#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #204338179

Model #SP6000J194368-5

12 Amp 6-1/2 in. Corded Plunge Saw with 55 in. Guide Rail, 48T Carbide Blade and Hard Case

  • Powerful12-Amp with variable speed control dial (2000-5200 RPM)
  • Large cutting capacity (2-3/16 in. at 90° and 1-9/16 in. at 45°)
  • Bevel capability (-1 to 48°) with positive stops at 22.5° and 45°
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Makita Brand Banner
Saw Blade Diameter
Maximum Cut Depth at 90 Degrees
Blade Bevel Capacity
Saw Depth Adjustment
The Makita 6-1/2 in. Plunge Cut Circular Saw and 55 in. Guide Rail work together to produce accurate cuts with minimal tear-out. The saw combines a powerful 12-Amp motor and a large cutting capacity with magnesium components for less weight (only 9.7 lbs.). Electronic speed control maintains constant speed under load for smooth handling and a splinter-free, mirror finish. The saw delivers accurate cutting as the position of the blade enters the material on the same cutting line, whether cutting straight or bevel.
  • Includes circular saw; 6-1/2 in., 48-tooth, carbide-tipped saw blade; hex wrench; 55 in. guide rail and stackable tool case
  • 12-Amp motor with variable speed control dial (2000-5200 RPM) for optimum performance in a variety of materials
  • Large cutting capacity (2-3/16 in. at 90° and 1-9/16 in. at 45°)
  • Bevel capability (-1 to 48°) with positive stops at 22.5° and 45°
  • Close to the wall cutting (11/16 in.) for expanded cutting applications
  • 1-1/2 in. O.D. dust port directs debris away from you and connects to a vacuum system
  • Built-in current limiter helps prevent motor burnout
  • Soft start feature for smooth start-ups
  • Smooth and convenient plunge release lever for your comfort
  • Dual front and rear bevel supports provide additional rigidity for precise and accurate bevel cuts
  • Easy-to-set depth adjustment with large scale
  • 1-year warranty
  • Precise bevel cutting as the position of the blade enters the material on the same cutting line whether cutting straight or bevel
  • Locking lever holds the blade in position so that the wrench can be inserted through the hole in the blade case for easier blade installation
  • Blade wrench attaches to the saw for fast and convenient blade changes
  • Built-in depth stop allows a preliminary cut of 1/16 in. to be performed before the entire material is cut through for clean and splinter-free cutting
  • Includes: 48T carbide tipped blade (B-07353), hex blade wrench (783203-8), 55 in. guide rail (194368-5), stackable tool case






  • Shop all Makita products
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Circular Saws

18-Volt X2 LXT 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion (36-Volt) Brushless Cordless Rear Handle 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw Kit
current product
12 Amp 6-1/2 in. Corded Plunge Saw with 55 in. Guide Rail, 48T Carbide Blade and Hard Case
18-Volt X2 LXT Lithium-Ion (36-Volt) Brushless Cordless 6-1/2 in. Plunge Circular Saw w/ (2) Batteries 5.0Ah, 55T Blade14 Amp 10-1/4 in. Corded Circular Saw with Electric Brake and 24T Carbide Blade
BrandMakitaMakitaMakitaMakita
Name18-Volt X2 LXT 5.0Ah Lithium-Ion (36-Volt) Brushless Cordless Rear Handle 7-1/4 in. Circular Saw Kit12 Amp 6-1/2 in. Corded Plunge Saw with 55 in. Guide Rail, 48T Carbide Blade and Hard Case18-Volt X2 LXT Lithium-Ion (36-Volt) Brushless Cordless 6-1/2 in. Plunge Circular Saw w/ (2) Batteries 5.0Ah, 55T Blade14 Amp 10-1/4 in. Corded Circular Saw with Electric Brake and 24T Carbide Blade
Price
Ratings
(771)
(127)
(80)
(8)
Cordless/ CordedCordlessCordedCordlessCorded
Blade Diameter7-1/46-1/26-1/210-1/4
Power Tool FeaturesDepth Adjustment,Electric Brake,Keyed Blade ChangeDepth Adjustment,Keyed Blade Change,Spindle LockElectric Brake,Keyed Blade ChangeElectric Brake,Keyed Blade Change,Spindle Lock
Voltage (volts)36 36
Batteries IncludedYes Yes
Blade Diameter (in.)7-1/46-1/26-1/210-1/4
Saw Drive TypeWorm DriveSidewinderSidewinderSidewinder
Blade LocationLeftRightRightRight
Number of Total Batteries Included2 2
Battery Amp Hours5 Ah 5 Ah
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Diameter
6-1/2
Maximum Cut Depth @ 90 Deg.
2.188 in
Product Depth (in.)
15.5
Product Height (in.)
12.4
Product Width (in.)
11.7

Details

Amperage (amps)
12
Bevel Capacity
48
Blade Diameter (in.)
6-1/2
Blade Location
Right
Color Family
Teal
Condition
New
Construction Material
Plastic
Cord Length (ft.)
7.9
Corded Tool Type
Circular Saw
Cordless/ Corded
Corded
Cuts Through
Wood
Depth Adjustment
Yes
Electrical brake
No
Included
Tool Case
Included Accessories
Case
Maximum Cut Depth @ 45 Deg.
1.563 in
Maximum Speed (rpm)
5200
Power Tool Features
Depth Adjustment,Keyed Blade Change,Spindle Lock
Product Weight (lb.)
16.5
Returnable
90-Day
Saw Drive Type
Sidewinder
Spindle Lock
Yes
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Warranty

Questions & Answers

24Questions56Answers

Why do you tout this as a "special price"? It is the same as elsewhere.

Asked by BobTheBuilder February 18, 2020
3
Answers

I didn’t, the person was asking me about the quality of this saw said it’s a special price, I just had a comment about the quality.

36V cordless version or this?

Asked by Alex January 9, 2020
5
Answers

Thank you for your question. The XPS01PTJ 18V X2 LXT® Lithium-Ion (36V) Brushless Cordless 6-1/2" Plunge Circular Saw Kit (5.0Ah) is an excellent kit. When paired with a compatible Makita cordless dust extractor you get a complete cordless cutting solution. Please see the XCV13Z 18V X2 LXT® (36V) 4 Gallon HEPA Filter Dry Dust Extractor/Vacuum or the XCV15ZX 18V X2 LXT® (36V) Brushless 4 Gallon HEPA Filter Dry Dust Extractor/Vacuum along with the entire Makita line of cordless Dust Extractor/Vacuums at www.makitatools.com

Everyone seems to say it ships without protection and thr guide rail is bent. Has any action been talen to addresa this? Wont purchase until i hear.

Asked by Adam December 28, 2019
4
Answers

Mine came perfect !! and in 1 day.

i need it to cut aluminum. i need a saw blade to cut it so which saw blade will fit this saw

Asked by rm May 8, 2019
7
Answers

Get a cheaper one made by oshlun and just keep that blade for cutting soft metal

Blade: Will the Diablo Model #D0641R blade work with this as a replacement blade?

Asked by jbro March 12, 2019
6
Answers

I don't think so. My friend has borrowed my track saw so I can't check it with my own eyes. The SP6000J Track Saw has a 20mm (0.78 inch) arbor. This Diablo blade has a 15.875mm (0.625 inch) arbor. This is a fine blade but it keep in mind its thin kerf. I wouldn't use it to plow through thick hardwoods.

Will any other guide rails work?

Asked by 80645 October 2, 2017
9
Answers

Festool if you feel like blowing extra on it

Guide Rail Problems – why is this so. I really want to purchase this item, but everywhere that I ...

Asked by MikeB September 25, 2017
7
Answers

Can you please elaborate? I own three guide rails and no issues. I have friends with the Festool and Makita and none of them have issues. I've spent quite some time on various woodworking forums and I haven't read of any problems other than general wear and tear. The closes thing I can think of is connecting two of the 55" inch rails can be a little finicky. I use my level to align both sides straight rather than eyeballing it.

Can you cross cut a 2x4 by just plunging the blade down?

Asked by hsan September 12, 2017
5
Answers

You could but I wouldn't recommend it , since you can't lock the blade in a set position !

I just got this tool and I want to like it. But it seems like there is something not quite right ...

Asked by woodworker March 26, 2017
5
Answers

sounds like trouble, suggest you return for an exchange

If I buy the extra rail how do they join? I thought there is a metal connector?

Asked by Foz January 12, 2017
5
Answers

There is a metal connector (SP6000 Guide Rail Connector #204835516). It worked fine in our hands.

12 Amp 6-1/2 in. Corded Plunge Saw with 55 in. Guide Rail, 48T Carbide Blade and Hard Case - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 127 reviews
  • 85% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 127 reviews
Wish I would have bought this saw a long time ago!
Wish I would have bought this saw a long time ago!
by MDDesigns
2 people found this helpful
Fantastic Buy, Home Depot is the only place to get a Makita.
Forget about all those other saws, it's time to get the one and only saw you may ever need. It is light,can sit flat on any surface , has plenty of power. . Most importantly it cuts like butter and leaves the cleanest cuts in those expensive plywood purchases and is accurate to the nth degree. I read all the reviews and watched the videos and until you hold it and use it well.... you will see that it is awesome Other things to note: The case is a large cube like box that has plenty of room for guide rail clamps. Dewalt rail clamps work well with this rail. The rail has blue anti friction like surface strips that let the saw slide smooth and easy. Underneath the rail the rubber strips hold tight to the work surface and prevent the need for clamps but I use the clamps just to be safe. Use a a shop vac with this saw and there is little to no dust. I like this saw so much, I keep inventing ways to use it. Home Depot has the price about what it was selling for almost a year ago. I think that most people are finding that this saw is as good if not better than Fess Tool, and for this reason it is getting harder to find a good price for this saw. So I would not delay and get one ASAP.
by hawkman
8 people found this helpful
Should have read the bad reviews...
I read about 50 reviews about the saw on different sites. Should have paid attention to the bad ones. The saw came in a big box from Home Depot with no cushioning of any kind. The Makita container had very awkward latches on four sides. You could break a finger trying to open it... But here is the worst news: the saw is loose inside! no straps, no holders, no styrofoam even! Did I buy a precision tool or a big rattle toy??? The saw did not cut square. Took a lot of power to push it on guide rails. Blade was burning the wood on one side. After cutting two sheets of 8x4 melamine boards blade was useless. The angle scale was off by about 3 degrees. The angle of a finished cut was 87degrees on one and 92 on the second one. Release button had to be wiggled to push. Thanks to HD return policy I was able to get my money back. Got the Festool instead and could not be happier! It was worth the extra $200 and some.
by notafan
46 people found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Fantastic saw, great accuracy. Recommend getting a TSO parallel edge...
Fantastic saw, great accuracy. Recommend getting a TSO parallel edge square to use with it.
by ANTHONY
1 person found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Compares well with my other three track saws
Of the four track saws I own, this is the best value. It's easy to adjust. And when adjusted properly, it cuts straight, smooth and clean. Unlike the Mafell 55 I have, this has a handle for your LEFT hand. Although the saw can easily be operated with one hand, I like having a safe comfortable place for BOTH hands. My saw was made in the UK. I do not know about others claiming that their saws were made in China. Maybe that's true of the cordless models, but all the corded models I've seen ( and mine) are clearly labeled Made In the United Kingdom. These motors have electronic speed control and soft start. I think that's why some users imagine these saws are under-powered. Soft starts are not only safer; They prevent excess start-up torque from throwing fine adjustments out of whack. Mine is PLENTY strong enough to cut through TWO 3/4" sheets of plywood at once. While building fences, this saw easily RIP cut along the length of pressure treated 2x4s. So, it definitely has enough power. It just doesn't have that extreme start-up jerk that some associate with useful power. Dust collection is quite good; on par with my other track saws. Mafell has the best dust collection, with this, my DeWalt and the Festool all close behind. With the right connectors, I have used this with expensive German vacuums AND my numerous RIGID vacs from Home Depot. They all work just fine. I have no idea why people complain about the case. Mine came with a systainer case which is exactly like the older model Festool and Mafell cases. It connects to those perfectly. And there definitely IS a molded plastic insert that holds the saw firmly without rattling. Perhaps someone got a used saw or lost the plastic insert, but judging a tool by its case is almost like judging a book by its cover. Any problems? Just one small one. The little plastic knob that engages the scoring feature fell off. But I found it and glued it back on. So, no biggie. This model does NOT have a riving knife. That's OK so long as you mostly cut plywood or well-seasoned DRY lumber. After owning and using this A LOT over seven years, I can wholehearted recommend it. No matter what your budget is, this is a good choice.
by Uclever1
1 person found this helpful
This is an excellent piece of equipment with a short...
This is an excellent piece of equipment with a short learning curve if you have good experience with circular saws in general. Sawdust is effectively channeled through the port, so attachment of a collection bag or vacuum will keep the work area remarkably clean.
by Jason
I was debating between the cordless and the corded, but...
I was debating between the cordless and the corded, but decided to buy the corded one. I love it!
by HomeDepotCustomer
Get what u pay for & I need strait edges.
Get what u pay for & I need strait edges.
by JohnnyRipe5
Showing 1-10 of 127 reviews