#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100075801

Model #87315

Store SKU #378621

36 in. x 80 in. 9 Lite 2-Panel Unfinished Fir Wood Front Exterior Door Slab

  • Unfinished, can be primed, stained, varnished or painted
  • Simple, elegant design brings a natural light into your space
  • Door slabs allow installation flexibility
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Create an inviting entry way with the warmth and beauty of wood - ideal for any budget. The Masonite 9 Lite Unfinished Fir Slab Entry Door offers exceptional quality and features natural fir wood - responsibly selected from well-managed forests. Both simple and elegant, the clear tempered glass design brings beautiful, natural light into your space. The handcrafted stile and rail construction offer exceptional strength and stability.
  • 1-3/4 in. thick slab door constructed using wood from well-managed forests
  • Engineered stiles and rails help prevent warping
  • Tempered, single-pane glass provides elegant simplicity and lets natural light fill your space
  • Unfinished, can be primed and stained, varnished or painted as you choose
  • Hardware to install slab sold separately
  • Available in standard sizes only
  • 1-year limited warranty
  • 3-hinges recommended on door slabs up to 84 in. in height and 4 hinges for door slabs over 84 in. up to 96 in. height - hinges for door slab not included
  • Minimum clearance between door edges and door frame is 1/16 in. on the hinge edge - door frame not included
  • Reversible door can be mounted to either side of opening for flexible installation options
  • Click here to check out our project guide on how to weatherproof your front door
  • Note: Product may vary by store
  • Click here to learn more about buying exterior doors
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual Door Height (in.)
80
Actual Door Thickness (in.)
1.75
Actual Door Width (in.)
36.25
Door Height (in.)
80
Door Thickness (in.)
1.75
Door Width (in.)
36
Fits Opening Height (in.)
80 to 81
Fits Opening Width (in.)
36 to 36 3/8
Nominal Door Height (in.)
80
Nominal Door Height (in.)
80
Nominal Door Thickness (in.)
2
Nominal Door Thickness (in.)
2
Nominal Door Width (in.)
36
Nominal Door Width (in.)
36

Details

Bore Type
No Bore
Color Family
Unfinished Wood
Color/Finish
Unfinished
Door Configuration
Single Door
Door Glass Insulation
Tempered
Door Handing
Universal/Reversible
Door Style
Classic
Door Type
Exterior Slab
Features
No Additional Features
Finish Type
Unfinished
Glass Caming Finish
No caming
Glass Layout
1/2 Lite
Glass Shape
Rectangle Lite
Glass Style
Clear Glass
Included
Instructions,No Additional Items Included
Material
Wood
Number of Lites
9 Lite
Panel Type
2 Panel
Product Weight (lb.)
50
Suggested Application
Front

Warranty / Certifications

Energy Star Qualified
Not Qualified
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

23Questions15Answers

How much can I cut from the top and sides? I have a 32 3/4 X 79" door now. Can I make this work?

Asked by Thomas March 25, 2019
1
Answer

Hello Thomas, This door has a trim allowance of 1/4" off of each side, 1" off of the bottom, and none off of the top. Based on these allowances, you would not be able to trim this door down to a 32".

Does the door come with holes to insert the door knob? The default image does not depict any holes, so I was curious.

Asked by Kalista8 January 22, 2019
2
Answers

No, the door is not pre drilled for knobs.

Can I put a pet door in this door?

Asked by mickey January 9, 2019
2
Answers

Hello Mickey, It would not be recommended to install a pet door as it has not been tested.

is door a door hanging service available?

Asked by val September 30, 2018
1
Answer

Hello val, To better answer your question, please contact the HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-430-3376. You can call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store, and they will be able to either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific question.

Does this door contain one piece of glass, or does it have 9 separate panes?

Asked by nolac July 31, 2018
2
Answers

Hello nolac, This door will have 9 separate pieces of glass.

Does this door have a specific exterior side/interior side, and if so, how do you tell the differ...

Asked by nolac July 31, 2018
2
Answers

Hello nolac, This door is reversible and constructed the same on both sides.

How do you replace one of the panes of glass in this door?

Asked by nolac July 31, 2018
1
Answer

Hello nolac, Unfortunately, you cannot replace the glass in this door.

I am looking for a door 77 inches tall. Can 3 inches be cut off of this door?

Asked by Kay July 8, 2018
2
Answers

No, the maximum trim allowance for the bottom of the door is 1 inch on this product.

Can this door be cut in half in the middle

Asked by Gm March 31, 2018
1
Answer

Hello Gm, No it cannot. Alterations of this type will damage the door's integrity and void your warranty rights.

Why can't this door be ordered online?

Asked by Jean November 4, 2017
1
Answer

Store Exclusive: This item is available for purchase in select stores only.

36 in. x 80 in. 9 Lite 2-Panel Unfinished Fir Wood Front Exterior Door Slab - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 2.9
    out of 9 reviews
  • 20% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
When ordering this door, you provide the dimensions of your doorway, hinge locations, and knob/de...
When ordering this door, you provide the dimensions of your doorway, hinge locations, and knob/deadbolt locations. The first door delivered was 1 inch too tall and had the knob/deadbolt 5 inches higher than I ordered so I took it back to the store. They resubmitted my order and I waited another 3 weeks for the next door. When it finally arrived, the hinges and hardware cutouts were in the correct spots. It was pretty easy to stain since it comes with a removable plastic coating on the glass panels, and did take the color beautifully. However, the door itself was wider at the top than the bottom, and the top was slightly warped so one corner doesn't contact the weather strip. Cheap "made in China" product. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money on a quality product.
by Unsatisfied
Response from Masonite DoorsApr 17, 2017
Thank you very much for your feedback.This is Danielle at Masonite and I am very sorry to hear that there were issues regarding your previously received order and the warping of your current door. Masonite is dedicated to the highest quality product and this is not what we would expect to hear. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and have reached out via email to see what proper resolution can be made for this issue. If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at 800-663-3667 from 9:00AM to 5:00PM EST or email us at helpline@masonite.com.
Sincerely,
Masonite Masonite
9 people found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Not sure how to answer this. The door I...
Not sure how to answer this. The door I ordered was "Masonite", the door I received was "Jeld-Wen". I don't know if they are the same manufacturer with different brand names or not. The doors, looking at the pictures, were identical and I was happy with what I received. It is well made and, after some modification to fit my door opening (35 3/8 in x 81 in), looks great and fits. I knew about the mis-match before ordering the door, so no problem. Easier, and cheaper, than making a custom door! I was also going to paint the door, so that hides any goofs.
by HomeDepotCustomer
back door
I bought one of these for my back door back in April, 2020 and it is already coming apart. Leaked from day one around windows and now the center brace is separating from the window section and the bottom brace is doing the same. It was a big job to install this thing just to have fall apart 7 months later. Not to mention the wasted dollars.
by Mike
Response from Masonite DoorsOct 13, 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Mike. We sincerely apologize about these inconveniences you have experienced with the 9 Lite 2-Panel Unfinished Fir Wood Front Exterior Door Slab. We strive to provide top quality product and are disappointed to hear that you received doors that do not properly reflect the standard that we expect all of our customers to have. If you would like to file a warranty claim on this door unit, we highly encourage it by accessing the link below: https://masonite.insightpro.com/#/page/online-inquiry If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at 1-800-663-3667 from 9:00AM to 5:00PM EST. Masonite
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
I bought this back in 2013 when I added an exterior back door. The door looks great. The price is...
I bought this back in 2013 when I added an exterior back door. The door looks great. The price is great at $250 for a wood door (considering most doors are $500-1000). It provides excellent lighting. The only issue is longevity. After a couple of years, the rain started to eat away at the bottom so that there was some damage due to long exposure of water. The door is still going strong after 5 years and looks solid. But the longevity is the only thing I question with some slight welting at the bottom. Overall, I would still use this door and the price is fantastic. Just be aware that it isn't an old school door that will last for a century.
by jlui
1 person found this helpful
I loved the way the door looked on my Greek Revival Farmhouse. I was so upset when after the ins...
I loved the way the door looked on my Greek Revival Farmhouse. I was so upset when after the installation and exterior painting was done, I found out every time it rained water seeped through the windows and the joints of the door. Well, not only did I loose money on the door, but I paid to have the door and the hardware installed. We had painted the door 3 times on the exterior with an expensive outdoor paint! We left the door in it's natural state on the inside. Next step is to contact the company. Pictures were taken of the water coming in the joints of the door. Another headache I have to deal with. I highly don't recommend this door!
by JoJo
Response from Masonite DoorsFeb 27, 2018
Thank you very much for your feedback, JoJo. We would like to sincerely apologize about these issues you have experienced with your product. Masonite is dedicated to the highest quality product and this is not what we like to hear so we have reached out via email to get more information and see how we can best assist you. If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at 800-663-3667 from 9:00AM to 5:00PM EST. Masonite
4 people found this helpful
Shoddy craftsmanship: leaking windows and silicon smeared all over the wood.
We've purchased six of these doors. Some are okay; others are terrible. Sadly, you won't find this out until it's too late. Two of our doors leak very badly around several of the windows. We found this out after fitting them, routing and boring for hardware and painstakingly applying the finish. I have two choices: pull the glass out and reseal them properly, or put an ugly bead of silicon on the outside where it can be seen. Pulling the glass would be the professional way to go. Note that these windows are held in with small strips of wood. This is not a job that most folks would be able to do without the help of a professional glazier. The other problem we've had on a few of these doors is silicon smeared all over them in the shape of someone's dirty little fingers. We didn't notice this until sanding, which, again is too late since, by this time, hours have been spent fitting, routing and boring for hardware. I spent hours trying to get the silicon off by scraping with razor blades and sandpaper. This might not sound like a big deal ...until you wipe your stain! You see, silicon prevents the wood from taking stain and it repels paints and varnish as well. Silicon is pretty much enemy number one in a finishing shop and this is why. It's impossible to remove because it's literally smeared into the grain of the wood. You only get one shot with an oil stain. I had to scrape and sand all these little finger prints out and use a dye in the varnish to cover it up. I'm just sick over this. I refund would be a slap in the face. The labor is where the real money is. What a waste of time and money. I'm buying the rest of my wood doors from a reputable dealer.
by woodtermite
32 people found this helpful
Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews