Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Was  $93.77
$6998 /each

Save $23.79 (25%)

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.
  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Model #: RC 4C8T2
Sku #: 342574
Internet #: 202520864

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$69.98 /each
$77.65 /each
$79.99 /each
$96.92 /each
Name 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 2 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Bed Two Tiers Dovetail Raised Garden Bed
Brand Greenes Fence Greenes Fence Greenes Fence Greenes Fence
Ratings (272) (139) (543) (79)
Container Width (in.) 48 24 96 48
Container Height (in.) 10.5 10.5 10.5 10.5
Shape Rectangle Rectangle Rectangle Rectangle
Container Length (in.) 96 96 48 144
Material Wood Cedar Wood Wood
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

Questions & Answers

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
Look them up on HomeDepot.com. All dimensions are clearly stated.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Is this stackable?

Asked by: Laurey
Sure, but why would you want a raised bed that deep? That might be too much weight for the boards to handle.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Can you stack the shorter bed on top of the larger bed? What is the length of the larger bed?

Asked by: TammyH
Both beds are 4' X 4'.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-04-04
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 272.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice design, easy assembly Replaced an old planter that had seen better days. Very easy to install even by myself. Good materials.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made & very easy to put together. Designed well & has an attractive appearance as well. Very well made & very easy to put together. Designed well & has an attractive appearance as well.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garden bed Easy to put together, some boards were a little junky but overall a good purchase
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suburban Gardening Made Simple Easy to assemble and expand with add on gardens. Space saver garden.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a wonderful product looks great and very easy to assemble a wonderful product looks great and very easy to assemble
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything i expected... everything i expected
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gardening Solution - Easy To Set Up I was looking into building my own raised cedar boxes this spring and came across this kit. For only a little more than the cost of materials to build my own, I saved all kinds of time setting this up and got my veggies planted all in one afternoon. I bought a couple kits and connected them to make a corner bed. **Installation tip, it's very handy to have a rubber mallet to help the slats into position as some are cut thicker than others.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clever dovetail design The cedar dovetailed posts are a clever design idea. They are well engineered. In reality though, your box needs to be on perfectly level ground or some of the boards will be difficult to slide in due to things getting out of square. Some of the cedar posts split easily. I love the design and versatility of these units. The value/sq ft is exceptional. I priced many boxes and got 12-4'x4' boxes for the price of 4-8 anywhere else. I think these would be much improved if the posts were actually plastic or composite. I turned the boxes over once assembled and used the post cap as a foot. This gave the boards a stop so they could not slide out of the bottom and kept things more even. If you have perfectly level site this may not be necessary but I think it could enhance the overall design stability so that when you lift these to move them for any reason, the boards don't drop out of the bottom.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!! I am very much a beginner gardener and not much of a handywoman. This garden is SUPER easy to put together. It took only about 15 min. to assemble. Some of the boards were a little warped, but they still do the job! Much easier for me than trying to build one from scratch. More than one may be purchased to link them together if you want a larger garden. FYI, I filled this garden to the top with dirt & it took 21 cubic feet.
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price! If you've looked at raised garden beds, you know they are ridiculously priced. It's just wood, right? The materials probably cost $20 so why do they usually cost 200-300 dollars for a kit? It's like those cat trees. They're made of wood and carpet scraps and they cost $300. What is THAT about?! This kit is as advertised and costs $79. Does the job and a breeze to put together. It's great. Don't forget to pick up some weed block fabric to put underneath it and the price of dirt and drip sprinklers if you're feeling adventurous. I love it.
Date published: 2011-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I just bought this raised bed a week ago. The raised garden bed was easy to assemble it took me a... I just bought this raised bed a week ago. The raised garden bed was easy to assemble it took me about 10 minutes and can be easily dismantled and set up elsewhere if needed. It was cheaper than building one myself, but the thickness of the boards are thinner than I wanted but the cost difference convinced me to buy this. After setting it up I was happy with the purchase. I also purchased landscape fabric and stapled it to the inside to keep the dirt from running out the bottom. Just waiting for warmer weather to get things growing.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to Assemble - Average Quality Ordered 2 of these online and a week later they were on my doorstep. This products is easy to put together. I assembled myself, took about 30 minutes per box. Overall, the quaility is average. The boards are on the thin side.. about 1/2 inch and some of them are a bit warped. Also, the wood itself is on the rough side, don't expect a nicely sanded smooth finish. To spite all that, they look good in the yard, but I don't expect them to last more than a few years. Considering the cost of other raised bed kits, this was a very good deal. It took 8 cu ft of soil to fill the shallower half and 12 for the deeper side. Also, I lined the bottom with heavy guage wire mesh and used a staple gun to attach -- keeps the critters from tunneling in and also helps stablize the shape of the bed (they were a bit flimsy and didn't stay square when moving them into place after assembly). Corner brackets on the inside of each corner would be a good retrofit.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Planting Bed This is the two tier 4’ x 8’ kit. The assembled bed is attractive. It comes as a single box containing 4-foot planks. The wood is rough cut and the tongue and groove appear to have been milled with a 300 HP cheese grater, but all the tongues had enough definition to perform their intended function namely to interlock with the six posts. Assembly of the slats into the support post slots was quick and easy. The price was very affordable and probably cheaper than buying lumber having it delivered and then having me butcher a hand made frame. The package arrived intact and in the amount of time one would expect for complimentary shipping. I will buy several more of these planting beds. For planning purposes, ten bags of planting soil filled the two tiers.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good value, nice design I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to try out gardening. Labor saving over the traditional sod-busting method, Cost and time saving over a build-it-youself method (which I did price out). If it holds up over time. I can add aditional units and develop a lovely & productive garden spot. I would have liked to see a thicker lumber, but the cedar is nice that's why the 4 stars. one useful tip I picked up while investigating other designs, is to line the bottom with hardware cloth to prevent moles etc from tunneling up into the goodies. Happy growing!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All set up and ready! After lining with weed barrier it took 24 cu ft of soil to fill.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, great quality These were easy to put together and look great. Amazing quality for the cost of these.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy construction for the wood box itself. Will need chicken wire and plastic sheeting. Think t... Easy construction for the wood box itself. Will need chicken wire and plastic sheeting. Think that is mentioned on box. The sheeting lines the wood only on the inside of the box to keep the wood from rotting. The chicken wire is stapled to the bottom to allow roots to grow into soil. This was our first box and my 11 year old son helped assemble it with a power drill, rubber mallet, wire shears, leather work gloves and staple gun. We have been watching our first edible garden grow and tasting what real strawberries are like!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, good price, easy to put together The summary pretty much says it all. It seems good quality cedar, the way it fits together made sense and was easy enough (even for someone like me who doesn't use drills or power tools often) and I thought it was a good price. Time will tell how well it lasts but I'm happy so far.
Date published: 2011-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Assembled as advertised After reading others' comments that the boards were warped and twisted, I was very concerned. I bought it anyways hoping for the best. My concerns did not materialize ... I found all of the boards easily fit into the dovetail slots in the end posts and the boxes were assembled in no time I added chicken wire to the bottom to keep out varmints and landscape fabric to the inside to keep in the dirt I would buy this again.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy to assemble , strong, sturdy,beautiful! I Love this kit. I'm 51 and disabled and I was able to put it together in about 15 min. The dove tail joints fit together easily, tight and strong. I went the next day and bought another one to add to it. The only thing I didn't realize was that 2-tier meant that one 4' section is 10" and the other is 7-1/2" high. but that was my misunderstanding. Actually, I ended up liking the 2-tier and it looks great with 2 kits together. I plan on buying more in the furure for the back yard.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Doesn't Get Any Easier Than This The quality of the wood and workmanship is so-so. There were a few knot holes (which I intend to take up with the manufacturer). The milled ends were apparently pushed faster than the blades wanted to cut, as they seemed shredded almost as much as cut. Thus, sliding the ends of the boards into the corresponding slots in the posts met with some resistance at times, but nothing a few good raps with something solid couldn't overcome. That said, this is the THIRD identical set I've bought and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. Despite the imperfections, it is still far easier to put this together than to build something similar from scratch. So, while the wood quality isn't perfect, it's good enough for raised beds. BONUS: because this is a nail-less and screw-less design, there are no worries about those fasteners corroding or pulling out over time. (There are wooden caps that are to be screwed to the tops of the posts, but installing those is optional; they are strictly for aesthetics) I'm a hobbyist woodworker, too -- I could make something better for less money, but for the time involved, I chose to buy this, instead. Once it's together and in use, the minor defects disappear and there's the satisfaction of having put together a decent-looking raised bed with very little time and effort. (Which is good, because the work really begins when you start to fill it!) One more thing: if you are new to raised beds, as I was when I bought my first one, be prepared to have to buy MORE filler than you're told you'll need. When you fill it with the calculated or recommended amount of soil mix, it will look just fine. After it's been thoroughly watered a few times, though, it will settle. You might consider picking up an extra 25% right off the bat, if the full depth is important for what you're planting.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like the look but... I paired this with some of the other Greenes fences kits. I have had this product for six months so far and the wood is starting to dry and become warped. It could be because of the dry, hot climate I live in. I do like the look and want to buy another. I will just seal the next one I buy.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble. Looks nice. I especially like the 10 inch depth. My only complaint is that ther... Easy to assemble. Looks nice. I especially like the 10 inch depth. My only complaint is that there are some gaps between some of the boards. I lined the entire thing with weed blocker fabric and stapled it into place before filling with the soil.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and fast to put together in back yard. Couldn't believe haw fast it was to put together. I have planted the vegitables I wanted to and they are growing very well and the garden bed is holding up well and not falling apart.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beyond expectations! great little kit. doing great job holding soil and plantings on slope. am amazed how well.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice raised bed garden kit! This is a great raised bed garden kit - easy to get in my car, easy to assemble, and versatile for many configurations. I would really like some anchoring stakes that would maybe go in the center of the 4-way connectors, so that the sides don't bow out under the pressure of the dirt and watering.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking, Easy to assemble, Expandable These beds were super easy to assemble. The posts and boards are dovetailed to slide together and stay in place. I bought 3 of these kits plus two of the 4'x4' kits thinking I would make 5 beds total. But, after opening the kits, I discovered they connect to each other! So, I had enough extra pieces to make 4 large and 3 small beds. While I didn't stack them, you easily could to make the beds as high as you like. Note that the box says "no tools needed", which is true to put the posts and boards together. But, you will need a screwdriver (I recommend a screw bit on a drill) to attach the end caps. The caps are pre-drilled and come with weather resistant deck screws, they go on quickly and easily. If you are one of the few people in the world without a screwdriver, the beds will still be functional without the caps.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Very easy to assemble. It is attractive(as you can see) and being of cedar, it discourages insects and lasts longer. I thought I needed two gardens, but realized one was enough. HomeDepot had it returned from my front door, and refunded my charges 4 days later.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An okay option for a small budget. These are really easy to put together-- the boards just slide into slots and you screw them together. They're priced affordable and shipped quickly. Many of the boards were warped most of the wood in the packages seemed damp-- so once assembled mine looks a little wonky. I was putting multiple kits together so I tried to put the boards that were warped on the bottom level and on the inside. If exchanging such a large item hadn't been such a pain I would have. Overall review-- its okay. Probably won't last more than a few years.
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raised Garden Bed Very pleased with product, instructions and value. Also worked with manufacturer for additonal accessories and that was pleasant.
Date published: 2012-01-24
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_272
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 204ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT