Internet #203148546

Model # 4002710

0817504002726

Green It

64 oz. Ready-to-Spray Liquid Corn Gluten Weed Preventer

$ 19 77

Overview

Stop weeds before they sprout with green it corn gluten weed preventer. A new ready-to-spray corn based pre-emergent derived from locally grown corn and manufactured in North America. It works by releasing organic dipeptides (proteins) into the soil to prevent weed seeds from establishing. Liquid corn gluten is a concentrated patented formula which works on weeds such as dandelions, crabgrass, and clover. To apply simply attach your hose to the included hose-end sprayer attachment, shake well and turn the dial to the "on" position. No mixing or calibration is required, natural weed control has never been this easy and affordable.
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+

Product Overview

Stop weeds before they sprout with green it corn gluten weed preventer. A new ready-to-spray corn based pre-emergent derived from locally grown corn and manufactured in North America. It works by releasing organic dipeptides (proteins) into the soil to prevent weed seeds from establishing. Liquid corn gluten is a concentrated patented formula which works on weeds such as dandelions, crabgrass, and clover. To apply simply attach your hose to the included hose-end sprayer attachment, shake well and turn the dial to the "on" position. No mixing or calibration is required, natural weed control has never been this easy and affordable.
  • Ready-to-spray pre-emergent weed control for a variety of broadleaf and grassy weeds such as dandelion, crabgrass and clover
  • Patented water soluble formula for fast acting protection against new weeds in your lawn and gardens
  • Cover more area with less product compared to granular corn gluten based products
  • Ideal for use in lawns, flower beds and around trees and shrubs
  • Simply follow application timing for most effective prevention of weed growth, generally when forsythia bloom, apply immediately

Product Overview

Model #: 4002710
Internet #: 203148546

Stop weeds before they sprout with green it corn gluten weed preventer. A new ready-to-spray corn based pre-emergent derived from locally grown corn and manufactured in North America. It works by releasing organic dipeptides (proteins) into the soil to prevent weed seeds from establishing. Liquid corn gluten is a concentrated patented formula which works on weeds such as dandelions, crabgrass, and clover. To apply simply attach your hose to the included hose-end sprayer attachment, shake well and turn the dial to the "on" position. No mixing or calibration is required, natural weed control has never been this easy and affordable.

  • Ready-to-spray pre-emergent weed control for a variety of broadleaf and grassy weeds such as dandelion, crabgrass and clover
  • Patented water soluble formula for fast acting protection against new weeds in your lawn and gardens
  • Cover more area with less product compared to granular corn gluten based products
  • Ideal for use in lawns, flower beds and around trees and shrubs
  • Simply follow application timing for most effective prevention of weed growth, generally when forsythia bloom, apply immediately

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Avenger Weed Killer Green It Avenger Weed Killer
Name 24 oz. Organic Weed Killer Ready-to-Use Herbicide Spray 64 oz. Ready-to-Spray Liquid Corn Gluten Weed Preventer 32 oz. Purely Organic Products Selective Lawn Weed Killer 128 oz. Organic Weed Killer Herbicide Concentrated
Price
$14.91
$19.77
$27.98
$85.64
Ratings (31) (88) (18) (56)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size (oz.)
64
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
2000
Product Depth (in.)
3.75
Product Height (in.)
10.75
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Application Method
Attach and Spray hose end bottle.
Application Type
Hose End
Area of Use
Garden,Landscape Bed,Lawn
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Neither (Pre-emergent)
Form
Liquid
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Natural
Natural
Organic
Yes
Returnable
90-Day
Weed Type
Dandelion,Dwarf Dandelion

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size (oz.)
64
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
2000
Product Depth (in.)
3.75
Product Height (in.)
10.75
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Application Method
Attach and Spray hose end bottle.
Application Type
Hose End
Area of Use
Garden,Landscape Bed,Lawn
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Neither (Pre-emergent)
Form
Liquid
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Natural
Natural
Organic
Yes
Returnable
90-Day
Weed Type
Dandelion,Dwarf Dandelion

Questions & Answers

what is the NPK of this product

what is the NPK of this product
Asked by: lharri57
Active ingredient: Corn Gluten Meal 99.81% Inert ingredient: Potassium Sorbate (as a preservative) 0.19%
Answered by: pcop27
Date published: 2018-09-04

Can I use this in july?

Asked by: BabyD
Can use in July, but I would apply during morning or evening cool down. However the product will only prevent new weeds from growing. Those weeds that are already in progress will not die. My experience with corn gluten is that when used once in spring and once in fall it works beautifully.
Answered by: precious
Date published: 2017-11-08

Will green it harm my mature tomato plants

Asked by: Bradley
No, but it will prevent other seeds from germinating in the future. So if you plant from seed in to the ground, you may not have anything that grows. You'd have to plant an actual plant into the soil where you've applied it. The effects don't last forever though and the length varies based on many variables.
Answered by: Chelsea
Date published: 2018-05-23

corn gluten for crabgrass

I already had my guy put down granular weed and feed last Monday. It doesn't include killing the crabgrass. Will it hurt if I put the corn gluten down now, and will it hurt since I already had it treaded the past Monday. Thank you
Asked by: Iberia
You can use it anytime of the year to prevent dog pooh on your lawn (seriously). It stinks quite nicely (to dogs, not so much to humans) and dogs will steer clear of your lawns. I plan to buy it every year now.
Answered by: MeIandMyself
Date published: 2018-03-15
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_, sid_203148546, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

64 oz. Ready-to-Spray Liquid Corn Gluten Weed Preventer is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product didn't work as avertised grass is the same color as it always has been at this time o... The product didn't work as avertised grass is the same color as it always has been at this time of year
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. I’ve used this product for a fewYears.... Easy to use. I’ve used this product for a fewYears. I like the organic nature rather than chemicals.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to spray but I have to wait some months to see if it works. Very good price. Very easy to spray but I have to wait some months to see if it works. Very good price.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It didn’t kill the weeds at all in fact lots more grew. It didn’t kill the weeds at all in fact lots more grew.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not very good. Not very good.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is working.... It is working.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work ... Did not work
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works if you understand what a preemergent is. This is not a weed killer, it is a preemergent. If you apply this too late in the Spring AFTER weed seeds have germinated you will get weeds. The weed emerges from the seed, pre means before, before the emergent of weeds. So yes, if you apply this at the end of Feb, beginning of March, then it works, if you apply it in April or May, it will not because the weeds have already germinated. It doesn't help to post a review of a product saying it doesn't work, if it wasn't used properly.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where have you been all my life? I bought this product and the dry equivalent by another manufacturer. I like having both, but either is good. It's surprising a pre-emergent isn't more popular. Even in store, they had to research it and found HD did carry it on-line. It's safe, non-toxic to pets and the environment, and the nitrogen content also acts as a fertilizer. What's not to like?
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from product doesn't dispense properly Your green it corn gluten spray doesn't dispense properly. I just spent a very frustrating day trying to use 7 bottles of your green it corn gluten spray purchased online at Home Depot in Maryland. I followed the directions carefully, but after spending 30 minutes spraying one bottle I realized that the corn gluten came out in the spray very erratically. As far as I could tell, there was no blockages in the the nozzle or the inside tube. I had to watch it carefully and shake and bang it and even then half time time only water was spraying. This, of course, means I was unable to tell if I sprayed it evenly as I had to keep going over the same areas. The last bottle was the worst. - I took it apart several times. I used up some, but then I just added water to the bottle and poured it around. Good idea in theory, doesn't work in practice. I'll go back to the dry corn gluten next time.
Date published: 2015-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good Product. I used corn gluten meal in the dry form before and love the results but it's not available here and too expensive to buy via the mail. I tried this liquid form and I'm very happy with the results. I don't know how the weed suppression will work yet, but the dry CGM worked very well at keeping the weeds down for about 3 months. This liquid product really got my grass a nice dark green and thicker. I used two bottles to cover about 4000 sq feet. The grass got much greener after 2 weeks. I will put it down again in Sept/Oct. It's well worth the money.
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I researched this product for two weeks. Home Depot has the very best price. I learned about corn gluten after listening to the Paul Parent radio gardening show. There are lots of weeds in my lawn that I am continually spraying, pulling, and watching re-grow. The corn gluten appears to be working - killing the new seeds that won't grow into new weeds now. I called my neighbors who are also purchasing this product from Home Depot.
Date published: 2013-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Xcellent Support I had a couple of questions, so I called the toll free phone # in the attached information. I received one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had. As to the product itself, only time will tell, but so far NO dandelions have been seen in my lawn!
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I applied this product about two - three weeks ago (fall October). In the past I have used anoth... I applied this product about two - three weeks ago (fall October). In the past I have used another corn gluten products (granular) and it worked beautifully. Each application (1 spring/1 fall) increases the effectiveness and less/no weeds. I am hoping that this liquid product will also. However, the spray mechanism released the product so quickly that it covered only half of the intended area, 1000 sf versus 2000 sf per bottle intended. I called the manufacturer. They readily said they would send two replacement bottles. I have not received as of today 11/8/17. I hope that too much corn gluten in an area is not going to cause a problem but I will not know until the spring. Giving 3-stars based on expectation of no-weed/ few weed results. Recommend "no" based on coverage and to-date non-receipt of replacement product. Will update my review, if given an opportunity, when replacement arrives and spring arrives.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works great Before purchasing this item, I looked at a number of reviews that talked about the difficulty of use, spillage/leakage, etc. Those must have come from sellers of granular product, because this liquid application couldn't be easier to use - hook on to the end of the hose and go. I put the product on about a month ago and so far have been very pleased with results. I expect to continue to use the product on a go forward basis.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe around ponds and pets. Keeps bird seed from sprouting. Very satisfied AFTER I contacted the manufacturer. With a huge pond in my backyard, I've had trouble finding a weed preventer/killer that wasn't also a fish killer. When trying to spray my first bottle, it didn't seem to work at all. I looked up the folks who make this and they gave me some tips to keep agitating the bottle. That did work much better and now I'm really, really satisfied with the results. Bonus, we have loads of birds stopping by our yard in the very early spring who always drop tons of seeds in my flower beds. This is the first year that I don't have bird seed sprouting everywhere!
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great so far. Product very easy to apply. One month after application there are no new weeds. Just what I was looking for: organic, good price, effective, easy to use.
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Could not get it to spray properly I bought two of these bottle to spray my lawn. Both my husband and I tried to apply it according to directions but after each of us sprayed for 30 minutes each, hardly any of the product was used. We attached the hose according to instructions and turned on water so pressure was its highest. We noticed that there is a "water only" position so we made sure that we used the application position. We both tried using both bottles but were still seemingly unsuccessful since the product level did not seem to go down. Weeds are sprouting now, so it may be too late to apply this product. We are frustrated.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I WILL NOT PURCHASE THIS AGAIN, IT TOOK TOO MUCH EFFORT TO APPLY IT TO THE LAWN. THIS IS NOT "READY-TO-SPRAY" I purchased 12 bottles of this product for my lawn. Less than half of the sprayers worked. I discovered there were small pieces of corn in most of the bottles that plugged the pick up tubes. I used a mesh screen and funnel to refill used bottles with liquid gluten and installed a working sprayer. The product is not consistent. Some bottles had no solids in them, most had between a table spoon full to 1/8 cup of solids. The project took 4 time longer than it should have. I will not use this product again
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Faulty application method We have 3500 sq feet of lawn. Tried to apply two containers which should cover 4000. When I first started spraying, I could smell the product so it seemed to be going on. After about 1000 sq feet, the bottle stopped emptying and I couldn't smell the product anymore. The second bottle acted the same way. I sprayed the entire 3500 sq feet and still have a bottle and a half left. I won't be able to review whether the product works since I couldn't get it applied correctly. I can only assume there is a problem with the mechanism.
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Spread this product last Spring (2015) and very few weeds this year. Will spread now and then again next Spring and every Fall and Spring. Product prevent seeds of weeds from sprouting so you do not have to put down poisons.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product performs as promised. The product is easy to apply, effective in controlling crabgrass and less expensive that the granular form I had been using.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast and easy organic spray for my lawn. Applied the product in the spring and had far less crabgrass weeds compared to last year. Application was simple, just make sure to shake the bottle before you turn on the hose.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MY LAWN AND MY NEIGHBORS' I would heartily recommend this product to everyone. It was super-easy to apply, and my huge lawn is almost totally weed-free. Even the birds are happy, with healthy worms!
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from questionable coverage I could spray the product very easily. I did not have any issues with clogging, like others seem to have had. However I emptied the container rather quickly, nowhere near the 2000 sq.ft. of coverage it advertises. I probably did not cover even half of that. Maybe my hose had too much pressure?
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I should of listened to most of the reviews!! This product was not user friendly, the product did not dispense out of the container like it should have and I had to squeeze the container really hard in order for the product to dispense!!
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So few weeds... So far only a very few weeds have emerged. It is the rainy season in Tucson. I am very pleased with this product. It is also safe for my cat who likes to chew on grass.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from $96.00 for product that failed to spray! I was eagerly anticipating applying this product to my lawn only to be disgusted with the spray delivery system. All four bottles failed to spray the product using a hose. Three hours of my time and money wasted. I am angry. There is no way that the manufacturer of this product and its retailer (Home Depot) are unaware of this problem and continue to distribute it as such. They can make it right by refunding the entire purchase price, plus tax and $25.00 for each of the three hours I wasted. If you are reading this you are forewarned!
Date published: 2015-04-25
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_, sid_203148546, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT