The product you chose is discontinued, but we found something similar you might like.
5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
  • Maytag
  • Model MVWB835DW
  • Internet #205875252
  • Store SO SKU #1001358543

5.3 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Was  $899.00
$66400 /each

Save $235.00 (26%)

Discontinued Model:

Model # MVWB880BW

Internet #204307083

Store SO SKU #1000020986

Maytag Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
0883049285757

Discontinued Maytag

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Model# MVWB880BW
Store SO SKU# 1000020986

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements

What We Offer

Appliance Icon
Available
Installation
Installation available on most appliances when you purchase required parts
Installation Requirements
Haul Away Icon
Move or
Haul Away
We'll move your old appliance to another room in your house, or haul it away for $15
Price Match Icon
Price Match
Guarantee
We will match prices including shipping of any other online competitor
Learn More
Home Depot Protection Plan Icon
The Home Depot Protection Plan
Let's Protect This
Get 24/7 support and more with a Home Depot Protection Plan. 5-year and 3-year plans available, starting at $40
Learn More

Product Overview

Experience a whole new level of clean with this Maytag brand premium top load washer. In addition to a generous 4.8 cu. ft. capacity, this Bravos XL High Efficiency top load washer uses the Cold Wash cycle to help power out tough stains in cold water using extra cleaning action and the Active Soak setting. Plus, it delivers the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by the PowerWash system. The PowerWash system uses our unique PowerSpray technology, optimal dispensers and the PowerWash cycle to help remove even the toughest stains. This washer comes with a solid, 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket. And because it is designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A., you can buy this Bravos XL model with genuine American Pride.
  • Maytag brand's largest capacity washer ever. At 4.8 cu. ft. of capacity this washer can clean up to 21 towels in a single load
  • Stainless steel wash basket that adds a polished, premium look and feel. It resists odors, rust and chipping and the smooth surface helps protect delicate fabrics from snagging
  • Allergen Cycle: proven to eliminate 95 percent of common allergens, such as dust mites and pet dander, from fabrics
  • PowerWash system provides the best cleaning in the industry with extra cleaning action and a thorough rinse
  • 13 wash cycles include: Allergen, Whites (cotton), Power Wash, Heavy Duty, Bulky, Normal, Cold Wash, Sheets, Colors/Towels, Rapid Wash, Delicate/Handwash, Rinse/Drain & Spin to handle everything from delicate synthetics to heavyweight cotton
  • ENERGY STAR qualified with a CEE Tier III rating: this washer is among the most efficient washers in the industry
  • Rear panel controls provide convenient access to all cycle and option selections
  • Adjustable soil, water temperature and spin speed settings allow you to customize wash cycles to provide the exceptional fabric care
  • Automatic water level sensors detect the load size and automatically adjust water usage, which helps save resources
  • Rapid Wash cycle combines high-speed wash action and high-speed spin for the optimal cleaning and shortened dry times
  • SmoothClose lid hinge design closes the washer lid slowly, helping with loading and unloading
  • Quiet Series sound package: specially designed sound absorbers and dampeners reduce noise for quieter operation and less household disruption
  • IntelliClean Impeller: the wash plate continuously moves clothes through the water to clean more gently than a traditional agitator, and takes up less space, which maximizes the washer's capacity
  • With a 10-year limited parts warranty on the wash basket and motor, you can look forward to years of worry-free, dependable cleaning
  • Washer requires use of high-efficiency detergent
  • The Home Depot will not hook up your washer with used fill hoses; new fill hoses will be offered during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Product Overview

Model #: MVWB880BW
Internet #: 204307083

Experience a whole new level of clean with this Maytag brand premium top load washer. In addition to a generous 4.8 cu. ft. capacity, this Bravos XL High Efficiency top load washer uses the Cold Wash cycle to help power out tough stains in cold water using extra cleaning action and the Active Soak setting. Plus, it delivers the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by the PowerWash system. The PowerWash system uses our unique PowerSpray technology, optimal dispensers and the PowerWash cycle to help remove even the toughest stains. This washer comes with a solid, 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket. And because it is designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A., you can buy this Bravos XL model with genuine American Pride.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Maytag brand's largest capacity washer ever. At 4.8 cu. ft. of capacity this washer can clean up to 21 towels in a single load
  • Stainless steel wash basket that adds a polished, premium look and feel. It resists odors, rust and chipping and the smooth surface helps protect delicate fabrics from snagging
  • Allergen Cycle: proven to eliminate 95 percent of common allergens, such as dust mites and pet dander, from fabrics
  • PowerWash system provides the best cleaning in the industry with extra cleaning action and a thorough rinse
  • 13 wash cycles include: Allergen, Whites (cotton), Power Wash, Heavy Duty, Bulky, Normal, Cold Wash, Sheets, Colors/Towels, Rapid Wash, Delicate/Handwash, Rinse/Drain & Spin to handle everything from delicate synthetics to heavyweight cotton
  • ENERGY STAR qualified with a CEE Tier III rating: this washer is among the most efficient washers in the industry
  • Rear panel controls provide convenient access to all cycle and option selections
  • Adjustable soil, water temperature and spin speed settings allow you to customize wash cycles to provide the exceptional fabric care
  • Automatic water level sensors detect the load size and automatically adjust water usage, which helps save resources
  • Rapid Wash cycle combines high-speed wash action and high-speed spin for the optimal cleaning and shortened dry times
  • SmoothClose lid hinge design closes the washer lid slowly, helping with loading and unloading
  • Quiet Series sound package: specially designed sound absorbers and dampeners reduce noise for quieter operation and less household disruption
  • IntelliClean Impeller: the wash plate continuously moves clothes through the water to clean more gently than a traditional agitator, and takes up less space, which maximizes the washer's capacity
  • With a 10-year limited parts warranty on the wash basket and motor, you can look forward to years of worry-free, dependable cleaning
  • Washer requires use of high-efficiency detergent
  • The Home Depot will not hook up your washer with used fill hoses; new fill hoses will be offered during appliance checkout
  • Click Here for details on the services included with Delivery & Basic Hook-up and Installation options for Major Appliances

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$799.00 /each
$899.00 /each
$999.00 /each
Name 4.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR 4.9 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam and TurboWash in White, ENERGY STAR
Brand LG Electronics Maytag LG Electronics
Ratings (849) (1360) (72)
Washer Tub/Drum Material Stainless Steel Stainless Steel Stainless Steel
High Efficiency Washer Yes Yes Yes
Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.) 4.9 4.8 4.9
Washer Features Add Garment (pause),Advanced Vibration Control,Control Lock,Cycle Status Indicator,Delay Start,End-Of-Cycle Signal,High-Efficiency Detergent Required,Soft Close Lid Add Garment (pause),Advanced Vibration Control,Cycle Status Indicator,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,High-Efficiency Detergent Required,Soft Close Lid Add Garment (pause),Advanced Vibration Control,Control Lock,Cycle Status Indicator,Delay Start,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,Front Control,High-Efficiency Detergent Required,Soft Close Lid,Steam Function,Water Heater
Product Width (in.) 27 27.54 27
Steam Function No No Yes
Check Earliest Delivery Date
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code
-- -- --
View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.)
4.8
Height With Lid Open 90 Degrees (In)
59.1
Product Depth (in.)
27.63
Product Height (in.)
45.5
Product Width (in.)
27.54

Details

Agitator/Impeller Type
Impeller
Amperage (amps)
15
Appliance Series
Maytag Bravos
Appliance Type
Top Load Washer
Color/Finish
White
Color/Finish Family
White
Control Type
Electro-Mechanical
Cycle - Allergen
Yes
Energy Consumption (kWh/year)
159
Energy Efficiency Tier Rating
Tier III
Estimated Yearly Operating Cost ($)
17
High Efficiency Washer
Yes
High-Efficiency Detergent Required
Yes
Included
No Additional Items Included
Maximum Spin Speed (RPM)
1100
Number of Rinse Cycles
2
Number of Rinse Temperatures
1
Number of Wash Cycles
13
Number of Wash Speeds
3
Number of Wash Temperatures
4
Product Weight (lb.)
160lb
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Steam Function
No
Steam Function
No Steam
Voltage (volts)
120
Voltage (volts)
120
Wash Cycles
Allergen,Cotton,Delicates,Extra Rinse,Handwashable,Heavy Duty,Permanent Press,Speed Wash,Tub Clean,Whites
Washer Dispensers
Bleach,Fabric Softener
Washer Features
Add Garment (pause),Advanced Vibration Control,Cycle Status Indicator,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,High-Efficiency Detergent Required,Soft Close Lid
Washer Interior Light
No
Washer Tub/Drum Material
Stainless Steel

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year, plus 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket

Specifications

Dimensions

Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.)
4.8
Height With Lid Open 90 Degrees (In)
59.1
Product Depth (in.)
27.63
Product Height (in.)
45.5
Product Width (in.)
27.54

Details

Agitator/Impeller Type
Impeller
Amperage (amps)
15
Appliance Series
Maytag Bravos
Appliance Type
Top Load Washer
Color/Finish
White
Color/Finish Family
White
Control Type
Electro-Mechanical
Cycle - Allergen
Yes
Energy Consumption (kWh/year)
159
Energy Efficiency Tier Rating
Tier III
Estimated Yearly Operating Cost ($)
17
High Efficiency Washer
Yes
High-Efficiency Detergent Required
Yes
Included
No Additional Items Included
Maximum Spin Speed (RPM)
1100
Number of Rinse Cycles
2
Number of Rinse Temperatures
1
Number of Wash Cycles
13
Number of Wash Speeds
3
Number of Wash Temperatures
4
Product Weight (lb.)
160lb
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Steam Function
No
Steam Function
No Steam
Voltage (volts)
120
Voltage (volts)
120
Wash Cycles
Allergen,Cotton,Delicates,Extra Rinse,Handwashable,Heavy Duty,Permanent Press,Speed Wash,Tub Clean,Whites
Washer Dispensers
Bleach,Fabric Softener
Washer Features
Add Garment (pause),Advanced Vibration Control,Cycle Status Indicator,Door Window,End-Of-Cycle Signal,High-Efficiency Detergent Required,Soft Close Lid
Washer Interior Light
No
Washer Tub/Drum Material
Stainless Steel

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
Limited 1-year, plus 10-year limited parts warranty on the washer motor and wash basket

Questions & Answers

What is the "clean washer" feature?

I've been comparing Maytag washers and this model has a "clean Washer" feature. What exactly is that and how does it work? Thanks.
Asked by: Anniem
You buy these little packs that look like dishwasher soap and they clean your washer. I do not feel it is necessary as frequently because after each load, I leave the lid open and keep it aired out. I use it though because like every mechanical thing you should have a cleaner -think sink disposal, dishwasher, coffee pot, oil change (too far?) and even your shower head. All those things get gunky so why not use it? Just my 2 cents.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

small loads

Does this machine have the ability to do small loads? I have a high efficiency top loader now but it does not do small loads.
Asked by: helicopter
I'm pretty sure it doesn't have a small load but I do believe it only uses as much water as the load dictates. The time of the load is the same but water needed is adjusted. I thought I read that somewhere. I hope that helps.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

Does this machine self balance?

I notice this machine has a self balance detector? Does it self balance or do I have to do it? If so, how?
Asked by: KAMcMillion
The machine screen will have a UL appear to show the load is not level. In my experience it will beep a few times then if you don't show up it will add water and the agitator and tub will try to jiggle it in place -not sure if this ever works because I'm not standing there watching it all the time. When I noticed the UL, I tried to rearrange then hit start and if that didn't work after a few tries I would hit cancel load where it then drains. I would run the rinse cycle if I notice suds or rinse cycle to only spin. I hope that made sense.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07

does this machine have a permanent press cycle?

In picture of dials I do not see a permanent press cycle. What settings would I use to wash permanent press clothes?
Asked by: jayjay
No permanent press. I think I would use the delicate.
Answered by: suzyqmi2015
Date published: 2015-11-07
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 102ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Bravos XL 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1360.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Is not water efficient I had a washer just like this one and it was less than impressive. First, it did not clean the clothes very well and was very rough on them. Second, it was not water efficient. It used about the same amount of water each cycle that my old maytag top loader used (17+ year old machine). It also has a monthly clean washer cycle where it fills up the entire tub (its a pretty big tub) with water, twice, to clean it. Finally, the rinse/soap compartments easily build up residue that is very hard to clean off. If you are looking for a water efficient washer machine that cleans well, don't buy this one. Get a front loader instead. By the way, I finally got fed up with this washer and bought a samsung front loader off of craigslist and love it. My clothes always come out so clean and the washer itself is much quieter.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the lid! .....but not the "clean washer" cycle. Purchased this in May while in the process of moving. It was a couple months later that I was able to use the machine consistently. I am still getting used to the fact that the machine determines the size of the load and adds water accordingly. The variety of settings is helpful. The "clean washer" setting however, seems to run way too long. The first two times I ran this cycle the machine completely filled up with water three times and took well over an hour. Seems to defeat the purpose of saving water. I called the company and decided to use the "normal" cycle with an extra rinse while using the Affresh product to clean the machine. It is attractive, especially the see through lid.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Bought this washer after my last one quit. The reviews I read were mixed so after buying I put it to the test because I had a limited time to return it if there were any problems. So far I have had only one issue and it was my fault. I tried to wash a comforter and set of sheets together and it became unbalanced. Easy fix - just removed the comforter and washed it after the sheets were done. Another load (washed weeks later) sounded like it was unbalanced but the machine worked it out on it's own.The biggest issue I have right now is that we need the matching dryer to keep up with some of the larger loads.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOT I BOUGHT THIS HIGH EFFICIENCY WASHER TO REPLACE A 25 YR,OLD NOISY CLUNKER. HOWEVER NOT SO CONVINCED WASHING W/LESS WATER, NO CENTER AGITATOR, & W/COMPUTERS SETTING ALL THE CYCLES IS SO GREAT. ALREADY HAD IT 'STOP' FOR NO REASON WITH 24 MIN.TO GO IN CYCLE, CLOTHES GET ALL TWISTED & TANGLED, & IT SEEMS TO GO 'OUT OF BALANCE EASILY. MORE ENGINEERING WORK NEEDS TO BE DONE ON THIS TYPE OF WASHER IN MY OPINION. CLOTHES SEEM TO BE CLEAN BUT ONE REALLY HAS TO FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS & BE AROUND UNTIL CYCLE IS FINISHED! ALSO I DO NOT FEEL IT WILL BE AS TROUBLE-FREE AS MY OLD GE.
Date published: 2015-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features, spin cycle a little too aggressive at highes Love this machine. Cleans well no matter the size of the load. Make sure to read the directions on how to load the machine, type and amount of detergent, etc. I have heard customers say the clothes come out dry and are not getting the water. Since this has a clear top, I can see that all the clothes are getting wet. It is just that the highest spin cycle is so fast that it wrings out almost all the water. The spin cycles are a little aggressive though - so I usually have it set to the lowest or next to lowest for most loads; else they get too wrinkled at the higher setting. I have used the higher setting for bulky items(thermal blankets, etc.) - and it works great for these items.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid design The design of this washer is sold and the controls, although numerous, are well thought out. This machine is much more gentle on our cloths than our front loader and they come out of the spin cycle dryer than before giving our dryer less work. The cleaning cycle is a nice feature especially since our last front loader had an odor problem.The new top loaders have very deep tubs. My wife and I are both tall so this is not an issue when it comes to pulling out damp cloths and the end of the wash cycle.We find that using the high efficiency (low water usage) cycles on some of our children's cloths don't get the body odor out. We are working on figuring out the best wash cycle for this issue.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I've had the Bravos for about a month now, and am very pleased with the price and performance. I had a front load washer before and didn't like the way it was constantly getting mildewed. The Bravos also has a much larger capacity in the same footprint so fewer loads to wash means less time spent washing on the weekends. It's very easy to use - intuitive, and does a good job cleaning. One item I have to work out is the spin dry speed - it seems to twist up my clothes and wrinkle them, but I believe I can adjust this over time to minimize wrinkles and still get most of the water out.
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this washer! I love the fact that my clothes get clean without a huge waste of water and soap and that they spin almost dry. Also that I do not have to try to guess what size load to select and then having to go back and see if the tub filled up enough, this machine does the selecting for you based on what is inside the tub. I also like the very large tub/load capacity. It is great that it has a sanitizing cycle, especially since we have a dog and cat. And quite??? This is the most quiet machine I have ever owned or used. You will not go wrong buying this model. Don't forget to get the matching dry/loader!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features - AWESOME Washer My previous washer died...and I knew I had to replace the machine. I researched many different makes and models and finally decided on the Maytag Bravos XL HE Top Load Washer. All I can say is I made the right choice in washers. I read the previous reviews written and had to say there were more POSITIVE reviews than negative reviews. I'm glad I weighed on the side of the POSITIVE reviews...because this machine is AWESOME. Maytag makes a Quality product that truly lasts....and the fact that it is MADE IN AMERICA....makes me soo PROUD to be the owner of this washer. GO MAYTAG!!!
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best washing machine ever! I bought this washer this past weekend due to the fact my older model washer by maytag had finally threw in the towel. I loved my older washer so much that we just got the same brand newer model and so far am just as happy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and Maytag Dependability I wish I had purchased this washer a long time ago! It has a huge capacity, and it doesn't tear your clothes up during the wash and spin cycles. I've washed king size pillows, sneakers, and all sorts of things and each item comes out clean as new. I love the various settings and how the manual details each setting and the items you would wash under each one. When it's time to clean it with the recommended tablet you'll know it's time before it reminds you due to a slight odor. However, you only need to clean it roughly once every 3 months and it's super easy to do; you just select the clean cycle and put one tablet in the washer; that's all there is to it. Don't let that stop you from buying this model.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge and hard working machine! I bought this washer a few months ago and it is SO much better than the original HE machines! I love the see-thru lid, the fact that I can quickly unlock the lid when needed, the use of more water for the bulky cycle so it soaks things a bit more, and the 3 stationary detergent/bleach/softener dispensers that stay clean on their own. I was tired of my old HE machine and almost went back to the old style, but I am thrilled with this machine. I read reviews and learned to not spin things so fast if I don't want wrinkles, but for towels, it really gets the water out. It does not have a 'soak' cycle, but I learned I can just open the lid and make things soak as long as I wish. The capacity is amazing.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet, great capacity, made in USA This is my first direct drive washer. I've had it for about 6 weeks and am very happy with it. The only problem I've had several times is an unbalanced load that I had to move items around, when I did a load with heavy jeans and towels combined on the Color/towels cycle. More often, I got the UL warning but the machine added water and corrected itself.I bought this particular machine over 2 others specifically because it was made in USA, and I'm not disappointed that I did. Very quiet, and I really like the lights and countdown on the display. Very good Use & Care Guide also.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG, where has this been all my life I bought this washer about 4 months ago after reading great reviews, I could not be happier, This washer senses everything, how much clothes you add and what water is needed to fill the tub. And Wow the tub is huge, so big I could crawl in and fit, which is why I put a safe lock on it for Grandkids. Prob the only feature that Maytag could add to totally perfect it. I loved this so much along with my mom who is also using it that she wanted to buy exact one with matching dryer we love just as much for my daughter. Don't hesitate to buy this washer and dryer, you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our Maytag washer handles extra large loads and runs quiet. We've always owned Maytag and when we decided to replace our old washer (after 23 years of trouble free service) of course we decided on another Maytag. Our new Bravos XL HE machine is a real gem. It takes on the larges of loads with no problem and runs whisper quiet. The High Energy feature means we use about half of the detergent we used to and it gets our clothes spotlessly clean. The spin cycle is so effective that our clothes come out of the washer much drier than before which means less time in the drier. We have come to trust Maytag over the years and would have no other brand.
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't let the price fool you I have owned 3 washers in my life and the last one was a very expensive front loader steam washer. I will never own another front loader, I was so tired of the "moldy" smell that it got if I forgot to leave the door open. We moved to a new house and sold our old appliances, so I was thrilled to buy the Maytag bravos XL. This washer is huge and is so gentle on our clothes.Our old washer could handle a large basket of clothes but the Maytag bravos can handle 2 laundry baskets with ease. It can handle large comforters easily. The quick wash setting is great for most small loads and I love having the cold wash setting for my darks. Another great feature is when it spins it is very quiet and does not dance across the floor like my old front loader. You can't beat the features this washer has.
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst washer I ever bought leaves detergent on clothes I hate this washer and it wasn't cheep....
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HE washer Much better performance than our front loader it replaced.
Date published: 2016-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Buy Before Your Read Online Reviews Low water level is a problem many owners report, and there is no fix for the problems caused by the low water level - dirty cloths and torn laundry. Please, read the other online reviews; do not make the mistake I and others made.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite of all our appliances! I have never been so excited about an appliance before. I am amazed at how many clothes I can wash at one time. Now I wash a load of whites and one load of darks just twice a week! I don't even hear the machine running when I am in another part of the house. In the laundry room, all I hear is its gentle whirring sound and few clicks hear and there. The best feature is the spin cycle; it practically spins them dry. Whereas, I used to spend hours drying my clothes, huge loads now dry in less than half an hour. This washer is amazing. We just bought a mountain home, and I told my husband I really want this washer for up there. Even though the price was fantastic, I can't afford one yet. Maybe I can win one!
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The large dryer door opening makes access to laundry easy. How many settings and indicator lights does a washer or dryer need? High, medium and low water levels (3). Hot,warm, and cold temperature (3). Heavy, normal, and delicate wash cycles (3). A presoak and extra rinse could be added (2). The dryer needs only hot, warm, and ai-dry with a variable time setting I can control. Keep the lights and buttons to a minimum. Simplicity is a virtue. There is less to go wrong. I would like to see a setting where I can fill the washer with the water level I desire and then be able to open the lid (no lock feature for this) before I put laundry in the tub. Longevity without problems is what I want and need most from any appliance. Style without function is for the insecure.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best washer yet! I really love our new Maytag washer. We've had it for about a month and have used several of the cycles. It saves water, in fact we should receive a rebate from our water company. The large capacity helps me even save more water by washing more at once. The spin cycle really works well and the heavier items seem to dry faster because of it. We had purchased a Maytag Bravos dryer about a year ago and have been very happy with it, so after reading reviews on the Maytag Bravos Washer we decided to go with the same brand/model. No complaints here!
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, Spacious We have had this washer for over a month and are very happy with how easy it is to use and how much room there is for larger loads. The preset settings are typically all that we use since the thinking has already been done for us! I use only non-toxic, HE-compatible laundry detergents (powdered or liquid) and I am very happy with how clean our clothes are. The spin cycle takes out much of the moisture, so we don't need to use the dryer as much - which is another bonus!
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bravos XL Washer I purchased this about one month ago to replace an older Maytag model. I have been happy with its performance in getting clothes clean. As far as design, the unit is taller than my old washer and you have to lean over pretty far to get clothes out. I am average height so anyone shorter than me requires a stepstool. I also worry that the glass top lid will get broken or scratched and would prefer if it were a solid lid. This is my first experience with a high efficiency washer so there is one design change that took me by surprise. The tub only fills with water when the top lid is closed. I used to rinse the detergent measuring cup with running water and can no longer do this so I have a messy measuring cup after every wash.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Consumer Ratings I replaced my current maytag washer after having issues with repeat breakdowns and loud bangs. This washer was highly rated. I've owned the washer for several months now, and it works great. Sometimes if unbalanced it makes loud noises, but overall does what I expect and takes an unexpectedly large load. I can usually wash my entire bed set at once with the comforter. I enjoy the window into the washer, so I do not have to open the door to view the way the clothes are being washed. The controls are very easy to use and the music the console plays is soothing.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it I bought this because I can wash a comforter in it. The size is great. I like the different wash options. My clothes do come out more wrinkled after wash cycle and I don't dry most of my shirts. I did notice a dirt stain still on my pants after they had been washed so I am concerned that maybe my clothes aren't getting as clean. I did rewash my pants and the stain was gone. I will put down that I will recommend to a friend but I am undecided at this time.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I don't normally write reviews, but I had to write about my new Maytag Bravos XL. When my old 26+ Kenmore finally quit working it was time to get a new washer. I read about every washer on the market. I finally decided to purchase a Maytag. The reviews I read about the Bravos helped me to decide that this was the washer for me. It can handle large loads with ease. I have washed over 60+ loads so far and all my clothes come out clean and even less wrinkled than before. I highly recommend this washer. I liked it so much that I also bought the matching dryer.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great washer I've had this for a few months. Like it better than the Whirlpool Cabrio that I had previously. Very quiet and does a good job cleaning. Doesn't seem to wrinkle large items like sheets as much as the Cabrio did. Really like the raised height and larger load basket. However, need to have repairman come because sometimes gives code "HC" which the manual says means that the hot and cold lines are switched. Have had it checked by plumber and that isn't the case so I assume its just a glitch in the electronic board. Otherwise, this seems to be a great washer.
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Washing Machine This is by far the best washer I've owned, or even used. It's packed with great features, and has more options than a top of the line car. It has a different setting for every kind of item you need to wash, and does a great job of using just enough water to get them clean. It's very quiet, even during a rapid spin cycle. After the spin, the clothes are less wet which reduces drying time. I really like the deodorizing cycle that allows you to drop in an "Affresh" tablet and keep the washer smelling good. I expect this American made appliance to last for many years.
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice washer but no soak I purchased this and it works well. However, the entire time it takes to complete a load does take a long time. An average load, is an hour. Also, my previous Bravo washer had a soak cycle. This one does not....and there is not a way to just allow clothes to soak. If you stop the machine within a cycle it drains the water. Next time I have to purchase I will look closer to make sure it has a soak cycle and ask how long a load takes to wash.
Date published: 2015-10-02
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1360
  • loc_, sid_204307083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 270ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT