Internet #100091142

Model # GPD-0000-05

Store SKU #691320

0022367399153

Glidden PVA

5 gal. PVA Drywall Interior Primer

  • Seals new drywall for a uniform top coat
  • Easy application, spray or roll
  • 1 pail covers 45 sheets of drywall
$ 46 98
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Seals new drywall for a uniform top coat
  • Easy application, spray or roll
  • 1 pail covers 45 sheets of drywall
PVA Drywall Primer & Sealer is a quality vinyl acrylic primer and sealer formulated for use on drywalls where economy and speed of application are most important in the residential, commercial and multi-family markets. Applied by brush or roller, this low VOC primer and sealer dries quickly and sands easily for the topcoat to be applied in just two hours. Ideal for us as an interior sealer on properly prepared interior wallboard and drywall surfaces and wood and may be top coated with alkyd or latex paints.
  • Less than 50 g/L VOC
  • Low odor
  • Quick dry and recoat
  • Good adhesion
  • High hiding
  • Good sealing and adhesion
  • Easy application
  • MPI approval in category #50, primer sealer, latex, interior
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online price includes PaintCare fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, MN, OR, RI, VT
  • Click here to learn more about Clean Air

Product Overview

  • Seals new drywall for a uniform top coat
  • Easy application, spray or roll
  • 1 pail covers 45 sheets of drywall
Model #: GPD-0000-05
Sku #: 691320
Internet #: 100091142

PVA Drywall Primer & Sealer is a quality vinyl acrylic primer and sealer formulated for use on drywalls where economy and speed of application are most important in the residential, commercial and multi-family markets. Applied by brush or roller, this low VOC primer and sealer dries quickly and sands easily for the topcoat to be applied in just two hours. Ideal for us as an interior sealer on properly prepared interior wallboard and drywall surfaces and wood and may be top coated with alkyd or latex paints.

  • Less than 50 g/L VOC
  • Low odor
  • Quick dry and recoat
  • Good adhesion
  • High hiding
  • Good sealing and adhesion
  • Easy application
  • MPI approval in category #50, primer sealer, latex, interior
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online price includes PaintCare fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, MN, OR, RI, VT
  • Click here to learn more about Clean Air

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Compare Similar Products
Brand Glidden PVA BEHR PRO KILZ BEHR
Name 5 gal. PVA Drywall Interior Primer PVA 5 gal. Interior Primer PVA 5 Gal. White Interior Drywall Primer 5 gal. White Acrylic Interior Drywall Plus Primer and Sealer
Price
$45.98
$49.00
$49.00
$63.97
Ratings (213) (22) (287) (590)
Container Size 5 GA-Gallon 5 GA-Gallon 5 GA-Gallon 5 GA-Gallon
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type Primer Interior Wall & Trim Primer Primer
Primer Purpose Color Changing Universal Low Odor,Low-VOC,Sealant Color Changing,Low-VOC,Sealant
Paint/Stain Key Features No additional features Stain Resistant Fast Drying,Low Odor,Sealer,Tintable,Top coat required Fast Drying,Mildew Resistant,Sealer,Tintable,Top coat required
Sheen Flat/Matte Flat/Matte Flat/Matte Flat/Matte
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
5 GA-Gallon

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Coating Product Category
Primer
Color Family
Whites
Color/Finish
White
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Latex
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Primer
Primer Purpose
Color Changing
Sheen
Flat/Matte
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Drywall

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Assured Satisfaction Limited Warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
5 GA-Gallon

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Coating Product Category
Primer
Color Family
Whites
Color/Finish
White
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Latex
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Primer
Primer Purpose
Color Changing
Sheen
Flat/Matte
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Drywall

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Assured Satisfaction Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

Is it ok if i use this primer today and paint over it tomoro (in24hrs) because i cant do both the same day?

Asked by: Bob
That is not a problem. You could wait a week or more, if necessary.
Answered by: DD
Date published: 2018-10-11

should I use primer before texture? or texture then primer?

Asked by: nino
Apply the PVA primer after any drywall mud is applied, including texture.
Answered by: cwhip
Date published: 2018-10-18

Can i use it over existing latex paint

Asked by: Philly
Yes, this is especially helpful when combining new repairs on drywall and prepping the room for new paint.
Answered by: Aaron
Date published: 2018-09-12

I plan on using this product in my attached garage on ten year old unpainted drywall which has be...

I plan on using this product in my attached garage on ten year old unpainted drywall which has been freshly taped and spackled. Any issues with heat that generates in a garage on summer days? Should I use interior or exterior paint afterwards?
Asked by: David
Interior will work just fine.
Answered by: BF
Date published: 2019-01-22
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_58
  • loc_, sid_100091142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 41ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

5 gal. PVA Drywall Interior Primer is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Used Glidden PVA Primer over new drywall with a level 5 finish on the recommendation of the clerk... Used Glidden PVA Primer over new drywall with a level 5 finish on the recommendation of the clerk at Home Depot. The walls were meticulously cleaned after the new drywall was sanded- broomed, vacuumed, damp-wiped twice, then tack-clothed prior to priming. Now I have the topcoat (Behr Marquee) lifting off the primer all over. Glidden owes me money.
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, very good product. I decided to use this brand primer since we did all the basement and the... Very, very good product. I decided to use this brand primer since we did all the basement and the money were tight. I am not sorry at all. Very good coverage on the new dry walls, with only one coat.See the pictures. Just want to point that this is mostly for new dry wall (PVA), use 3/4 na, and wait to dry completely.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It went on fairly transparent. However, it really sealed the... It went on fairly transparent. However, it really sealed the drywall and knockdown so it didn’t soak up massive amounts of paint. Paint went on smooth and easy.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put one coat on unfinished drywall that was 15 years old and followed that up with one coat of a ... Put one coat on unfinished drywall that was 15 years old and followed that up with one coat of a quality paint and it cover very well.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to apply, covers well and is a great base layer sealer product for both new and re-done shee... Easy to apply, covers well and is a great base layer sealer product for both new and re-done sheetrock.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and drys quickly so I was able to put the paint on in the same day. Easy to use and drys quickly so I was able to put the paint on in the same day.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Primer and saves at least 10 bucks from buying... Good Primer and saves at least 10 bucks from buying Kilz and it works the same.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It primes drywall. Makes finishing and or painting a breeze.... It primes drywall. Makes finishing and or painting a breeze.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paint was as expected. Made sanding easier with nice finish. Paint was as expected. Made sanding easier with nice finish.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good drywall primer easy to finish a nice even coat... Good drywall primer easy to finish a nice even coat
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked on remodeling my kitchen ... Worked on remodeling my kitchen
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s covered more than it says ... It’s covered more than it says
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price and it worked well ... Good price and it worked well
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on new drywall.... Works great on new drywall.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage Good coverage
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good coverage ... Good coverage
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Drywall Primer Our condo had a fire that required new drywall on ceilings/floors. I purchased 2, 5 gallon pails of this glidden after reading poor reviews of the behr brand. This primer worked great. In 1 coat it completly covered all mudded,taped,red lined areas. After 1 hour it was dry, walls went from bare drywall to a white 1st layer you could almost live with. It looked like a white walled apartment. Buy this brand and you won't have any regrets. Now on to the Behr ultra paint....
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! For the money, this is the best primer! Covered a nasty denim blue in 2 coats! Thought I'd need 5 gallons to cover an entire basement... only used 2 gallons! Would recommend this to anyone looking for cheap primer and needing to cover a lot!
Date published: 2010-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on new drywall. Did not stick well... Works great on new drywall. Did not stick well to semi-glossed painted walls.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! We just painted our entire new home with this primer and are very satisfied with the results. I was unsure how this product would work since it had such a low price but I was not sorry about my choice. We used 55 gallons without any problems using a Titan paint prayer in about 7 hours. I would recommend this primer to anyone painting new drywall. It looked so good I wondered if we needed to put a top coat on it at all.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thee absolute worst primer I have ever used. Do not buy. Do not use. It was a complete waste o... Thee absolute worst primer I have ever used. Do not buy. Do not use. It was a complete waste of time and money. We had a mix of pre-painted walls and new sheetrock and it literally wiped off with a moist finger about 15 hours after applied. It was on sale at HD, now we know why. Lesson learned. Stick to Kilz or another trusted brand of primer. The results with Kilz were superior the day after. You could tell the difference upon pouring the Kilz, which is much thicker. It has much better coverage and sticks much better.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome New Drywall Primer Just built our new home and used the Glidden PVA to prime all our new drywall. I was unsure on how well it would do at such a low price, but it was awesome. it sprayed great threw my graco sprayer and covered awesome. Great Product for any one priming new Drywall or texture a MUST!!!!
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This paint went on easily and looked great when dry. I used this primer over newly finished drywall on a 960 sq ft ceiling. It took about 4 gallons, so the coverage wasn't great, but the surface was smooth and even when dry. I was a little nervous about using a product that was so inexpensive compared to most other quality paints that I have used in the past, but I was pleasantly surprised. The paint was a good consistency and as easy to apply as any primer that I have used, even on the areas of old drywall that were uneven.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome paint to use, A+++ If ever you are looking for the perfect primer, this is the one to get. So smooth and covers everything effortlessly. Add that to the courteous Home Depot Staff and you have a winner, hands down!
Date published: 2009-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from covers well Works well with coverage of new drywall. Helps paint stick well. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-09-04
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_213
  • loc_, sid_100091142, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT