauty of this appliance.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from problems after only 3 months I like the style but am surprised to have issues with our fridge needing repair after only 3 months, expected the dishwasher to be quieter
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from horse111 Bought on appearance whichn is a smooth slate color. Powered up quickly and ice cane out as scheduled large food capacity
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great and works well!!! We bought this refrigerator after looking at different models/styles for a couple months. The slate finish along with the layout of the refrigerator sold us on this brand/model. The slate color looks better then stainless and doesn't show finger prints. Very happy with purchase and would recommend it to anyone shopping for a simular model refrigerator.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful We had an old fridge and decided to upgrade. This fridge is more than roomy enough for our growing family.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great refrigerator Just go this a week ago and already love it. Separate pull out for the ice in the freezer is great.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous, works great, Lots of options I love this fridge. I love how easy it is to move around all the shelves and such. I have a roommate and the design makes it very easy to split the entire storage space in half. The ice maker makes great ice. It stays cool, the controls are simple. Its great, and I have no complaints.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it so far! We went through changes looking for the perfect fridge to fit and function the way we wanted. This fits the bill 100% so far but we just had it installed today. I'm a little intimidated by how high tech it is but I'm sure I'll be loving that too once I get over the learning curve.
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome everything! Best refrigerator I've ever owned...love everything about it! So glad I have it....
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific color, easy to keep clean Our old refridgerator died overnight so had to get a new one asap. Hate stainless steel so was dreading the purchase - then I saw the SLATE! Love, love love it! Easy to clean, love the lighting inside and deep door storage. Freezer drawer holds A LOT and is easy to organize too!
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super size! Love the lighting! This is a great size refrigerator with plenty door space.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice! I bought this refrigerator September 2013 as a 4 piece appliance set (stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. This refrigerator has more than enough space to accommodate a family of 4 (2 teenage boys). Best buy I've made in a long time for an appliance. Good job GE!!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New GE Fridge Beautiful Slate Color, cooling quickly, spacious, Love GE Products
Date published: 2015-01-31
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_318
  • loc_, sid_203533361, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 194ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT