Internet #100628956

Model # FG500

Store SKU #527164

Store SO SKU #1000214873

0075919005002

Mold Test Kit

  • Test for mold spors indoors, forced air a/c cooling and surfaces
  • Quick results within 48 hours, optional mail-in lab test
  • Can be used to compare indoor and outdoor air quality
$ 8 97
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Test for mold spors indoors, forced air a/c cooling and surfaces
  • Quick results within 48 hours, optional mail-in lab test
  • Can be used to compare indoor and outdoor air quality
The Mold Armor Do-It-Yourself Test Kit tests for the presence of mold in just 48 hours. The kit can be used indoors or outdoors. It includes an optional mail-in lab analysis to identify the type of mold present. There are 3 different testing methods: 1) indoor air quality to test for mold spores, 2) the AC/heating mold sampling tests the air from a forced air heating and air conditioning unit, and 3) surface mold sampling which test mold that is already growing on a surface.
  • Test kit is safe and easy to use
  • Optional lab analysis will tell you the mold type within 3 weeks
  • Kit contains 1 plate, growth medium, sterile swab and a guidebook
  • Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following states: CA, OR, CT
  • Test for mold
  • Find out if you have mold
  • Do it yourself test kit

Product Overview

  • Test for mold spors indoors, forced air a/c cooling and surfaces
  • Quick results within 48 hours, optional mail-in lab test
  • Can be used to compare indoor and outdoor air quality
Model #: FG500
Sku #: 527164
Internet #: 100628956

The Mold Armor Do-It-Yourself Test Kit tests for the presence of mold in just 48 hours. The kit can be used indoors or outdoors. It includes an optional mail-in lab analysis to identify the type of mold present. There are 3 different testing methods: 1) indoor air quality to test for mold spores, 2) the AC/heating mold sampling tests the air from a forced air heating and air conditioning unit, and 3) surface mold sampling which test mold that is already growing on a surface.

  • Test kit is safe and easy to use
  • Optional lab analysis will tell you the mold type within 3 weeks
  • Kit contains 1 plate, growth medium, sterile swab and a guidebook
  • Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following states: CA, OR, CT
  • Test for mold
  • Find out if you have mold
  • Do it yourself test kit

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Test for mold spors indoors, forced air a/c cooling and surfaces
  • Quick results within 48 hours, optional mail-in lab test
  • Can be used to compare indoor and outdoor air quality
The Mold Armor Do-It-Yourself Test Kit tests for the presence of mold in just 48 hours. The kit can be used indoors or outdoors. It includes an optional mail-in lab analysis to identify the type of mold present. There are 3 different testing methods: 1) indoor air quality to test for mold spores, 2) the AC/heating mold sampling tests the air from a forced air heating and air conditioning unit, and 3) surface mold sampling which test mold that is already growing on a surface.
  • Test kit is safe and easy to use
  • Optional lab analysis will tell you the mold type within 3 weeks
  • Kit contains 1 plate, growth medium, sterile swab and a guidebook
  • Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following states: CA, OR, CT
  • Test for mold
  • Find out if you have mold
  • Do it yourself test kit

Product Overview

  • Test for mold spors indoors, forced air a/c cooling and surfaces
  • Quick results within 48 hours, optional mail-in lab test
  • Can be used to compare indoor and outdoor air quality
Model #: FG500
Sku #: 527164
Internet #: 100628956

The Mold Armor Do-It-Yourself Test Kit tests for the presence of mold in just 48 hours. The kit can be used indoors or outdoors. It includes an optional mail-in lab analysis to identify the type of mold present. There are 3 different testing methods: 1) indoor air quality to test for mold spores, 2) the AC/heating mold sampling tests the air from a forced air heating and air conditioning unit, and 3) surface mold sampling which test mold that is already growing on a surface.

  • Test kit is safe and easy to use
  • Optional lab analysis will tell you the mold type within 3 weeks
  • Kit contains 1 plate, growth medium, sterile swab and a guidebook
  • Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following states: CA, OR, CT
  • Test for mold
  • Find out if you have mold
  • Do it yourself test kit

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand DampRid Mold Armor Mold Armor Zinsser
Name 14 oz. Fragrance Free Hanging Bag (3-Pack) Mold Test Kit 32 oz. Mold Blocker 1 Gal. Jomax House Cleaner and Mildew Killer
Price
$7.97
$8.97
$9.98
$19.87
Ratings (180) (168) (63) (188)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Size (oz.)
0

Details

Biodegradable
Yes
Combustible
No
Concentrated
No
Flammable
No
Helps Remove
Mildew,Mold
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor/Outdoor
Kit
No
Odorless
Yes
Pack Size
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Mold, Mildew and Stain Remover
Prevents/blocks mold and mildew
No
Product Dispenser Type
Plastic Bottle
Product Form
Other
Removes mold and mildew
No
Returnable
90-Day
Rinse required
No
Safe For Use On
Air
Types of Surfaces Cleaned
Multi-Purpose
Where to Use
Bathroom,Car Exterior,Car Interior,Floors,Furniture,Kitchen,Laundry

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
SATISFACTION GUARANTEED: If you are not completely satisfied, return your sales receipt with a description of your complaint. Liability is limited to refund of the purchase price.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Size (oz.)
0

Details

Biodegradable
Yes
Combustible
No
Concentrated
No
Flammable
No
Helps Remove
Mildew,Mold
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor/Outdoor
Kit
No
Odorless
Yes
Pack Size
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Mold, Mildew and Stain Remover
Prevents/blocks mold and mildew
No
Product Dispenser Type
Plastic Bottle
Product Form
Other
Removes mold and mildew
No
Returnable
90-Day
Rinse required
No
Safe For Use On
Air
Types of Surfaces Cleaned
Multi-Purpose
Where to Use
Bathroom,Car Exterior,Car Interior,Floors,Furniture,Kitchen,Laundry

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
SATISFACTION GUARANTEED: If you are not completely satisfied, return your sales receipt with a description of your complaint. Liability is limited to refund of the purchase price.

Questions & Answers

Does this product, Mold Armor Mold Test Kit, tell what kind of mold is present, for example Black mold?

Asked by: Fred
Yes, the molds to include black mold may be visually collected in the kit procedures. And a documented report for a small fee will, further detail a laboratory results to mold identification and indicated health risk to the identified mold.
Answered by: Rouge62
Date published: 2018-10-26

I saw you need to submit outdoor air sample as well. Does that mean you have to purchase two kits?

Asked by: Candace
It's a virtual guarantee that you will get some kind of mold in the stipulated 72-96 hours! So the send-it-in fee should have been included in the price. To that end the price is a misrepresentation. Second, the "lab" test result is still not useful unless there is a reference point (aka baseline); a sort of electrical ground equivalent. The only reasonable reference is the outside air because there is nothing you can do to change it (as in an electrical ground). So you HAVE to have the reference point done any way. If they were interested in providing actually useful actionable results, they'd sell you two petri dishes and charge $90, send both in and get a proper measurement.
Answered by: Rahzan
Date published: 2019-02-27

Does this product detect air borne mold spores? If so does it tell you waht kind they are?

Does this product detect air borne mold spores? If so does it tell you waht kind they are?
Asked by: Jeene
I used the product in Jan 2018. I placed it near a floor vent for our HVAC system. Test results did identify the specific type of mold.
Answered by: DIYguy
Date published: 2019-06-30

How long can I keep the dish before I mail it for testing?

Asked by: Smendes
I have had mine for 11 days it appears the mold is now starting to dry. Once you have established mold, a few days of positive growth, I would send it in.
Answered by: Bob
Date published: 2018-05-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_7, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_52
  • loc_, sid_100628956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 60ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Mold Armor Mold Test Kit is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 168.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We needed something to test individual items.... We needed something to test individual items.
Date published: 2019-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gave me the answer I needed you a low price!... Gave me the answer I needed you a low price!
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! I just want to say that I am not usually a review writer but I've had such a nightmare with this company that I must let others know to NOT buy this product. Not only is their customer service HORRIBLE but I have been waiting over a month for results! There is an additional fee of $40 to have your mold tested which I didn't mind at all, but I have called SEVERAL times and left messages and have had no results yet. Save your $ and get a different brand!
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from it's been 2 month and i'm still waiting for result of my mold test They cashed my check 3 weeks after I sent the mold sample in and I've never heard from them since. Save your 40$ and get a different brand!!!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It worked, but I will need a science teacher and a dictionary to help interpret their findings. This product was easy enough to gather the sample. I taped up the petri dish after several days, enclosed a $40 check and sent it off. As stated on the package, it took 3 weeks to get the results. I am a retired teacher, but I wasn't a science teacher. It is very technical language in the 10 page, email report I received. I will be spending some time with my on-line dictionary in the next few days as well as calling on a couple of my science teacher friends to help with the interpretation of the results.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I never write reviews, but this company is truly horrible! I bought this kit and paid the $40 for... I never write reviews, but this company is truly horrible! I bought this kit and paid the $40 for the mold analysis. When the analysis came back, it was totally bogus. The dish I sent in had a lot of mold growing in it and the report they sent me back said “Sterile fungi do not have fruiting structures and therefore cannot be identified.” When I called to complain about how unhappy I was with this report, the lady didn’t seem to care about my complaint at all, she was pretty rude over the phone and would not give me a refund. Save your money, this company is a scam!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product is OK I read previous reviews and I think folks need to understand.This mold test is fine IF you have a control to compare it to. If the outside is heavily molded then most likely your interior is also. So you really need two tests - one that is the basic environment your home is located AND one for the interior of your home - otherwise you have no basis to figure where the issue is located. Reputable mold test companies do this - or you can use two of these one for a sample outside and one for a sample inside and send them off for analysis otherwise I think you are missing the point. I don't work for a mold company
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money Product had poor materials and the lab analysis took several weeks and offered no customer support. Results were generic and I would not put any stock in trusting the results. dont waster your money
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mold Test Kit Discovered mold and needed to know if it is dangerous, hazardous or not. Purchased test kit, followed simple directions and sent off sample as directed. No problem That was five weeks ago. Not knowing if mold is dangerous or not, have sealed off bedroom where mold covers about two square feet of wallboard. Also turned off a/c (even in 90 degree weather) as don't want to spread dangerous mold around house in a/c system. If not dangerous can sand walls, paint myself or insurance may cover cost to remove dangerous or hazardous mold. Hopefully it will not be too much longer before results of tests will be known. Anyone purchasing this product should be aware it takes month or more to get results so suggest to look for product that may get faster results if one is available unless time is not of the essence.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as valuable as advertised The test kit seemed to be of good quality and seemed to work well. But, since mold was detected, I took the option to send the kit (I actually used two of them) to the lab for analysis at $40 per kit. The reports were received in about 3 weeks, as estimated. The problem is that the reports only identify the scientific names of the various molds which appeared in the petri dish. The report did contain further information for follow up by making reference to several web sites. But the report, itself, gave no indication as to how dangerous the detected molds were. I was not expecting to see anything about the amount of mold but I was expecting some identification. Are these particular molds common? Are they harmful or not so much? Two of what looked like the best links worth following turned out to be bad links so it was difficult to get any information whatsoever about anything beyond the scientific names. One link I did follow was to the Centers for Disease Control which basically recommended against the use of kits like these because you don't really know what you've got. If you have a moldy smell, the CDC recommends going to a party who can test the air and provide more information. Bottom line: The kits seem fine but finding out whether or not there is something present, without knowing what it is, may not be worth the price. The cost of submitting it to the lab was not worth it.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it did what I wanted...showed me results I feel my health was declining do to a mildew /mold I had mold in aprevious tenant building and the same symptoms ..and once you smell mildew,its in the air! i had located 1 roof spot,and after I can now monitor the issue. I placed the petri dish on my side bed table. it takes 48-72 hrs... white fluffy spores grew. go google,and its MILDEW, HA!! well ....now I can go and clean it properly....listen those MOLD service people can rip you off just easier then you think....so DO THIS FIRST. black,red,brown,or tons of mold is BAD. I had 3 small spores. not bad.
Date published: 2012-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could rate this lower than one star I would. Sending the sample to them is an absolute waste... If I could rate this lower than one star I would. Sending the sample to them is an absolute waste of time and money. The report said "you have mold". I know that. No determination it was toxic or not just the type. They advised me to hire a mold remediation Company to determine if it was health risk.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Found Mold! Used this to see if there were mold problems in the house. Tons of different colors of mold covered the petri dish! Found the mold and cleaned it up and ran another test, which showed tons of improvement. You don't have to send the dish in to see results, only to identify the type(s) of mold.
Date published: 2010-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results. I used it about 7 times after my house flooded before have professional water... Excellent results. I used it about 7 times after my house flooded before have professional water mitagation company do expense paid testing when my house flooded. This matched proffessional tests and helped me to avoid the expense of professional testing being done in every area of my house. You have to wait about 4 days, NOT 72 hours as they recommend.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The product is very simple. The value proposition is service and this is where they fell short. I... The product is very simple. The value proposition is service and this is where they fell short. I sent an e-mail to the company (on the company web site) about the best use of the product and significance of a particular finding and received no response. I did not ask for free analysis of the culture information which I understand is performed at an additional $40 fee. I had a question about how best to use the product
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth the money the testing sampling material was not well packaged, results were not well explained
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These plates will grow mold... These petri dishes work. They grow mold, but the information you receive is meaningless. Mold is ubiquitous in your environment, so opening up a petri dish will result in spores landing on your plate. But you will have no idea how many are in the air. For that you need a measured amount of air to pass over the plate so you can calculate how much is in the air. These results are meaningless 99% of the time and it is a waste of your money. Find an environmental firm before you waste your money on useless data.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Company does not stand behind product I bought 3 packages, 2 for home and 1 for office. The 2 for home only had 1 complete and the other was missing the bacterial growth medium. Contacted company and they said they would get back to me. That was 4 days ago. I would not use their product again. Definitely not worth the money. Found better deals online.
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed I bought 3 kits, 1 for outside, 1 for close to A/C and 1 for swab samples. This was the only kit in the store. Mold detection and identification is too important for this many flaws. The growth medium in one kit was darker than the others. Since the 3 kits had different assembly dates, I figured it shouldn't matter and they all smelled the same. The medium in one dish didn't gel completely after 1 hour. I left it another hour and it still wasn't gelled. I was very disappointed by the directions because they are incomplete. There is no explanation for how it needs to incubate, no temp range and no info on where they should be placed to grow. It also isn't clear if they need to be completely sealed with tape or if the tape is only to hold the poorly fitted lid on the petri dish. All of these can affect mold growth. I went to the website, but it wasn't any better. The directions on there are also different, but still incomplete. The next disappointment is that it takes 3-4 weeks and an additional $40 per dish to find out what types of mold. Based on other reviews, the info may not even be useful. I wanted to know what kind before I cleaned it up, so I don't see much value in waiting a month for results.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from buyer beware I bought this did the test and sent it off. Nowhere does it state to send a check or money they don't accept credit cards. I wasted about three weeks on theses people I filled out the info on the card put it inside with my mold sample. they could have at lest contacted and told me what going on. They did no such thing. They said it should have been sent back that did not happen. I'll never use this product or anything affiliated with them again.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could give ZERO stars I would. I would say their customer service sucks, but I can't be sure... If I could give ZERO stars I would. I would say their customer service sucks, but I can't be sure because they never replied to repeated queries. I was in the process of sending a sample in and paying the $40 fee to get a sample analyzed but the info on the website submission conflicted with what was on the box so I asked a time sensitive question via their site where you were instructed to inquire and never heard back and repeated attempts were also ignored. Saved me $40 or more so thanks for that, but if anyone knows of a reputable company that can test a mold sample or two for me please let me know? Thanks and stay away from this company and their products.
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did prove Black Mold I purchased this mold kit because I have been sick since moving into this upstairs office space. Have been on massive doses of prednisone and getting shots for asthma. I did the open area test as directions stated. Black mold has shown as suspected! We are moving out ASAP!
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor service The product was ok but the Lab to get the results was very very poor. Every Time I called they told me it would be one more day. That was over a week ago. Still have not gotten the results. I would never use this company or product again.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy, Prompt, & Expired! Order process was easy, delivery was very prompt, but the 6 products I received were all past their expiration dates! Even so, they seemed to work as advertised. Clear instructions made them simple to use.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This test helped us by confirming our suspicions of mold that were aggravating my pre existing co... This test helped us by confirming our suspicions of mold that were aggravating my pre existing conditions and giving my eldest son cold like symptoms. We currently are waiting for the mold to be removed in order to go back home. Literally a life saver in my case as I'm extremely allergic to the mold that was found!
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, incubation time is just enough. Easy to use, incubation time is just enough.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from mold kit Don’t bother to buy. We purchased thinking it would say if bad mold or just mold. I asked handyman to get so I can’t say if directions were clear. Unfortunately the kit results only say whether its mold or not. Clearly by our visual, it was mold
Date published: 2019-07-02
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_168
  • loc_, sid_100628956, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT