Internet #304310955

Model # GFD45ESSMWW

Store SO SKU #1003050223

GE 7.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load Electric Dryer with Steam in White
0084691826613

GE

7.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load Electric Dryer with Steam in White

Model# GFD45ESSMWW
Store SO SKU# 1003050223
  • Steam refresh rejuvenates lighlty worn clothes
  • HE Sensor dry senses moisture and dries clothes accordingly
  • Stainless steel drum resists rusts and protects clothes
$ 899 10
$999.00

Save $99.90 (10%)

Price includes 10% off Appliances Offer discounts. While supplies last.
Promotion Details
Price Valid : 06/06/2019 - 06/18/2019
10% off Appliances until Offer ends. Discount taken off of Special Buy retail.
Loading Options

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements
Haul Away Icon
Move or
Haul Away
We'll move your old appliance to another room in your house, or haul it away for $20
Price Match Icon
Price Match
Guarantee
We will match prices including shipping of any other online competitor
Learn More
Home Depot Protection Plan Icon
The Home Depot Protection Plan
Let's Protect This
Get 24/7 support and more with a Home Depot Protection Plan. 5-year and 3-year plans available, starting at $40
Learn More

Product Overview

  • Steam refresh rejuvenates lighlty worn clothes
  • HE Sensor dry senses moisture and dries clothes accordingly
  • Stainless steel drum resists rusts and protects clothes
GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
  • Steam Dewrinkle - Stored or wrinkled clothes come out wrinkle-free with this helpful setting that uses steam to refresh and dry a load of any size
  • HE Sensor Dry - Takes the guesswork out of drying times by sensing the moisture in the drum and drying accordingly
  • Stainless steel drum - Resists rust and helps protect clothes
  • Quick Dry - Quickly dries items and small loads for families on the go
  • Sanitize cycle - This option reduces certain types of bacteria by 99.8%
  • Damp Alert - Alerts you when clothes are the ideal dampness for ironing, for perfectly wrinkle-free results
  • Extended Tumble - Tumble clothes without heat to help prevent creasing and wrinkling
  • ENERGY STAR qualified - Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings
  • Steam Refresh rejuvenates lightly worn clothes by getting rid of wrinkles and odors with this convenient setting using the power of steam
  • 7 cu. ft. capacity accommodates your large loads
  • Pairs with front load washer model GFW450SPMDG (sold separate)
  • Can be stacked with the matching dryer unit using stacking kit model# GEFLSTACK (sold separately)
  • Pairs with pedestal model SBSC137HDG (sold separately)
  • Limited 1-year entire appliance warranty






  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Steam refresh rejuvenates lighlty worn clothes
  • HE Sensor dry senses moisture and dries clothes accordingly
  • Stainless steel drum resists rusts and protects clothes
Model #: GFD45ESSMWW
Internet #: 304310955

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.

  • Steam Dewrinkle - Stored or wrinkled clothes come out wrinkle-free with this helpful setting that uses steam to refresh and dry a load of any size
  • HE Sensor Dry - Takes the guesswork out of drying times by sensing the moisture in the drum and drying accordingly
  • Stainless steel drum - Resists rust and helps protect clothes
  • Quick Dry - Quickly dries items and small loads for families on the go
  • Sanitize cycle - This option reduces certain types of bacteria by 99.8%
  • Damp Alert - Alerts you when clothes are the ideal dampness for ironing, for perfectly wrinkle-free results
  • Extended Tumble - Tumble clothes without heat to help prevent creasing and wrinkling
  • ENERGY STAR qualified - Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings
  • Steam Refresh rejuvenates lightly worn clothes by getting rid of wrinkles and odors with this convenient setting using the power of steam
  • 7 cu. ft. capacity accommodates your large loads
  • Pairs with front load washer model GFW450SPMDG (sold separate)
  • Can be stacked with the matching dryer unit using stacking kit model# GEFLSTACK (sold separately)
  • Pairs with pedestal model SBSC137HDG (sold separately)
  • Limited 1-year entire appliance warranty






  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Electrolux Samsung GE GE
Name 8.0 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White, ENERGY STAR 7.5 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White 7.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load Electric Dryer with Steam in White 7.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load Electric Dryer with Steam in Diamond Gray
Price
Was $849.00
$698.40
Save $150.60 (18%)
Was $799.00
$719.10
Save $79.90 (10%)
Was $999.00
$899.10
Save $99.90 (10%)
Was $1,099.00
$989.10
Save $109.90 (10%)
Ratings (460) (945) (693) (693)
Matching Washer Type Front Load Matching Front Load Matching Front Load Matching Front Load Matching
Product Width (in.) 27 27 in 27.0 27.0
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.) 8.0 7.5 7.5 7.5
Dryer Features Adjustable End-of-Cycle Signal,Automatic Temperature Control,Digital Cycle Countdown,Door Window,Four-Way Venting,Lint Filter,Timed Dry Adjustable End-of-Cycle Signal,Automatic Temperature Control,Damp Alert,Digital Cycle Countdown,Door Window,Four-Way Venting,Front Control,Interior Light,Lint Filter,Moisture Sensor,Sensor Dry,Timed Dry Adjustable End-of-Cycle Signal,Adjustable Legs,Control Lock,Control Sounds On/Off,Delay Start,Digital Cycle Countdown Adjustable End-of-Cycle Signal,Delay Start,Door Window,Four-Way Venting,Lint Filter,Timed Dry
Product Depth (in.) 31.5 32.4 33.0 33.0
Earliest Delivery Earliest Delivery Earliest Delivery Earliest Delivery
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
--
--
--
--
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Capacity (cu. ft.)
7.5
Stackable
Stackable
Steam Function
Steam
Width (in.)
27.0
Depth (in.)
33.0
Vent Type
Vented
Voltage (volts)
240 volt
Matching Washer Type
Front Load Matching

Specifications

Capacity (cu. ft.)
7.5
Stackable
Stackable
Steam Function
Steam
Width (in.)
27.0
Depth (in.)
33.0
Vent Type
Vented
Voltage (volts)
240 volt
Matching Washer Type
Front Load Matching

Dimensions

Depth With Door Open 90 Degrees (In)
50.625
Door Opening Height (In.)
13.375
Door Opening Width (In.)
13.375
Product Depth (in.)
33.0
Product Height (in.)
39.375
Product Width (in.)
27.0

Details

Amperage (amps)
24 A
Appliance Type
Electric Dryer
Capacity - Dryer (cu. ft.)
7.5
Color/Finish
White
Color/Finish Family
White
Control Type
Digital
Door Material
Aluminized Steel
Door Shape
Round Door
Door Style
Left Swing
Dry Cycles
Air Fluff,Bedding,Bulky Items,Cotton,Delicates,Mixed Loads,Permanent Press,Quick Dry,Towels and Sheets,Warm Up
Dryer Drum Material
Aluminized Alloy Steel Drum
Dryer Features
Adjustable End-of-Cycle Signal,Adjustable Legs,Control Lock,Control Sounds On/Off,Delay Start,Digital Cycle Countdown
Exhaust Vent Location
Bottom,Left Side,Rear,Right Side
Included
No Additional Items Included
Lint Filter Location
Front
Matching Washer Type
Front Load Matching
Number of Drying Cycles
13
Number of Drying Temperatures
4
Pedestal Model#
SBSD137HWW
Product Weight (lb.)
120lb
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Stackable
Stackable
Stacking Kit Model#
GEFLSTACK
Steam Function
Steam
Vent Type
Vented
Voltage (volts)
240

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year entire appliance

Questions & Answers

Can the door swing be changed?

Can the door swing be changed?
Asked by: Bekay
Yes, I just changed mine last night.
Answered by: bjamn
Date published: 2018-11-26

How does the steam feature work. Does it hook up to a water line?

How does the steam feature work. Does it hook up to a water line?
Asked by: Wheatland
yes, the dryer comes with a water hose and a Y valve. You use the Y valve and share the cold water connect with the washer. Just make sure the installers hook it up!
Answered by: Lisa
Date published: 2019-01-15

What kind plug of the power cord?

Can it fit my power outlet(see picture)?
Asked by: Charlie
You buy the cord. Cord is not included buy the cord that works for your house and install per instructions
Answered by: Gnharrold
Date published: 2019-03-26

Can you vent this dryer inside when do eternal venting is possible using a standard indoor ventin...

Can you vent this dryer inside when do eternal venting is possible using a standard indoor venting system like this. BetterVent Indoor Dryer Vent Kit - Protect Indoor Air Quality and Save Energy with a Superior Dryer Lint Filter (Electric Dryers Only)
Asked by: mwemet
Sue @ GE. Now I'm confused. I called GE and spoke to a guy in appliance support who told me it CAN be vented internally. Based on that I ordered it. Am I screwed?
Answered by: mwemet
Date published: 2019-04-24
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_67
  • loc_, sid_304310955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load Electric Dryer with Steam in White is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 694.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine for a great price... Amazing machine for a great price
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We Love It! WE love our new Dryer! We bought it with the matching Washer. Beautiful set of machines that both work great. This Dryer gets our clothes dry in half the time of our old machine. The capacity is much bigger as well. It's cycle selections are straight forward. It gives you options for many different load types and has a steam function for when all we need is to dewrinkle some shirts or something. It's quiet and efficient. We also bought the stands for the machines so we don't have top bend over to load and unload. Makes things a lot easier, only bad thing with the stands is the drawers won't hold a regular size detergent bottle, it's pretty shallow.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great drying power! I've done four different loads in this dryer since yesterday. So far it has handled t-shirts, jeans, sheets, and towels great! I've used the Mixed Load, the quick dry, and the towel settings and everything got plenty dry. I gave this only four stars because of the volume control. It has low, medium, high, and off. I might as well turn it off because the only place I can hear it is standing right in front of the dryer--and I have good hearing. I'm having to keep an eye on the time so I can check when the load has finished. It's the most pathetic "notification" I've ever had. Other than that, I love this dryer.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer, and happy spouse! My first dryer was a GE dryer and it lasted about 13 years. Afterwards, I bought another name brand, and I was always having trouble with it not drying clothes properly. I decided to go back and buy another GE dryer, and I bought this one. My wife loves it! It actually dries our clothes faster than the washer will get our clothes washed if they operate at the same time. With a sports-oriented family, washing clothes is a daily chore at home. The steam option is nice-it makes ironing easier. My wife is happy, and so our house is happy.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Large Capacity - Difficult Control Panel Love the large capacity but programming the drying cycle you want is a bit confusing because of all the "pre-set" programs. The lint trap is bit small for our taste but we dry a lot of lint producing laundry so it may not be an issue for others. The dryer is uncomfortable to use unless you put it on a pedestal because it's so deep, you have to bend down really low to get clothes out of the back of the drum. Hottest cycle for drying towels takes a long time to complete, wish it would work faster.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bells & whistles! I finally got this new GE dryer with the washer after 13 years of using my worn out Whirlpool machines and what a difference! Our clothes smell fresh again and I just told my husband yesterday how much I love my new washer & dryer! When you're starting up the cycle and when the cycle ends, it sounds like a slot machine so I love the bells and whistles! It's too cool. Also this washer and dryer is SUPER HEAVY DUTY! I can wash a lot of stuff in here at a time! Thank you hubby and thank you GE!
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Dryer I have been skeptical about change when it comes to a dryer. For years I had the standard old style dryer. When I got my GE for Mother’s Day I cant say enough positive things. The features are awesome, the turn dial makes choosing the appropriate setting simple and easy. The clothes are dry and perfect each time and I love the feature where I can set my own amount of time to dry other items. The dryer holds a large amount of clothes and I’m so glad to be an owner!!
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds all expectations Replaced a Samsung that looked somewhat like the GE. Went to buy an inexpensive dryer but was drawn to this model over all other dryers/makes. Didn't think it could work as good as it looked - works even better. Have had Whirlpool, Maytag, Samsung - This one is bigger, drys better, quieter, and the steam feature is simply awesome. Look forward to stacking and buying another pair in the near future (five very active kids) You can't go wrong with this dryer!!
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely love my new washer. (Yes, you... I absolutely love my new washer. (Yes, you can fall for an inanimate object!) It has so many great features...the ability to stop the load mid-wash if you forget to add an article of clothing, it saves on water consumption because it weighs the amount of clothes in each load and adds the appropriate amount of water and there is also an auto shut off if I do not respond to the chimes letting me know the load is done. What more could a girl ask for?
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in love!! Using a dryer that is located atop of the washer is a perk. Cycle choices are sometimes confusing but I have managed to figure out which to use on certain loads. I like the myload button on the washer and wish it was available on the dryer. I like a moisture sensing setting. Can't believe how fast my delicates get done. Still learning how to use it so I may find the perfect combination of buttons to dry more efficiently and effectively.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Most Excellent Dryer Prior to purchasing this appliance, I had been using a "bare bones" dryer for the past 15 years. It dried the laundry -- but nothing else. Needless to say, when I got this new one, I couldn't believe what I had been missing. Everything about the GFD45ESSMWW is first rate. I'm astounded at the array of features -- my favorite is the "clean filter" light that comes on before use. Can't wait to get the matching washer. Thank you GE.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Drys well but squeaky,rattly&noisy on 2nd unit new Drys well but rattles, squeaks and is noisy .. first unit they could not fix... it was stopping after 2-3 min by itself and had all the noise issues on top .. they replaced it.. so it runs a cycle now but still very noisy.. rattles, vibrates, squeaks.. I would not purchase again.. have to try and ignore the noises... not trying to get it fixed because they could not fix on first unit and just made matters worse taking it apart
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great, could be quieter. I love the appearance (especially the stainless steel interior and the pretty blue lighting on the controls!) of the dryer and it dries my stuff great, but I wish the machine ran quieter. My old dryer was much quieter! But I’m willing to put up with the louder cycle because my clothes come out SO much better than my old dryer — no more wrinkles if I can’t get there right away to get the stuff out!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dryer Love the large capacity and drying cycle options. Especially like the steam option that does a great job on wrinkles. Controls are on the front of the dryer so I can use the top to fold and stack clothes and I don't need to move anything to get to the controls and start the next load. I also have the drawer unit under the dryer to store lingerie bags, dryer sheets, etc.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG Love it Love all the features and all sorts of settings are available for any of the drying needs. There is lots of room in the drum for plenty of clothes. Only thing I have to say is once the cycle is done and you leave the door open the light inside the drum won't turn off. I prefer to leave the door open but with the light not turning off I'm going to have to close the door.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from impressed just bought to replace the older ones we had. Dries duper fast. Drum is huge. It has a light in the drum which really impressed me and makes it easier to ensure all the clothing is out of the dryer. There is also a safety message to remind you to clean out the lint collector. Only con is that it is a little louder than my older ones
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! We were looking for a Dryer with steam feature. Most products had far too many features and the price reflected the additional features. Most people only use about 4 features so why pay for all of the additional features that would never be used. We love this dryer. We will be purchasing it's companion washer later this year.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for mixed loads Some dryers struggle to dry evenly loads with mixed items like towels and lighter weight exercise clothes, but this dryer does perfectly well on this challenge. I would give 5 stars except that it arrived already needing a new pulley. Fortunately I got next day repair by the local, family owned appliance business.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice dryer The dryer is very efficient and does an excellent job drying clothes. Love the various settings and you can add drying time on some settings. There is a light on the inside which is very helpful when unloading the clothes. The dryer has a very nice size capacity. It’s quiet and love the reminder to clean the filter.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Dryer Love the dryer features, it looks very nice, fits a lot of clothing. Able to customize a bunch of settings. Love the Steam Function for a couple of items for refreshing or getting major wrinkles out. Enjoy the light inside the drum. Only downside you have to close the door in order for the light to turn off
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing! Nice-looking machine, but performance is not as expected. It has trouble every wash 'balancing' the load, and being able to engage the spin cycle. Doesn't matter what program it's on, or how large or small the load. Result is that any wash takes far longer than it should to complete. Very disappointed!
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's difficult to objectively rate this product when my previous... It's difficult to objectively rate this product when my previous product is so inferior.Further it's difficult to rate this product, when it's companion washer does a fine job of wringing most of the water out of the clothes.This product is fast, quiet, spacious, and feature complete. No regrets.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Washer We recently had to replace our washer and dryer and chose this washer at Home Depot. I chose the new smoky gray color for a change rather than the old white one we had. It has been great so far, lots of choices and gadgets (still figuring them out). I would definitely buy this product again.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great We bought the pair (washer and dryer) The wife was not aware it had a steam function. During installation I discovered I needed to buy a short hose to connect the water to the dryer. There are lots of hoses behind the pair of machines... It works fine, easy to learn, and dries the clothes.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall and Everything I love that is first way more energy efficient with less drying time as well. The stainless steel drum is high quality and the light inside makes a huge difference for me to see in our basement. It's quiet, quick and all the great optional cycles actually makes me want to do laundry!!!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice! Great dryer. Will completely dry an entire load in less than 30 minutes. Has the wrinkle free function also. Lint vent seems really small for this machine but other than that, it’s great. I also had to switch sides for the door. Followed the instructions and did it in about 15 minutes..
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am so impressed with my new washer and dryer set. I have had them for 2 weeks and I actually lo... I am so impressed with my new washer and dryer set. I have had them for 2 weeks and I actually look forward to doing laundry. The dryer is dries my clothes quickly, runs about at quietly as my old 10 year old dryer. I love all the options. They look amazing in my laundry room too!
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice features, sensor drying works in most cases The steam refresh option on this dryer is worth the extra money. The sensor drying works for most loads except for blankets (they get rolled up and the center doesn’t dry) and large (>5 towels). Paint and plastic also scratch much easier than my old machine, but I love the color.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from we are now on our 3rd GE dryer with steam. with every one, the problem is when the dryer is runn... we are now on our 3rd GE dryer with steam. with every one, the problem is when the dryer is running in normal dry mode with no steam, water leaks out of the dryer cabinet and into the GE pedestal below. GE repair has been to the house twice and cannot resolve the problem. Home Depot has contacted GE and is still waiting on a response. We also are on our 2nd washer......that now seems to work fine. the first one would loudly shake, rattle and roll when in the spin cycle. that is if it wasn't caught in the endless loop of "load re-balancing"!! the other misnomer is that the dryer does NOT produce real steam! there is a cold water hose connected to the rear and through a solenoid valve a small tube is connected to a spray nozzle. when "steam" is selected, it spays cold water into a warm/hot turning drum. per the GE repair man the drum will only get to approx 130 to 160 degrees, which is not hot enough to produce steam. lastly on the second dryer there was a loud thumping noise with every revolution. turns out the drum was out of round and replaced. but that unit like the other two inexplicably leaks water out of the cabinet into the pedestal. not certain but I'm sure GE didn't intend on have water inside a cabinet where there are live wires and 240 volts! we are waiting to hear back from Home Depot on the resolution. The have been very helpful and cooperative to date with the issues that are not there's but GE's. Its disappointing and disheartening because i wanted to buy American and to date we don't have a functioning issue free dryer. after the intial washer was replaced, we are quite happy with it performance. this whole saga started at the end of January 2019 and still continues..............
Date published: 2019-04-30
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_694
  • loc_, sid_304310955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT