#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 324254619

Model # USKGA7101

Store SKU # 1009544645

Gate Frame Kit 71 in. Black Aluminum for Horizontal Boards (hinges and locks sold separately)

$139.00
Apply Now
Pay $114.00 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Sold separately boards, lock and hinges
  • Gate frame designed for 5/4 wood and 1 in. composite boards
  • Adjustable width: maximum 4 ft. wood boards (3.5 ft. composite)
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

Aluminum Gate Frame kit for horizontal boards provides same stylish design to match your HOFT fencing project. 2 pre-pierced U-channels allow easy screw-in assembly and aluminum capping's hide screws for seamless design. Compatible with most hinges and locks.

Highlights

  • Adjustable width: maximum 4 ft. wood boards (3.5 ft. composite)
  • Boards, hinges and lock sold separately
  • Designed for 5/4 in. wood and 1 in. composite boards
  • U-channels can be easily cut to desired height
  • Kit includes 2 in. x 71 in. black powder-coated aluminum extrusions and 58 screws and hardware
  • Stylish design
  • Return Policy

Product Information

Internet # 324254619

Model # USKGA7101

Store SKU # 1009544645

Additional Resources

Shop All HOFT

Specifications

Details

Accessory Type

Gate Accessory

Features

No Additional Features

Fencing Material Compatibility

Composite, Metal, Wood

Product Weight (lb.)

12 lb

Returnable

90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty

30 days on manufacturing defects, 5 years on paint

Questions & Answers

25Questions
caret
Q:Do you need to use the spacers in between boards or can you just stack them for more privacy?
by|May 18, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Nick and thanks for reaching out. There is no problem with using no spacers, but please note that our spacers also act as nails. Having ½’’ spacers in between boards will also allow wind to go through and will reduce wind resistance. It is possible to put the boards one on top of each other but please make sure that the top 3-4 boards have the spacers to ensure a sturdier assembly, and for wind flow. NOTE: the ½’’ spacers between boards reduce the wind resistance. If you are using a tongue in groove, then you do not need spacers. It is important to use spacers if our product is used as a guardrail on an elevated deck. You may discard if you are using our posts as a concealing screen or other. If you are building a fence, we definitely recommend you use our section brackets included in each kit on the top last board to solidify your installation (especially important on an elevated deck and without the use of our spacers). Thank you and please have a wonderful day. HOFT Team.

by|May 22, 2024
    caret
    Q:I see 48” max but we have 2 16’ wide opening that need gates. Can shrink to 12 and push width to 6’ with diagonal brace on lighter weight composite board. What do you think? Or use something like a removable center post that only comes out when needed
    by|May 11, 2024
    2 Answers
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Miles and thanks for reaching out. HOFT recommends a maximum distance of 42'' for our HOFT 71'' Gates. You can always place a diagonal board in the back of your door and screw it to all horizontal boards to keep it level. Please make sure it goes from the bottom hinge to the opposite top of the gate frame. We also strongly recommend the use of wheels on the bottom. If you should exceed the recommended maximum distance of 42'', we can no longer guarantee our HOFT Gates. Thank you and please have a wonderful day. HOFT Team.

    by|May 14, 2024

      A:  Hoft is confusing. 42 inches is for composite I believe. 48 inches is for wood. From manual. "This Gate Kit is designed for a maximum width of 48’’"

      by|May 29, 2024
        caret
        Q:Can the posts be cut to size?
        by|Apr 28, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Tara and thanks for reaching out. Yes, you can cut our HOFT 71’’ Gate Kit to your desired height, using a circular or miter saw with a carbide blade.The Gate Channels & Slide Cappings can be easily cut to any desired height, however you must cut the bottom end (see arrow on Gate Channels) so they fit perfectly with the 44’’ HOFT Railing Post Kits. This Gate Kit is designed for a maximum width of 42’’. Thank you and please have a wonderful day. HOFT Team.

        by|Apr 29, 2024
          caret
          Q:Can this be used with any gate opening, or does have to be used with the hoft fencing
          by|Apr 20, 2024
          1 Answer
          Answer This Question

          A:  Hi Larry and thanks for reaching out. Our HOFT 71'' Gate kits are made specifically for our HOFT Post kits. Thank you and please have a wonderful day. HOFT Team.

          by|Apr 23, 2024
            Showing 1-4 of 25

            Customer Reviews

            3.5 out of 5

            • 3.5 out of 16 reviews
            • 25% recommend this product
            Filter by:
            Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews
            Extremely disappointed
            Tried everything to get the gate to work. It appears too heavy even tho we followed guidelines. Our boards are 48 inches. The hinges we got exceed the weight limit. We added wheels and a horizontal reinforcement. The horizontal reinforcement not only looks silly but does nothing to correct the twisting in the frame of the gate. We are $1,0000 into a gate that isn’t working at all. I believe the company has misrepresented the capabilities of this system. I would look elsewhere for gate solutions
            by
            Response from HOFT TeamMay 22, 2024
            Hi Mwagner and thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with your HOFT installation. Our HOFT Gate kit is designed for a maximum width of 42''. We specifically manufactured our HOFT posts for an easy DIY project and so that our customers would have a stress-free experience, which we can see sadly did not happen in your case. We take very seriously all reviews (good or bad) that we receive from our customers, and we took note of the problems you incurred, and we will strive in the future to make sure that our customers do not have a bad experience as you unfortunately had. We also take great pride in our Customer Service, so please contact us at info@hoftsolutions.com so we can help you resolve your gate problem. Thank you and please have a nice day. HOFT Team. HOFTSolutions
              1 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Nice to work with the hoft system, my customers were very happy
              by
              Response from HOFT TeamApr 11, 2024
              Hi David and thanks for the wonderful review, which we really appreciate and if your customers are happy then so are we. Have a wonderful day. HOFT Team. HOFTSolutions
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
                1 found this review helpful
                Quality yes - Value no
                Kit comes only with 2 channels for the birds , no hinges or lock . No posts either . You need to figure out hinges and lock on your own . No guidance or recommendations to any manufacturer.
                by
                Response from HOFT TeamAug 16, 2023
                Hi Bear,
                We are sorry that you experienced difficulties with our Gate Frame Kit. Unfortunately, we do not sell locks and hinges and we try to make it as clear as possible on our Gate Frame Kit product page (see first bullet point). Locks and hinges come in a wide range of quality and use (weight, lock, key, etc.) so we allow customers to choose what most fits their needs.
                HOFT Team HOFTSolutions
                  • Recommended
                  5 found this review helpful
                  The pictures are deceiving
                  The pictures and videos are deceiving. The pictures show more than 2 uprights but the parts list only shows quantity of 2 U channels. Some one would need to buy additional expensive hinges, lock and handle. Made mistake purchasing this product as the cost could sky rocket to $396.00 or more. Note I went by the parts list for the gate assembly to write this review and also the picture of the frame kit. Hoft 71 in. Aluminum for Horizontal Boards Gate Frame Kit Black.
                  by
                  Response from HOFT TeamAug 7, 2023
                  Hi John,
                  We are sorry that you experienced difficulties with our Gate Frame Kit. Unfortunately, we do not sell locks and hinges and we try to make it as clear as possible on our Gate Frame Kit product page (see first bullet point). Locks and hinges come in a wide range of quality and use (weight, lock, key, etc.) so we allow customers to choose what most fits their needs.
                  HOFT Team HOFTSolutions
                    4 found this review helpful
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Do not buy!
                    It includes no hinges or gate kit, nor any instructions on what equipment you’ll need/would be compatible. Because this particular gate has unique proportions and combines wood and metal, the spacing for the hinge and gate plates and the types of screws you use, is incredibly important. However, they provide no guidance and ignore any question pertaining to methods and materials FAQs, leading me to believe that they put no thought into the product and have no idea how to installed it either.
                    by
                    Response from HOFT TeamAug 7, 2023
                    Hi, we are sorry that you experienced difficulties with our HOFT Gate Frame Kit. To determine the spacing between the posts and the gate frame (left and right), you must follow the instructions stated in the manufacturer's installation manual for the hinges and locks that you purchase. We cannot tell you the distances that are written in the manufacturer's hinges and locks manual as they may differ from one manufacturer to another.
                    Thank you for the comments, we are always looking for new ways to improve our customer experience.
                    HOFT Team HOFTSolutions
                      3 found this review helpful
                      Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews