#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205488593

Model #KICU509XBL

Store SKU #384980

Store SO SKU #384980

Architect Series II 30 in. Smooth Surface Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements Including Bridge Element

  • 4-Element Cooktop
  • 2 Elements with Bridge Function
  • Contact your local store with Order # to schedule installation
  • See More Details

What We Offer

Appliance Washer Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements
Orange Dolly Icon
Move or
Haul Away
We'll move your old appliance to another room in your house, or haul it away for $25
Orange Dollar Sign
Price Match
Guarantee
We will match prices including shipping of any other online competitor
Learn More
HDPP Allstate Icon
The Home Depot
Protection Plan
Get 24/7 support and our 3-day Service Guarantee
Learn More

Product Overview

This 30 in. KitchenAid Architect Series II 4 element induction cooktop combines precision and speed. Electromagnetic induction technology directly heats the pan while keeping the cooktop surface cool to the touch. Twelve power levels give you the power to rapidly bring water to a boil and sear scallops to perfection. A bridge function lets you combine the power of two elements into one large cooking zone for specialty cookware such as a griddle or oval pan.
  • Cooktop features two 7 in. 2500-Watt elements with a bridge, one 11 in. 3700-Watt element and one 6 in. 1800-Watt element. Each element has Simmer, Melt, Keep Warm and Performance Boost for optimal cooking results
  • Touch-activated controls integrate seamlessly into the surface and include a slider for heat-level selection
  • Performance Boost allows you to exceed the maximum heat-level setting for up to 10 minutes--perfect for rapid boiling
  • Bridge function provides the flexibility to convert two cooking zones into one large cooking zone for even cooking when using specialty cookware or a griddle
  • Smooth ceramic-glass surface allows for effortless cleanup
  • Control Lock helps prevent unintended use
  • Hot Surface indicator. An "H" will appear in the surface cooking area display as long as any surface cooking area is too hot to touch, even after the surface cooking area(s) is turned off
  • Simmer Function automatically selects a low power level to help maintain a constant simmer without boiling over
  • 12 heat level settings to handle everything from searing to sauting
  • Melt and Hold uses low power levels for melting delicate ingredients or keeping cooked food warm without scorching
  • Use the cooking timer to set times up to 90 minutes. The timer is independent of any other control settings and can be used only on one cooking zone at a time
  • Limited 1-year, limited 5-year parts only warranty on select component parts
  • Induction cooktops require that you use cookware with magnetic properties. If a magnet sticks to the bottom of a pan, the cookware is compatible
  • Product available for home delivery only. Installation is not offered at time of delivery; check with your local The Home Depot store for installation options
  • Please call your local store with your Order # to schedule installation for this item
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

product
Features
Digital DisplayPan Size SensorIndicator Light- Hot Surface Indicator Light

Dimensions

Cooktop Size
30 in.
Cut-Out Front to Back Depth (in.)
19.31
Cut-Out Height (in.)
3.13
Cut-Out Left to Right Width (in.)
29.5
Element No.1 Size (In.)
6
Element No.2 Size (In.)
7
Element No.3 Size (In.)
6
Element No.4 Size (In.)
11
Product Depth (in.)
21.31
Product Height (in.)
3.13
Product Width (in.)
30.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
40
Appliance Category
Cooktop
Appliance Series
KitchenAid Architect Series II
Appliance Type
Induction Cooktop
Color/Finish
Black
Color/Finish Family
Black
Commercial/Residential
Residential
Control Location
Front
Cooktop Control Type
Digital Controls
Cooktop Features
Control Lockout,Digital Display,Indicator Light- Heating Element On,Indicator Light- Hot Surface Indicator Light,Pan Presence Sensor,Pan Size Sensor,Unit can be installed over a Wall Oven
Cooktop Surface Type
Induction
Element No.1 Type
Induction
Element No.1 Wattage
2500
Element No.2 Type
Induction
Element No.2 Wattage
2500
Element No.3 Type
Induction
Element No.3 Wattage
1800
Element No.4 Type
Induction
Element No.4 Wattage
3700
Fuel Type
Electric
Number of Elements
4 element
Product Weight (lb.)
39.7
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Voltage (volts)
240

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year warranty / Limited 5-year parts only warranty on select component parts

Compare Similar Induction Cooktops

30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
current product
Top RatedArchitect Series II 30 in. Smooth Surface Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements Including Bridge Element
800 Series 30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with Stainless Steel Trim, 4 Elements800 Series 30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
BrandFrigidaireKitchenAidBoschBosch
Name30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 ElementsArchitect Series II 30 in. Smooth Surface Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements Including Bridge Element800 Series 30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with Stainless Steel Trim, 4 Elements800 Series 30 in. Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
Price
Ratings
(161)
(239)
(16)
(25)
Cooktop Size30 in.30 in.30 in.30 in.
Number of Elements4 element4 element4 element4 element
Cooktop Surface TypeInductionInductionInductionInduction
Cooktop FeaturesDigital Display,Indicator Light- Hot Surface Indicator Light,Pan Size SensorControl Lockout,Digital Display,Indicator Light- Heating Element On,Indicator Light- Hot Surface Indicator Light,Pan Presence Sensor,Pan Size Sensor,Unit can be installed over a Wall OvenContinuous Grates,Indicator Light- Heating Element On,LP Convertible,Power Element,Sealed Burners,Unit can be installed over a Wall OvenContinuous Grates,Indicator Light- Heating Element On,LP Convertible,Power Element,Sealed Burners,Unit can be installed over a Wall Oven
Control LocationFrontFrontFrontFront
Appliance TypeInduction CooktopInduction CooktopInduction CooktopInduction Cooktop
Voltage (volts)240240240240
Amperage (amps)30 A4030 A30 A
Product Weight (lb.)6039.74141
Appliance Series KitchenAid Architect Series II
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Questions & Answers

11Questions11Answers

any recommended griddle work with the bridge mode?

Asked by skv December 6, 2020
1
Answer

Hello skv, we do not recommend using a griddle with this model. Hopefully this information is beneficial to you. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our KitchenAid appliances!

Included with the cooktop is a roll of double-sided tape. The installation manual doesn't seem to...

Asked by Tad April 4, 2020
2
Answers

My installer put the tape between the granite and the cooktop. But you're right it wasn't in the installation book

Can I replace this to my current 30 in gas cooktop?

Asked by Meekyoung December 30, 2018
1
Answer

Meekyoung you would need to verify the rough opening you currently have to make the best determination, but here is a link to the Installation Instructions for the KICU509XBL. See page 3: Hope this helps!: https://images.homedepot-static.com/catalog/pdfImages/97/97b865f8-316b-4f6d-88cb-72389c529b63.pdf

What is the cut out dimensions?

Asked by Letty June 11, 2018
1
Answer

Letty, thanks for the inquiry. The cut out dimensions for model KICU509XBL is: Cutout Depth(IN,inches) 19 5/16 Cutout Width(IN,inches) 29 1/2 Hopefully this information is beneficial to you. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our KitchenAid appliances!

I would like to install this cooktop above my Ikea Nutid convection oven. This is a single wall o...

Asked by Installme May 31, 2018
1
Answer

Hello, this Cooktop is not compatible with Ikea. Hopefully this information is beneficial to you. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our KitchenAid appliances!

Can this be using for canning?

Asked by Linda December 27, 2016
1
Answer

Linda, we do not recommend using this for canning.

What is the specifications on it

Asked by shorty November 27, 2016
2
Answers

Hi Shorty, please view the specifications below. Hopefully this information is beneficial to you. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our KitchenAid appliances! http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/60/60c14e3c-fa2b-45f5-acbf-617a123a2271.pdf

Exhaust system? Can a downdraft system be used?

Asked by NL July 22, 2016
1
Answer

Yes a downdraft type hood can be used with this cooktop. One such as model. KIRD801VSS. Please click on the "Installation Instructions" on the retractable vent hood page for detailed information in installing with the cooktop.

What size pans can be used on the 7", 6" and 11" burners?

Asked by Hellieo March 27, 2016
0
Answers

is it a 50 m prong

Asked by ClaudiA February 23, 2016
1
Answer

This has no plug, it is hard wired.

Architect Series II 30 in. Smooth Surface Induction Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements Including Bridge Element - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 239 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 239 reviews
After one month of use I was was cleaning around the unit and a piece of glass came off. The seco...
After one month of use I was was cleaning around the unit and a piece of glass came off. The second month another piece came off. The large burner only cooks on the inside and not the outer. They sent someone out and he said it is the way it is suppose to work and he didn't think they would replace the glass. I have heard nothing else back. Very hard to keep clean and is super loud but according to the maintenance guy he said that all induction cooktop a sound like this.
by Kimbo
Response from KitchenAidTeamFeb 15, 2021
Hello Kimbo, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the concerns with your appliance and would like to review this further for you. Please reach out to us via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you KitchenAidBrand
We’ve had this cooktop for nearly 3 years. We use it all of the time and it never lets us down. ...
We’ve had this cooktop for nearly 3 years. We use it all of the time and it never lets us down. Everyone knows that induction is faster and safer but there are two advantages that were unexpected. First, the level of temperature control is excellent. For instance, when a pot of pasta is nearly boiling over for being too hot, turning the cooktop down by one level (1-9) INSTANTLY produces the desired result. It’s very reactive. The second advantage is the BEST OF ALL: because the cooktop itself doesn’t every get super hot, it is so much easier to keep clean. Food spills never get burned on like a regular glass top. As a result, our 3 year old unit looks amazing, like new. We never need to do any heavy cleaning with abrasives, just wipe it clean. The touch controls take a little getting used to. I buy again without hesitation.
by WPaKAi
4 people found this helpful
Complete Garbage
I've just move in a new house with a whole package deal on kitchen aid set. The cooktop stop working after 2months with the same f47 code many other been reporting !
by Felix
Response from CA SOCIAL CARE Feb 2, 2019
Hey Felix, We are so sorry to hear about your cooktop. Kitchenaid is centered on quality. We are so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We really appreciate your feedback. If you could, please send us an email to canadasocial@kitchenaid.com, with the best phone number for contact and your washer model and serial numbers. We'd be glad to follow up with you and offer further assistance. Thank you so much for reaching out to us about this. - Yvette
Love Induction Cooking!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This induction cooktop is unbelievable. I live in a high-rise condo so we have no choice but to use an electric stove. On my old stove which was only 4 years old, you could grow old waiting for the water to boil and if you were making pasta, it rarely came to a full boil. This KitchenAid induction cooktop boils a pot of water in under 2 minutes to a rolling boil. I also love that it cools down quickly once you turn it off or remove the pot. Still getting used to the sensitive controls, but I love cooking on it. They say it's better than cooking with gas. I knew I wanted an induction cooktop when I renovated my kitchen. I had to have the area rewired to accommodate the separate cooktop, wall oven and microwave, but it was definitely worth it.
by Stephaniej
Very pleased
I can’t understand some of these reviews not being good. I’ve had my cooktop about a month now & couldn’t be happier. Great size, temperature control & love the features, especially the lock power. I did get the stainless trim which was an upgrade & advised would prevent any chipping. So far all my new kitchen aid appliances are fantastic.
by Janny
Fast Accurate Cooking!
We purchased this appliance to replace an older electric unit that was going out. We had previously been debating on getting gas but now I am glad that we went with induction. It is truly the best of both worlds - FAST, responsive, accurate cooking without the risk of an open flame (we have a little one). The cooktop is easy to clean because spills don't get burned on, as heat is generated inside the pan. I've had beautiful results, no burns, and my kitchen looks cleaner longer. It's also simple to use and has a sleek look with no bulky buttons. I love it!
by Jenna
Clean lines - great cooking!
Just moved into my new condo. I changed the kitchen package from a full size gas range to the electric induction cooktop. I love it! So easy to keep clean and looks beautiful with my black and white granite with white cabinets. It gives me plenty of cooking versatility. All of my appliances are KitchenAid black stainless - they look so beautiful!
by Carol
Great stovetop!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love using my new induction cooktop! It heats up quickly; water boils in seconds, and when you turn it off the heat is gone immediately!
by Pastapam
Poor Quality
(This review was collected as part of a promotion.) The first time we used the PowerBoost with the large burner we received an F47 code and the 2 right burners were inoperable. Dealing with customer service was unacceptable. Wait times on the phone were extremely long (over an hour); agents couldn't provide an ETA for replacement parts and wouldn't try to find an alternative solution to resolve the issue. Approximately 8 weeks later a new part was installed. Immediately upon using the PowerBoost on the large burner the same thing happened. Now 5 weeks later a replacement is on the way. Hoping that the same issue doesn't happen again.
by Unacceptable
Response from CA SOCIAL CARE Apr 26, 2021
Greetings, Unacceptable! We are so very sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you have had with your Kitchenaid cooktop. Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your concerns. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. It is never our intention to leave a customer feeling less than satisfied and we are so very sorry that has happened to you. You are a valued Kitchenaid customer and we want to help you! Please email us at canadasocial@kitchenaid.com with the model number, serial number, your best contact number, and review ID 244823280. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you have a lovely day! Thank you, - Andrea
Lots of bells and whistles
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] First induction cooktop that I’ve used and it takes a little getting used to, but so much better than our previous ceramic-top electric! The nearly instant boiling is amazing and it’s super quick to bring the temp down to a simmer as well. Very precise temperature control and the built in timer is very convenient as well.
by Msigmund
Showing 1-10 of 239 reviews