Model # RC 4C4

Internet #202520884

Store SKU #344518

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144904423

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
$3998 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.
  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Model #: RC 4C4
Sku #: 344518
Internet #: 202520884

Creating a bountiful garden has never been easier than with the Greenes 4 ft. x 4 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit. The dovetail joints make frame assembly a breeze: Simply slide the boards by hand into the corner joints for a solid and secure garden frame. Set the frame on any level outdoor space, add soil and plants or seeds, and begin growing the garden you've always dreamed of.

  • Greenes cedar raised garden kits provide the 7 in. of depth required to grow thriving vegetables, for plants that need additional depth, increase your garden height to 14 or 21 in. by stacking two or more of these 4 x 4 kits, or see the other Greenes Fence dovetail cedar raised garden beds configurations on this site
  • No tools are required to assemble the frame, a Phillips screwdriver is required to attach the decorative top
  • Assembly is simple: Slide the first and second post over each end of the first board, and then slide the second board on top of the first one to build one 7-inch-tall side, connect the rest of the frame in minutes
  • Each corner post is routed on all 4 sides, for easy assembly and kit expansion, and each board slides easily into the grooves for a snug fit
  • Resulting frame is solid and strong enough to easily support the garden when filled with soil
  • Open-bottom garden frame may be placed on virtually any level surface, although a bottom isn't always needed, to create one where desired, simply line the garden bed with landscape fabric or a weed barrier of your choice (sold separately)
  • Kit is made from naturally insect- and rot-resistant cedar, the wood is untreated, and chemicals are not used in the manufacturing process
  • Garden kit will weather nicely over time, to keep the wood looking new, apply a stain or sealer of your choice (sold separately)
  • Get added depth by stacking multiple 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kits, assemble the first kit, leaving off the decorative tops, without the tops, you will have a quarter-inch gap between the top board and the top of the post, slide a board from the second kit to fill this space and then build the rest of the kit as you did the first, with the corner posts from the second kit sitting on top of those from the first, the kits will be stacked and solidly attached, after connecting your final kit, add the decorative tops to the top kit
  • 10 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds
  • Each 4 x 4 greenes dovetail kit holds approximately 8 to 10 cu. ft. of soil
  • Package contents: 8 boards, 4 corner posts, 4 decorative tops, 4 decorative screws, assembly instructions

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$24.97 /each
$39.98 /each
Was $93.77
$69.98 /each
Save $23.79 (25%)
$82.39 /each
Name 42 in. x 42 in. x 8 in. Raised Garden Bed 48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Bed
Brand Greenland Gardener Greenes Fence Greenes Fence Greenes Fence
Ratings (64) (519) (272) (544)
Container Width (in.) 42 48 48 96
Container Height (in.) 8 7 10.5 10.5
Shape Square Square Rectangle Rectangle
Container Length (in.) 42 48 96 48
Material Composite Wood Wood Wood
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
7
Container Length (in.)
48
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
1
Product Weight (lb.)
30lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Square

Questions & Answers

is 7 inches of soil deep enough to plant tomato plants?

Asked by: ziggy
Does this include a liner
Answered by: Dan
Date published: 2017-04-10

How long raised garden bed will last?

How long raised garden bed will last?
Asked by: Candee
We have had these for two years and applied a coating of linseed oil to extend the life. We have had no issues of warping. Recommend the linseed oil application though for longer use.
Answered by: OrganicGardening
Date published: 2017-08-06

Can I place on concrete floor?

Don't have grass/dirt to put it on.... I only have concrete I backyard
Asked by: angelm626
Can I put this on my deck sbrasfield
Answered by: Sb
Date published: 2017-06-19

How tall are these?

In the description it says 48'' wide by 48'' long but nothing on how tall they are.
Asked by: Caviler98
The bed is 7 inches deep.
Answered by: Kitty
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 147ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 48 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 519.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift for son This was a gift for my son. He already had two of the beds and liked them so much so I got him two more.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap! I bought these last year and they were decent. They had few knots and the boards were relatively straight. I bought new one this year with the intentions of stacking the new beds on top of my old ones. BAD IDEA!! First of all, they are not the same size as last year- about 1 1/2" shorter. The connector pieces are made out of much lower quality wood and did not match up with the old ones. Each board was full of knots & was warped. The company totally cheaped out on their product this year. I am returning all 6 that I bought. I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to put tpgether Cedar garden beds are great. they stack to make deeper beds and stand up well in cold and freezing temps.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of thes... 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of these larger sets 3 summers ago. As reviews state very easy to put together, fabulous looking ! We did the whole thing of placing a weed barrier, had quality garden soil delivered, graveled a walk area around the garden and put up a low fence to keep critters out. This would have been our 4th summer but: the wood warped badly; came out of the joints causing soil to spill out; and there was a lot of rotting of the wood. There was NO WAY of fixing this. My son, the same year, purchased 10x8 & 4x8 2in boards, joined them together with corner decking brackets and his still looks like new ! We have removed this mess and did the same as him at half the cost. I guess this is good if you plan on a total redo of your garden every 3 years.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little raised bed! I use this for herbs, I tried to do regular vegetables but because it is so shallow anything that needs a deep root will not work, including tomatoes, carrots, bulb onions, etc. Herbs and lettuces do great though!
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't plan on stacking it with an older version The first raised bed I bought from Greenes was great, but we decided to make it deeper by adding a 2nd one. Well, that won't work because this one is so cheaply made and it's actually just a bit smaller. It's a shame too because the first one was really great.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was very disappointed in this product I bought my first raised bed kit from this company 2 years ago and at that time was very happy with the quality. This time the wood was cracked, the whole footprint of the bed was about 1/4-1/2 inch smaller than it was 2 years ago so it did not fit correctly stacked on the existing bed, and there were no pre-drilled holes to hold it all together.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy & nice looking i bought 4 of these a while ago and finally had time to install them over the weekend. Installation was a breeze! I did use a rubber mallet sometimes since some of the slats were a little bit hard to slide in but overall it was very simple! using a drill for the screws instead of a screwdriver also made the install quicker. the only flaw that i've seen is that 2 of the boards had some cracks in them and before i could even add dirt into the bed the boards have pretty much cracked to the point that i will need to call up the company and request 2 new boards.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT LITTLE PURCHASE!!! This did not fit my space, but some simple cuts did the trick. Went together easily and screwed right into place with a tight fit. End caps dressed it up a bit. Perfect little raised bed for my strawberries. Will go back and purchase several more !!!! Be sure you have an electric screwdriver on hand. That is all you need. Very happy with this purchase.. =)
Date published: 2011-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very happy! Easy to install-less than 20 minutes. Great price on sale ($30). Bought online and picked up in store with ease. We were happy that we could make the shape we wanted and a larger bed with just two kits. Overall I'd recommend to any beginner who is looking for an easy raised bed without the hassle of figuring out how to make one yourself.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome value for the money I read the reviews before I bought this product, and lets just say it made me a little skeptical on whether or not I was going to purchase it. I did however purchase it, and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!!!!! Love the smell of the cedar too. Can't wait to start growing in it.
Date published: 2012-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! They're great, easy to put together. We put two together and made it an 8 ft bed. They're really cute and make your garden look alot neater! Truly cedar, that's all we could smell. They were delivered really fast!!Ordered on a weekend and they were here that Tuesday!
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with this product. Quick and easy to assemble. Some of the boards had to be reinforced,bowed and separated between the boards when dirt was put in. Overall happy with product. Would purchase additional garden beds of this type.l
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cedar raised garden bed is very nice. Slide the boards in the slots, screw the top piece on... This cedar raised garden bed is very nice. Slide the boards in the slots, screw the top piece on each corner, fill with dirt , add your plants and water. You can start a garden in one afternoon. It is a great box for growing a tomato plant with a few other plants.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've bought several of these over the last few years. The quality has declined significantly. I... I've bought several of these over the last few years. The quality has declined significantly. I installed one last year and the wood has already warped and rotted; one from two years ago is so rotted and warped that it's worthless. I will never buy these again.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to put together and looks great! I bought two of those and stacked them to be able to allow deeper roots. It looks great and it is quite solid. I lined the bottom with landscaper cloth to deter weeds. I am very happy with this purchase! I was alone and the whole thing took me less than an hour.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall very nice product Fairly easy to assemble, looks good and works well alone or in groups for a larger garden. Looks like an expensive custom built bed.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Product is great for small gardens I like this product due to its ease of assembly. It took all of 5 mins to put together and now I have veggies..
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes, it was easy to assemble ! However I needeyes... Yes, it was easy to assemble ! However I needeyes it was easy to assemble but to do some adjustments because I needed a rectangle shaped and I was short of two corniers to hold the structure. It was sugested a stone corner which worked! Lupe
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am happy with this purchase. Very easy to put... I am happy with this purchase. Very easy to put together and you can ways add more to it if you need. The wood itself is a ok quality, but it does meet the needs. If you need something practical and inexpensive, this may be a good choice.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Good quality material, easy to setup, all components included and works as I had hoped it would.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised bed was very easy to assemble. The only caution is to not force it too much when sliding t... Raised bed was very easy to assemble. The only caution is to not force it too much when sliding the boards into the posts because they can break. Otherwise, everything worked out fine - growing tomatoes, potatoes, and lettuce.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The picture of this product looks beautiful, but the product itself is not good quality. The caps... The picture of this product looks beautiful, but the product itself is not good quality. The caps broke when being installed the wood is not finished the way it is shown in the beauty shots used for the product description.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from assembly easy for even a 72 year old female. good instructions, perfect size, sturdy and attractive.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked like a dream. Just what I wanted for improving... Worked like a dream. Just what I wanted for improving my outdoor garden. Cant beat the price although some of the wood work is cracked, but still went together easily and looks great in the center of my garden.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble, seems sturdy. Not 2x6 construction, but much cheaper and no cutting. I am hopin... Easy to assemble, seems sturdy. Not 2x6 construction, but much cheaper and no cutting. I am hoping it lasts several season. Will add another one to it next spring it weathers the North Texas Summer well.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don'tknow yet as I sent this to my daughter... I don'tknow yet as I sent this to my daughter and she hasn't put it together yet. Am going down there soon, so will let you know! She has wanted one of these. Me too, but have a small yard!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was easy to assemble. I added 8 long stakes to insure that it stayed where I put it. 4 of the ... It was easy to assemble. I added 8 long stakes to insure that it stayed where I put it. 4 of the stakes, centered on the outside of each side also prevents the sides from bowing.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought 2 of these to stack in my little ... Bought 2 of these to stack in my little backyard . The went together easily . Some of the boards are slightly warped So it's not completely square , but it's fine
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was very easy to put together I put strawberries... It was very easy to put together I put strawberries in mine but you can put any vegetable in it. I may get another one to put herbs in so they are contained in one place
Date published: 2017-05-16
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_519
  • loc_, sid_202520884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 197ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT