Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$3998 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.
  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Model #: RC 4C4
Sku #: 344518
Internet #: 202520884

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$39.98 /each
$57.35 /each
$58.82 /each
Was $93.77
$69.98 /each
Save $23.79 (25%)
Name 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed One Inch Series 4 ft. x 4 ft. x 5.5 in. Composite Raised Garden Bed Kit 4 ft. x 4 ft. x 10.5 in. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Bed 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Brand Greenes Fence Frame It All Greenes Fence Greenes Fence
Ratings (523) (4) (160) (275)
Container Width (in.) 48 48 48 48
Container Height (in.) 7 5.5 10.5 10.5
Shape Square Square Square Rectangle
Container Length (in.) 48 48 48 96
Material Wood Composite Cedar Wood
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

How long raised garden bed will last?

How long raised garden bed will last?
Asked by: Candee
We have had these for two years and applied a coating of linseed oil to extend the life. We have had no issues of warping. Recommend the linseed oil application though for longer use.
Answered by: OrganicGardening
Date published: 2017-08-06

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
Can I put this on my deck sbrasfield
Answered by: Sb
Date published: 2017-06-19

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The bed is 7 inches deep.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2018, m_1, d_17, h_12CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 462ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 523.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't last in the open. Fell apart after a year of weather in Colorado. If I was forced to buy another, I'd likely be inclined to reinforce it and give it about five coats of poly. Just too flimsy to last for a decent period of time.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice for the money I recently purchased this raised bed and think it is great (especially for small spaces). It would make a great beginners garden project for someone just starting to learn how to grow vegetables.
Date published: 2012-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments a small yard This raised garden bed is very easy to put together. I stained mine and it looks so pretty in my small back yard.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The rasied bed was perfect.. The raised garden bed we ordered was on my doorstep the next day and it was perfect for our garden. I would recommend it for any gardener . My plants love it....
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value, a real find! This item was a great deal! I built cinder block beds (hard work) and bought one from a builder (expensive) and wanted a small one too. This was so reasonable for what it is! Cedar, which is the best to use. Easy to assemble. Attractive. And under $40! What isn't to love? I will be back for more! Most raised beds are so much more expensive, much, much more! I hope they don't find out and raise the price!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roughing it with a raised bed For the money I expected better quality with this raised bed. The wood was very rough and had not been smoothed out at all. Lots of opportunities to get splinters. The place where the two boards join to form a corner is somewhat fragile and could potentially break during assembly. There are decorative endcaps but they are not predrilled. I split the wood on one before I realized that it would be better to nail a starter hole in the wood before attempting to place the screw. Once I finished assembly it looked ok and does what it is supposed to do. My next raised bed is going to be a fabric container that does not involve rough wood or assembly.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garden With two kits I was able to build a perimeter around a 64 square foot garden. Some of the boards were slightly warped but overall worked well.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size This product is the perfect size for a small yard or for someone who only wants a small garden. I put cardboard underneath to keep the weeds out and filled them with garden soil. All plants can be easily reached from all sides. I plan to buy a couple more next year.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Last years model is different from this years I purchased 2 of these last year. That model required a philips screw to hold the sideboards in. They did great for me as a beginning gardener. I liked them so much that I bought 1 more this year in order to take advantage of combining feature. This years model does not require a screw to hold in place and instead just slides in and locks. The Side boards are also shaped differently, so older model side panels will not fit into the corner pieces.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! This product does not disappoint. I ordered 3 and was able to make 4 beds in a 16X4 configuration. Super easy to assemble with only a screwdriver. I'll be ordering at least 3 more next year.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value I first purchased 2 to see if I liked them. They were easy to put together and seemed like they would hold up. I have already purchased 4 more. I stacked them so that I would have a deeper bed.
Date published: 2011-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value for Price These beds are perfect for square foot gardening. Assembly was easy - some boards were more difficult to get into the guides than others. Also, a few boards warped quickly. For the price, this can't be beat. It's great for people who live in the city and don't have a lot space. The 4' x 4' will hold a 25' soaker hose which makes watering simple. It is a bit filmsy but this is a trade off between price and quality and in line with my expectations.
Date published: 2013-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My New Cedar Garden Beds Just transformed my whole backyard area from an unused section, (that I only visited when I went in to mow) to a garden filled with vegetables, fruits and berries. I used various sizes of the cedar kits from The Home Depot. Priced many other options and styles, and thought these were decent beds for the price. I had most of them shipped to my house, and they arrived quicker than expected. Assembly was super easy, and although like others have said, they didn't come with instructions, I really didn't need them. Only tool I used was a rubber mallet and a screwdriver. Yes, the wood could be a touch warped here and there, and isn't thick, heavy wood, but it is fine. I added peat, perlite and vermiculite to my soil mix to lighten it up, so am not worried about the soil pushing out the boards. I didn't want to spend long weeks doing all the carpentry to build garden beds, so for me, this was a perfect option. I am hoping to get 10 years or so of use from these, even with our rough Ohio winters. The photos I've added show not only the 4'x4' bed, but some of the other styles offered as well. One more side note, only one piece in all my kits was missing, a side corner. I called the manufacturer, and they had it out to me right away. They were incredibly nice on the phone and really helpful. I would definitely buy more of these as needed as I am truly satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap material flimbsy structure bought a raised garden bed while on sale for spring black friday. took produck home and noticed how thin the retaining walls truely were, i put it together anyway, held together fine until i added dirt. the weight of the soil caused the retaining walls to break and snap the notched insert for the 4x4 corner.attempted the screw the wall to the 4x4 after it had broken on its own and the added screws caused the 4x4 to split completly. save yourself time and money do what i did get a much bigged raised garden at a fraction of the cost just use landscape timbers.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good for wheelchair accessability We stacked the raised beds to create an accessible gardening space for my daughter who uses a wheelchair. The only problem that we had was that one of the corner columns arrived broken. We called Home Depot and were told it would be fourteen days before the replacement piece would arrive. We wanted to get our seeds planted so we fixed it with screws. It seems to be working just fine.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I guess I'll be the weirdo! I bought this to use as a sand box for my granddaughter. I'll put a top on it to keep out the cats!!! I figure when she's grown out of it, I'll plant tomotoes in it. It is everything it says - especially simple to put together. I do wish they would give an idea regarding how much dirt would be required to fill the various sizes.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reasonably priced and easy to assemble I now have three of these, two from last year, and one I added this year. They are easy to connect together, and if you do, you end up with spare parts, which eventually (after you buy four) could result in a fifth "free" bed, or could just be a supply of replacement parts for any that wear out. The good news is the two beds I bought last year are still in excellent condition, showing virtually no wear and tear from wintering outdoors. I have to admit I was worried about this as the materials look a little flimsy when you first start to put them together. As for appearance, they are neither attractive nor ugly; they're just...plain. If you are looking for a decorative solution, I'd suggest looking elsewhere, but if your main concern is just a place to grow vegetables, these will do fine. Also on the plus side, they are very easy to assemble. And while not cheap, I think the price is reasonable. All in all I'd recommend these to anyone except those looking for a more decorative solution.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent another one may be ordered if my garden goes well I was lazy one day and didn't want to go to the Home Depot store to look at the raised garden material. I looked at the website instead. After researching other websites and comparing quality and prices I ordered one garden bed. It came quickly and there was no shipping cost. I was impressed with the cedar material. After laying it out I decided to order a second one. I can't wait to start planting in the spring and maybe adding a third. I would and have recommended this product to anyone who will listen. One person wanted to see the the bed to confirm it was really cedar at the price I was telling him.
Date published: 2011-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install There were two main reasons we bought this product. 1. It is made in the USA. 2. It is made of wood. Bonus: It is made of cedar, which resists pests and rot. This raised garden is easy to put together, and install. The hardest part, which isn't hard, is to level the ground, so the garden will be level. I used Behr Solid weather proofing on the outside, so it would match our deck, and other wooden raised flower beds. As for longevity, I can't review this product on that. We plan to use this raised bed to grow a garden in the front yard because that is the side of the house that gets constant sun. Cedar apparanently has most of the anti rot, anti pest properties of treated lumber, without all of the added chemicals. I may go back at one point and get another one, if this one works out okay. Mark :)
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this product It was fun creating my garden. I purchased to many seeds, so next season I will know how many seeds to buy.
Date published: 2012-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from East to assemble, perfect for a small garden. East to assemble, PERFECT for a small garden ... So I'm going back for more.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap! I bought these last year and they were decent. They had few knots and the boards were relatively straight. I bought new one this year with the intentions of stacking the new beds on top of my old ones. BAD IDEA!! First of all, they are not the same size as last year- about 1 1/2" shorter. The connector pieces are made out of much lower quality wood and did not match up with the old ones. Each board was full of knots & was warped. The company totally cheaped out on their product this year. I am returning all 6 that I bought. I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to put tpgether Cedar garden beds are great. they stack to make deeper beds and stand up well in cold and freezing temps.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of thes... 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of these larger sets 3 summers ago. As reviews state very easy to put together, fabulous looking ! We did the whole thing of placing a weed barrier, had quality garden soil delivered, graveled a walk area around the garden and put up a low fence to keep critters out. This would have been our 4th summer but: the wood warped badly; came out of the joints causing soil to spill out; and there was a lot of rotting of the wood. There was NO WAY of fixing this. My son, the same year, purchased 10x8 & 4x8 2in boards, joined them together with corner decking brackets and his still looks like new ! We have removed this mess and did the same as him at half the cost. I guess this is good if you plan on a total redo of your garden every 3 years.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little raised bed! I use this for herbs, I tried to do regular vegetables but because it is so shallow anything that needs a deep root will not work, including tomatoes, carrots, bulb onions, etc. Herbs and lettuces do great though!
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't plan on stacking it with an older version The first raised bed I bought from Greenes was great, but we decided to make it deeper by adding a 2nd one. Well, that won't work because this one is so cheaply made and it's actually just a bit smaller. It's a shame too because the first one was really great.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed in this product I bought my first raised bed kit from this company 2 years ago and at that time was very happy with the quality. This time the wood was cracked, the whole footprint of the bed was about 1/4-1/2 inch smaller than it was 2 years ago so it did not fit correctly stacked on the existing bed, and there were no pre-drilled holes to hold it all together.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy & nice looking i bought 4 of these a while ago and finally had time to install them over the weekend. Installation was a breeze! I did use a rubber mallet sometimes since some of the slats were a little bit hard to slide in but overall it was very simple! using a drill for the screws instead of a screwdriver also made the install quicker. the only flaw that i've seen is that 2 of the boards had some cracks in them and before i could even add dirt into the bed the boards have pretty much cracked to the point that i will need to call up the company and request 2 new boards.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT LITTLE PURCHASE!!! This did not fit my space, but some simple cuts did the trick. Went together easily and screwed right into place with a tight fit. End caps dressed it up a bit. Perfect little raised bed for my strawberries. Will go back and purchase several more !!!! Be sure you have an electric screwdriver on hand. That is all you need. Very happy with this purchase.. =)
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very happy! Easy to install-less than 20 minutes. Great price on sale ($30). Bought online and picked up in store with ease. We were happy that we could make the shape we wanted and a larger bed with just two kits. Overall I'd recommend to any beginner who is looking for an easy raised bed without the hassle of figuring out how to make one yourself.
Date published: 2013-05-14
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_523
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 103ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT