Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
$21900 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.
  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Model #: RTH9580WF
Sku #: 1000002280
Internet #: 203926327

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$199.00 /each
$219.00 /each
$249.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Smart Wi-Fi 7 Day Programmable Color Touch Thermostat, works with Amazon Alexa, SmartThings, Google Home, IFTTT Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation ecobee4 7-Day Smart Wi-Fi Programmable Thermostat with Room Sensor and Built-In Alexa Voice Service
Brand Honeywell Honeywell Nest ecobee
Ratings (33) (504) (733) (98)
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Filter Monitor,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Pete R
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2017-05-13

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: stargazer
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2017-04-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Jim
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: don
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_241
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 504.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm surprised by the number of negative reviews for this incredible product.  I own two of them a... I'm surprised by the number of negative reviews for this incredible product.  I own two of them and they have proven themselves quite useful over the course of the last year. I've replaced a few thermostats in my current property, its predecessor, and my wife's business and this is by far the best thermostat I have ever owned.  The two I own are used to control the two zones in my main residence and they perform exceptionally well.  With a range of options and features that allow customization and convenience, I would easily place this unit ahead of its peers, including the popular Nest.  A friend of mine who swore by that product, after seeing mine, actually switched to this product and informed me that he did not at all regret it. This product is handsomely designed with a sleek build and plenty of features.  I have had my two units installed for over a year and they have proven reliable in the summer heat and in the winter--during which time they cycled between regular and auxiliary heating efficiently.  They were easy to install and better than that, they look great on the wall.  The ability to change the background color to match the paint on the wall is a feature my wife enjoys as she believes it provides a more integrated aesthetic that is quite complimentary. I do not routinely use the Wi-Fi feature; however, I have tested it and it performed as advertised allowing it to be used as an additional function for those so inclined.  I do make regular use of the ability to program this unit for both heat and cool modes.  It delivers consistent results and has a host of programming options that lesser models and inferior products do not offer.  The large touchscreen display which always displays the local weather and humidity coupled with the functionality that automates adjustments for daylights savings time are other convenient bonuses that set it apart and justify the price. 
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I chose this model because Honeywell added support for smart home devices. I like the ease of se... I chose this model because Honeywell added support for smart home devices. I like the ease of setting a schedule, but wish it would automatically change from heat to cool mode. I installed it in a vacation home and worry I may forget to put it in the right mode before a freeze or something. However, notifications will remind you at configurable temperatures. Wifi connection requires that your router follows a naming convention with limited characters. I had to contact someone to learn this so I recommended they put the info on their FAQ.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good thermostat. I was looking for a replacement for an older standard one, and this was what I c... Good thermostat. I was looking for a replacement for an older standard one, and this was what I chose. The online wiring instructions were fantastic, it was a breeze to install. The unit can be a little tricky because there are so many options, and it takes a while to go through and set all the options. But, once it's in and you have it set, it works flawlessly. When the internet goes out at the house, the unit defaults to the programs you've set, and you don't have online access. Once the internet comes back up, the unit reconnects, and runs perfectly. Recommended!
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had already purchased one in our previous home and loved it so had to get the same in our new ... We had already purchased one in our previous home and loved it so had to get the same in our new home. Very easy to self install, simple to use. If you travel a lot it's great for checking on home temp while away so you can adjust to suit. Just need to register ( its free) & download app on your phone. You can change the screen color to one of many choices. Love everything about this thermostat.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Installation wasn't too difficult and I appreciated the wiring matrix... Installation wasn't too difficult and I appreciated the wiring matrix provided in the guide as many older thermostats don't have the same wiring letters, and this helped to match to the current standards and which electrical port to hook it up to. I did have some problems with the app not working to access it remotely as it said I didn't have a connection when I tried to make a change (but was showing the correct current temp which didn't make sense). After a few days and deciding to power my phone off and on it cleared itself and works fine since. Note: I attempted to call Honeywell for help on this app issue but it was horrible. They don't operate the hours they say or do on their website, documentation or message you get after hours, they actually close SEVERAL hours prior to. Horrible to tell your customers when you are available to support them then don't even take calls at those times.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the internet control The only thing I wish I had was auto switch over from heating to cooling. I am not sure if my furnace can handle it, though. Still even without that I love being able to turn my AC on when I decide to come home early. Installation was very simple and so was connecting to my network and the internet. An auto dimming or way to turn the screen off would be nice but again, not a show stopper.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wifi thermostat This a Great buy! It took me about an hour to install including connecting a C wire to my outdoor air conditioner/heater. Easy to setup and the app is just what I expected. At $179.00 it was well worth the price. Alright I've only had it for a day but I'm very satisfied. Great screen colors too! My only downside is that it could be a little bigger to make a statement on the wall.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I purchased this thermostat 2 years ago. It works flawlessly. The Honeywell app on my iPhone is simple and amazing. Lets me control everything I need to about my thermostat when we are away. Very simple to edit /change your weekly schedule for heating or cooling. It also looks very sleek on your wall.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haven't installed yet Haven't installed yet. Read the instructions, and watched the video. Kinda nervous about doing it, because my wiring is not the common one shown. Asked a local company to install and they made a face saying they never touch the wireless installs, that they r a pain. So i really don't know what to do....
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nice surprise. Looks good and seems to... A very nice surprise. Looks good and seems to work well. I needed the ability to check temp from a distance and this has done just that. No problem for me but depending on the wallpaper color you choose, this can be a little bright. Makes for an additional hallway nightlight.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great Thermostat, however, it was hard to understand the instruction, but able to get i... This is a great Thermostat, however, it was hard to understand the instruction, but able to get it done. It's work well with my smartphone and easy to change the setting. I will buy this again for my other house. The price is right when I did my research on the product.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Honeywell backend internet servers go down every major holiday. This results in the app not w... The Honeywell backend internet servers go down every major holiday. This results in the app not working. I’ve been opening tickets for 2 years with no results. I can not recommend this thermostat if you want the ability to control via phone or tablet.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed in Honeywell. Purchased this in August of 2015 to replace a 10 year old LUX The... Very disappointed in Honeywell. Purchased this in August of 2015 to replace a 10 year old LUX Thermostat. Came home today and found heat inoperative and it was 30 degrees outside. Checked all the normal items, and found the thermostat screen showing it was waiting on equipment. Never saw that before, tried to put on AC to see if I would get a response, nothing. Pulled off wall, jumped wires and furnace kicked in. Found old thermostat in garage, wired up and had heat. Onto chat session with Honeywell to see if it was under warranty, it only had a year and expired 8/16. All the rep was trying to convey was my furnace was at fault, not the thermostat. Had to remind them the heat was now on with a different thermostat. Asked the rep if they could extend any type of good will policy since it was just over 2 years old. No was the answer. My opinion, poor customer service, this is not a $20.00 thermostat but a $200.00 one. It should come with some cushion for a premature failure. I vowed never to buy a Honeywell product ever again.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My old thermostat did not have a "C" wire but... My old thermostat did not have a "C" wire but after discussion with the company that installed my central heating and air system I found that the "B" wire on my old thermostat should be connected to the "C" wire location on this new Honeywell thermostat.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier and faster to program than the 15 year-old Honeywell thermostat it replaced. The disp... Much easier and faster to program than the 15 year-old Honeywell thermostat it replaced. The display is also brighter and easier to read. It's just like the display pics. I wish there was a way to track the running time like the old thermostat.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works very good for us. we are able to set the thermostat away from home and it is ... This product works very good for us. we are able to set the thermostat away from home and it is also voice activated. I will recommend this product if you are a on the go person or just don't want to get up and turn on or off the thermostat.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the ease that Wi-Fi brings. I love the... All the ease that Wi-Fi brings. I love the large display. Thermostat is quite intuitive when learning to work it. I would recommend this for anyone considering a change. Honeywell has always been a trusted name in thermostats.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time and money on this product, I could't have access to the unit remotely, ever... Don't waste your time and money on this product, I could't have access to the unit remotely, every time I tried to set up the thermostat i had this message "Sorry, an error occurred while processing your request" Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The overall performance is fine but I still am not... The overall performance is fine but I still am not happy about having to replace the two year old one I had that failed to function after such a short time. Honeywell offered nothing except it is out of warranty. BAHHHHH
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have had this unit for about 4 years now. Love it. Use the wifi feature all the time. Easy to ... Have had this unit for about 4 years now. Love it. Use the wifi feature all the time. Easy to set up and use. No issues. Cannot get any better than that. I especially like the fact you can change the background color.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat if super. So much... The Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat if super. So much nicer than the Nest. We would recommend the Honeywell over the Nest. Love how all the important data is on the screen at all times. Very easy to use. *****
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My husband put this in and even though he had... My husband put this in and even though he had a few hiccups, the install was quick. I love being able to control it from my phone while I am at work. Best investment we made on a thermostat.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The unit I purchased does not have a heating mode / status . go figure . what am I suppose to do ... The unit I purchased does not have a heating mode / status . go figure . what am I suppose to do in the winter. engineering snafu / major flaw . this is not cool . no pun intended .
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is REALLY cool (sorry about the pun). Does... This thing is REALLY cool (sorry about the pun). Does what it is advertised to do and I got my $125 rebate on my SCE bill within a week!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. Easy to install and set up. Limited dispaly options I seem to remember they had a model that would display a 5 day weather forcast.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thermostat is great! I can control it from anywhere.... This thermostat is great! I can control it from anywhere. My wife likes the different colored backgrounds too.
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent product! Easy to install, easy... This is an excellent product! Easy to install, easy to use! Totally exceeded my expectations!
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no Cool thermostat and all but it crapped out on me and ruined my board in furnace, $475 repair.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a little skeptical but really good and has a great display color variation options I was a little skeptical but really good and has a great display color variation options
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Not much expensive, good look and very easy to use, screen shows a lot of information.
Date published: 2017-08-23
  • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_504
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 248ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT