Internet #100018252

Model # WHFS24M

Store SKU #432659

0050206023853

Master Flow

4500 CFM 24 in. Direct Drive Whole House Fan with Shutter

  • Direct drive motor with included 2-speed pull chain operation
  • 10-year parts limited warranty; 5-year labor limited warranty
  • Maximum house size for optimum performance: 2500 sq. ft.
$ 245 00
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Direct drive motor with included 2-speed pull chain operation
  • 10-year parts limited warranty; 5-year labor limited warranty
  • Maximum house size for optimum performance: 2500 sq. ft.
The Master Flow 4500 CFM 24 in. Direct Drive Whole-House Fan is a smart energy saver for any home in a climate where air conditioning costs are a concern. It allows you to beat the heat by forcing hot air out of your home through your attic space while bringing in cooler outside air through your windows and doors. This unit comes with a white shutter and features a low-vibration, direct drive mechanism for reliable performance. A minimum 1100 sq. ft. of attic space with a minimum of 1008 sq. in. of net free area attic exhaust is required for proper operation.
  • Powerfully moves air at a rate of up to 4500 CFM
  • 1/4 HP permanent split-capacitor motor helps move hot air out of your home
  • Direct drive motor design offers low vibration
  • 2-speed pull chain switch control for easy operation
  • Includes automatic ceiling shutter in white
  • Can be installed with no joist cutting
  • UL/UL Canada listed



Product Overview

  • Direct drive motor with included 2-speed pull chain operation
  • 10-year parts limited warranty; 5-year labor limited warranty
  • Maximum house size for optimum performance: 2500 sq. ft.
Model #: WHFS24M
Sku #: 432659
Internet #: 100018252

The Master Flow 4500 CFM 24 in. Direct Drive Whole-House Fan is a smart energy saver for any home in a climate where air conditioning costs are a concern. It allows you to beat the heat by forcing hot air out of your home through your attic space while bringing in cooler outside air through your windows and doors. This unit comes with a white shutter and features a low-vibration, direct drive mechanism for reliable performance. A minimum 1100 sq. ft. of attic space with a minimum of 1008 sq. in. of net free area attic exhaust is required for proper operation.

  • Powerfully moves air at a rate of up to 4500 CFM
  • 1/4 HP permanent split-capacitor motor helps move hot air out of your home
  • Direct drive motor design offers low vibration
  • 2-speed pull chain switch control for easy operation
  • Includes automatic ceiling shutter in white
  • Can be installed with no joist cutting
  • UL/UL Canada listed



Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Master Flow Master Flow Master Flow Master Flow
Name 1000 CFM Mill Power Roof Mount Attic Fan 1500 CFM Shingle Match Weathered Wood Power Roof Mount Attic Fan 500 CFM Solar Powered Roof Mount Attic Fan 4500 CFM 24 in. Direct Drive Whole House Fan with Shutter
Price
$78.00
Was $139.00
$124.00
Save $15.00 (11%)
$229.00
$237.65
Ratings (53) (147) (7) (139)
Power Type Electric Powered Electric Powered Solar Powered Electric Powered
Wildlife Guard Yes
Ventilation Type Roof Roof Roof
Material Galvanized Steel Galvanized Steel Galvanized Steel Galvanized Steel
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Cut-Out Width (in.)
0
Net-Free Area (Sq. In.)
1008
Product Depth (in.)
31.5
Product Height (in.)
9
Product Width (in.)
30.5

Details

Amperage (amps)
2.3
Color Family
Metallic
Color/Finish Family
White
Material
Galvanized Steel
Power Type
Electric Powered
Product Weight (lb.)
36lb
Recommended Sq. Ft.
2500
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
120

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
10-year Parts Limited Warranty 5-year Labor Limited Warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Cut-Out Width (in.)
0
Net-Free Area (Sq. In.)
1008
Product Depth (in.)
31.5
Product Height (in.)
9
Product Width (in.)
30.5

Details

Amperage (amps)
2.3
Color Family
Metallic
Color/Finish Family
White
Material
Galvanized Steel
Power Type
Electric Powered
Product Weight (lb.)
36lb
Recommended Sq. Ft.
2500
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage (volts)
120

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
10-year Parts Limited Warranty 5-year Labor Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

What is the material of the SHUTTER (plastic or aluminum. Thanks

What is the material of the SHUTTER (plastic or aluminum. Thanks
Asked by: Claude
The shutter material appears to be aluminum, powder coated. It is not plastic and it is not attracted to a magnet, so I'm pretty sure it's aluminum
Answered by: DocMotors
Date published: 2018-07-24

Can this fan be installed using a wall-mounted 2-speed switch instead of the pull chain?

Can this fan be installed using a wall-mounted 2-speed switch instead of the pull chain?
Asked by: roadrunner
Yes. This unit can be install with a switch. Switch is sold separately but is worth it
Answered by: Pat
Date published: 2018-08-12

Is this fan designed to open the shutter when it is turned on simply by the force of the air that...

Is this fan designed to open the shutter when it is turned on simply by the force of the air that is being sucked through the shutter?
Asked by: chris
Yes, turning the fan on low will open the shutter. The speed can then be adjusted. If you have any other inquiries about our Master Flow products please call Technical Services at 800-211-9612.
Answered by: Master Flow
Date published: 2018-02-19

Is this fan a ceiling mount or wall mount

Is this fan a ceiling mount or wall mount
Asked by: Bigpappa
It is ceiling mount, and let me tell you how well it works..with these hot days, I turn the air conditioning on in the late am and then in the early evening we open up and turn the whole house fan on.. (you just need to crack the windows about 3 inches). It pulls in so much cold air.. when it is 65 degrees in the house, we turn the fan off... repeat as needed..
Answered by: Rae
Date published: 2018-08-16
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_71
  • loc_, sid_100018252, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

4500 CFM 24 in. Direct Drive Whole House Fan with Shutter is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 139.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Excellent product.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loud, but effective I have owned several homes with whole house fans ... this is the loudest one I have heard. However, if you have a hallway to the garage or other out of the way location, it is not too bad. If you go with the standard "over joist" mount, plan on cutting up two two by fours to build a base around the joist, and if you have blown in insulation, plan to cut up two six foot one by tens to build a box that extends above the fan to hold back the insulation. It takes only a few minutes to draw cool air through the entire house. Only wish is that the low speed would be lower. Even low still creates quite a breeze through the house!
Date published: 2011-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Noisy Unit/High Decible Level even on low speed Home Depot is fine. The unit however, is very loud, even on low fan speed. It was unexpected that the fan noise would be this loud since I was replacing with an identical unit (the old unit: the low fan speed noise level was acceptable - the bearings wore out, thus the replacement). Once I/you install the replacement unit and discover the noise/decible level it's too late to return without severe effort: time, sweat, reinstallation cost, etc.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Loud I spent a good bit of time installing this fan in the house I just bought. Upon completion of the project I was ready to test the new fan. It works is the best I can say about it. I have a whole house fan in my previous home and wouldn't think of not having one in this house. After turning this one on I was very disappointed in noise level. I walked outside to the street and could still hear it. I won't buy another of this brand. It's loud, what? It's Loud, what? IT'S LOUD.
Date published: 2011-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good When I built my house ten years ago, I installed the whole house fan/shutter assembly. The fan has two speeds that produce enough air flow to automatically open the shutter and create a comfortable air flow through the house or work shop. Most importantly, you MUST open a screened door or window at the farthest end of the house in order to allow air to flow in, through and out via the fan, for best effect. My home is 1,900 square feet and I never have had to use the fans high speed setting. This fan is excellent for airing out the house to prevent mold and offensive odors. The fan comes with a chain pull, 2 speed switch but is compatible with either thermostat or variable (fan) dimmer switches. I found it best to install the fan in a large utility closet to prevent cold air from descending into the lower rooms during winter.
Date published: 2010-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fan I didn't follow the directions, This is what I did and the fan is quiet. My house is 2300 sqft and it pulls the air thru nicely. I open the windows about an inch in the bedrooms and other rooms I want air to come in from the outside. My attic has vents on both ends of the house and affords plenty of exit space for the fan exhaust air. I got these Ideas off the internet and found them to be absolutely correct. First I mounted the fan in my attached garage ceiling. The fan will pull air from your home and into your attached garage ceiling. You don't have to mount it in the house. You will not get that central fan noise in the house that way. We have a screen door in the kitchen that goes to the garage. The air flows out thru the screen door. The next thing I did was to build a box for the fan to sit in on top of the ceiling joists. I cut the center joist and boxed it in. Then built a frame to hold the fan on top of the joists. I cut lengths of pipe insulation to fit on the fan wood frame. The glue on the insulation seam holds the insulation on the frame.$1.79 each for 2 insulation tubes at HD. The frame, is snug to the insulation but not tight. Hence when the fan runs, it is not vibrating on wood to wood contact. All you hear is the fan blade turning like you would any fan. There is a pull chain to turn it on and off. It is a 2 speed fan. I run it on high. I used the same size wood the ceiling joist were made of, to box in the joists where I cut one out. I used 2x4 s to make the box on top of the joists. I used a sawzall to cut the sheetrock, and the center joist. If you bridge across the top of your joists before you cut the center joist, you will not get any sag from the two ends of the cut joist. All will be strong after you box them in. I attached a wire and a plug on the fan wire to power the fan. I plugged it in to a receptacle in the attic. The pull chain is right outside the kitchen door in the garage.
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This whole house fan is the first one I have installed. The job came out perfect. I first read the instructions three times. I didn't think the instructions were worthless like some reviews said. Maybe they have updated them. If anything, they were very detailed and you had to avoid the parts that didn't concern your particular type of install. This unit seems to be designed to be placed on one of the joists. The middle of the fan and shutter has a notch so it can be placed directly on to the joist. Once I found a place for the fan, I found that the joists next to the joist I had placed the fan on were too far to hold the edges of the fan. I had to cut some 2X4's to make up the difference. After adding the 2X4's, I placed the shutter template on the attic floor and traced around it. I cut the hole for the shutter from inside of the attic. Once the shutter hole was done I installed the fan and then the shutter. I don't believe this fan is made to be ran all day or evening. This fan will cool my whole 2500 foot house in less than 20 minutes depending on the temperature of the air outside. I just open a few windows on the first floor and turn on the fan. You can feel the cool air coming in from outside. It also pushes all of the hot air out of the attic. As far as the noise, the noise is comparable to the amount of air the fan moves. If you look at one of those slow turning fans that are usually installed in a factory that are very quiet, you will also find they have to be quite large to move any air. This fan is quite small for the amount of air it moves. It will be louder because of the amount of air being moved. I can put up with noise for 20 minutes to get my house cooled down. But I really don't think this fan is loud. If you are married, you will fine this fan is quieter then a wife (or husband). Just kidding !!! After about four hours, the fan was installed and ready for use. I love this fan. It is much cheaper then using the central air conditioner.
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fan really works great. You can feel the air stream by you and it cools down the house in no time! It is amazing how many people do not know what a Whole House Fan is. Even contractors. It is a very efficient way to replace the air in your house and attic just by running this fan for about 15 minutes once the air outside is cooler than the air in your house. This fan was not the biggest, but it seems to be built really well. I am very impressed!
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I gave this a 3 star rating because of the noise. Within 6" it measured 75 decibels. Within 4 f... I gave this a 3 star rating because of the noise. Within 6" it measured 75 decibels. Within 4 feet, it measured 70 decibels. I have an over joist installation with a sealed box beneath. in a 2150 Sq foot house, it moves the air around pretty good with the appropriate windows open at the other end of the house. I have over 6 feet of attic venting and about 2100 Sq feet of space up there with average heights between 4 feet and 8 feet. I can hear the fan in approximately 75% of the house. For context, 50-50 decibels is about the sound of average conversation. If I had to do it again, I would have spent another 1k on a fan harness setup where the fan is about 6-8 feet away from the ceiling vent. I believe this would reduce the sound down to about 60 decibels. Bottom line. My house is benefiting from this device. It will definitely cool down a 2150 Sq foot home in about 15-30 minutes if the outside air has dropped to comfortable levels and you have opened windows on the other end of the house. I recommend installing it in a far off room separate from the rest of the house so it can pull air all the way across the house and reduce noise in the remainder of your home.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You should consider! I do not own this particular model but if you do get a "whole house fan" then get a "Belt Driven" unit. It is so much quieter than any other model, especially the "direct drive" model. The belt of the fan takes up approximately 75% of the vibration that is inherent in all fans. Where as, the direct drive is extremely noisy by comparison, because of the same vibration. (Has no noise dampening features.) I would also make sure it is a "2 speed model with a timer and no less than a 1/3hp motor". The reason is, with the 2 speeds you can cool your home down slowly and quietly at night while sleeping or if you come home after being gone all day long and it is hot in there you can cool it down much more quickly with the high speed setting. Also, with the 1/3hp motor, it will last much longer than a 1/4hp motor. Yes, it burns a little more power but you will NOT have to replace the motor every two years or so with the larger motor. One other important thing you should consider with this purchase is, the SHUTTER. You should get one that has the center blade "Stationary" or non-movable. The reason for this is: you will NOT HAVE TO CUT YOUR CEILING JOIST or TRUSS to install your shutter! Helps keep your home solid! I hope this helps with your decision in purchasing a "Whole House Fan".
Date published: 2010-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done but noisy. Belt drive better. Installed two years ago in 1000 square foot home. Great for making the house more comfortable while saving energy. I recently changed to the 30 inch belt driven model. The difference in noise is incredible, I would say the belt drive is at least half as loud. If you're planning on buying a whole house fan spend the extra 80 dollars for the belt driven model.
Date published: 2010-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much improved over old model it replaced The removal and new installation was very fast because it comes complete in a frame, and it is less noisy than the older model (my old one was about 9 years old). I can't speak to longevity. It is less noisy but not of the quality of "olden days." The best utility and installation of this fan is to install with a smaller window type exhaust fan in an eave opening if possible. These should be wired up to the same switch so that they go on and off in tandem. The pull chain should also be used, to vary the fan speed. If used early morning to cool the house and after sunset briefly to cool the attic, and to draw cool air into the house, you will save a lot of money on your AC.Most people don't know about this, it is well worth buying. Money back in a couple of seasons. Fits neatly between rafters.
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very loud I purchased this unit to replace another fan that quit after 15 years. This fan is smaller than the one I replaced. 24" vs 30". This fan worked OK but it was loud. I could hear it in the basement. I tried a foam gasket between the fan housing and the rafters but it didn't help much. I returned it and got my money back but the manager said that was an exception, They usually don't let installed items be returned. How can you tell how noisy a fan is until it's installed. I wouldn't reccommend this unit. It's loud. sounds like an airplane ready for thke off. Did I mention it's loud?
Date published: 2011-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this fan to use in the shop fan works great but I was disappointed with the store. I ord... I bought this fan to use in the shop fan works great but I was disappointed with the store. I ordered it online and picked it up from the store when I did it was open so I asked why and they said they open it to make sure it is good. so I thought nothing of it and took it home 2 weeks later I am installing it and figure out it has been installed and brought back but I didn't figure it out till I had it mounted and figured out the pull chain switch was broke and the spacers where cut already. since I was doing the wall mounted switch and I already had it mounted and live 45 miles away, I didn't return it but if you have a open box or re-taped than beware.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 24 in whole house fan/ July 2010 24 in Master Flow direct drive WHF installed this model in early July 2010, Indianapolis. Blower went out on my furnace (18 yrs), so no AC. This was a VERY HOT SUMMER, record breaking "most above 90 degree" days, most consecutive above 90 days in history. Hot, humid, miserable. Had 1 helper, neither of us are trade educated but both are pretty handy. A 60 and 40+ year old doing the work here. Only "special tool" we used was a saws-all (reciprocating saw). A circular saw would work but not as easily. I think you can rent a saws-all Standard tools: drills, chalk-line, tape measure, ratchet or socket wrench, utility knife, dry wall saw. If possible keep a "set of tools" with each worker (attic man and inside house man). Get some knee pads if you don't own a pair. You will both want them if you need to work up on the roof as we did.. and gloves. Understand that the real "cooling action" from this fan takes place @ night. I would open windows, turn on the fan about 6-8 pm. The inside house temps were usually about 82-85 degrees at this time on bad/worst days. With the hottest hours of the day past, open up and draw fresh air in. I run the fan through the eve/night and then shut the fan off, close all the windows/blinds-curtains and doors about 7-9 am. Just seal the house up. The inside temps would usually/only be 74-76 on the worst days. Just depends on how cool it during the night. Then the morning/daytime heat returns and the house slowly heats back up again. Keep the house closed, keep as much of the 90 degree heat from coming inside That's how this thing works. Cool off at night, close up the house, locking the cool air in and go to work. If you stay home I ran a box fan just to move air around inside the house and waited. It was not bad at all, 77-81 degrees well into the afternoon, 2-3 pm. This is the bad days, of which there were way too many this summer. With normal night temps the house gets even cooler, low/mid 60's, so the house stays VERY NICE AND COOL. When the temps went into the hi 50's one night we(somebody) had to shut the fan down... it was too cold for my wife. But remember It is not "air conditioning". My electric bill usually runs $100++/- in the summer (gas water/heat/dryer). Using the house fan and NO AC, zero AC during this horrible summer: July $68, August $56. So this model will pay for itself very fast. Installation was simple but not easy.And i did make a few changes i felt would be improvements, though not necessary. I chose to place the fan in a central hallway, center mounted on top of a single ceiling joist. This is a standard/primary way of installation. The hardware supplied is sufficient to get this done. But i added some support/stability with 2 furring strips on the OUTSIDE of the fans wood box/frame PERPENDICULAR to the joists. My joists are 16 on center, so the 24" fan unit, when center mounted, had 12 inches left/right of the joist it rested on above nothing. It STILL rests above nothing on 2 sides, but i spanned 3 joists (the Lt-CTR-Rt) with the added strips of wood. Depending on how you mount the frame you may want to support either Lt/Rt or Top/Bottom sides. But the entire fan unit weighs little, the hardware supplied is probably adequate, i just felt better securing it across 3 boards. IF you use the CTR mount/single joist setup you CANNOT pass the fan upwards into the attic from below. The opening that gets cut for the louvers, and the joist that you will be using for installation will not allow passage. The fan is just a bit too big top to bottom to pass through. If you have a decent attic access you are fine (i don't). The other installation option is cutting through a joist and securing the fan into a custom made (by you)frame. I did not use the "cut joist" method, but it did cross my mind at one desperate moment. This fan can be installed vertical or horizontal. It cycles Hi/Low/Off from a pull chain. You can wire it to a wall switch, but i did not get into any of that. If you install vertically you will need to use a switch because the pull chain won't work. DO NOT INSTALL near gas pilot lights. So much air is drawn in it's possible to extinguish the pilot lights, resulting in a gas leak... so they say. The air drawn in part i have no doubt about, this fan moves air. THIS IS A MUST: You MUST have adequate ventilation OUT OF the attic for the fan to work. It draws in thousands of cubic feet of air every few minutes, and that air has to escape the attic. I installed 7 more roof vents to be certain the air could get out. There is a formula you can look up, but it got too WTF? for me. My ventilation/roof area is about 30 ft 16 or so. I have 8 pan style vents (4 on either side), a turbine type vent and 2 gable end vents. I run the fan on Hi speed and have no problems with noise, ventilation, anything. But you have to allow for the incoming air to leave the attic peacefully. MUST. I guess it will sound like inside a car on the highway with only one window open, the fast air coming in hits the trapped air trying to escape and that horrible headache noise occurs... until you open another window, problem solved. The opposite also applies. When the fan is on you must provide enough air to feed the fan. And it's not like every window has to open or even cracked. Just get enough of a flow through to the fan. If not you burn out the motor. When i was cutting the openings for new vents, i made a cardboard template of the vent opening. Using some kids "sidewalk chalk" i spaced & marked my 8 positions from inside of attic. Drilled a hole at the top of each template outline and pushed a nail up into/through the hole. The template outlines should be positioned as diamonds, NOT SQUARES. Went out onto the roof, located nails, placed top of template DIAMOND at the nail and sketched/chalked the outline i would need to cut on the roof. Drilled 2 holes with an inch and a quarter bit in each diamond outline, one at the top, one at the bottom. You will destroy about 2-3 bits doing this, and you think you're about to start a fire from the heat/friction/roofing tar/asphalt/drilling going on. Have your gloves on because you will need to wipe off the drill bit and it will be HOT HOT HOT. Be ready to throw away/change the ruined bits. Then through the top/bottom holes use the saws-all to cut along the chalked outlines for the roof vent openings. Nail and putty the vents in place. I puttied all around the openings and the underside of the vents. Regarding operating noise we are fine with the level(s). I can hear crickets, i can have a phone conversation, hear the toilet flush, the shower running, the dog bark, toast pop up. I/we have no issues. And this is a Direct Drive model, not a belt drive. I CAN hear when it's running, but that's not all i hear. Maybe others are not venting the attic air fast enough. I would rate 5 star, but i need to know a lifespan/reliability to go there. I wish i had done this years ago. Even if you pay somebody to install it you will probably regain the cost. But be certain the roofing vent issue is covered. Ridge vent and soffit vents count if you have them. But you will never have too much on the exhaust side of the fan. well i hope this helps somebody get through the installation job and stay cool. Wear eye protection if you're cutting overhead, have a few different lengths of screws on hand, 2-3 inch, in case wood is far off.... that's all i got
Date published: 2010-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cools the area fast. Our drywall finished garage used to be like an oven, with no ventilation at all. The garage is 960 sq ft which was perfect for this product. I hard wired it to the electrical outlet also used for the garage door opener, and use the two speed pull chain included to turn it on and off. Since this was installed for use in the garage (not the house) the noise doesn't bother me. However, there is a bit of noise to consider if you decide to install it in their recommended hallway location.
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loud but moves air I live in the mountains of north Alabama, the nights are cool in the summer so a whole house fan saves me running the A/C 7PM-8AM. Although my home is in excess of 5000 SQ FT, the 4500 CFM fan cools my home in about 30 minutes after the sunsets.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Whole house fan I replaced a failed whole house fan with this unit. Except for a rafter issue (not the fan unit fault), this was a fairly simple install. The louver on the new unit seals much better than the old ones they replaced. Yes this fan is fairly noisy but acceptable. I would not want it right outside of my bedroom but down the hall with the door closed it was almost soothing. Because all whole house fans move lots of air, they will be noisy. By using a whole house fan our air conditioner rarely runs except for July (Central California summers are hot)!
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12 Year Review of a great house fan. I installed this fan in our split level home 12 years ago. The start capacitor has now failed and I located one on Amazon for about $10 with shipping. In the interim the fan starts by using a wood stick to push start the fan blades in the counter clockwise direction when the power is on. The only complaint I have after all of this time is we have gone through a few of the cheap pull chain switches. Power for our fan comes off of a hallway outlet, which I changed out for a GFCI. This allows me to use the outlet as a switch when the pull chain switch fails to work. I am planning on replacing the chain switch with a wall mount switch when the new capacitor arrives. Our start capacitor is a GE model 27L566, printed on the capacitor label hidden under the mounting bracket. If your fan fails it might be the capacitor, not the motor. Also, we have a very low attic space, 2 1/2 foot peak, so I added a roof mounted exhaust fan that is wired into the whole house fan to power on and off when it does. This works great for our needs and cools the house in about 45 minutes. The low speed is quiet enough to listen to the TV which is about 20 feet away. High speed is a bit noisy, but once the hot air is out the low speed keeps thins cool and quiet.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Whole house fan. I put this fan in last weekend and it works great. It is a little load but I was expecting that from a big fan. My house is 2100 square feet. The direction are not even worth opening so you are your own to figure it out. Putting one in my buddy’s house this weekend. I wish I would have done this years ago because my upstairs can get very hot and this fan makes a huge difference in a small amount of time. I also took pink foam board and made a box around it in the attic to keep the blown in insulation away from it.
Date published: 2010-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating First off, the install instructions are completely worthless. Hopefully you will find these tips helpful. The fan comes attached to a frame that rest on top of a truss in the attic. The frame as pre-drilled on all 4 sides giving me the impression I could install it oriented any direction I desire. I oriented it such that the electrical box (and thus pull chain) were in the most convenient location. Upon completing the install, I went to install the cover and noticed the hole for the pull chain pretty much limits the install to 2 directions not 4 since the pull chain has to be close to the truss. Why they have pre-drilled holes on all 4 sides when a specific orientation is required is beyond me. Then I noticed the thing wouldn't even fit. I installed the fan with the 2 brackets drilled into the truss and then built 2 u-shaped pieces of blocking to block the fan and ensure it was sucking air from the home and not just recirculating attic air (and insulation) per the worthless directions. However, with the 2x4s in place, the cover was too wide to fit. If I were to move the 2x4s further out, they would be blocked by the support brackets and if I moved them beyond the support brackets then they would be so far away from the fan, they wouldn't do the job intended. I am still not 100% sure why but the only thing I can determine is that the brackets are supposed to be on the INSIDE of the box rather than the outside. The directions do not state which side. This would allow me to move the 2x4s out a little to give room for the cover. The problem is that after I finished and tested the fan, I used spray insulation to make sure I had a good airtight box so that air and insulation in the attic wouldn't get sucked in. I now have to scrape all of that off, take everything apart, and basically start from scratch. Hint 1: Despite holes for the brackets on all 4 sides, make sure you install the fan so that the pull chain is near the truss. I guess if you aren't using the pull chain, you might be able to get away from this but it isn't worth the risk. Hint 2: Put the brackets on the inside of the fan box. Putting them on the outside seemed more logical to me (wider is better, more stable) but if you do it that way then the blocking you build will either not work or not provide room for the cover. It does seem to move air ok but I think when I take it all apart I will exchange it for the bigger unit.
Date published: 2011-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works well. The fan is easy to install as long as there is a joist running the right direction, or as in my case running the wrong direction down the hallway but fortunately right in the middle. Otherwise you have to do some cutting and framing. The instructions are not terribly clear, but after reading them a few times I figured it out. It works well. Of course there is noise from moving so much air through the ceiling. But in our case we just need to run it a few minutes in the evening to push hot air out of the attic and pull in the cool evening air, which we are fortunate always to have even on the hottest days.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Installation of this fan required me to open up the existing attic entrance hole of 27" x 22" to 28" x 28". After building the frame and securing it between the trusses placing this fan inside my constructed frame was a piece of cake. 28" x 28" Inside measurements are plenty for a tight fit to also include the supplied plastic dampeners. The fan does a terrific job evacuating the heat from the upper floors as well as downstairs. Stand next to a window or in a hallway and you can feel the airflow. My gripes about this fan is the lack of instructions and requirements to construct your own frame, not for the amateur to install. Also, the hardware kit that comes pre-packaged doesn't contain bolts long enough to pass through a 2x4 and the frame that comes with the fan, I had to go get some washers, lockwashers, and 3 1/2" bolts to complete the job. I was very disappointed that I actually had to get the hardware to secure the fan in. I am assuming (but don't know for sure) that you bolt this sucker in for easy replacement if it were to break. What is really the bad news here is I have had this thing in my closet for 3.5 years before deciding to install it this past weekend. What a fool I was. It works great and I am hoping that it cuts down our electricity bill this summer so that the A/C doesn't have to work overtime to make up for the heat upstairs. So far, so good.
Date published: 2009-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Best fan availabe - quietest too I put one of these fans in my third-last house and two in my second-last house (it was 2800 sq. ft, with 24" roof beams, so 2 of these were easier/cheaper to install than 1 36" belt-drive fan). So now I have downsized to a townhouse (empty nest) so I tried that $600 multi-fan job with the remote control and the powered insulated louvers. Well, that thing was advertised as quiet but it sounded like a 747 taking off in the attic. Ridicoulous! I pulled it out and returned it. Anyway, I plan to buy this fan again (4th fan) and put it in my townhouse.
Date published: 2007-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I compared the belt driven fan vs direct drive fan! *Tip* I grabbed a roll of wide camper mounting foam tape to put between the fan and the frame, suppose to make it less noisy I special ordered the belt driven fan and it arrived in 2 weeks. The measuring, cutting, fitting, mounting wasn't to bad. Wiring is confusing (I'm not an electrician) and I had to make a new hole in the wall for switches and finally after it was all wired up, the motor was dead. I thought maybe the belt tension or wiring but nope dead motor. I returned the belt driven fan and had to grab this direct drive fan off the shelf because I didnt want to wait 2 more weeks with a giant hole in the ceiling. Having had both in the same weekend Reasons to go with the direct drive fan -Includes a shutter template to cut out the ceiling. With the belt driven fan, I had to use long sticks and a square and it came out a little crooked (you know, you don't cut straight either) -The direct drive shutter is square (a little bigger), the belt driven shutter is a smaller rectangle. It would make a difference when replacing -This shutter is nicer, shinier, better flaps and a bit more solid -Includes a very nice joist-in mounting bracket/set up -It's easier to assemble (2 minutes to flip the fan blade and tighten) vs belt driven remove the motor, put it on right, adjust belt and re-adjust -It's lighter which makes it easier to lift and get it up there -The wiring is so much easier, no holes in the walls or fishing out wires. It is just 2 wires and a pull chain for the switch Reasons to go with the belt driven fan -It's cheaper -It has 4 blades on the fan vs 3 on the direct drive so maybe better air flow -The belt driven is suppose to be quieter. I can't say because mine didn't turn on but I think they are all noisy, not motor noise. It's a big fast moving fan moving a lot of air noise. Even my 20" box fan on high is noisy Starting from scratch I would go with the direct drive. Sometimes stuff is on the shelf because they are better and easier to put in
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install This was easy to install and cheaper to use than my Air Conditioning! It took about 3 hours to install (I had 2 helpers) and even the electrical was easy to install. I recommend!
Date published: 2006-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOISY ! My 20 yr old whole house fan died so I replaced it with this one , what a mistake , this is so noisy sounds like a plane is taking off in my hallway , As im on chemo for cancer sleep is very important , no way can I sleep with this running, I contacted customer service and the lady recomended I replace it with sku 268036 , (a gable fan ) So pretty much all I can do is run it before bedtime , then get up early to run it some more to cool the house a little .
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best value for my money Yes, these fans are noisy. I looked at buying a Tamarack or Quiet Cool, but I would have paid 4 times the money for 1/4 of the CFMs. This fan's noise is the sound of a powerful, well-built motor. Nothing rattles or shakes. The 4500 on high is powerful enough to pull doors shut. We only run it on low, which is all we would ever need for our 2500 sq.ft. house. This fan can be installed without cutting through joists, which was a big help.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor/cheap fan blade design I have purchased a whole house fan over 12 years ago and finally the motor wore out and no longer had the ability to move air throughout the house. Instead of replacing the motor I thought the manufacturers would have design a better and quitter fan but alas this was not true. The fan blade is of very poor design and is loud because the blades are flat which causes buffeting. Additionally, it wasn’t moving the air as well as my old whole house fan did. Corrective action, I replaced the new fan blade with the old one and the fan is much quieter with no buffeting and moves the air much more efficiently. The installation instructions are lame plus there were some parts missing. Glad I had the old fan so I could use it for parts. Wish I would have just replaced the motor. It would have cost less and have taken less time to replace than a whole fan. Hindsight is 20-20
Date published: 2014-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beefy motor . here's a pic of my custom install since old fan motor went south. motor sits level... beefy motor . here's a pic of my custom install since old fan motor went south. motor sits level.. custom 1x4 frame which has 1/4 inch neoprene mounts to attic box frame. motor bracings mounts atached to 1x4 frame with 1/2 inch rubber bushings. should minimize vibration/sound. had to improvise since removal of old fan..
Date published: 2017-05-06
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_139
  • loc_, sid_100018252, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT