Internet #100592964

Model # RF3016

Store SKU #355287

0088682160038

Howard

16 oz. Golden Oak Wood Finish Restorer

$ 9 98

Overview

Howard 16-oz. restor-a-finish restores finished wood surfaces. It contains a small amount of stain to make minor scratches and blemishes disappear. The simple wipe-on, wipe-off application is ideal for restoring wood finishes to their original color and luster. It removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks.
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

Howard 16-oz. restor-a-finish restores finished wood surfaces. It contains a small amount of stain to make minor scratches and blemishes disappear. The simple wipe-on, wipe-off application is ideal for restoring wood finishes to their original color and luster. It removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks.
  • Revitalizes finished wood surfaces and restores them to their original color and luster
  • Simple wipe-on, wipe-off application removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks
  • Blends out scratches and blemishes
  • Oil-based solution contains just enough solvent to penetrate and restore wood finishes without removing any of the existing finish
  • Restor-a-finish restores the finish without removing any of the existing finish, so before you go to the extreme of stripping it, try restoring it, with restor-a-finish
  • Golden oak - actual colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Get the right stain for your project - click here for a buyer's guide
  • Actual colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

Model #: RF3016
Sku #: 355287
Internet #: 100592964

Howard 16-oz. restor-a-finish restores finished wood surfaces. It contains a small amount of stain to make minor scratches and blemishes disappear. The simple wipe-on, wipe-off application is ideal for restoring wood finishes to their original color and luster. It removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks.

  • Revitalizes finished wood surfaces and restores them to their original color and luster
  • Simple wipe-on, wipe-off application removes white heat rings, smoke damage, oxidation and water marks
  • Blends out scratches and blemishes
  • Oil-based solution contains just enough solvent to penetrate and restore wood finishes without removing any of the existing finish
  • Restor-a-finish restores the finish without removing any of the existing finish, so before you go to the extreme of stripping it, try restoring it, with restor-a-finish
  • Golden oak - actual colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Get the right stain for your project - click here for a buyer's guide
  • Actual colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Watco Watco Howard Howard
Name 1 pt. Rejuvenating Oil 1 pt. Dark Walnut 350 VOC Danish Oil 12 oz. Butcher Block Conditioner 16 oz. Golden Oak Wood Finish Restorer
Price
$5.98
$8.98
$9.48
$9.98
Ratings (32) (46) (116) (89)
Container Size 1 PT-Pint 1 PT-Pint 12 OZ-Ounce 1 PT-Pint
Transparency Transparent Transparent Transparent Transparent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 445 70 100 250
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 PT-Pint
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
250

Details

Application Method
Wipe On
Dry to touch (min.)
5
Interior Paint & Stains Product Type
Touchup Paint/Stain
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Wood Restorer
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
The only warranty extended, expressed or implied, is for defective workmanship or materials.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 PT-Pint
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
250

Details

Application Method
Wipe On
Dry to touch (min.)
5
Interior Paint & Stains Product Type
Touchup Paint/Stain
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Wood Restorer
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
The only warranty extended, expressed or implied, is for defective workmanship or materials.

Questions & Answers

Can you put paste wax over it when you are done wiping on the restore and finish thanks

Can you put paste wax over it when you are done wiping on the restore and finish thanks
Asked by: Rich
It suggests for best results, wait 30 minutes and then apply a coat of Howard Feed -N-Wax to protect and maintain restored finish.
Answered by: boat
Date published: 2019-03-05

How long do I need to wait after using the restore a finish before I can use the feed n wax over ...

How long do I need to wait after using the restore a finish before I can use the feed n wax over the top ?
Asked by: Handydandysandy1
It suggests you wait 30 minutes
Answered by: boat
Date published: 2019-03-05

Does Restor A Finish come in several types of color, ie, walnut, etc.

Does Restor A Finish come in several types of color, ie, walnut, etc.
Asked by: Gwen
Yes, I used the Golden Oak on a teak table and the Dark Walnut on dark woodwork. Both results were excellent!
Answered by: Franki
Date published: 2019-05-07

Will this product work on an exterior wood door with several coats of varnish on it? The wood ap...

Will this product work on an exterior wood door with several coats of varnish on it? The wood appears to be a softer wood. It is definitely not oak. I noticed all reviewers used it in interior applications such as cabinets, and furniture which typically have less varnish. Will I need to apply new varnish if I use this product? Painters want at least $150 to sand and paint the outside of the door. Additional varnish was not recommended due to variations in color from previous sanding re-varnishing. The door is in good condition but UGLY. Thank you.
Asked by: Dizzie
It says " Do not use polyurethane on top of restore-a- finish. Not recommended for floors or exterior surfaces" I would ask at the store for a product for that.
Answered by: boat
Date published: 2019-03-06
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_, sid_100592964, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 137ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

16 oz. Golden Oak Wood Finish Restorer is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have a water stain on my table. Seemed... I have a water stain on my table. Seemed to take some of it out but did not do as well as I had hoped.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work fairly well. Didn't completely cover or... Seems to work fairly well. Didn't completely cover or remove water spot.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my old looking oak cabinets look new again. Super easy to use. Made my old looking oak cabinets look new again. Super easy to use.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SAVED ME A LOT OF TIME STRIPPING, RESTAINING, AND POLY... SAVED ME A LOT OF TIME STRIPPING, RESTAINING, AND POLY COAT.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Has some scratched up doors and this did... Wow! Has some scratched up doors and this did wonders!
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working with it - so far, quite good results... Working with it - so far, quite good results
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from product does what it says it does... product does what it says it does
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff... Great stuff
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product to refinish kitchen cabinets We have 25 year old oak cabinets in our kitchen and the ones under the sink had water stains causing the clear finish to whiten. We tried other similar products and were about to strip the doors completely when a friend recommended the Howard Restor-a-Finish product. I can't say enough about the product regarding the restoration of the woodwork on both the doors and the frames of the cabinets. The dull white streaks are gone and after applying their wax product the doors look brand new. It's not back breaking or difficult, you simply wipe on the finish with steel wool and then wipe it with a dry rag. Wait 20 minutes and put the wax finish on, wait 20 minutes and wipe it off with a clean dry rag -- that's it! If you have water stains on your cabinets or vanities, I highly recommend this product. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Stuff Really Works! I have a 20+ year old oak table that was marred by white heat marks, etc. I thought I had no option but to refinish it. While looking for products to do so, I saw this. Although skeptical, I thought I had nothing to lose since I planned to refinish the table anyway. I applied according to directions, with fine steel wool. Within minutes, the finish was restored. I topped it off with a coat of Howard's Feed-N-Wax, and the table looks almost new. The heat marks are gone. Sure beats a total refinish job.
Date published: 2010-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Product I just used this (light oak) on my 20 year old Merolat cabinets in the kitchen. I didn't used the steel wool, just an old washcloth to put it on with some rubber gloves on. It took me about 30 minutes to apply and wipe off the excess. The cabinets now look 10 years younger, I will apply the wax next weekend for a protective shine. This is a great product and I have used it before on an old china cabinet to spruce it up, just wipe on and wipe off. I am sure if I used steel wool it would even look better, but hey, I am happy as it is doing it the lazy and simple way, great stuff!
Date published: 2011-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save me a bunch of $$ & work I love this product! My kitchen oak cabinets looked really worn and had some water damage on the doors below the sink. I wasn't sure if this product would work but decided to try it. I’m so glad I did. They look so much better and now I don't have to paint or replace them. This product is very easy to use. I don't think it will hide large stains but it took care of scratches and small imperfections. Wish I took a before & after photo of them because I still can't believe how good they turned out.
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product! I wanted to repair oak bathroom cabinets that had slight water damage. I didn't want to strip or refinish the wood and found this product at Home Depot. I used very fine steel wool, applied the restorer, then to preserve the wood, followed with the companion product - Howard Feed-N-Wax. Followed all directions. The results were amazing.... the cabinets looked new. I have also used the restorer on oak woodwork trim that had been scratched or nicked over the years. Worked just great. I am recommending this product to friends and family.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why didn't I find this BEFORE I stained my kitchen cabinets. I study the internet "how to's". I w... Why didn't I find this BEFORE I stained my kitchen cabinets. I study the internet "how to's". I wanted easy, cheap, works well. Not talented but needed to restore furniture without much effort. Prefer saving instead of buying new. Restored tables, bathroom cabinets and antique furniture with Restor-A-Finish (used different colors). Golden Oak worked well for my light colored cabinets. I then added the Bee's Wax that is recommended on the back. Just cleaned off wood with a lightly wet sponge. Made sure dry. Cut up old wash cloth. Used gloves and put on a little heavy following the grain of the wood. As it dries, some scratches will show but they are darker so harder to see. Thus making the wood look new. One tin goes a long way!
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for Some Jobs, Not Others I got two very different results on two different jobs. On a coffee table that had a very "hard" finish, but by no means sealed, the product didn't sink in very well and didn't accomplish much. On my kitchen cabinets that had more open pore wood, the results were much better. The product sunk in and cabinets that I was thinking of painting or replacing now look excellent. In retrospect maybe it's just common sense, the wood you are treating has to be able to absorb the product to work well. BTW my 8 oz. container did both jobs, with some left over. I did the cabinets about 10 years after the table and the product was still in great shape.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Our 20 year old cabinets, showed what you would have expected normal wear, a little water damage here and there. Everything you would expect from a family over 20 years. I took my time, washed the cabinets off to remove any greese. Then used 0000 steel wool to apply the Howards product. In the water stained areas next to the dishwasher, I applied the product liberaly allowed it to soak in. Then did the same to all the cabinets. Gave everything a few hours to dry, and applied the feed an wax treatment. Great products. look like new cabinets.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pluses & Minuses This product really does improve a worn finish including the white rings that often show up on shellaced wood. However if you intend to later fully refinish the piece be warned that in places where the old finish was scratched the Restor-a-finish will soak into the wood and darken it significantly. Then the scratches are very dark and can't be lightened to match the rest of the piece when you do the refinish.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Improved Finish This product seems more like a colored furniture polish. It made an amazing improvement to the faded rattan on the backs of my dining chairs. It improved the pine dining table surface, but not to the degree I expected after watching the videos. The videos show the finish looking almost like new. My table has minimal damage. However after treatment, the scratches remain as well as a liquid mark, plus dull spots where I used the steel wool as directed. Granted they are far less noticeable than before treatment and you only see the latter at certain angles. Perhaps my table was finished with polyurethane which isn't as accepting. The product was VERY easy and FAST to use. I'm wondering if it will hold up to occasional damp cleanings? I would recommend this as a quick fix to improve the finish maybe 50%. It may work better on another type of finish.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I asked at the store what to use between a couple of products. I was touching up my moulding and ... I asked at the store what to use between a couple of products. I was touching up my moulding and doors which are oak in color. We had put new laminate flooring in and I wanted it all to be fresh looking. There were lots of scratches and nicks in the wood and just dry looking, no longer shiney. Course it has been 28 years since new. Oh my gosh I could not believe how great this product worked. It was easy to use, just wipe on, and it looks great, even did kitchen cabinets and bathroom cabinets, it is all looking fresh and new. Love this product.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Restore a Finish did wonders for a old buffet.This is a old piece that has been in my family for ... Restore a Finish did wonders for a old buffet.This is a old piece that has been in my family for several generations. I started with Restore a Finish and some extra fine steel wool. I finished with Howard brand Feed-n-Wax. It looks so nice now. I'm very pleased with the result. The before and after pictures speak for themselves.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Restored oak floor planks which were badly damaged by water stains. This product removed substan... Restored oak floor planks which were badly damaged by water stains. This product removed substantially all of the stain, and made the planks presentable again. We have used the same product in dark walnut finish on stereo speaker cabinets with equal success. You may find that you have to retreat periodically, as the wood dries out again and needs to be "refed".
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The results are simply amazing! Much better than I expected. In getting ready to sell our home th... The results are simply amazing! Much better than I expected. In getting ready to sell our home this spring wanted to find a simple, cheap, and fairly easy way to refresh our kitchen and bathroom cabinets. Thought I'd try this product after looking for something that might do the job. Started in one of the bathrooms and was very pleased. I tend to be a bit skeptical of things that seem too easy so Ive done a bit more prep work than the directions call for, after all, our cabinets show every bit of their 25+ years of age and use. I used a verssiion of "scotch-brite" abrasive pads though with a finer abrasive level. (these can be found at some hardwarestores or on line) After pulling the doors off the hinges and removed all hardware then carefull cleaned everything very well, then went over the outer surfaces with an "extra fine" (maroon) pad, paying particular attention to the corners and details etc. Wiped them down with a damp cloth and gave them another breif session with "ultra fine" (beige) pads. then after cleaning the dust off again and giving them a good 30 minutes to dry, used the beige pad to apply the Howard product, fairly liberaly and keeping the pad wet. After letting it soak in for 10 minutes or so, wiped them off with a clean rag (old t-shirt) and after another 5-10 minutes repeated another coat of Howards and wiped it off this time almost imeadiatly - I wanted to avoid darkening the cabinets too much. After waiting overnite I put the cabinets back together and gave them a coat of paste wax .... They look very good, even the worst areas of the cabinets under the kitchen sink look good, not quite like new but close to it. Great product. I on using it on some interior doors and woodwork as well. Big improvment for not a lot of work, and not a lot of money. Just do the prep and make sure the surfaces are clean, free of grease, and dry.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked as expected but has a dull or flat sheen.... Worked as expected but has a dull or flat sheen. Even after purchasing the Restore and Refinish carnival based floor polish it really did not have a high gloss to match surrounding area.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great. The color will be darker than the picture... Works great. The color will be darker than the picture on the container would have you believe. I actually wanted it darker so it was perfect for me.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well to restore old varnish finish but would not... Worked well to restore old varnish finish but would not color wood dough that covered brad heads.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product to touch up those areas on cabinets where... Great product to touch up those areas on cabinets where wear and tear is showing.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our wood trim & molding looks its best in 20... Our wood trim & molding looks its best in 20 yrs ! Easy to apply. Very pleased.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product for old furniture, brings wood grain out, beautiful... good product for old furniture, brings wood grain out, beautiful end result
Date published: 2019-03-01
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_, sid_100592964, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT