Internet #207074950

Model # DIY-18-HP-230A

0853962006937

MRCOOL

DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5 Ton Ductless Mini-Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump 230-Volt/60 Hz

  • Easy, DIY installation - no special tools or training needed
  • Dual heat pump and air conditioner provide year-round comfort
  • Covers up to 850 sq. ft.
$ 1,528 00 /bundle
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Easy, DIY installation - no special tools or training needed
  • Dual heat pump and air conditioner provide year-round comfort
  • Covers up to 850 sq. ft.
A MRCOOL DIY Series heat pump is the only ductless mini-split system on the market explicitly designed for amateur installation. You don't need special tools or training to install this high efficiency heat pump. The linesets pre-charged with R410A refrigerant, the quick hook-up electrical connections, and the quality engineering mean just about anyone can install a MRCOOL DIY in their home with no problem at all in only a few short hours. If you want great air comfort without paying an arm and a leg for installation, you want an easy-to-use MRCOOL DIY Series ductless heat pump.
  • Unlike any other ductless heat pump on the market, the MRCOOL diy series is specifically designed for easy installation, the MRCOOL diy series comes with pre-charged Quick Connect line sets alleviating one major obstacle to amateur installation in a single stroke
  • 7-year compressor warranty and 5-year parts warranty
  • DC inverter and variable speed compressor technology cuts operating costs
  • Refrigerant leakage detection ensures your system remains operating efficiently without degradation due to undetected corrosion
  • MRCOOL diy temperature compensation technology help keeps you comfortable in any weather conditions
  • Gold fin corrosion protection, made to stand up to the elements, our condensers are built to resist long term corrosion
  • Follow Me, personalized performance, is just a press away on your MRCOOL remote (included with your system). Keep the remote close by or in hard to condition areas, and your MRCOOL system will track the air temperature around the remote to ensure this area receives maximum comfort
  • DIY Mini Split Installation Guide
  • Which type of air conditioner is best for your home?
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Easy, DIY installation - no special tools or training needed
  • Dual heat pump and air conditioner provide year-round comfort
  • Covers up to 850 sq. ft.
Model #: DIY-18-HP-230A
Internet #: 207074950

A MRCOOL DIY Series heat pump is the only ductless mini-split system on the market explicitly designed for amateur installation. You don't need special tools or training to install this high efficiency heat pump. The linesets pre-charged with R410A refrigerant, the quick hook-up electrical connections, and the quality engineering mean just about anyone can install a MRCOOL DIY in their home with no problem at all in only a few short hours. If you want great air comfort without paying an arm and a leg for installation, you want an easy-to-use MRCOOL DIY Series ductless heat pump.

  • Unlike any other ductless heat pump on the market, the MRCOOL diy series is specifically designed for easy installation, the MRCOOL diy series comes with pre-charged Quick Connect line sets alleviating one major obstacle to amateur installation in a single stroke
  • 7-year compressor warranty and 5-year parts warranty
  • DC inverter and variable speed compressor technology cuts operating costs
  • Refrigerant leakage detection ensures your system remains operating efficiently without degradation due to undetected corrosion
  • MRCOOL diy temperature compensation technology help keeps you comfortable in any weather conditions
  • Gold fin corrosion protection, made to stand up to the elements, our condensers are built to resist long term corrosion
  • Follow Me, personalized performance, is just a press away on your MRCOOL remote (included with your system). Keep the remote close by or in hard to condition areas, and your MRCOOL system will track the air temperature around the remote to ensure this area receives maximum comfort
  • DIY Mini Split Installation Guide
  • Which type of air conditioner is best for your home?
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Ramsond Ramsond MRCOOL Ramsond
Name Super Efficiency 9,000 BTU 3/4+ Ton Inverter Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz Super Efficiency 12,000 BTU 1 Ton Inverter Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 110V/60Hz DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5 Ton Ductless Mini-Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump 230-Volt/60 Hz Super Efficiency GWi Series 33,000 BTU 2.75 Ton Inverter Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump - 230V/60Hz
Price
Was $1,141.75
$1,027.58
Save $114.17 (10%)
Was $1,210.60
$1,089.54
Save $121.06 (10%)
$1,528.00 /bundle
Was $2,380.00
$2,142.00
Save $238.00 (10%)
Ratings (4) (4) (213) (3)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Air handler depth (in.)
8.46
Air handler height (in.)
12.56
Air handler width (in.)
37.99
Condenser depth (in.)
13.11
Condenser height (in.)
21.81
Condenser width (in.)
31.50

Details

Air Conditioner Product Type
Mini Split Unit
Air direction/circulation
4-way
Air handler weight (lb.)
26
Amperage (amps)
20 A
BTU Cooling Rating
18000 BTU
BTU Cooling Rating
18000.000
BTU Heat Rating
18000.000
BTU Heat Rating
18000 BTU
Color
White
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Condenser weight (lb.)
80.5
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
850
Decibel (Sound) Rating
57 dBA
Decibel Rating
57 dBA
Filter Type
Washable
Included
Remote Control,Self-diagnostic tools
Line Set Length (ft.)
25
Mini Split Features
Automatic shutoff,Overload protection,Sleep setting,Timer
Minimum Outdoor Temperature (F)
5
Mount Location
Wall Mount
Number of Fan Speeds
Variable
Number of cool settings
3
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (v)
230v
Voltage (volts)
230
Wattage (watts)
Not Measured
Zone Capacity
Single Zone

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
ETL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
7-Year Compressor and 5-Year Parts Warranty.
Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER)
16

Specifications

Dimensions

Air handler depth (in.)
8.46
Air handler height (in.)
12.56
Air handler width (in.)
37.99
Condenser depth (in.)
13.11
Condenser height (in.)
21.81
Condenser width (in.)
31.50

Details

Air Conditioner Product Type
Mini Split Unit
Air direction/circulation
4-way
Air handler weight (lb.)
26
Amperage (amps)
20 A
BTU Cooling Rating
18000 BTU
BTU Cooling Rating
18000.000
BTU Heat Rating
18000.000
BTU Heat Rating
18000 BTU
Color
White
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Condenser weight (lb.)
80.5
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
850
Decibel (Sound) Rating
57 dBA
Decibel Rating
57 dBA
Filter Type
Washable
Included
Remote Control,Self-diagnostic tools
Line Set Length (ft.)
25
Mini Split Features
Automatic shutoff,Overload protection,Sleep setting,Timer
Minimum Outdoor Temperature (F)
5
Mount Location
Wall Mount
Number of Fan Speeds
Variable
Number of cool settings
3
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (v)
230v
Voltage (volts)
230
Wattage (watts)
Not Measured
Zone Capacity
Single Zone

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
ETL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
7-Year Compressor and 5-Year Parts Warranty.
Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER)
16

Questions & Answers

it asks for 3.5" hole, do you think a 3" hole will also work? I DO NOT plan on using the sleeve ...

it asks for 3.5" hole, do you think a 3" hole will also work? I DO NOT plan on using the sleeve provided, I use spray foam to seal and 3" is what I used in previous installations. I just don't see what's in the line and connectors that needs a full 3.5" to pass through. traditional installation even use 2.5" hole
Asked by: Jeremy
It all depends on your installation. I used a three inch hole without the sleeve, but i did not run the drain line through the same hole and did not try to make a sharp 90 degree bend on the outside. Be careful there.
Answered by: Bob
Date published: 2018-02-17

Hello my name is John what size outdoor shut off should be used with this unit since it takes 20 ...

Hello my name is John what size outdoor shut off should be used with this unit since it takes 20 amp circuit breaker
Asked by: jayr
use a GE 60 amp non fuse metallic AC disconnect or similiar
Answered by: fixitman
Date published: 2019-05-09

Are lines copper or some sort of flexible material?

Are lines copper or some sort of flexible material?
Asked by: Gdubya
A very short piece of approx 1 1/2', near the connection to the compressor, is copper, the rest is some type of flexible material. BTW, the 2nd generation unit I have was very easy to install.
Answered by: John
Date published: 2018-12-15

Has anyone mounted the exterior unit to their home? Does it cause significant noise and vibratio...

Has anyone mounted the exterior unit to their home? Does it cause significant noise and vibration on that wall?
Asked by: To
Just installed the DIY 18,000 BTU mini split this weekend. I attached it to the outside wall of my workshop. I was pleasantly surprised how quite the unit was and practically no vibration.
Answered by: Steve
Date published: 2018-07-16
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_128
  • loc_, sid_207074950, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 29ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5 Ton Ductless Mini-Split Air Conditioner and Heat Pump 230-Volt/60 Hz is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quiet effective air conditioner I installed this air conditioner as an alternative to central air, which saved me about $2000 because of markup and installation. Installation took about a day. I started about 8 am and because of various adventures that were purely my fault, the unit was completely functional by early evening. I did hire an electrician to run a 220v line to my breaker box and put a disconnect on an exterior wall. My house is a bi-level, 900 sq. ft up and 900 sq ft garden level basement. This is mounted upstairs on a wall of my living room, pointing directly down the central hallway that goes to the bedrooms. In this location it essentially cools the entire house. I'm posting this in mid August; with temperatures in the high 80's and low 90's, my house is completely comfortable. I leave the thermostat on this unit set at 74 degrees F, and it keeps up fine. It's also very quiet. During high load times like late afternoon, it does have a slight whoosing fan noise, but in low load times it's almost silent. It's much much quieter than a window or portable unit, because the compressor is outside. For that matter, the compressor is much quieter outside than a central air compressor. Overall, I love it. I definitely have become a proponent of ductless mini splits from my experience with this one.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I purchased the 18k BTU unit for use in a 550 sq foot bonus room over a garage (central Indiana, ... I purchased the 18k BTU unit for use in a 550 sq foot bonus room over a garage (central Indiana, hot summers, cold winters). There are only two windows in the room (one north facing the other south facing) and with the exception of a bathroom, it's one open space. Installation took about 9 hours, but that included running the electrical for the A/C cutoff switch for the outside unit. Installing the inside unit was fairly simple. It comes with a 1:1 scale template for locating the mounting bracket. It gives you the exact location for the hole where the lineset will pass to the exterior. I purchased a lineset cover (sold by a different manufacturer) and that added some time. I'd guess it would take me 30-45 minutes to install this unit again having done it once (and assuming all electrical is in place). I had about 5-6 feet of excess lineset that I simply coiled behind the condenser. The lineset is covered by a nice white, plastic sleeve. After installation if fired right up. I set the thermostat to 60 (cooling mode) and ice-cold air started blasting from the vent. It was about 80 the day I installed it, and the room was ice-cold in about 30 minutes. I adjusted the temp to 75 and let it run for 3 days and the room was very comfortable. The outside temp at the time of writing this review is 92 degrees. I adjusted the temp to 73 and its cooling like a champ. The inside unit is very quiet. Just a slight humming/fan sound is audible within about 8-10 feet of the unit. The outside unit is also very quiet, especially compared to central air condenser I have for the rest of the house. The Mr. Cool outside condenser sounds like a table-top house fan on medium speed. The wireless remote control is very handy and intuitive. The buttons are clearly marked and do exactly what you think they should. The louvered vent can be set to oscillate up and down or remain still in one of several angles. Temp can be displayed on the inside unit (LCD screen) or that can be turned off.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We recently added a 12' by 28' sunroom with a vaulted ceiling onto the back of our house and need... We recently added a 12' by 28' sunroom with a vaulted ceiling onto the back of our house and needed some way to heat and cool. Enter in the Mr Cool 18,000 BTU. Ordered the unit online and picked it up at the store. Installed the interior unit first, then realized the outside unit had some slight damage. I returned the outdoor unit and waited another two weeks for the new one. Installation was so-so. Easy overall, but struggled to drill through the outside brick to run power from the basement breaker panel to the unit until I went to Home Depot and rented a real hammer drill and 7/8" drill bit and it was easier than buttering toast. The outside connections went well, but took a little time. Just follow the instructions, and you are set. Anyone with some working knowledge of basic construction and electrical should be able to install. (Photo of outside connections attached.) So far, very pleased with the cooling ability. Won't be able to try heat for a few months.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from installed this unit (18k) as the instructions shows , The unit did not work. It would not even co... installed this unit (18k) as the instructions shows , The unit did not work. It would not even come on, I rechecked all the electric connection and made sure they were correct and still the unit would not work. The power was correct on the indoor unit and the outdoor unit but it would not work. The line sets were connected correct. After a consult I disconnected the unit and took it back to Home Depot, They were very nice and apologetic about all the work that I did for nothing, I was refunded my money back on my card.This would be a great unit if it only would work, I like the ideal of not having to pay out a huge amount to hvac installers.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy install, very quiet I bought this to replace a Klimaire 24K unit. After 5 years and 2 separate service calls the Klimaire just quit working. The MRCOOL 18K DIY is much quieter but does not blow as hard. It also has a much more compact outdoor unit. Installation is pretty easy and an average handyman should be able to complete in about 4 or 5 hours depending on where you put it. Since I already had wiring run and the hole cut for my old one it probably took me more like 2.5 hours. The lineset is very long and with the couplers it can not be cut down like the flare fitting type. It is much more flexible than my old one which makes it very easy to bend around turns. I actually had to wrap all the extra into 2 loops. It blows very cold air but still seems to struggle with cooling my 700 sq.ft. loft floor. If you run the fan on auto it will go to low speed before the room has reached your desired temperature. I set it at 66 degrees and if you leave the fan on high on an 80 degree day it will cool the room to 67 or 68. I tried setting it to 62 but was never able to cool the room below 66. The Klimaire I had would freeze you out when it was working correctly so I had thought the 24k unit was a bit of overkill but perhaps this 18k is just not big enough. Overall I am pretty happy with my purchase of the MRCOOL and this would be a perfect replacement for someone with a window unit. I wish it would make the room a bit colder. I have not tried the wifi control yet but maybe that would help control the unit better to reach a lower temp.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The hardest part about the install was drilling the hole through parts of three 2x4's and exterio... The hardest part about the install was drilling the hole through parts of three 2x4's and exterior stucco. The hookup and install was easy otherwise (get a second person to help feed the line-set through the wall, not sure how some people do this by themselves). The 1.5 ton unit is extremely quiet inside and the outside condenser unit is inaudible from the inside, absolutely outstanding. The cooling power is fantastic, cools down our kitchen (about 400 sf with 6 windows on the southside, located in Sacramento heat) in no time whatsoever. Planning to replace the master bedroom window a/c with a Mr. Cool 1 ton unit. So far couldn't be happier. Probably saved another $300 by not having to hire an HVAC specialist to vacuum, charge etc. These DIY units are the way to go. Mini-splits are much more popular in Europe, and make complete sense from an economical point of view. The heating capability of the unit will probably never be used, since the energy efficiency of the heating does not seem economical from looking at the sticker on the unit which shows estimated cost to run the heater (we have central heat in our house, this unit will serve cooling only), but it's good to have that option. Happy camper, Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starting to enjoy This unit seems pretty good, and has a lot of remote details, of which, at 78 years old, I don't need or care for. It cools very good, and seems reliable, but has only been (on line) for about a week or alittle more. I have not had a chance to try out the heater part of it yet. It is very QUITE, which is a great plus, and really looks good. It does have a lot of extra tubing connecting the two units, but since the overhead in my (man cave) is open, I was able to route that in the overhead to take up all of the slack, so even that worked out OK. It is looking like it is a good buy!
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this unit to supplement my heat and be a primary ac for the first floor of my house. very easy to follow instructions and very easy to install for a handy person. The unit fired right up and works beyond expectation. I was also very impressed with how quiet it is. Can barely hear it running. I did have 1 question after installing and the callback was less than 5 minutes, and the customer service was great. I am ready planning on getting 2 more for the rest of my house.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought the unit on-line from Home Depot, had it shipped to my local store. Purchased the 18k BTU... Bought the unit on-line from Home Depot, had it shipped to my local store. Purchased the 18k BTU unit along with the wall mounting kit, and 3" cover Kit. Shipping/delivery didn't take long, got a email/txt from the store when it was ready for pick up. Based on a review or two I read, made sure I checked the boxes for any damage before loading. The store rep loaded the four boxes into my vehicle, and with a smile and handshake wished me good luck. I live in Florida, with a south facing garage with no shade trees. I use my garage daily for wood working and other hobby's. During the summer months the garage temp ranges from 80 in the morning to almost 100 in the afternoon. Before installing the Mr. Cool I attempted to cool the garage by insulating the doors (3 car garage) insulating the ceiling and installing fans. It helped some, but still to hot for this old man. After months, more like years of research, blogs, and DIY forums, I finally made the decision to dust off the check book and buy the Air Conditioner. Installation was very straightforward, the average DIY enthusiast should have no problem. My install was on a concrete wall, a quick trip to Grainger was needed for the 3.5" concrete bit required to route the tubing from the air handler to the compressor. I did all the work alone with the exception of final installation of the air handler. It's not that heavy, but managing the unit and routing the bundle of tubing/cable/hose through the wall would have been challenging. I enlisted the help of my neighbor and it only took five minutes. My only suggestion is: When ordering the unit, it would be nice to have an option of choosing the hose/tubing/cable length. My install only required approximately 12' of pre-charged tubing. After installation the problem is what to do with all that extra tubing. My solution was to build and install a wooden box to route the tubing into and out of. Painted to match the house and hidden in a corner makes it not as unsightly as I assumed, but I still would rather not have it. I installed the unit just around a month ago, so far so good. I don't leave it on 24/7, only use it when I'm in the garage working. At this point I'm very satisfied with the ease of install and overall performance of the unit. I hope I have many years of great performance from my Mr. Cool unit.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well :) Purchased this unit for a 900 square foot garage. Installation was straightforward and relatively easy. The only issues I saw were, A) The linesets are approx. 26 ft long and cannot be shortened (which in my installation was perfect) but they could be coiled permanently if necessary, and B) The plug for the control line which goes from the inside unit and plugs into the outside unit does not fit through the hole made for the knock-out plug. The wires must be removed from the plastic connector, passed through the hole and then re-installed. This is a relatively simple procedure, but can be quite difficult without (and even sometimes with) the correct tool. A very small thin screwdriver can be used, inserted through the back of the plug on top of each individual wire to release the the small catch. Make sure to note the correct position of each wire (there are 3) Also, it appears that whenever the unit is on, the inside fan runs, regardless of wheather the outside unit is running or not (unless I am not setting it correctly, but I believe I am) Overall, I am very satisfied with the unit. The fact that it comes completely charged and no vacuuming or charging is necessary is a big plus in my book as I was able to do the complete installation without any professional (read, "expensive") HVAC help.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy so far, install went well, wish they made... very happy so far, install went well, wish they made smaller lengths of piping, I only needed 15 feet, 18k does a great job cooling 3 rooms total 875 sq ft and you can not hear it inside or out the only con would be the xtra length of pipe that i coiled and will cover. 4 hour install and saved myself over 18 hundred $ , those hvac guys are crazy and they dont even do the electric.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over all DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5 Ton was fairly easy to install, The only issue I had was not getting ... Over all DIY 18,000 BTU 1.5 Ton was fairly easy to install, The only issue I had was not getting the drain pipe on the bottom , this cause a leak but was easily Fixed. I think that the instructions could be a little clearer So far I am very Pleased with the unit.
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use! We bought this unit last spring and it was a lifesaver last summer. I was unsure of how good a mini split unit would perform in our home and therefore put off buying one for a few years. We were at a friends house who had just purchased one and we were quite surprised at how easily it cooled their large living/dining area, how easy it was to install and how affordable it was. We have an above ground raised ranch and wanted the unit for our living space on second level which is usually very hot in summer. We placed the unit in our living/dining room directly across from hallway leading to 3BRs & Bath. This unit is so strong It cools our house almost all the way to end bedrooms, despite the fact that the stairway leading downstairs to our foyer is only 15’ away from where the unit is blowing. We do still require another ac unit in the bedrooms but we are so happy that this unit actually cools almost the whole upstairs area. In the past we couldn’t even cook or enjoy eating upstairs because it was just to hot. Now we actually need sweaters while sitting in living room. We are thinking of getting another smaller unit for the bedroom. My husband and son did the installation without any problems. Greatest investment we ever made!! Don’t hesitate if you’re thinking of buying one they are worth every penny.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from why would Home Depot sell this unit? It looks good going in and makes a good package. I hired an AC company to intall this unit even with the DIY bit. The unit will not operate in automatic mode but cools and heats in the respective modes. I called the Mr Cool help line and never got to their support. I asked Home Depot what the options are after owning this unit for 15 days. Short answer tear it out and return it for a refund. No service call or troubleshooting available or at site repair under warranty Why sell something that has no factory support? I also get a one star review for not doing a better job of reasearching this product away from the home depot site
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works adequately after repair When I bought this unit everyone said it wouldn't last a month. It almost made it a month before the blower motor for the inside unit went out. They sent me another motor right away. No instructions for replacing the old one, however. Needless to say, it's a difficult chore if you are not an ac service tech. If I hadn't found a video on YouTube , I probably could not have repaired it. Very slow response from the company that sold it to me. It was an Amazon purchase filled by someone else. It has worked fine since the repair. But I have no confidence in the unit after it failing in the first month. I wouldn't buy it again.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Before purchasing this product I read all the reviews and agree with them regarding the instructi... Before purchasing this product I read all the reviews and agree with them regarding the instruction manual. It is weak and incomplete. For example, working the wifi component was very vague and the app didn't have additional information. My unit was supposed to have included the wifi (USB) but didn't get packed with the shipment. Even after 4 calls to HD, the USB hasn't arrive (4 months has passed). These units have a dehumidifying mode but no information on how to operate it. I tried calling the manufacture, and email but no response. Using a barometer, I tried to determine the settings but to no avail. It appears to run until you shut it off. I was expecting to set the target humidity level and see it auto operate, didn't happen. After one month of use, I'm beginning doubting this unit's ability to cool 850 sqft. When it's 90 degrees outside, I can't get below 82 inside. I have new windows, insulation and doors in this 810 sqft space. In general, this may be labeled as a DIY product, its not for a first time installer. The fundamental parts are included but the poor procedures require a working knowledge installation and HVAC basics.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unit is very nice. The installation instructions I found to... Unit is very nice. The installation instructions I found to be lacking detail. It took me several days start to finish. I had to run a separate circuit for power. I am using it to heat and cool a 2 car garage, that is fully insulated.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from After installing and using a two-head heat pump, one of the heads broke down, and it took 4 MONTH... After installing and using a two-head heat pump, one of the heads broke down, and it took 4 MONTHS to get a new one, while we froze. Customer service for this company is incompetent, slow, and cannot communicate more than one line in an email. The units themselves seem fine, except when they do break under warranty, it is frustrating to try to get new parts. Then they eventually shipped the part to Home Depot, with no name or transaction number, so Home Depot instantly lost it and we had to wait another month. VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE>
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Unit I have this unit installed and running for 6 months now. AC worked well, using this to cool and heat my 25'x23' insulated garage with 9' ceiling. Kept my garage at 75 degrees in the summer heat with no issues and now in the winter I have it set at its lowest setting 62 . It is energy efficient and quiet. Only complaint I have is the fan runs at low speed constantly when not calling for heat or AC, not sure if that's normal to keep air circulating. Would recommend buying this unit to any DIYer, easy to install.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and pretty simple to install DIY We have a flat-roof house built in the 1970s with no central air or heat. I installed this myself in an afternoon and it's been awesome. We live in a moderate climate but need some cooling and heating and this more than does the trick! Installed in a 400 SF room but we have an open floor plan and it cools the house with ease. Installation was pretty straightforward and I purchased a few accessories (non fuse junction box and electrical whip) and I had no trouble hooking it up.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, quiet, economical Installed a DIY 24K MrCool fall of 2017, flawless operation both heating and cooling modes ever since. Installed a DIY 18K MrCool at my other place four months ago and is working as well as the other one. Haven't used it in cooling mode yet. In both installations the indoor unit was a struggle to hang onto its mounting bracket. It has to slid down onto the metal tangs and I and my helper just had to keep trying until it seemed right. Otherwise not too hard to install.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My Mr Cool! I replaced an old electric furnace in my garage with the 18k unit. The DIY model was as advertised...very easy to install. I finished on a 95* day in July, shut the garage and fired up the unit. Within 2 hours the humidity was gone and the temp was 76*. Unless you have an electrical background like me, you only have to hire an electrician. I now have heat and AC in my 3-car garage running off only 20 amps....compared to the 90amps of the old beast.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works like a Champ! I bought this about 6 months ago for my garage shop and have now tested it through heat and now through cold down to 30F. It is super quiet and maintains the temperature in my shop. It is so quiet that the first time I turned it on I thought I had done something wrong because I couldn't hear the outside condenser motor from inside the shop with the door open. Installation instructions were easy to follow and I had no problems during the installation.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Workshop This has been a great addition to my garage workshop! I installed it myself which went as advertised and no problems. It worked great for cooling in the Las Vegas summer heat. It has been heating the garage in the colder weather as well. I should say that the garage is insulated and is about 650 sq ft. I have not noted any major change to my electric bill but i only run it when i am working in the area.
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bypass the expensive installation costs. After reading other online reviews, and researching the installation process, I purchased a MRCOOL 18 K Mini-split system for my remodeled attic. The installation instructions were through and it took us about 4 hours to complete. The unit now quietly cools and heats the attic comfortably! Saved me lots of money installing it ourselves. No real need for a costly HVAC 'expert'.
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job without any installation hassle! If you're handy, the installation is fairly easy. I had to hire an electrician to install an outside disconnect. The unit works great and the iPhone apt is a really nice feature so I can cool the place before getting there! I chose to cover the outside lines with wood rather then plastic and painted it the same color as house. It blended in perfect.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DIY A/C Out first DIY A/C unit installation. The assembly was well described in the instructions and actual installation was fairly simple. Unit works great and is exceptionally quiet. The only negative was the shipping container was not strong enough and the compressor unit had minor dents.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Home Equity for the Advanced DIYer After researching affordable heating/cooling systems for my 1970's split level ranch and watching numerous YouTube videos I decided on the 18,000 BTU Mr Cool. The installation was straightforward and as long as you have the knowledge, the electrical hook up was easy. The most pleasant surprise was the cost to operate the unit so far this winter.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend this mini-split. It's easy to install, so long as you can make a hole in your... I highly recommend this mini-split. It's easy to install, so long as you can make a hole in your wall. Making that hole is the hardest part of installing the unit. I'd recommend checking out videos of others installing the unit before proceeding on your own.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really happy so far Have had it since mid summer. The air conditioner works really well, cools 350 sq ft easily. Have been using the heat for a couple of months, it heats but if the temperature dips below 15 degrees it’s not as efficient. My only complaint is that the remote just quits sometimes, then starts working later. Good thing I have the app on my phone.
Date published: 2019-01-16
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_213
  • loc_, sid_207074950, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 165ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT