#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203219806

Model #GXSH45V

Store SO SKU #1000239883

45,100 Grain Water Softener

  • GE SmartSoft technology learns water usage patterns
  • Days-to-empty indicator tells you when to add salt
  • Uses up to 35% less water (vs GE Softeners made before 2009)
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together


Product Overview

The GE 45,100-Grain Water Softener System features SmartSoft technology that monitors water usage and anticipates future demand, so you don't run out of soft water. It has a 160 grains per gallon maximum hardness-removal capacity and it also removes 10 PPM of iron. Handy features such as programmable operation, an alarm and indicator lights and a permanent memory offer reliable, hassle-free operation. This system has the capacity and convenience features that make it ideal for families of 4 or more.
  • GE water softeners help save on water and energy by using up to 50% less detergent for laundry and dishwashing (based on research conducted by the Water Quality Association (WQA) Water Softener Benefits Study, 2011)
  • 45,100 grain capacity
  • Efficiency: 5120 GPG
  • Maximum hardness removal: 160 GPG
  • Maximum iron removal: 10 PPM
  • Salt storage capacity: 230 lbs.
  • GE SmartSoft technology, ensures there is always plenty of softened water available by "learning" a family's water-use patterns
  • Days to empty indicator feature makes sure you never have to guess when to refill the salt tank
  • Uses up to 35% less water (Based on internal analysis verses GE water softeners manufactured prior to 2009)
  • GE salt saver, helps reduce salt consumption and uses up to 34% less salt (Based on internal analysis verses GE water softeners manufactured prior to 2009)
  • GE exclusive custom select blending valve, allows you to select how soft you want your water
  • Self-cleaning sediment filter protects your home's plumbing
  • Plumbing connection up to 1.25 in.
  • Click here to schedule a FREE in-home water analysis or schedule an installation service /a (click or call: 877-417-8223)
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Water Softener Systems

Harmony Series 48,000 Grain Digital Metered Water Softener
current product
Top Rated45,100 Grain Water Softener
Whole House Filtration with 64,000 Grain Water Softener, Reverse Osmosis System and Sediment-GAC Pre-filter80,000 Grain Heavy Duty Water Softener
NameHarmony Series 48,000 Grain Digital Metered Water Softener45,100 Grain Water SoftenerWhole House Filtration with 64,000 Grain Water Softener, Reverse Osmosis System and Sediment-GAC Pre-filter80,000 Grain Heavy Duty Water Softener
House Hold Size3-4 people8+ people5-6 people3-4 people
FeaturesPermanent settings memory,ProgrammableAlarm,Indicator light(s),Permanent settings memory,ProgrammablePermanent settings memory,ProgrammableProgrammable
IncludesInstallation kitInstallation kitInstallation kitNo Additional Items Included
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product



Product Depth (in.)
Product Height (in.)
47.625 in
Product Width (in.)
14.4375 in
Tank Length (in.)
Tank Width (in.)


Application Type
Water Treatment
Color Family
Alarm,Indicator light(s),Permanent settings memory,Programmable
House Hold Size
8+ people
Installation kit
Iron reduction (ppm)
Maximum Grain Capacity (grains)
Maximum hardness removal (grains per gallon)
Output between refills (gallons)
Pack Size
Product Weight (lb.)
109 lb
Quantity (cu. ft.)
Regeneration time (min.)
Salt Storage Capacity (lbs.)
Salt Type
Sodium Chloride
Service Flow Rate @ 15 psi drop (gallons per min.)
Water required for regeneration (gallons)

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Parts and Labor warranty 1-year entire appliance,See written warranty for full details.

Questions & Answers


We have a cabin in a cold area that is not used in the winter. How difficult is it to winterize t...

Asked by Michigan June 14, 2021

Winterizing this is not going to be easy. You will need to pump out the salt tank and come up with some way to use air to pressurize the valve assembly while running it through a regen cycle. It would probably be easier to drain the salt tank of salt and water and then take it home with you, providing you have hand truck to move it and a vehicle you can fit it in.

does chlorine damages the resin tank? do I need a chlorine pre filter to protect the water softner?

Asked by Syd June 3, 2021

Hello - Thank you for your question; we are happy to help! Softener resins may degrade in the presence of chlorine above 2 ppm. If you have chlorine in excess of this amount, you may experience reduced life of the resin. In these conditions, you may wish to consider purchasing a GE Appliances point-of-entry household filtration system with a chlorine reducing filter. Thanks for checking. Olga@GEA

I have heard horror stories with GE, Whirlpool, A.O. Smith water softeners (salt type) and other....

Asked by Bill May 30, 2021

We bought a GE water softener from Home depot several years ago. The only horror story I can share is the multiple times Home Depot attempted to have a famous freight carrier deliver the unit, all ending in damaged units. I ultimately drove to my nearest Home Depot store and picked up a unit. It has been performing flawlessly ever since I installed it. You haven't described the horror stories you have heard (hearsay, at best); did the unit fall through the floor, or what? BTW, we use potassium chloride instead of calcium chloride, because we, our pets and plants don't want to consume the extra much sodium. Good luck.

I get a rotten egg smell. Not sure why?

Asked by Otterman May 24, 2021

From in the house or softener. Never had that problem.

Has anyone used the Iron Out Powder by Summit Brands in there GE GXSH40V Water Softener And did t...

Asked by Joey321 April 6, 2021

You can't go wrong taking care of your water, I'm sure any additional cleaning or help with removing iron or any other item helps you and the unit. :)

Hi if I have very high Rusty and Iron Content in my Well Water and if my drinking water is very h...

Asked by Joey321 April 6, 2021


What are the dimensions including the distance between the centers of the water in and water out ...

Asked by spud14901 April 4, 2021

See page 8 of the installation guide https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/3e/3e20cb72-852a-417f-bf47-5a6481d4b084.pdf

No change in salt levels since one year.

Asked by AA April 4, 2021

That's correct. It isn't working at all. Not sure why you would wait a year. They didn't fix it. Get your money back. BTW, plumbers don't fix those units. They just install them.

We are looking to replace our Hague Max water softener and the internet really brags on this one,...

Asked by 24buttonbuck March 18, 2021

I don't know the softener you have, but this unit is excellent. I can hear it running when I'm in the basement, but cannot hear it on either the main floor or 2nd floor. ours runs from 2 am to 4:30 am, but you could also change the start time of a time of day where it won't keep you awake and when you don't need softened water. Perhaps 8 pm to 10:30 pm or daytime if the house is empty.

Is this system tested and certified directly by the NSF?

Asked by Peter March 9, 2021

Hi Peter, we appreciate you reaching out to us. This water softener is not directly certified by the NSF. We're sorry if this is an inconvenience to you, but still want you to know we're wishing you the best. - Guy@GEA

45,100 Grain Water Softener - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 2,404 reviews
  • 82% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,404 reviews
Easy to install and maintain
Installed April 2020 by myself, had never done one before but found it much easier than I expected. Installation took about half an hour and was super easy with the use of two Sharkbite braided stainless steel supply hoses. Low energy use, very quiet and only needs to be refilled about every 6-7 months. The water here is 15 GPG and this makes the water much softer and there’s no mineral deposits in our fixtures or dishwasher!
by TimberlandBill
1 person found this helpful
Was delivered to my door on time, and put in the garage for me (it was heavy). The price was grea...
Was delivered to my door on time, and put in the garage for me (it was heavy). The price was great. Everything went smoothly in the installation, and it all works like it's supposed to work. I have recommended this product to two friends.
by Steven
Response from GE AnswersFeb 9, 2021
Hi Steven, we're happy to see installation went great and that your new water softener is working well. Thank you for your recommendation not only here, but to your friends as well. Welcome to the GE Appliances family. - Guy@GEA GE_Appliances
1 person found this helpful
The installation was simple and the directions were detailed. I paired this with the GE smart wat...
The installation was simple and the directions were detailed. I paired this with the GE smart water filter also seen in the picture. I have very hard water and I have had to set this at 125 (default setting is 25) to get my water softened to zero but it does a good job. At that setting I am adding a bag every 3 days or so. I thought this was a smart water softener like the water filter but it is not. The 40,000 grain like this one is the smart version. I had added the 40k to my cart and switched to this one because my calculation was 48k and I didn't notice is wasn't smart until I was installing it.
by GG
1 person found this helpful
Quality control issues
Product shipped with 2 bad bypass valve o-rings and 1 bad venturi housing o-ring(see photos). 1st unit arrived with broken top and was replaced quickly with new unit. I shudder to think how much water would have been on my floor if I hadn't discovered these bad o-rings. It works well now that the issues have been resolved.
by DH84
Response from GE AppliancesJan 25, 2021
Hi DH84, we're very sorry to hear about the early difficulties you had to deal with. We know this must've been frustrating so we apologize for the headache. If you have any other questions or concerns, you can reach out to us via e-mail here: https://www.geappliances.com/ge/service-and-support/contact.htm - We're glad to hear the issues have been resolved and we're wishing you the best. - Guy@GEA
Good looking
Excellent i like it, nice look, easy to operate. Not too expensive.
by Rhonmac
Great features!!
We’d love this product and the way the water feels so soft. We strongly recommended it.
by Rafaela123
Efficiency Rating is Incorrect
I purchase this softener from Home Depot in West Richland Wa. According to the owners manual the efficiency rating is 4,770. The Home Depot webpage claims it is 5000. That is not correct. Other than misleading information the system works fine and I will keep it. Hoping Home Depot will research this and make the corrections.
by Scott
4 people found this helpful
I remember the days when a great company like GE was the symbol of Quality. Now, a piece of junk like this is what almost destroyed my garage. In less than 20 months of use, the tank exploded leaving the resin all over my walls, and water all over my garage. Now, I have to pay for all the repairs and deal with this negligence. We customers deserve better.
by Francisco
38 people found this helpful
Water softener run quite a lot...
Water softener run quite a lot
by Parkerpgi
7 people found this helpful
Good looks
Good looking appliance,ease of installation and good tasting water.
by rslaetz
Showing 1-10 of 2,404 reviews