Internet #206300285

Model # 29434

Store SKU #1001608884

0030878294348

GE

36 in. Premium LED Direct Wire Under Cabinet Light

  • 36 in. premium LED direct wire light fixture
  • Fully diffused with no hotspots, dimmer compatible
  • UL listed with a limited-lifetime warranty
$ 59 97
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • 36 in. premium LED direct wire light fixture
  • Fully diffused with no hotspots, dimmer compatible
  • UL listed with a limited-lifetime warranty
Add a light to the hard to see places in your kitchen with a Premium LED Direct Wire Light Fixture from GE. Perfect for providing under cabinet lighting in your kitchen, home office or studio, the 36 in. light fixture features full range front phase dimmability, helping you control the threshold of light in your home. Even though the fixture is a high-powered LED light source, it has minimal power consumption with a life of 50,000 hours of LED power. The LED fixture is cool to the touch, will never overheat, provides an even diffused, soft white light and there are no bulbs to replace. This metal fixtures includes all mounting hardware and instruction manual for easy installation. This product is UL listed and is backed by a lifetime warranty.
  • 36 in. LED light bar is fully assembled and ready to install right from the box, hardware and instructions are included
  • Powered via direct wire and shines at high-powered bright 1366-Lumens; works with most in wall dimmers, great for putting the finishing touch on a work area
  • LED lights means long life, no bulbs to replace and energy efficient
  • Fully diffused light means no hot spots, the light comes with an on/off switch built into the fixture
  • UL listed
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Fixture is a direct-wire solution, installation by a professional electrician is recommended
  • 120 VAC/60 Hz
  • Estimated energy cost: $2.20/year
  • Click here to learn more about Energy Efficiency
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

  • 36 in. premium LED direct wire light fixture
  • Fully diffused with no hotspots, dimmer compatible
  • UL listed with a limited-lifetime warranty
Model #: 29434
Sku #: 1001608884
Internet #: 206300285

Add a light to the hard to see places in your kitchen with a Premium LED Direct Wire Light Fixture from GE. Perfect for providing under cabinet lighting in your kitchen, home office or studio, the 36 in. light fixture features full range front phase dimmability, helping you control the threshold of light in your home. Even though the fixture is a high-powered LED light source, it has minimal power consumption with a life of 50,000 hours of LED power. The LED fixture is cool to the touch, will never overheat, provides an even diffused, soft white light and there are no bulbs to replace. This metal fixtures includes all mounting hardware and instruction manual for easy installation. This product is UL listed and is backed by a lifetime warranty.

  • 36 in. LED light bar is fully assembled and ready to install right from the box, hardware and instructions are included
  • Powered via direct wire and shines at high-powered bright 1366-Lumens; works with most in wall dimmers, great for putting the finishing touch on a work area
  • LED lights means long life, no bulbs to replace and energy efficient
  • Fully diffused light means no hot spots, the light comes with an on/off switch built into the fixture
  • UL listed
  • Lifetime warranty
  • Fixture is a direct-wire solution, installation by a professional electrician is recommended
  • 120 VAC/60 Hz
  • Estimated energy cost: $2.20/year
  • Click here to learn more about Energy Efficiency
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand GE GE Commercial Electric GE
Name 12 in. LED Wireless Under Cabinet Light 24 in. Premium LED Linkable Under Cabinet Light Fixture 24 in. LED White Direct Wire Under Cabinet Light 36 in. Premium LED Direct Wire Under Cabinet Light
Price
$11.99
$39.97
$42.97
$59.97
Ratings (400) (338) (135) (514)
Light Bulb Type Included Integrated LED Integrated LED Integrated LED Integrated LED
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
3.25
Product Height (in.)
1.33
Product Width (in.)
36

Details

Actual Color Temperature (K)
3000
Color Rendering Index (CRI)
91
Color Temperature
Bright White
Color/Finish Family
White
Commercial/Residential
Commercial,Residential
Connection Type
Hardwired
Fixture Color/Finish
White
Fixture Material
Metal
Hardware Included
Yes
Light Bulb Type Included
Integrated LED
Linkable
No
Lumens
1366
Mounting Method
Keyhole
Product Weight (lb.)
1.84lb
Replaceable LED Module
No
Returnable
90-Day
Slim line
No
Style
Classic

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Lifetime

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
3.25
Product Height (in.)
1.33
Product Width (in.)
36

Details

Actual Color Temperature (K)
3000
Color Rendering Index (CRI)
91
Color Temperature
Bright White
Color/Finish Family
White
Commercial/Residential
Commercial,Residential
Connection Type
Hardwired
Fixture Color/Finish
White
Fixture Material
Metal
Hardware Included
Yes
Light Bulb Type Included
Integrated LED
Linkable
No
Lumens
1366
Mounting Method
Keyhole
Product Weight (lb.)
1.84lb
Replaceable LED Module
No
Returnable
90-Day
Slim line
No
Style
Classic

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Lifetime

Questions & Answers

Is this fixture dimmable ?

Asked by: Bob
Technically, yes, they can be dimmed. But even with listed, approved dimmers, 2 of the 5 we installed began to flicker shortly after installation. I tried different settings on those dimmers, no luck. I even tried different "approved" dimmers. Again, no luck.
Answered by: Tom
Date published: 2019-06-07

Are there multiple wiring knock-outs, including on the back side?

I can only see one on the end in the photo. The florescent lights I'm replacing are wired through the back.
Asked by: Jon
There may be on other sizes, but there is NOT a middle back knockout on the 18". And now if you excuse me, I have to get in my car and drive back to the store to exchange the 18" and get one that does.
Answered by: Jerry
Date published: 2019-07-13

Is it true that these lights do not need a power supply/transformer because you run the Romex fro...

Is it true that these lights do not need a power supply/transformer because you run the Romex from the dimmer directly to the light fixture? Most all other LED undercabinet lighting such as RDA require Romex to a Power Supply and then door bell wire to each fixture.
Asked by: vanripsm
Correct. The power supply (LED driver) is integrated into the fixture. Your incoming Romex should contain line (120 volt) voltage.
Answered by: Greg
Date published: 2018-04-13

Since there's no bulb, what do I do throw the light out and spend another $50?????

Since there's no bulb, what do I do throw the light out and spend another $50?????
Asked by: Cab
Yes, in about 16 years you'd need to spend another $50 (by then, $100).
Answered by: Mezzfin
Date published: 2018-12-08
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_116
  • loc_, sid_206300285, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

36 in. Premium LED Direct Wire Under Cabinet Light is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 514.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very clean look. ... Very clean look.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install ... Easy to install
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy... Very happy
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall very satisfied, will be purchasing and installing more at home. The LED strip lights are ... Overall very satisfied, will be purchasing and installing more at home. The LED strip lights are an upgrade from the 20-year-old small fluorescent undercounter lights we had--very happy with that. Seems sturdily enough built (I know the GE name is owned by goodness-knows-who these days); I just found the little screws a little more "fiddly" than I'd like: the two to screw housing to undercounter, the two (seen in photo) to reattach the cover after screwing into place. I'm in my 60s, wishing the screws weren't so teeny-tiny, but that's really my only complaint. If I could give this, say, 4-1/2 stars, I certainly would. I did like the little square "wire nuts" already attached to the lamp's three wires---you just strip about 1/2 inch of insulation off your power-source wires, and clip them into these "wire nuts" without any kind of twisting. (Seemed plenty secure to me.) I bought the hardwire version---I think it's available corded also, so buyer should be careful to choose the right one. Purchased only a few weeks ago, but so far it's delivering 100%.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I think this fixture is overpriced for the value. The installation was difficult for me, and I do... I think this fixture is overpriced for the value. The installation was difficult for me, and I done fixture installations before this one. To start with, getting the fixture apart was not easy. I found out later the two small end screws are difficult to reattach when the fixture is already hanging underneath the cabinet. I loosened the two mount screws to the cabinet, so I could slip off the fixture to get the end screws reattached, then slipped the fixture back on to the mount screws. The retaining nut to the wire harness to be attached to the end of the fixture did not want to be threaded. I finally left it loose. Lining up the cover for reattachment took several attempts because the two end screws holes would not line up. I wound up forcing bigger screws into the holes to get the screws to bite onto the cover. Wiring the fixture to the dimmer switch was no problem. When I activated the circuit, the fixture responded well to the dimmer. I will not buy another of these fixtures.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice under cabinet light We wanted this light to go over our kitchen sink. The directions say it can't be used over a sink, and an electrical engineer warned me not to use it there because corrosion on the circuit board could be serious trouble. My wife wanted a light over her sewing machine, and the light was easy to install there. There was no light on that wall, so I had to cut a 2"x2" hole in the drywall to accommodate the strain relief. Maybe it's because this was a new light, but I had to install the strain relief and tighten the screws before other steps that were earlier in the instructions. The nut and washer that attach the strain relief will pop off at very low torque, barely more than finger tight. I used a 17mm wrench to snug the nut. The fixture is light and the metal bends easily, but I wasn't comfortable with the mounting screws, so I used two #6x1" screws in drywall anchors. The directions are extremely fine print and hard to read. The fixture comes with push connectors rather than wire nuts, and they are easy to use and secure. Once I had a line through the wall, this took only about 45 to install.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Before being scared off by the reviews here saying how poorly these fixtures are designed and how... Before being scared off by the reviews here saying how poorly these fixtures are designed and how difficult they are to install, ask yourself these questions: have you ever installed any hard-wired electrical devices (lights, outlets, microwave, etc.) before? Ever tried to stuff a dozen wire nuts into a J box? If so, you can install these. Yes, the knockouts are a little stiff to remove. Yes, the small strain relief made it difficult to insert a pair of 14-2 romex. Yes, it was a little tricky dressing all the wires to allow the panel to close. Yes, it stinks to have to wire these while upside down in the farthest corner of your countertop. But if you have indeed ever installed any other electrical devices, you know these sorts of frustrations are just part of the process sometimes. I rather think GE did a good job with these. The panel will hang in place while you wire it. They provide quick push-in connectors so you don't have to do wire nuts (and these square splices are smaller, to boot). Sure, if they made these fixtures twice as thick they could have fit a 3/4" hole and relief that would have made it easy. But who would want those ugly bricks hanging in their lovely kitchen? The challenge of installing them was more than offset for me by their unobtrusiveness, which we will now get to enjoy for years. I think many of the people complaining here might have over-estimated their skill or at least their patience, and might have been better off getting the linkable fixtures with the easy snap-in connectors. That's not meant to be an insult -- we all need to honestly assess our skills before taking on any project. So how did they look once installed? I was a little worried the color temperature would be too cool. But these have a lovely, warm color. And they aren't harshly bright like I expected. I'll probably install a dimmer anyway, just for those times where we want a soft accent rather than functional light. But depending on your taste you may not need one. The light pattern is smooth -- not spotty like some LED lights I've seen. Color is warm and home-like. I like the look of the installed fixtures. These fixtures met my expectations and then some.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty bright! The lights put out more than enough light to light up the counter space. The most difficult part is reassembling the fixture after the wiring is connected inside and trying to do so is awkward when it is mounted to the underside of the cabinet. Installation should be a one-time thing though since the lights are supposed to last for ~50,000 hours. Worth the hassle when all is said and done.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice replacements for florescent fixtures.... Nice replacements for florescent fixtures.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile under cab lighting These under cabinet fixtures are a very versatile under cabinet fixture and come at a great price. Each lamp comes with its own toggle switch that can be direct wired directly or to a switch. We chose to direct wire to a switch. We have two series of lights; one set by the stove where two 18 in lights are run in series and one by the sink area where we have three lights run in series (18+24+18). These are great lights that provide great light for counter-top work. We do not utilize the dim-able feature of these lights. The lights tuck nicely under the cabinet and cannot be seen (unless you crouch down) once you install the cabinet light trim.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple pleasing design, Very Bright Installed this light to replace a century old (well, not quite but it seems it) florescent fixture. Got tired of replacing the old bulb. This was pretty easy to install (read the directions in this case, as it WILL help). Popping on the plastic cover took a little finessing, and after a little struggle, I learned that if you start by squeezing the cover on at one end and work your way across the fixture, it goes on easily instead of trying to snap the whole cover back on in a single movement. This is much brighter than the tube fixture it replaced, and seems well-made to close tolerances, because the mating pieces do snap together without a struggle. Unlike the smaller 18" fixture, the width of this one leaves plenty of room inside the light fixture for the connections.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not last About 2 years ago I installed this at my mothers house and now it wont come on. Yes she used it a lot. It now flickers a bit but thats it. For something thats supposed to last 20 years it sure didnt live up to it! Would not recommend.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these lights! My old undercab fluorescents had finally... I love these lights! My old undercab fluorescents had finally all died, and when I saw these at Home Depot and tested them, the clarity and brightness just about blew me away. And I can expect them to outlast me. My kitchen is a great cooking space again!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My contractor put them in and they work very well!!... My contractor put them in and they work very well!!
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great LED under cabinet light fixture, but lots of work to install I had to tap off another duplex receptacle and fish wire to the location for the under cabinet light then bending over and laying on the cabinet to see what I was doing is a back killer but after 100's of same installs was expecting this. Once wire in place just hook up to fixture body secure with the furnished screws plug in the wires put light into place and attach screws, then just put in lens turn power back on. The lights really put out way more lights than my other under cabinet lights. May have to change my others as new are way brighter.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bright Light As part of a kitchen remodel, I purchased and installed this fixture, as well as 18” and 36” ones. I did some research online and looked at the other reviews before making a decision. I bought these on the basis of the great reviews – and based upon my experience, they were spot on. These are bright fixtures, fabricated of quality components, and designed to tight tolerances. They even include a Romex clamp connector! When’s the last time you bought a light fixture that included the connector? Reading the included instructions is advisable, because opening/closing the cover may not be intuitive, but the instructions make it clear. The first fixture installation took me a little longer to complete, but as you might guess successive installation of the other fixtures was a breeze.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More work than expected. This was intended to replace a existing fluorescent fixture but it was n... More work than expected. This was intended to replace a existing fluorescent fixture but it was not a simple swap-out. The old unit was one of four fixtures controlled off the same switch and had two hot wires, two neutral wires and one ground run into the old light housing. The slim design of the new GE LED light requires a small strain relief connector with an internal diameter too small to allow all five wires to pass through. I needed to install an junction box to reduce the wires going to the light down to three. The light works fine, but installation required extra work, extra expense, and now there is extra clutter under the cabinet.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very pleased with this 24 inch LED under the cabinet light which replaced a 22 year old Fluo... I am very pleased with this 24 inch LED under the cabinet light which replaced a 22 year old Fluorescence light fixture. At only 8 watts of power I would guess it is at least 2x the brightness compared to 40 watts of old fluro bulb. This LED light emitts a soft light, kind of on the warm side. It compliments my kitchen counter nicely. I took pictures at night with and without the flash of my camera. It is a very nice light!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly for what I needed!... Worked perfectly for what I needed!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great light great light
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems! I am an electrical contractor and have installed 100's of the old style with the high low switch and all worked perfectly. I installed 4 of the new ones at my house and really like the opaque lens and color of light. I used the Lutron Diva dimmers listed. First problem two of the lights were going a little dim for 5 seconds then go back brighter. They did this on all dimming levels. Took out dimmer and tried standard switch. Same problem, not the dimmer. Customer support said sounds like bad fixtures, replaced them. Worked great. Put dimmer back in worked great! Come back in after fixtures have been off for an hour. Turn on the 3 lights on same dimmer blink on and off until I raise dimmer to full brightness then can dim fine. Fixture on single dimmer doesn't do this. I can't install these in customers homes or I will have too many call backs. I hope I can find an alternative since the old style are discontinued.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Great LED under cabinet light fixture, but lots of work to install I had to tap off another duplex receptacle and fish wire to the location for the under cabinet light then bending over and laying on the cabinet to see what I was doing is a back killer but after 100's of same installs was expecting this. Once wire in place just hook up to fixture body secure with the furnished screws plug in the wires put light into place and attach screws, then just put in lens turn power back on. The lights really put out way more lights than my other under cabinet lights. May have to change my others as new are way brighter.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic LED lights. They have a great warm glow and dim perfectly. Have installed them in 2 hom... Fantastic LED lights. They have a great warm glow and dim perfectly. Have installed them in 2 homes. Installation is a breeze with the connectors. Just trim the wire and push into the clip. No need to use wire nuts. I have it paired with the Lutron Caseta dimmer and they are controlled and dimmed with the Amazon Echo. All work flawlessly.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this about a week ago and finally had the final part to wire this all up together. I bo... I bought this about a week ago and finally had the final part to wire this all up together. I bought two of these at the time because they were going to be put underneath my metal cabinets I have in the garage. I glued some neodymium magnets to their base and attached it that way so I can easily remove them if need be. Then I got an extension cord repair cord to wire them to an outlet socket. Wired both lights together and to the extension cord and turned them on and had a good amount of light now at my workbench.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed a replacement under cabinet light and this one fit the bill perfectly. It was easy to moun... Needed a replacement under cabinet light and this one fit the bill perfectly. It was easy to mount and came with mounting screws and 110v plug. There is an rocker on-off switch but for my use I leave the switch in the on position and control the light from a wall switch. Overall I am very pleased with the light.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very convenient to use the new connectors for line, load,... Very convenient to use the new connectors for line, load, ground. Three locations to attach fixture to under side of cabinet. Great that they have a part that fits in knock out to prevent sharp edges from cutting current. Price a little steep compared to what was available with a fluorescent bulb.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are very bright and feel pretty solid. The only... They are very bright and feel pretty solid. The only issue we had is that during the installation we managed to put small cracks in the plastic cover over the lights. That is the only flimsy part, the rest of the light is sturdy. The good news is you can't see it unless you are very short.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5 out of 6 worked well. The sixth unit has... 5 out of 6 worked well. The sixth unit has one or some LED’s that cut off and then back on. It is not consistent. Sometimes every 30 to 40 seconds it will cut off and then on. Other times it may be minutes. I am not sure how much of a pain it will be to replace it.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I choose these as a compromise between looks and price.... I choose these as a compromise between looks and price. They are on the pricey side but had good experience with brand before. For a unit replacing an existing GE unit it is not as well thought out to install. A bit tricky to install and substandard screws included.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The outside packaging did not say anything about not being... The outside packaging did not say anything about not being able to use over a sink. Inside the package it states not to use over a sink so I can’t use it over the sink. I think that should have been stated on the outside of the package. I need to return the fixture.
Date published: 2019-02-28
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_514
  • loc_, sid_206300285, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT