Internet #204502288

Model #75561430

Store SKU #625604

64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix

  • Moisture Control takes the guesswork out of watering
  • Keeps plants fed for up to 6 months
  • Provides the right start for success of container plants
  • See More Details

Product Overview

Link to Mulch and Soil Calculator. Get the right amount the first time.
Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix takes the guesswork out of watering. It protects against over and under watering. The mix is enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food to help you grow Big, Beautiful Plants Guaranteed. Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix provides the right start for su ccess with all types of container plants, both indoors and outdoors.

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Potting Soil

Nature's Care 16 qt. Organic and Natural Potting Mix with Water ConserveGrower's Choice Garden Potting Soil Annuals Perrenials Vegetables 1.25 Cu. Ft. Flowering Mix1.5 cu. ft. Premium All Purpose Potting Soil
current product
64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix
BrandMiracle-GroPure Beauty FarmsPROVEN WINNERSMiracle-Gro
NameNature's Care 16 qt. Organic and Natural Potting Mix with Water ConserveGrower's Choice Garden Potting Soil Annuals Perrenials Vegetables 1.25 Cu. Ft. Flowering Mix1.5 cu. ft. Premium All Purpose Potting Soil64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix
Price
$1798
$1968
/package
$2417
Ratings
(156)
(28)
(255)
(13)
Ideal For GrowingFlowersFlowersFlowers,Fruits & Vegetables,Lawns,Succulents,Trees & ShrubsFlowers,Fruits & Vegetables
OrganicNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (qt)
64
Ideal For Growing
Flowers,Fruits & Vegetables
Organic
No
Soil Matter
Non-organic
Soil Type
Potting

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

10Questions17Answers

Price?

Asked by Craig February 23, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Craig, it looks like this Miracle-Gro 64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix is a store exclusive item and only able to be bought in a Home Depot store. Unfortunately we do not sell it with online stock for purchase. If you are unable to see the store inventory or price it is most likely either not a stocked item in your area or no longer available for purchase from Homedepot.com. I would advise you visit or contact your local Home Depot store for pricing and availability. Please follow the steps below to localize your Homedepot.com: 1. Localize Homedepot.com using your zip code (My Store Location: Change) 2. Choose the store where you want to pick up the item (Make this my Store) We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for shopping Home Depot!

how many bags I need for 84.5 ft. I'm using 2x8 boards as the boarder.

Asked by AJJohnson April 4, 2018
1
Answer

To determine how many bags are needed, measure the cubic feet (length x width x height) of the raised bed. 1 cubic foot is approximately 30 quarts.

Can you plant aloe vera in this?

Asked by Erin March 1, 2017
2
Answers

The Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix can be used for planting aloe vera in containers. It is not however for in-ground use. If we can be of further assistance feel free to contact us. Our phone number is 877-220-3089.

Why is home depot advertising 64 qt bags for 13.97, and 50 qt bags for 13.97.

Asked by Katface June 28, 2016
1
Answer

Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. We do see the items are in store only item to be purchase and ordered to be picked up in. We do see the 50 qt as the same price as the 64 qt. You would have to check with your local Home Depot garden department to see if the 64 qt would be on sale.. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.

What is the best miracle grow soil to use to grow potatoes? It has to be loose and good drainage?

Asked by GrandmaBeth June 9, 2016
1
Answer

All of our Potting soils/mixes can be use for planting edibles (fruits and vegetables and herbs) in containers or raised beds. For more assistance on plant care, please contact us: 877-220-3089

Will this product cause root rot? If it leaves the soil moist then root rot would accumulate?

Asked by hailthequeen May 29, 2016
4
Answers

In addition to Joellys discussion, selecting the correct size pot when repotting has made or broken my success at using this soil. Since its job is to control moisture, if the pot is way too big- it will waterlog due to all the extra soil holding water. Its time consuming to gradually increase pot size but if you do this,too, you should be okay. Watering with saucers rather than watering cans encourages the roots to grow deep toward the water, but requires removal of the saucer when drainage from rains is needed. Hope this helps someone. Suitable for any plant you would normally use regular potting soil for.

How can it be 64 Qt, yet .66 Cubic Feet?

Asked by Bobcat May 17, 2016
3
Answers

No need to apologize Home Depot. Here are the facts. First we must distinguish between dry and wet quarts. A cubic foot is 29.9221 wet quarts or 25.71 in dry quarts. 2 cubic feet = 51.43 dry quarts. 51 43/100 quarts dry US (qt dry / volume and capacity) The average volume for a 2 cu. ft. bag should be between 50 and 53 dry quarts, more or less considering moisture content. For example bags that are kept outside will often acquire more moisture than bags kept in a controlled environment. Outside moisture not only adds weight to bags, but it condenses fresh soil mix as well. Expect your dry quart capacity to vary a few quarts. 36 "DRY" quarts not 17. 1.4 cubic feet (cu ft - ft3 in volume and capacity) Equals : 36.00 quarts dry US (qt dry / volume and capacity)

I am near Chicago and we are no strangers to rain, this week several days of it. The pots will be definitly over watered, right:?

Asked by Suzie May 11, 2016
2
Answers

Suzie, the Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix absorbs excess water, keeping it away from the roots, and releases the water as the soil begins to dry. Unless torrential rains occur and wash the product away, it should be fine. If you are especially concerned, you may wish to move the plants inside.

Just purchased today but bag was only 50 quart not 64 qt.

Asked by Steve November 21, 2015
1
Answer

This product is available in several sizes from 8 quarts to 64 quarts. Check with your local store for availability of the best size for your needs.

Why is this not recommended for gardens, but only for potted plants? What is the chemical analysis of this product?

Asked by yorl May 10, 2015
1
Answer

You could use it for gardening, but potting mixes need water wicking and/or retention properties unlike garden soil. I can't zoom in to read the ingredients or find it on the manufacturer's website, but technically this is likely to be a soil-less potting mix as all true potting mixes are.

64 qt. Moisture Control Potting Mix - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 13 Customer Reviews
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars overall
38% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(4)
4star-icon(0)
3star-icon(0)
2star-icon(3)
1star-icon(6)
Sort By:
As others have said, seemed to cause root rot in many plants. Lost some houseplants I've had for ...
As others have said, seemed to cause root rot in many plants. Lost some houseplants I've had for years before I figured out it was this mix. That said, it seemed to work well for my flowering pots that live outside full time in the summer.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 22, 2017
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. To discourage root rot due to improper drainage, we strongly recommend using the correct organic product for the planting job. Further, our potting soils may contain a wetting agent that allows the soil to stay moist longer. For this reason, check the level of soil moisture first before watering your plants. The planting container should contain a drainage hole to allow excess water to escape. We want to be confident in our products and for that reason we offer a product guarantee. At your earliest convenience please call us at 877-220-3089, please refer to your review when calling. scotts
Niagara Falls NY
Horrible!
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Horrible product. It does retain moisture. Too much in fact. We are in the middle of a drought. I watered my potted flowers only twice in the last two weeks and the soil is soggy with water laying on top of the soil. It just wont drain thru. My once beautiful flowers are shriveling up and dying from what I can only assume is root rot. What a lot of money to spend on a plant killer. Now I have to go out and buy 4 more bags of regular potty soil to replace all that I had and replace some of the flowers that are beyond saving! Not happy!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Arlington, VA
Gnat infested
Quality :
1
Value :
1
I used this mix for some plants in our office and was so confused when we started getting gnats all over the office. I tried sprays and traps for weeks before using a layer of food-grade diatomaceous earth all over the surface of the soil. That finally killed them. I went to open a sealed bag of this mix to cover the top of the plants again, and 100s of the gnats flew out of the newly opened bag. I quickly shut it and threw it in the garbage. I spend over $150 on products trying to kill and trap these gnats, so this made me livid. I also couldn't water my trees while the gnats were there (because they thrive in damp soil) and my six 5 foot tall benjamina ficus died as a result. All in all, I'm out over $400 because of this potting mix. Do yourself a favor and buy something else!
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareDecember 17, 2015
We're sorry to hear that you had such and horrible experience with fungus gnats. Give us a call at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. scotts
Chandler Arizona
Dlsappointed in a Miracle Gro Product
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Just read reviews that had same problems with mix that I did. Gnat infested, petunias all died except one. Just tried a second batch of petunias and same thing,,,,all are gone, Same first batch of petunias in a pot not with mix are thriving. Will have to get mix in garbage bag as would not want to infest my yard with whatever is in that mix
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareOctober 21, 2015
We are sorry that you have experienced problems while using Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. We make every effort to ensure that our product is safe to use. Moisture Control Potting Mix has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly performance tested. The potting mix you purchased does not inherently contain harmful substances. While it is not sterilized, Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix has undergone a composting process that kills most harmful microorganisms while allowing beneficial microorganisms to survive.

We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Cure for potting soil gnats in your house!!!
Some moisture holding potting soils hold more than just moisture. Insects find this a very nice and if stored in the sun warm place to incubate their eggs. Your house or porch becomes the nursery for the youngins. your plants, or food are the staple. As long as there is moister; the whole thing can be remedied by spraying the soil with insecticidal soap. The pyrethrens in the soap kill the gnats that resides in the soil; therefore curing the gnats-y issue. Plus until you water again the soap is still working on future hatchlings. Insect soap available at the HOME DEPOT. Good Luck!
Was this helpful?
4
0
Baltimore
Disappointed
Quality :
1
Value :
1
I went out of my way to buy the very best - I mean what could go wrong when you buy anything from Miracle Grow - but I set up two new large pots, each one using a complete bag of M-G Moisture Control potting mix to grow some tomatoes and both plants now have terrible Blossom End Rot. As this is caused by a lack of calcium I would have thought that the M-G product would have been better balanced to include calcium. Very disappointed.
Was this helpful?
0
0
miraclegro
Quality :
4
I use it for all over my potted flowers. it keeps them fertilized.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Great & No Guessing
Quality :
5
Value :
5
I use this Moisture Control potting Mix for all my new found hobby, gardening and flowers. Until I relocated to Ohio I have never been able to grow even an Ivy plant! I had to be the only woman alive that would kill a silk flower! With this mixture, I don't have to worry about fertilizing and over watering! this stuff helps me conserve water! I will not use anything else for my garden or flowers! Enjoy your garden and flowers also!
Was this helpful?
2
0
Too heavy, stays wet
I refilled my window boxes and all my pots with this soil last year. I have been unhappy with it and plan to replace it all this year. This may be a good choice for people in dry climates. Here in the pacific northwest, where my pots are subject to rainfall, this soil is not a good choice. It holds a lot of water, stays wet and heavy. I had yellowing leaves, stunted plants, gnats, and moss growing on the surface. And it didn't smell good. I give it 2 stars because my plants lived, they just did not thrive or look healthy like I am used to.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareMarch 19, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in the Miracle-Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed. If you have any additional concerns or would like to talk with us about our product guarantee, please use the following link. http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n scotts
Troy NY
DO NOT BUY!!!!! SCOTTS SHOULD BE ASHAMED!
Quality :
1
Value :
1
This should not even be one star!!! GNATS, GNATS GNAT, GNATS!!! Well first it was mushrooms. I potted two plants with this potting soil and my house has been infiltrated with GNATS two days before Thanksgiving. This is so disgusting! After vacuuming and tossing two very expensive plants out into the snow, I began reading reviews about the soil. My home is filled with gnats. I have other plants (planted with a local nursery potting soil) and now I'm worried that my hundreds of dollars in plants are going to be threatened by these gnats. Never mind that I could not enjoy my Thanksgiving dinner in peace with out swatting gnats. Buy at your own risk. I'm so disgusted!!
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareDecember 1, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Miracle Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix. Left uncontrolled fungus gnats can become a nuisance, but they do not typically harm plants. Fungus gnats thrive in shaded, moist environments and feed on fungus in the soil. Our soils are not sterilized. Sterilizing a soil removes the beneficial bacterias and fungi that plants need. Breaking the breeding cycle is the best way to get rid of fungus gnats. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3nscotts
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers