Internet #204502223

Model # 74978500

Store SKU #536396

0032247497855

Miracle-Gro

Seed Starting 8 qt. Potting Soil Mix

  • For use with seed or when starting cuttings
  • Designed for fast root development
  • Should only be used for plants in containers
$ 4 47
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • For use with seed or when starting cuttings
  • Designed for fast root development
  • Should only be used for plants in containers
Start your plants on their way to a more beautiful state with the Miracle-Gro Seed Starting Potting Mix. The mix is enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food and is specially formulated for fast root development. It is excellent when starting from seed or starting plants with leaf, stem, or root cuttings. Use it in containers, and get your plants growing faster with Miracle-Gro.
  • Specially formulated for fast root development
  • Enriched with Miracle-Gro plant food
  • Excellent for starting cuttings
  • Use when starting from seed and with leaf, stem or root cuttings
  • For use in containers

Product Overview

  • For use with seed or when starting cuttings
  • Designed for fast root development
  • Should only be used for plants in containers
Model #: 74978500
Sku #: 536396
Internet #: 204502223

Start your plants on their way to a more beautiful state with the Miracle-Gro Seed Starting Potting Mix. The mix is enriched with Miracle-Gro Plant Food and is specially formulated for fast root development. It is excellent when starting from seed or starting plants with leaf, stem, or root cuttings. Use it in containers, and get your plants growing faster with Miracle-Gro.

  • Specially formulated for fast root development
  • Enriched with Miracle-Gro plant food
  • Excellent for starting cuttings
  • Use when starting from seed and with leaf, stem or root cuttings
  • For use in containers

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Miracle-Gro Miracle-Gro WONDER SOIL Proven Winners
Name Seed Starting 8 qt. Potting Soil Mix 8 Qt. Orchid Coarse Mix 600 Seed Starting Complete Mix Coco Wafers 1.5 cu. ft. Premium All Purpose Potting Soil
Price
$4.78
$4.78
$10.23
$15.99
Ratings (79) (133) (6) (193)
Organic No No No No
Ideal For Growing Flowers Flowers Flowers,Fruits & Vegetables,Succulents Flowers,Fruits & Vegetables,Lawns,Succulents,Trees & Shrubs
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (qt)
8
Ideal For Growing
Flowers
Organic
No
Soil Type
Potting

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Specifications

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (qt)
8
Ideal For Growing
Flowers
Organic
No
Soil Type
Potting

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

IMPOSSIBLE TO WET

I filled 5 inch peat pots with this stuff and put them in containers filled with water AND watered from the top - after 2 days of soaking the mix in the center of the pots is still bone dry. The mix will not wick up the water, how do you get this stuff wet???
Asked by: Charles
Pour it into a bucket and soak it with water before adding to the pots.
Answered by: Stan
Date published: 2019-02-26

is this soil good to start pineapple plants after the have stared to grow roots

is this soil good to start pineapple plants after the have stared to grow roots
Asked by: floridagirl65
This is a seed starter soil, so I am not sure if it will work for pineapple. Sorry, I can't help you.
Answered by: Woody
Date published: 2018-06-27

If I mix the seedling starter mix with some potting soil will that remove the need to repot my plants once germinated?

I read that if you keep your plants in the mix too long it will die,so its better to repot the flower.
Asked by: Lori
No. And the potting soil may kill the seedlings. Damping off. . .go look it up.
Answered by: Stan
Date published: 2019-02-26

Would this be good for a tree sprout? I have a sprouting avocado tree in a cup that I need to tra...

Would this be good for a tree sprout? I have a sprouting avocado tree in a cup that I need to transfer to a pot and I am looking for a good soil.
Asked by: soconnor91
Yes. It should work fine for your tree sprout.
Answered by: Jayhawk714
Date published: 2019-03-30
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_9
  • loc_, sid_204502223, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Seed Starting 8 qt. Potting Soil Mix is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 79.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs more soil , less filer... Needs more soil , less filer
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Seed Starter Soil I used Miracle Gro Seed Starting Potting Mix to start my F... Excellent Quality Seed Starter Soil I used Miracle Gro Seed Starting Potting Mix to start my Fall crop. A lot of people do not realize how necessary healthy soil is to seeds. Amateur gardeners generally assume that the soil in their backyard is sufficient to plant seeds and often times end up disappointed when the seeds do not sprout. Seeds need to have healthy soil, constant light and and loads of water to grow into healthy plants. When I first planned to start a vegetable garden in my backyard, i wanted to invest in healthy soil for my seeds. The Miracle Gro Seed Starting Potting Mix was the perfect product I was looking for. I planted Broccoli seeds using this mix and my seeds sprouted within 3 days!! Further almost all of the seeds that i had sowed have sprouted. I was pleasantly surprised, given how usually the percentage of seeds that actually sprout is less than half. I documented my experience of planting my fall garden in this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8F9OG9013_I&t=49s I would definitely recommend this product for all the gardeners.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good!... So far so good!
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product won't hold water I always buy miracle grow products for everything I need for over 20 years. BUT this product needs to be "fixed". I planted 5 trays of peas and tried to water them for 2 weeks. The soil is basically all peat and it won't hold water. The water pools, it drips over the edge. Finally after 2 weeks I dumped everything into a tub mixed it with another miracle grow soil and replanted all my peas. Funny thing is there were all my seeds in the peat moss "dust" they never even got wet after 2 weeks of watering. It's not really funny I lost 2 weeks of growing time and a lot of $ on 6 bags of this seed starting potting soil and now I'll have to doctor it up to use it. Basically I bought $$ peat moss.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've had great results from this product. I've been using this product for years and always had great results. From experience, I've learned that if you pour the seed starter in a 5 gallon bucket and add about a quart or so of water to the mix and combine the two. Put a lid or some type of cover on the bucket and let it sit over night. The next day put the seed starter in containers or slats and sow your seeds. This way when you water them the water will actually absorb into the soil and not just run off like others have experienced.
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yellow leaves I used the Miracle Gro Seed Starting soil for the first time this year. The soil appears to be a lightweight soil that holds water well. My problem I ran into was some of my plants that were started in the Miracle Gro soil have yellow leaves. I have not run into this problem before when starting seeds so I looked up possible causes. As best I can find the seedlings appear to be suffering from to many salts in the potting mix from the fertilizer. I have transplanted the seedlings into new pots with new soil and flushed out the soil to try and save the seedlings. Time will tell if it works.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mold and dead plants We bought this potting soil for our container garden. We usually use the Miracle Grow moisture control but wanted to give this a try. We started all of our seeds in coir pellets and they were growing strong until we transplanted into our usual containers using this potting mix. Each and every plant has died. Trying to maintain moisture in this soil is impossible and daily watering led to mold on indoor sprouts. We will not be using the rest of the bag, such a disappointment that we now have to restart our garden.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife really likes this brand of potting soil. Her seedlings just do great using it. She starts... My wife really likes this brand of potting soil. Her seedlings just do great using it. She starts the seedlings under a grow light then after all the snow melts they are transferred to the garden. Their survival rate far performs other brands of potting soils.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Impressed I just started vegetable seeds on Monday night using this seed starter mix, it is Friday and already have cucumbers, tomatoes, spinach, and kale sprouting...I am in love with this product
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from THIS MIX HAD A LOT THE LITTLE PIECES OF WOOD.... THIS MIX HAD A LOT THE LITTLE PIECES OF WOOD. I HAD HARD TIME REMOVING THIS DEBRIS IN ORDER TO GET A NICE AND SMOOTH MIX FOR MY SEEDS.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from potting soil was nice, planted my seeds just have to... potting soil was nice, planted my seeds just have to wait to see if they grow.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Impossible to wet The instructions say to Water and Let Drain... did that and the mix below the surface is still bone dry. Put my 5 inch peat pots in deep bowls and filled with water and the next day the mix is still dry!! Two days into it now watering from the bottom and the top and have resorted to stirring the mix with a stick to try and get it to absorb moisture. It seems to be virtually waterproof, is there a wetting agent available that can be used to get this stuff wet??
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for my early starting seeds. Good product for my early starting seeds.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have for Seed Starting Using this product has been very successful when starting many types of plants and flowers from seed. Have been using for 3 years now. Never had a bad batch of seeds. Easy to understand directions.
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good soil at a low price good soil to use, easy to work with, holds water well
Date published: 2014-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from has excellent water retention For starters learn how to use something before you mislead others. With a little research you will be more than happy with the results of this seed start mix! I am a first time user trying to start my own veggie and flower seedlings and will never use any other medium to start my plants! I am extremely impressed how well my plants are growing under simple shop lights. Its time to pot up and I will definitely be buying more if this mix!
Date published: 2014-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You shoud see my red peppers I'm not the best gardener, but Miracle Grow has helped me out. I've been growing red peppers and basil since last summer from seeds and their are still peppers on my plants. By the way, the pepper seeds were from peppers I bought from the store, which I dried myself. I just bought Italian parsley, sage and oregano seeds which I'm going to plant tomorrow. I have am sure they will flourish like my peppers. I can't wait.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thanks for destroying my seeds As another reviewer noted, this potting medium IS WATER REPELLANT. After watering my seeds in this medium, the water just sat on top of the soil, and did not flow down through the soil as you would expect. See the photos I posted... they show a flat of seed that had sat overnight after being watered the first time. Some of the cells still have water JUST SITTING THERE. The medium in some of the cells appear to have absorbed the water, but when you dig some of it out, you find that only the medium on the surface appears wet, while just under the surface, IT IS BONE DRY. NOTHING is going to grow in this garbage. Had to chuck it all and start over, but too bad, so sad, some of those seeds I will not be able to replace. This product is not just inferior, it shouldn't even be on the market.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding results. I was starting some Cherokee Purple tomato seeds in Jiffy mix and ran out. I went to the store and bought Miracle Grow and started the rest of the seeds three days later. The later planted seeds outpaced the ones in Jiffy and left them looking stunted and puny. The seeds sprouted in Miracle Grow Starting Mix grew so fast that I had to hustle and get them in bigger pots.
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Give Your Seeds A Helping Hand... I live in Northern Idaho and our planting season is very short, especially if using seeds. This year I decided to plant a Hummingbird and Butterfly Wild Flower seed mix. To prepare the soil, I started with a base of the seed starting potting mix, even though it is an outside flower garden. Then, I scattered the seed and topped with the Miracle Gro Moisture Control garden soil. We've had rainy and cold temperatures since I've planted my seeds. Despite Mother Nature, my seeds are sprouting and looking healthy. Thanks Miracle Gro!
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best, not the worst cont. I forgot to write in my first review that the last 2 bags I purchased had gnats in them. But again, I simply baked the soil in the oven, or in the microwave (till you reach 180 degrees) and then allow to dry overnight and all is well. I have also mixed this stuff with regular dirt from my garden for better drainage. It worked really well that way too!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great growing it made my plants grow faster and fuller it was easy to use and doesn't take a lot of time
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slugs in mix We start 300-400 pepper plans and 300-400 tomatoes and when we transplanted them into this product they started dieing and getting eaten off at the soil surface. I started looking at the spill and there was 1,000's of littlle slugs in the soil. We lost a big percentage of our plants because of it. I do not recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This soil is terrible. It is so hydrophobic, like it refuses to absorb any water which is counter... This soil is terrible. It is so hydrophobic, like it refuses to absorb any water which is counter intuitive because seeds need to be moist to germinate. Since it won't soak in water, it makes the fibers in the mix float AND if you use small seeds they will float away too and end up either at the top of the pot or who knows where. Do not recommend at all.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All you need for potting First time potter and rookie at gardening, but I must say i used this mix and had great success. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Water doesn't absorb! Just like the subject line says... planted seeds just the instructions said. Went to water and the water just ran off the soil. I thought I did something wrong so i dumped the soil out and started over... nope I did everything correctly and the same thing happened so I poured the soil out into my trash can.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is what I do for cuttings (e.g. Japanese Maples, Snow Queen Hibiscus, etc.) and it works gre... This is what I do for cuttings (e.g. Japanese Maples, Snow Queen Hibiscus, etc.) and it works great. I mix a 65:35 split with "Seed Starting Potting Mix" and Perlite in a 5-gallon bucket. I then add water and continue to mix and shake it until it has a damp but not overly moist consistency. I put the soil mix in a cottage cheese container (with holes on the bottom), I create a hole in the mix for the cutting, add rooting hormone in the hole, pop the cutting in the hole and she’s good to go. On my latest run, in 9 days my cuttings had roots down to the bottom of the container. Remember, too much water can kill a plant or prevent it from growing just as much as not enough water. Find the right balance of moisture, temperature and light. The potting mix is only one part of the equation.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greater success on seeds and seedlings I like to grow flowers from seeds or seedlings planted in spring for summer enjoyment. Miracle-Gro Seed Start Potting Mix has the ingredients to give a good start to these for enjoyment throughout the summer and early fall.
Date published: 2014-08-15
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_79
  • loc_, sid_204502223, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 159ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT