#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #204502288

Model #75561430

Store SKU #625604

64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix

  • Moisture Control takes the guesswork out of watering
  • Keeps plants fed for up to 6 months
  • Provides the right start for success of container plants
  • See More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Product Overview

Link to Mulch and Soil Calculator. Get the right amount the first time.
Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix takes the guesswork out of watering. It protects against over and under watering. The mix is enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food to help you grow Big, Beautiful Plants Guaranteed. Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix provides the right start for su ccess with all types of container plants, both indoors and outdoors.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (qt)
64 qt
Ideal For Growing
Flowers,Fruits & Vegetables
Organic
No
Soil Matter
Non-organic
Soil Type
Potting

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 2.4
    out of 14 reviews
  • 36% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews
Buy Something Else.
This soil doesn't seems to hold moisture. My flowers were doing so poorly that I ended up replanting them with Regular Scotts Potting soil and they recovered within 24 hours. Now the Flowers look great. There is something wrong with this product.
by BStatham
Response from Miracle-gro TeamFeb 23, 2021
We apologize that Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix did not meet expectations. We suggest slowly adding water to the soil until it is the desired consistency. We ask that you contact us at 877-220-3089 if you would like to continue discussing your purchase. miracle-gro
    As others have said, seemed to cause root rot in many plants. Lost some houseplants I've had for ...
    As others have said, seemed to cause root rot in many plants. Lost some houseplants I've had for years before I figured out it was this mix. That said, it seemed to work well for my flowering pots that live outside full time in the summer.
    by mpalmer
    Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 22, 2017
    We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. To discourage root rot due to improper drainage, we strongly recommend using the correct organic product for the planting job. Further, our potting soils may contain a wetting agent that allows the soil to stay moist longer. For this reason, check the level of soil moisture first before watering your plants. The planting container should contain a drainage hole to allow excess water to escape. We want to be confident in our products and for that reason we offer a product guarantee. At your earliest convenience please call us at 877-220-3089, please refer to your review when calling. scotts
      Horrible!
      Horrible product. It does retain moisture. Too much in fact. We are in the middle of a drought. I watered my potted flowers only twice in the last two weeks and the soil is soggy with water laying on top of the soil. It just wont drain thru. My once beautiful flowers are shriveling up and dying from what I can only assume is root rot. What a lot of money to spend on a plant killer. Now I have to go out and buy 4 more bags of regular potty soil to replace all that I had and replace some of the flowers that are beyond saving! Not happy!
      by PMD
      • DIY
      Gnat infested
      I used this mix for some plants in our office and was so confused when we started getting gnats all over the office. I tried sprays and traps for weeks before using a layer of food-grade diatomaceous earth all over the surface of the soil. That finally killed them. I went to open a sealed bag of this mix to cover the top of the plants again, and 100s of the gnats flew out of the newly opened bag. I quickly shut it and threw it in the garbage. I spend over $150 on products trying to kill and trap these gnats, so this made me livid. I also couldn't water my trees while the gnats were there (because they thrive in damp soil) and my six 5 foot tall benjamina ficus died as a result. All in all, I'm out over $400 because of this potting mix. Do yourself a favor and buy something else!
      by cw2389
      Response from ScottsCustomerCareDec 17, 2015
      We're sorry to hear that you had such and horrible experience with fungus gnats. Give us a call at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. scotts
      • DIY
      2 people found this helpful
      Dlsappointed in a Miracle Gro Product
      Just read reviews that had same problems with mix that I did. Gnat infested, petunias all died except one. Just tried a second batch of petunias and same thing,,,,all are gone, Same first batch of petunias in a pot not with mix are thriving. Will have to get mix in garbage bag as would not want to infest my yard with whatever is in that mix
      by Yogagal
      Response from ScottsCustomerCareOct 21, 2015
      We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. We make every effort to ensure that our product is safe to use. Moisture Control Potting Mix has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly performance tested. The potting mix you purchased does not inherently contain harmful substances. While it is not sterilized, Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix has undergone a composting process that kills most harmful microorganisms while allowing beneficial microorganisms to survive.

      We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
        1 person found this helpful
        Cure for potting soil gnats in your house!!!
        Some moisture holding potting soils hold more than just moisture. Insects find this a very nice and if stored in the sun warm place to incubate their eggs. Your house or porch becomes the nursery for the youngins. your plants, or food are the staple. As long as there is moister; the whole thing can be remedied by spraying the soil with insecticidal soap. The pyrethrens in the soap kill the gnats that resides in the soil; therefore curing the gnats-y issue. Plus until you water again the soap is still working on future hatchlings. Insect soap available at the HOME DEPOT. Good Luck!
        by RixAngel
          • Recommended Product
          4 people found this helpful
          Disappointed
          I went out of my way to buy the very best - I mean what could go wrong when you buy anything from Miracle Grow - but I set up two new large pots, each one using a complete bag of M-G Moisture Control potting mix to grow some tomatoes and both plants now have terrible Blossom End Rot. As this is caused by a lack of calcium I would have thought that the M-G product would have been better balanced to include calcium. Very disappointed.
          by Scott
          • DIY
          miraclegro
          I use it for all over my potted flowers. it keeps them fertilized.
          by gardener
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended Product
          Great & No Guessing
          I use this Moisture Control potting Mix for all my new found hobby, gardening and flowers. Until I relocated to Ohio I have never been able to grow even an Ivy plant! I had to be the only woman alive that would kill a silk flower! With this mixture, I don't have to worry about fertilizing and over watering! this stuff helps me conserve water! I will not use anything else for my garden or flowers! Enjoy your garden and flowers also!
          by rugrat66
          • DIY
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended Product
          3 people found this helpful
          Too heavy, stays wet
          I refilled my window boxes and all my pots with this soil last year. I have been unhappy with it and plan to replace it all this year. This may be a good choice for people in dry climates. Here in the pacific northwest, where my pots are subject to rainfall, this soil is not a good choice. It holds a lot of water, stays wet and heavy. I had yellowing leaves, stunted plants, gnats, and moss growing on the surface. And it didn't smell good. I give it 2 stars because my plants lived, they just did not thrive or look healthy like I am used to.
          by NorthwestGal
          Response from ScottsCustomerCareMar 19, 2015
          We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed. If you have any additional concerns or would like to talk with us about our product guarantee, please use the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
            Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews