#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #206976735

Model #FMTSHMW

Store SO SKU #1001767301

Metro Soho Matte White 1-3/4 in. x 7-3/4 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Subway Tile (1 sq. ft. / pack)

  • Features a matte matte white subway look with a straight edge
  • Perfect for kitchen and bathroom floors, walls, and backsplashes
  • Made for outdoor/indoor and commercial/residential use
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Add a fresh addition to your space with this 1-3/4 in. x 7-3/4 in. Merola Tile porcelain floor and wall tile. This flooring boasts a rectangular design, a popular departure from the typical square wall tile. Featuring a rich, matte white glaze and squared edges for additional sparkle, you can use this glossy tile on its own or as an accent or trim. Its porcelain material makes it versatile for interior or exterior use; this frost-proof, impervious flooring features water absorption of less than 0.5%. This wall tile is also available in gray and black for mix and match capabilities. If pairing with other products in our Metro Soho series, please consider that all formats and thicknesses may not be the same.
  • 1 sq. ft. , 10 pieces per pack; pack weight is 2.9 lbs.
  • Grade 1, first-quality porcelain tile for floor and wall use
  • 1.75 in. width x 7.75 in. length x 0.27 in. thick
  • Glazed smooth finish with a low sheen and uniform appearance in tone
  • P.E.I. Rating IV has high resistance to abrasion and is suitable for heavy-duty residential and commercial kitchens, hotels, exhibition and sales rooms with some dirt conditions
  • Impervious flooring has water absorption of less than 0.5% for indoor and outdoor use and is frost resistant
  • C.O.F. greater than .60 to .79 is required for commercial applications to meet or exceed ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) Guidelines. Skid Resistant. Indoor and outdoor use
  • Completely frost resistant for indoor or outdoor applications; use a latex-modified thinset for acceptable bond strength
  • Commercial and residential use
  • Don't forget your coordinating trim pieces, grout, backerboard, thinset and installation tools
  • All online orders for this item ship via parcel ground and may arrive in multiple boxes
  • It is recommended you purchase a minimum of 10% overage to account for design cuts and patterns
  • Each line item within an order will be selected from a single dye lot (color) and caliber (size), but multiple orders can result in receiving multiple dye lots and/or calibers; please ensure that all tile for a project is obtained within 1 order
  • All ceramic / porcelain and natural stone tile within coordinating series may be produced at different times which can cause variation in dye lot (color) and caliber (size) which is authentic to tile
  • Before you begin an installation, familiarize yourself with cost factors. This Project Cost Guide can assist you in budgeting for your tile project.
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Approximate Tile Size
2x8
Product Length (in.)
7.75
Product Thickness (mm)
7
Product Width (in.)
1.75
Suggested Grout Line Size
1/4

Details

Application Location
Floor and Wall
Break Strength (lb.)
215
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
Matte White / Low Sheen
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
DCOF Rating
Less than 0.42
Edge Type
Straight
Flooring Look
Subway
Flooring Product Type
Porcelain Tile
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor,Outdoor
Installation Method
Mortar
Location
Backsplash,Bathroom,Fireplace,Garage,Kitchen,Pool,Shower
Number of Tiles per Case
10
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Style
Coastal,Mid-Century,Minimalist,Modern,Transitional
Tile Features
Chemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Meets A.D.A. Requirements,Radiant/Underfloor Warming Heating
Tile Finish
Matte
Tile Format
Standard
Tile Material
Porcelain
Water Protection
Waterproof

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
None

Questions & Answers

66Questions13Answers

Any idea when this will be back in stock? If not soon do you have a similar tile to recommend?

Asked by NeedTile May 28, 2021
1
Answer

Hi! Unfortunately, our Metro Soho Matte White has been discontinued. We do offer other white subway tiles that may be a suitable alternative. You can browse them here: https://thd.co/3uHfoDG. We encourage you to order a sample of this product to determine whether if it suits your design preferences. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652

Is this tile being discontinued, or will it be restocked?

Asked by mj50547 February 15, 2021
1
Answer

Hi! Though this product will be back in stock eventually, we unfortunately do not have a definite date. If interested, we do offer another subway tile with a similar color tone and finish. You can find Crown Heights Matte White here: https://thd.co/3tZpzEN. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652.

How can I get in touch with anyone that has extra tiles (in need of the matte black)?

Asked by Nikki November 14, 2020
1
Answer

Hi! Although this product has been discontinued, please contact our Customer Service Team in order to determine if we may be able to assist you in any way. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652.

Which edging would you recommend to match the color of the glossy grey. There are many different...

Asked by jennifer July 6, 2020
1
Answer

Hi! Though we currently not have any trim pieces that directly coordinates with our Metro Soho Glossy Grey we do offer a few trim product with that may suit your design preferences. You can browse our trim selections here, https://thd.co/2B1J9JQ. If interested about Schluter trims, we suggest contacting them directly at 888-472-4588.

does this tile need to be sealed before grouting?

Asked by bob May 6, 2020
2
Answers

No

Can this be used in a pool?

Asked by SG April 17, 2020
1
Answer

Hi! Yes, our Metro Soho Matte White is suitable for pool installations. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652.

What brands of trim is best to use for creating a tiled wall with corners? Has anyone tried using Genesis brand trim?

Asked by TilerNYC January 26, 2020
0
Answers

Can this tile be used on a bathroom floor?

Asked by Chelsea December 4, 2019
3
Answers

Hi, Chelsea! Yes, our Metro Soho Subway Glossy White is suitable for bathroom floor installations as it is made from waterproof glazed porcelain and has a PEI rating of 4, meaning it can withstand heavy-duty floor traffic. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652.

Does the matte white match the Merola Madison Hex Matte Cool White hex tiles? Looking for subway ...

Asked by jlg October 25, 2019
1
Answer

Hi! Though our Metro Soho Subway Matte White and Madison Hex Matte Cool White both have a similar white base color, it is important to note that the products are produced at different factories and are not intended to directly coordinate. We would recommend purchasing a single piece, or case, of each product to compare and see if it suits your needs. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652.

How many cases to buy?

Asked by Kelly October 6, 2019
2
Answers

Hi, Kelly! For 39 square feet, you will need to purchase a minimum of 39 cases as each cases covers 1 square feet. This does not account for the grout joints between each tile. We recommend purchasing at least 43 cases to allow 10% overage in order to account for cuts, breakage, and dye lot and caliber consistency for future repairs. If you have any further questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652

Metro Soho Matte White 1-3/4 in. x 7-3/4 in. Porcelain Floor and Wall Subway Tile (1 sq. ft. / pack) - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 64 reviews
  • 71% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
What features stand out most? The tile finish is uniform and bright. It emulates turn of the cent...
What features stand out most? The tile finish is uniform and bright. It emulates turn of the century subway tile. Tight 1/16th of inch grout lines look great with white sanded grout. What do you like or dislike about it? The tile is not square, not the same size varying up to 1/8th inch in length and width making it hard to install especially using 1/16th grout spacing. BUT more importantly is tile HAS A LARGE BOW in each and everyone of the tiles so when installed the center of each tile will stand out 1/16th to a full 1/8th of inch in the center giving the field a offset brick like appearance. Your field will never lay flat tile over tile in a 1/4 or 1/3 over tile regardless of how you set the mastic (been doing this 23 years). The field will look like waves when finished so heads up if you are okay with that, then no issue, but for a historical reproduction in a bungalow it will not work. Unfortunately finding a 2x8 subway is almost impossible and 3x6 subway tile is not what you want to get that look. How long have you had it? Installed in January set against Motawi arts and crafts seasonal 8x8 and 4x8 tile. Does it meet your expectations? Yes and no. If you don't tile then yes, if you want quality and historical style then no. Also took a lot longer to install because of the bow in each tile and the varying lengths and widths.
by Tile
5 people found this helpful
We bought this tile because of its shape, color and value. I read all the reviews mentioning colo...
We bought this tile because of its shape, color and value. I read all the reviews mentioning color not being consistent from box to box, so we laid out all 30 boxes of our order. There were many broken tiles due to how they were packaged. Someone tied zip ties around them so tight that the outermost tiles broke in many boxes. Also, some of the boxes were so beat up that they had pieces of cardboard missing. The tiles looked all the same color though, hooray! They are NOT, however, WHITE. This WHITE tile is extremely GRAY. We went ahead and put it up in our kitchen, but this is such a noticeable color difference, we are going to have to do something else to make it not a horrible eyesore. Don't buy this tile. Save yourself some some pain and suffering. This tile is not white. This is gray tile. Not white.
by andy
11 people found this helpful
A few weeks ago we put this tile in as our kitchen backsplash to coordinate with new quartz count...
A few weeks ago we put this tile in as our kitchen backsplash to coordinate with new quartz counters. All the tiles came well packaged and zero were broken. I had a hard time finding the perfect shade of grey that excluded blue tones, but lucked out finding this one and at a reasonable price. Our kitchen looks great and modern. It's easy to clean. They were fast and easy for my husband to cut with a saw. The only negative is the tile is made in China.
by Mary
8 people found this helpful
Color
While I ordered a surplus of this tile, doing a herringbone pattern required a lot of cuts and therefore my installer ran out. I re-ordered more, but it was a completely different color. I called home depot and they explained to me tile can come from different dye lots, understandable, but where is the quality assurance. An off white I can expect, but the tile I received was almost gray in color. I re-ordered more hoping it would be similar to my first shipment. As you can tell from the picture, my 3rd order was not the same. Needing to move forward with the renovation I had my contractor go ahead and install the tile, but after grouting it looks horrible. I'd be very cautious in ordering this product from home depot.
by Ann
18 people found this helpful
Fabulous Addition to our Kitchen
We had nothing but a great experience with these tiles. We ordered 40 sq.ft. and only had one tile with a minor chip on the corner… (our contractor was able to use that one as an end piece & simply cut off that edge!) We had little to no waste as these tiles were able to be cut so well, we were able to use the scraps as filler pieces. My contractor made 191 cuts completing our complicated herringbone pattern, and not one broke. I highly recommend these tiles!!
by Kristin
Response from MerolaTile Customer SupportFeb 12, 2016
Hi Kristin,
We absolutely LOVE this backsplash you made with our Metro Soho. The herringbone pattern looks great! We were hoping to use this image on social media outlets and beyond. If you were interested in sharing this photo, you can send us an email to photos@merolatile.com and we can let you know what info we need from you. If you have any questions, please give us a call at (800)-963-7652/ Thank you so much for sharing! We are so glad that you loved our product and your new installation! – The Merola Tile Team
12 people found this helpful
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Used this to line the perimeter of a bathroom floor with a patterned mosaic in the center. Our pr...
Used this to line the perimeter of a bathroom floor with a patterned mosaic in the center. Our professional tile setter approved of the product’s quality. It was shipped quickly and securely. Great value. Highly recommend.
by KitchenAndBathDesigner
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
The tile is exactly the color we were looking for....
The tile is exactly the color we were looking for. I looked at 100's of tiles on line. I really wanted 2x2 square but we decided to order this one since the color and finish go so well with our countertop. Packaged very nice too.
by JOSEPH
These tiles are bowed! Take note. If you're expecting flat...
These tiles are bowed! Take note. If you're expecting flat subway tiles, these are not your choice. With COVID-19 and all the hassles with getting products, we had our installer install these despite the fact that they give the kitchen (used as backsplash) a completely different look. They almost produce a woven look due to the bowed nature of them.
by RyanInSalemOR
Response from MerolaTile Customer CareAug 6, 2020
Hi! We’re sorry to hear that our Metro Soho Matte Light Grey didn’t meet your expectations. Once properly grouted and installed, the edges should not be visible. We stand behind the quality of our products and appreciate your feedback!.
Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews