Model # RTH9580WF

Internet #203926327

Store SKU #1000002280

Honeywell Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat
0085267890762

Honeywell

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
$21900 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

Wink App Ready, No Hub Required


WINK APP READY

Control this product and others from anywhere using Wink mobile app, a quick and simple way to connect you 
and your favorite smart products. It's got Wink technology built right in, so there's no additional hub required. 
For more information, visit homedepot.com/wink

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.
  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

  • Wi-Fi-enabled thermostat allows for remote access
  • Beautiful, bright, full-color customizable screen
  • Works with the Wink home automation network
Model #: RTH9580WF
Sku #: 1000002280
Internet #: 203926327

Adjust your thermostat from anywhere. Create your own unique look to match your home's decor. Enjoy unsurpassed comfort control. Receive reminders to change a filter or be alerted of extreme home temps. Beauty and brains collide with Honeywell's Smart Wi-Fi Thermostat.

  • Wi-Fi enabled - control from anywhere
  • Bright, full-color screen for easy visibility
  • Smart response technology for the precise temp when you want it
  • Automatic energy-saving settings that fit your life
  • Customizable color settings to match your decor
  • Auto alerts ensure on-time filter changes and let you know about extreme temps
  • Shows local weather conditions including temperature and humidity
  • Easy to set up
  • Reliable app backed by Honeywell's dependable network
  • Peace of mind - controls energy use, ensures safe temps for pets or keeps tabs on a vacation home
  • Auto-updates for daylight savings; adjusts for 12/24-hour time and multi-language needs
  • Quick schedule changes - update your settings for temporary holds or vacations; restore everyday settings in a snap
  • Help on demand - onscreen help button answers questions as you go
  • How to choose the right thermostat for your home
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Customers Also Compared These

Price
$219.00 /each
$234.00 /each
$249.00 /each
$249.00 /each
Name Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat 3rd Generation Learning Thermostat - White Learning Thermostat, 3rd generation ecobee4 7-Day Smart Wi-Fi Programmable Thermostat with Room Sensor and Built-In Alexa Voice Service
Brand Honeywell Nest Nest ecobee
Ratings (504) (698) (733) (99)
Features Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Backlit Display,Battery Back-Up,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Display height (in.)
2.25 in
Display width (in.)
3.75 in
Product Depth (in.)
0.75
Product Height (in.)
3.5

Details

Battery Power Type
Hardwired
Battery Size
.Built-In
Color Family
Metallics
Features
Automatic Heating/Cooling Changeover,Backlit Display,Built-in Wi-Fi,Daylight Savings Time Ready,Filter Monitor,Lockable,Touch Screen,Vacation Mode
Included
Thermostat
Periods per Programmable Day
4
Power Options
C-wire
Remote Access
Remote Access
Requires Hub?
No Hub Required
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Rectangle
Smart Home
Smart Home Enabled
Smart Home Protocol
Wi-Fi
Smart Technology
Smart Home Hub Compatible
Thermostat Product Type
Smart/Wi-Fi
Thermostat Type
Heating and Cooling
Voice Control Hub Required
No Hub Required for Voice Control
Voltage (volts)
24
Works With
Universal
Works With
Alexa, Google, Logitech Harmony, Lutron, Proprietary App, Samsung SmartThings, Siri, Wink

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty

Questions & Answers

Does the wi-fi work with both Apple and Android systems?

Asked by: Pete R
It doesn't support the standard WEP with 26 character passwords to use the WIFI. I have given access to 24 other devices and would either have to change the password and re-do the others, or buy a seperate router to support the WIFI on the thermostat. The thermostat controls work well otherwise.
Answered by: Averageuser
Date published: 2017-05-13

will the honeywell wi-fi smart thermostat have to have internet service in order to operate or can you control it on screen only ???

I have a second home 200 miles from my primary home and I would like to have a thermostat where i can set it so that nobody else can come in and change it , I won't be living there for another year and don't want to pay for internet service till I actually move in.
Asked by: stargazer
I called a rep from Honeywell because I wanted to know about that issue as well. You MUST have an internet connection. The app goes out to the internet to Honeywell servers and then communicates with this wi-fi thermostat via internet. They have something called a red link thermostat which included hardware so you don't need to have an internet connection. The other thing you may want to look into is Control 4. Control 4 works with some Honeywell thermostats but I am not sure how. Control 4 is the hardware and I think that will communicate with this via LAN or local wi-fi and no internet connection is needed. This Control 4 solution may require that red link thermostat. Control 4 makes their own thermostats but they are slow to respond. I had this in our old house and was glad it was only in the theater. Push 'watch movie' lights dim, temp sets and movie comes on.
Answered by: max
Date published: 2017-04-27

does this thermostat monitor indoor and outdoor humidity?

Asked by: Jim
Yes it does. It measures the indoor humidity on it's own, but the outdoor humidity and temperature are downloaded via the wifi. During signup it asks your location.
Answered by: Busimus
Date published: 2016-09-14

will honeywell wifi thermostat model rth9580wf1005 send an email alert if the house temperature drops below a preset alarm temperature

Asked by: don
Yes, you can set alerts using the website to have it email you alerts if it drops below, or rises above, preset limits you specific. I had a faulty unit and used this feature to see how often the temperature was fluctuating.
Answered by: Woodyville
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_241
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Wi-Fi Smart Thermostat is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 504.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Important Information for all owners Bought the rth9580wf when Home Depot first got them in. Like many of you, major problems with in-accurate temp readings. Called Tech support twice had me try various things, nothing worked. Called this morning 7-26-2013 They had me read the full model number on the back of the unit. In my case it was rth9580wf-005 As soon as I read that number they informed me that they are recalling my rev and that they would be sending me out a new unit and to put mine in the return envelope that will be sent with the new unit. I did not have to give a creit card number. Tech support led me to believe that this is a major recall but for only those customers that contact them. I'll let you know how the new rev works and what revision number that it it
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wont measure temperature acurately No problem setting it up and I have had it for about a year but for that last month or so the temperature reading in inaccurate. Set it at 76 and it runs the AC forever. Turnoff the AC, temp jumps to 78 int he room. Turn on the AC and temp goes to 79, then when your not looking its at 76. Seems this problem goes way back to 2013 after reading the reviews. Time for another thermostat. Maybe the nest this time. Honeywell, you are a major disappointment.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beautiful Thermostat But All Over the Place Accuracy-Wise We previously had 2 Filtrete 3M50 WiFi thermostats in our upstairs/downstairs of our house for the past several years. The one downstairs was fried about a week ago following a storm that rolled through. Since the Filtrete 3M50 isn't manufacturered any longer by Filtrete, I had to look for a different WiFi thermostat to replace it with. I chose the Honeywell RTH9580WF thermostat due to Honeywell's reputation and due to the appearance and features of the thermostat. I could be more dissatisfied with this purchase and the up and down inaccuracy the thermostat reports as far as its interpretation of the temperature of the downstairs of our home. I can stand in front of the thermostat on the wall and sit there motionless without anything going on in the house and watch the reported indoor temperature of the house vary from time to time by a swing of several degrees in both directions. I have a manual thermometer sitting directly on top of the RTH9580WF and have tried more times than I can explain to adjust the thermostat's "offset" setting to match what the manual thermometer is reporting temperature-wise, basically to no avail. I literally was standing in front of the thermostat this morning and the thermometer in the house was reporting it was 72, the Honeywell thermostat was reporting it to be 74. As I stood there several feet from both the thermostat and the thermometer, the Honeywell thermostat jumped down to reporting it was 72 instead of 74. A few min. later, the Honeywell thermostat jumped back up to reporting it was 74 again instead of 72. It's literally all over the place and I do not in any form or fashion trust that the temperature it's reading is correct. Our previous thermostat by the different manufacturer was rock solid. I simply installed it about 3 years ago and walked away and it just simply worked. Another issue with the Honeywell thermostat is the face that it's constantly dropping connection to our wireless router in the house. Again, the previous WiFi thermostat was rock solid in terms of maintaining a connection to the wireless router and literally was rarely offline only when our power to the house was knocked out due to a storm. The thermostat is within close proximity to the wireless router in the house, so it's not an issue of the wireless router being upstairs in one side of the house and the thermostat being far away in the downstairs/opposite side of the house trying to maintain a connection. There's supposedly new firmware being released and pushed to the thermostats throughout this week that's supposed to address/resolve the temperature inaccuracy/calibration issues as well as other issues. I'm doing the best I can to hang onto the thermostat to see if the firmware update, when my device receives it, resolved the calibration issues. If it doesn't, this thing is back in the box and back to Home Depot. $250 is too much to spend for a device that you constantly have to fiddle with to try to compensate for the temperature calibration issues myself and so many others are experiencing. Check the complaints within this review section... they're rampant regarding the temperature calibration situation. I simply cannot recommend this thermostat based on my experiences with it thus far over the past week. Might be a different story after new firmware is pushed to the device, but I'll wait and see on that once the device receives it.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better after firmware updates After first installing this thermostat I was having the same problems others were mentioning with the temperature being off 4-5 degrees compared with my old thermostat and with another room thermometer. Now a few firmware updates later, it is reading the same as the old thermostat. (Current Software: 01.01.02.00, Application: 01.00.11.00, Configuration: 04.00, Radio: 01.07.00.00) My previous thermostat was battery operated and did not have a C wire. Fortunately there was an extra wire in the bundle so I only had to hook it up at the new thermostat and run a couple feet of wire over to the C terminal on the furnace control panel. Overall this is an improvement over my old thermostat as it is 7 day programmable (vs weekday and weekend) and has a circulation fan mode (vs auto and on). Previously I left the fan running 24/7 to balance the temperature between floors. Now I am running the fan 65% less and the temperature is still balanced.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Thermostat on the market This is the third one I have installed in two separate homes. Programmable, remotely accessible via WIFI, displays both outdoor and indoor temp and humidity and display can be set to a multitude of background and font colors (my wife loves that). If you have a five wire supply to your current thermostat, install is a breeze. If not you may wish to have a pro install as it is a little more complicated and requires going into the control box on the furnace. There are great YouTube videos to help with install and great info on Honeywell website. I will continue to install this thermostat anywhere I live, we love it. For the record, I am not a honeywell rep but a great product deserves a great review!
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and set up. The product is sleek and modern looking. As advertised it is easy too install and very easy too operate. I was considering a Nest Thermostat but saw this one and it's features. For the price you are getting everything but the kitchen sink. The app that is used in conjunction is easy to use as well. One of my favorite features that is not on many t-stats is the ability to run the fan on it's own at predetermined times. It's great for circulating the air to keep a more even temperature throughout the house. It also has the ability to heat and cool at the same time. Two set points for areas that change temperature dramatically. In other words, you don't need to switch too heat or cooling manually, it does it on it's own. If it gets too hot, the A/C kicks on...just as if it gets too cold, the heat will kick on. All without having to switch between modes manually. After using it for several days i'm very pleased with it. And I think you will be too!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage! I work in the trades; so i know what I'm doing. Installation was a breeze, with no problems. The main issue with this thermostat is what others have stated; in that the temperature it senses is all over the place. I have a very accurate electronic temp/humidity thermometer that I use for work, which I placed directly on top of the thermostat.Right out of the box, the stat was 5 degrees off and the Realitive humidity was off by almost 10%.This was even after letting the thermostat get acclimated to the room and insulating the area behind the thermostat for drafts. In the advanced settings I adjusted it to be closer to what the actual room temperature was; but the thermostat would always show the room temperature 4-5 degrees higher or lower that what the actual temperature. There is no way this thing will ever work acting like this. A call to tech support could not come up with a solution either. Honeywell makes great products; but at the price this costs, I cannot recomend this one. I will be returning this back to the store.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up The temp was 55 in the house as I was setting up and programming the Honeywell thermostat. It took about an hour. I needed to find an easy thermostat for my 70+ year old mom to operate and this was the easiest to understand of them all! Make sure you have gloves to straighten the old copper wires with and needlenose pliers to assist in pushing the copper wires into the new connections until you hear the click. The writing is so small on the connections you may need a magnifying glass. Easy to set up after turning the power back on! Just had to log into the house wifi and presto! Easy to access on line. I created a bookmark in my webpages. I was watching a 2014 episode of Nicole's Rehab Addict and she had used this model in her house in Minneapolis!!!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has every feature needed. This WiFi thermostat has every feature you need, and it is easy to program. It is the smallest of all the thermostats I have seen recently, so when you install, get ready to do some minor patching and touchup painting if needed. See photo. When you install, be sure the excess wires go back into the wall or in the wiring compartment. Some of my wires were too long and extended across the mounting plate, causing the thermostat to be loose on the wall. I moved the wires into the wall, and it secures nicely. See photos. This thermostat also is full color so you can color-coordinate with your interior. ANd of course it has remote access, which works great. The only minor concern is that the remote access web site does not allow you to program ALL the settings of the thermostat, just the schedule, and basic controls. I wish it had full remote programming. Finally, its a Honeywell thermostat so you get a great product and superior support. They even have online videos to show you how to install under even unusual conditions. So watch those videos first; they help.
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have installed several of these. The only problems I have had is reluctance to hook up to the ... I have installed several of these. The only problems I have had is reluctance to hook up to the WiFi networks in some locations. It turns out that you cannot have special characters in your wifi password, and it doesn't seem to like complicated network names either. Congested wifi neighborhoods may be a problem too. Honeywell phone help is excellent and knows the issues, but the manuals never seem to get updated. The one thing to avoid is using the "Vacation hold". Sounds like a good idea, but its a left over from this units prior history, before it had wifi access. If you put it on vacation hold you cannot change that remotely! You are stuck with no remote control of the thermostat. Return a little early - it's going to be cold! It's a feature that should have been removed.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away I loved this thermostat, but after it started turning off and on by itself I started to get a little worried. I called Honeywell and it took 10 mins before I spoke to a customer service rep and he told me to check the voltage to and ensure it was getting between 20-30 volts. I went out and got a voltage meter and I had the correct voltage, I called back and wait 15 mins on hold this time only to be told that I have a faulty thermostat and my 1 yr warranty was up. Stay away from this thermostat!
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thermostat was bad out of the box. Called Honeywell to discuss troubleshooting, it took half an ... Thermostat was bad out of the box. Called Honeywell to discuss troubleshooting, it took half an hour to get someone who spoke broken English to walk me through a couple of steps that I already had gone through. Their diagnosis was that it was faulty and I would have to return it. Great, nothing like spending your weekend trying to troubleshoot an inferior product. Had to put the old thermostat back on and box up this one to be sent back. BTW. I worked residential HVAC for 10 years of my lire so I do know how to wire a thermostat.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love technology and this is excellent! My initial impression seeing it in the box was WOW! I tend to be a little nerdy when it comes to electronic gadgets and new technologies. Needless to say I was excited, to say the least, to get this installed. I was replacing another Honeywell brand programmable (but not wi-fi) thermostat with this one. I've switched thermostats a few times in my house (from old dial type to programmable) so I was familiar with the process. After removing the old thermostat I realized it did not have a "C" wire as indicated and needed for powering this unit. Luckily for me I pulled some of the slack wiring from the wall and discovered a blue wire folded over not being used. I went to the basement where my furnace is and low and behold there was the same blue wire being unused at the furnace. Thankfully my furnace is less than 5 years old so it had a "C" terminal. It was only a matter of connecting that to the "C" terminal on my furnace control panel and then connecting the other end to the corresponding "C" terminal on the thermostat. Simple really! Once I had all the connections secured and the thermostat wall mounted (I was able to use the same holes thankfully) I turned power back on to my furnace and viola the thermostat came to life! Now was the fun part! It was very intuitive and guided you through setup onscreen. The touch screen is very responsive and user friendly. Connecting to my in home wireless network was easy to do after I had to stop and think for a minute for what my password was. I went through powering up my heat, cooling, and fan to make sure everything was working right. I really like that it has a new option for circulating your fan to freshen up and allow an air exchange in your house. It still has an on and auto option as well. The screen is clear and bright and I really like the option of selecting your own background color. It helps for decor matching if you're into that. One other feature I like on this is it showing the outside weather and indoor/outdoor humidity. This is all done through your wireless Internet connection using your area you program during initial setup. It comes with reminders, customizable, like air filter changing. Best of all is the flexibility of being able to control this from wherever you are! I installed the Honeywell app on my iPhone and iPad and can tap into my home thermostat wherever I'm at. You just need to setup a free account through Honeywell to do so. This has proved handy lately as it has been extremely hot and humid lately and when I'm getting ready to leave work, about a half hour drive, I can tap into my home system and start the cooling process so it'll be comfortable once I arrive. Of course be sure to do this prior to getting behind the wheel to be safe! The app also allows you to program all the various parameters if you'd like. This can also be done onscreen with the device. Pretty much anything you can do on the thermostat itself the app allows you to do. If I had one complaint, somewhat minor, it would be that it will often say "waiting for update" on the screen. When this appears you are unable to see the outside temperature/humidity. I know it's not my Internet connection as my other gadgets maintain just fine. Again this is so minor that I can live with it. Highly recommend this excellent Wi-Fi Smart thermostat from Honeywell! I think in the long run it'll allow my system to run more efficiently and save me money in the process.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good thermostat This t-stat works quite well, but it does have a problem with temperature overruns. I set it 2 degrees lower and when it kicks on in the morning it overshoots the temperature, then seems to settle down. One disappointing thing is my wifi is protected and it sometimes loses it's connection and I have to disable my protection to re-establish a connection to the wifi. This is impossible when you are miles away on holiday and you wish to view your home temperature.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice try, but . . . I bought this thinking it was a decent less expensive alternative to the Nest thermostat I have at home. Key features for me were being able to monitor the thermostat remotely and lock the settings as this was for a rental property. I wanted to be able to program the thermostat at two hour intervals throughout the daytime so that my tenants could not leave the A/C running all day. Design was nice and build quality was pretty good. The touch screen seemed a little flimsy though. Setting up the unit was easy enough but when I started to program the unit, I realized that it only allows for four setpoints throughout the day - wakeup, departure, return, and bedtime. The Nest thermostat is a little bit more flexible. HD took it back in exchange for the Nest, no questions asked.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very nice but lacking 1 very important feature. I have been using 2 Nest's since they were introduced. It is a nice T-Stat but I don't like the fact it doesn't have a HOLD feature. It can be very annoying to say the least. I decided to get the Honeywell's and I really like it. However, you have no way of knowing the usage. The whole idea of these T-Stats is to allow you to save energy. How are we supposed to know if we can't see the usage? I will be returning these and am going to try the Ecobee.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! This thermostat was really easy to install and set up. The app was just as user friendly. I followed the instructions and had it all working in less than 30 minutes. I love the fact that I can check on the house temperature while I am away from home. (Teenagers at home) The color schemes really integrate it with the decor. I would recommend this product to anybody. If a 56 yr old woman can install it, anybody can.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product Picked this device up yesterday and installed it immediately as my old thermostat bit the dust. I price matched with another store and got a additional 10% off thanks to a tip by a previous reviewer. The installation of this device was rather simple and the wire connectors on the device were very handy, you simply push the wires instead of needing to use a screwdriver. I found it a bit annoying that you had to use a C wire as mine was not connected on the furnace end so needed to do that as well. If I didn't have a C wire this would have been a nightmare to install. Once mounted the setup on the thermostat was simple with guided on screen menus that take you through the various options. There is also a help button on every screen which when selected gives you a brief description of what everything actually does. Connection to my home WiFi was done quickly and easily as well. From the app point of view I will say I'm not wow'd but I am satisfied. I had to go to a website to first create an account and register the device and then could download the app and connect. The app has all the basic functions including, manual temp override, scheduling, fan control and system control. Overall it functions well but could look and flow a little nicer imo. The other thing I noticed is that it doesn't connect to the thermostat in real time, meaning as I adjust the temp it is not adjusting the thermostat. It rather builds a 'batch' of all the changes you make and then when you save it sends them all to the device. This can take time in some instances and seems like this could have been setup more efficiently. Either way, I'm satisfied and it works. The other limitation to the device and app is that there is ZERO reporting of any kind. So if your interested in monitoring your energy use in anyway this is not the thermostat for you. From a usability perspective on the device itself it's very nice. It allows multiple ways to customize the look of the screen and colour scheme. The screen itself for a thermostat is actually very sharp and bright, the touch response is poor at best but since all buttons are large and you rarely need to touch it, I'm OK with it. The device also comes with a link to 'accuweather' via your WiFi which gives you a read out of the outdoor temperature and humidity. While this is nice, I would have liked the option of actually running something outside to control this rather than accuweather. When I initially installed the device the weather was working, once it self-updated the firmware though it broke. I was left with a permanent 'waiting for updates'. After a lot of troubleshooting I discovered that the software is very temperamental with the city and postal code combination. I had to try neighbouring postal codes until it finally populated the outdoor temp. Overall the device has some quirks but I fully recommend it. Just note the few limitations with this device since it's now using 3-4 year old tech.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice display! The only item not available on the app interface is the ability to see if the unit is running and what 'mode' it is in. On the actual thermostat you see "COOL MODE" or "COOL ON" which means the unit is running. If I am in the house I already know that it is running. Away from home it would be nice to know.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love It! Installed in about 30 minutes after a review of the install on youtube. Love the ease of use with the programs available to set. We are saving about $40 a month on power bills. Nice to be able to check on the home from anywhere with a smartphone or tablet. Needs an alert like Nest for power efficiency.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but wen... After reading so many precautions about making sure you install it properly, I hesitated, but went ahead and bought it and am so happy I did. Just make sure you note and/or take picture of the old wiring. Make sure you have a white, common wire going to the old thermostat and follow the wiring diagram. I had no problems and it works great. I am now able to adjust the thermostat before I get home - great idea!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Diminutive, sleek, and very stylish The first thing that struck me about the thermostat was how compact it is. I replaced an existing Honeywell WiFi enabled thermostat with this model (see the side by side photographs for an idea on size). The display is crisp and bright, and the touchscreen is responsive and accurate. Previous WiFi enabled Honeywell thermostats required a more involved setup procedure to link to your home WiFi. This new model connects to your home network using an intuitive onscreen setup process, with guidance for each step. I had this setup and connected to my home network in less than a minute. I was extremely happy to see this model has a "recirculate" setting for the fan. The fan can be set to run continuously, only when heating or cooling, and now in recirculate mode. This new mode will run the fan whenever you call for heat/cooling, but will also periodically run just the fan to refresh stale air or balance heated/cooled areas. If your home is energy efficient and your AC/heat does not run often, then this recirculate setting is a great addition. Another new feature is compressor protection, this will pauses the compressor for 2 minutes if it has just shut off and you call for cool again. Inside humidity is shown onscreen, and if connected to your wireless network it will show approximate outside temperature by connecting to the internet and looking up the weather for your area. Like all modern thermostats, this requires the "C" wire be present to work. The unit is so compact, installing wires can be fiddly. I've been using the free iPhone app from Honeywell to flawlessly control my previous WiFi thermostat for around 6 months. This new thermostat was quick to add to the application. I moved the previous thermostat to our Mother-In-Law suite. We can now wirelessly control both thermostats at the same time. Programming time periods can be done onscreen, on the iPhone app, or via the internet. This makes setting up the thermostat a breeze. The convenience of being able to adjust the temperature before you get home is awesome. If I am going to be early or late home I can set the temperature on my drive home.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I live in a tri-level home and of course the thermostat is downstairs and the bedroom are upstairs so I am handicapped and sometimes it's hard to get downstairs to change the temperature so getting this is helping me to change the thermostat set the times I give up and go to bed and more importantly when I'm away from home I can turn the heat off and on my way back home I could turn it back on so it works great
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought ... I do not recommend this product. It would not "speak" to our HVAC unit. The first one we brought home caused our unit to only blow hot air. The second and third would not allow anything to come on. We thought we were doing something wrong despite our success installing thermostats in the past so we called a professional. They confirmed that it wasn't us or our HVAC unit it was something within the "board" of the thermostat that was not functioning properly; because when the thermostat was bypassed everything worked properly. It seems unlikely that we would pick three lemons in a row and since we had success with Honeywell thermostats in the past we went back to Home Depot three times to exchange the ones that would not work. Now I think this is a bad product and I don't recommend it. We ended up going with a non-wifi, non programmable, Honeywell thermostat and everything works just fine.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst thermostat ever. Its always 2-3 degrees different then what the actual temperture is in the... Worst thermostat ever. Its always 2-3 degrees different then what the actual temperture is in the house. I have a digital T/C right next to thermostat and its alway different. Heat stays on waaaaay longer than needed. A/C is always turning on and off. Bill has went up ever since I changed the theremostat out to a programmable one.......I think I'm going to change it out with another brand.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Very attractive on the wall and easy to read from several feet away, easy to learn how to use. Very nice and easy to use phone app, you can adjust everything from anywhere. It does take 5 wires but check your wiring as sometimes you have 5 wires but they tuck the 5th wire in the wall.The app needs tweaking as the fan on display only half shows, minor problem but still very nice.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pros: 1) Easy to install 2) Great user friendly App and web portal 3) Able to remotely control th... Pros: 1) Easy to install 2) Great user friendly App and web portal 3) Able to remotely control the settings using the app on the phone 4) Intuitive display and menu settings on the unit 5) Automated software updates (Needs to be connected via Wifi) Cons: 1) Outdoor temp/humidity is not very accurate (seems off by ~+/- 10oF) - Information is downloaded from AccuWeather
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install. my old thermostat had a jumper wire that I was not sure what to do - called Hone... Easy to install. my old thermostat had a jumper wire that I was not sure what to do - called Honeywell customer service and they walked me through what should be done. Piece of cake! The thermostat works great. The smartphone app is a great feature. It was great to be able to control the setting of the A/C from my phone.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thermostat. I work mixed hours and days so we downloaded the online app and I can easi... Love this thermostat. I work mixed hours and days so we downloaded the online app and I can easily turn the heat up or down as needed without having to go downstairs where the thermostat is located. Have only had it less than a month but no problems at all - very easy to use and set up.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Thermostat! Easy to install and set up. Love the 7 day scheduling and WiFi App. You ... Love this Thermostat! Easy to install and set up. Love the 7 day scheduling and WiFi App. You can remotely change the schedule or temp with the App. I had tried a Sensi, it wouldn't stay online and was absolutely useless. This product is top notch for the price. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-01-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_504
  • loc_, sid_203926327, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 266ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT