Model # RC 4C8T2

Internet #202520864

Store SKU #342574

Greenes Fence 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed
0052144920485

Greenes Fence

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Was  $93.77
$6998 /each

Save $23.79 (25%)

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.
  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Product Overview

  • Unfinished rough sawn cedar
  • Board Thickness 11/16 - 3/4 in.
  • Raised Garden Bed made of North American cedar
Model #: RC 4C8T2
Sku #: 342574
Internet #: 202520864

Greenes' 4 ft. x 8 ft. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Kit lets you create a gorgeous two-tier flower or vegetable garden with ease. The dovetail joint construction means you won't need tools to assemble the garden frame: Simply slide the boards into place, and you're done. There's never been a simpler or faster way to turn any level outdoor space into the most fabulous garden in the neighborhood.

  • Assembles quickly and easily
  • Boards slide into place with no tools required
  • Creates the ideal growing environment for your favorite plants
  • Made from naturally rot- and insect-resistant cedar
  • Expands into multiple configurations with any greenes cedar raised garden kit
  • Stacks with additional greenes dovetail cedar raised garden kits
  • 25 cu. ft. of soil needed to fill raised beds

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
Was $93.77
$69.98 /each
Save $23.79 (25%)
$77.65 /each
$79.99 /each
$96.92 /each
Name 48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 2 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed 4 ft. x 8 ft. x 10.5 in. Dovetail Cedar Raised Garden Bed Two Tiers Dovetail Raised Garden Bed
Brand Greenes Fence Greenes Fence Greenes Fence Greenes Fence
Ratings (272) (139) (543) (79)
Container Width (in.) 48 24 96 48
Container Height (in.) 10.5 10.5 10.5 10.5
Shape Rectangle Rectangle Rectangle Rectangle
Container Length (in.) 96 96 48 144
Material Wood Cedar Wood Wood
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Height (in.)
10.5
Container Length (in.)
96
Container Width (in.)
48

Details

Color Family
Wood
Color/Finish
Cedar
Material
Wood
Number of Tiers
2
Product Weight (lb.)
55.85lb
Raised Bed Features
Expandable,Multiple Tiers
Returnable
30-Day
Shape
Rectangle

Questions & Answers

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?

WHAT IS THE DEPTH? HOW WIDE ARE THE BOARDS?
Asked by: FRITZY
Look them up on HomeDepot.com. All dimensions are clearly stated.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Is this stackable?

Asked by: Laurey
Sure, but why would you want a raised bed that deep? That might be too much weight for the boards to handle.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Can you stack the shorter bed on top of the larger bed? What is the length of the larger bed?

Asked by: TammyH
Both beds are 4' X 4'.
Answered by: Fulldinner
Date published: 2017-11-08

Should I put something down first before I put these on a concrete slab?

Asked by: techimnot
I would definitely put down weed barrier just so the sol does not drain out when you water. Ideally I would put on ground not concrete.
Answered by: CJ
Date published: 2017-04-04
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

48 in. x 96 in. Cedar Raised Garden Bed is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 272.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product! After reading all the reviews, I had reservations about this product, but I have to tell you that it is an excellent value. The boards are really straight and smooth, construction was a snap, and my instant garden was assembled in less than 30 minutes working in the hot texas sun. I checked lumber prices before ordering and the total price is less than the cost of the individual components. Ordering online was really easy as the item was in stock, and I received an email within 2 hours informing me that my order was ready for pickup.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for square foot gardening Purchased this in early spring to grow some vegetables this year. Assembly was a snap and the cedar should hold up for many seasons. I filled it with "Mels mix" and grew some outstanding veggies this year. I can't wait to start planting the fall garden.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product. Bought 3 and then 2 more Very easy to put together, attractive and easy to work with
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from raised garden hopes it was nice. Super easy to put together, good size, nice cedar. Hoping for a great garden to come from this.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought several of these beds about 4 years ago. For the first 2 years, no problem. Year 3, the ... I bought several of these beds about 4 years ago. For the first 2 years, no problem. Year 3, the boards bowed so badly that I lost quite a bit of soil. Year 4 (now), they have completely rotted through in several areas (mainly the corner posts) and will need to be replaced this year. For the price, you would be better off spending a bit more and getting something more durable
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Satisfied My garden looks great and the garden bed was easy to put together. Not the best lumber but it is OK. It did take 20cuft of soil. I'm enjoying it! Becky
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from terrible product Problem with this product is that some of the cedar pieces are warped and assembling them into a garden bed is very frustrating. You will need to buy 2 sets, pick the best non-warped pieces from each set to make one good set and then return the set that has all the reject pieces in it. Don't forget to open the box carefully so you can return it in the original box. I had to do this rather than un-assemble the set I originally purchase and buy a new one that will result in the same drama. That being said, it looks pretty good when assembled with the good pieces.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thumbs up - raised garden Plagued by the clay that composes much of the midwest, I've tries in vain to grow a vegetable garden in so many years past. By the time I grew a few black spotted tomatoes, nice ones were dirt cheap in the grocery stores, so I basically gave up. Grandkids inspired me to try one more time - there's nothing like a few strawberries fresh from the garden to make you the super-grammy, capable of just about anything. The land behind the back of our house slopes down slightly, so the two-tiered raised garden fit in perfectly. The cedar planks looked fantastic, it provided a receptacle for the ton of manure/mulch mixture I needed to remove from our front landscape (see my "medina" review for rubber mulch), and it gave me ten inches of actual soil in which to plant my seedlings. I ended up expanding the original two beds to five by purchasing two more 4x4 bed kits - the pieces allow a variety of configurations - and lined the front of each bed with various flowering and hanging plants so I'd have a flower garden in addition to a vegetable garden. I don't know if it really matters whether or not I get much edible produce out of my garden... I love watching my grandkids watching the carrots grow from seed, the tomatoes and peppers (apparently interchangeable at age 5) taking form, the snow pea sprouts clinging to anything standing still, and the zucchini plants which will provide more squash than anyone could ever want/need in a season. If you have a desire to fulfill your "inner farmer", this raised bed garden is wonderful!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional product The product arrived quickly and in good condition. Assembly was fairly easy. Some of the pieces had to be hammered in because the cuts on the assembly joints are very rough. A couple of the boards split in the process but I was able to position them to decrease stress on the overall unit. The wood is very thin and flimsy and the quality was less than I expected. However I do believe the units are serviceable. I would have preferred all one height ie., all 10.5 inches versus the lower 7.5 inches. Once filled with soil and compost they seem to work as required. I am a retired beginning urban gardener so this is my first experience with raised beds. My goal was to have a serviceable garden that would also add beauty to the area. I used weed barrier under the beds, outlined with cinder blocks filled with soil for growing herbs and companion flowers and filled the flooring with mulch. The picture is the end result.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made In The USA Great product. Great price and Made In The USA. Product is stylish.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted the 4'x8'x10.5" and got this instead. After leveling the ground I laid down some good weed barrier. Don't skip this part if you want to keep the good soil in the bed and not let it leach into the soil you didn't want to plant in! I built the sides and secured the corners then pulled the weed barrier inside and stapled it to the inside of the bed. This will keep your soil inside the bed and weeds outside. One problem I did find was that a few of the cedar boards were warped on the narrow side, not the wide side like you might expect, so when the sides were assembled there were gaps that let the soil fall through the wide 'cracks' in the sides. The top caps were also not pre-drilled like they said they'd be so a screwdriver alone will not be enough unless you want to split the wood. The good news! I emailed Greenes Fence and told them about the warped pieces and asked them about the drilled caps. I got an email the next day from FedEx telling me i have a package coming in a couple of days from Greenes. I also found an email from Greenes saying they were sending me a few boards to replace the warped ones. What great customer service! I asked in another email about the caps and also to thank them and they responded saying the caps are not pre-drilled, but the video, ads, and in print I saw somewhere all said they were and just a screwdriver was all you needed. Someone is wrong here and pictures don't lie. I'm happy they sent me replacements so fast so I'll drill the holes. I may not use the caps as they stick out and I don't want anyone catching a leg on the corner due to a narrow walkway on either side of the bed. I may just drill it as an offset just to lock the sides in swivel away, and remain flush on the outside corners, if I need to remove a board later.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of these... 3 YEARS LATER......ROTTED & WARPED; TOTALLY FELL APART ! I was so excited to purchased 2 of these sets 3 summers ago. As reviews state very easy to put together, fabulous looking ! We did the whole thing of placing a weed barrier under, had quality garden soil delivered, graveled a walk area around the garden and put up a low fence to keep critters out. This would have been our 4th summer BUT: the wood warped each year more and more on both sets to the point it caused the wood to came out of the joints making the whole frame fall apart & soil seep out; plus ended up with a lot of rotting wood. There was NO WAY of fixing this. My son, the same year, purchased 10x8 & 4x8 2in boards, joined them together with corner decking brackets and his still looks solid & new ! This past Sunday we removed this mess and did the same as him at half the cost. I guess this is good if you plan on a total redo of your garden every 3 years.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm... It's okay. It's as advertised, no question about that. I guess I thought it would be a little bigger and a little stronger, but it's kinda my own fault for not really thinking, "okay, how big is 4x8, really?" It's holding the garden just fine, but the boards are a little on the flimsy side - one or two are starting to crack and we've had it outside for less than a month. (I did stain and waterproof it the day it arrived.) So, yeah, it's as advertised, and it works just fine - I simply had slightly unrealistic expectations of what I'd get for the price.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am always skeptical when it says "no tools required" but this was genuinely easy to slide together! The fact that the joints just fit together like puzzle pieces also will make it easy to move, which is important to me. This is one big planting bed! We put down (4) 40 pounds bags of soil just on one side, and that filled it to a depth of about 2 -3 inches. So keep that in mind! The boards are not treated, so if you want to increase the longevity of them, you could probably coat them in beeswax without harming your soil or veggies.
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but NOT $39!! FYI, this is $79. When you purchase online, or in the store, it's $79. Still very easy to assemble (watch for splinters). I'm using it as a sandbox - stapled some weed-control fabric on it and sanded down the edges. Love it!
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Five stars This is a five star product but it won't let me rate it. I have three of these bed kits. They were easy to put together (I'm an over 60 woman). My only negative is the the boards are dovetailed and therefore when I have to replace a board it is going to be difficult. I wish that the company sold replacement parts.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are very happy with the raised garden bed we purchased. It was extremely easy to put together!... We are very happy with the raised garden bed we purchased. It was extremely easy to put together! We put it together 1 week ago. Our soil is clay and we did not relish the idea of trying to dig up a garden. This fit the bill for us!! You won't be disappointed with this.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to assemble raised garden bed kit The kit was exactly what I was looking for. It is easy to assemble and expandable. It is not overly fancy, but it still looks nice. It is very rough cut, as the box says. But, the rough cut didn't interfere with assembly or function, and no one got a splinter.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Raised bed garden kit Everything you need included. Easy to assemble and use. I would've liked both sides to be even, but one end is shorter. You have to buy additionall kits to get the parts to enlarge it or make another 48 x 48 tall section. Still, it's a good quality kit.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product was easy to install, however, if your expecting something... Product was easy to install, however, if your expecting something heavy duty, this isn't the product for you. The outside slates were on the thin side and I'm not sure how it will stand up over time. Overall, for a starter kit, it fits the bill.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived quickly. Easy to assemble. I purchased 4 of them... Arrived quickly. Easy to assemble. I purchased 4 of them and I'm very happy with my purchase! Highly recommend. I tilled the areas first, assembled them then added the topsoil, compost, garden soil mix. I can't wait to start planting!
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This product was definitely easy to assemble. My 13 year old daughter did the assembly all by her... This product was definitely easy to assemble. My 13 year old daughter did the assembly all by herself. But the finish on the wood was not great and she got splinters. The tops that went on the pegs did not have pre-drilled holes.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to put together. Took less than 20 minutes... So easy to put together. Took less than 20 minutes to set up, but definitely need to make sure the area is level. Very happy with this purchase. We could not have even purchased wood to build our own for this money.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice looking and easy to set up. I would like it better if it was one board deeper on both s... Very nice looking and easy to set up. I would like it better if it was one board deeper on both side. However, my plants are doing well in it now - about one month in.. I really like the cedar!
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from There was no bottom. I wanted a enclosed box and the description was poor with this product. I h... There was no bottom. I wanted a enclosed box and the description was poor with this product. I have had the product for 2 weeks and have not even planted anything. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Split all over It was old and had been there a while since the box was really oily and dirty and broken. The planks and holding corners split and didn't hold together. Really not worth the money.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put together, only took about 15 minutes. I like that I can add onto it in the future, if... Easy to put together, only took about 15 minutes. I like that I can add onto it in the future, if I choose to. Nice quality for the price.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Very easy to put together and well made. Also like the fact that you can add more too it when you want to grow your garden.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arrived on time. Easy to assemble. Plants are growing great.... Arrived on time. Easy to assemble. Plants are growing great. Home Depot customer service was excellent.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was easy to install and took only about thirty... It was easy to install and took only about thirty minutes. It is very light weight.
Date published: 2017-04-21
  • y_2017, m_11, d_23, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_272
  • loc_, sid_202520864, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 303ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT