#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #305542042

Model #55260XI-01

Store SKU #1003317185

Waterguard 1 gal. Clear Wood Sealer

  • Clear, ready to use fomula
  • Provides Waterproofing Protection
  • Good for decks and other outdoor wood projects
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Product Overview

Deck Stain Waterproof

Waterproofing Protection

Olympic Waterguard Protects your deck from water damage, and protects against mold and mildew growth.

Fence Stain

Perfect for any wood surface

Use on vertical or horizontal new wood, pressure treated wood or weathered wood.

Deck Stain Color

Convenience and Value

Olympic Waterguard offers a ready to use wood stain that dries in 12-24 hours when applied at 50°F to 85°F.

Deck Stain Amounts By Gallon and Deck Size

How much stain is needed

The size of your project will determine how much stain you need. Solid stain color requires two coats.

Deck Cleaner

Clean your deck

Sweep debris from deck, then use Olympic Premium Deck Cleaner to wash away dirt and stains caused by mildew.

Deck Preparation

Deck prep

Tape off surfaces you don't want stained. Avoid staining decks in direct sunlight to avoid uneven drying.

Wood Stain Application to Deck

Wood stain application

For even coverage, apply the stain to one board at a time. For best results, backbrush into the wood surface.

Clear Stain on Wood Deck

Clear Stain

Clear finish allows your wood to weather and gray naturally. Least Protection, Most Wood Grain.

Olympic Transparent Stain Color On Wood Surface

Transparent/Toner

Slight hint of stain color that highlights wood grain. Less Protection, More Wood Grain.

Semi-Transparent Deck Stain Color

Semi-Transparent

Rich stain color that allows wood grain and texture to show. More Protection, Less Wood Grain.

Semi-Solid Deck Stain Color

Semi-Solid

Same rich color as semi-transparent but hides more wood grain. More Protection, Least Wood Grain.

Solid Deck Stain Color

Solid

Fully opaque color covers the wood grain and accentuates the texture. Most Protection. No Wood Grain.

Deck Resurfacer

Resurfacer

Create a new, durable surface on worn or weathered wood and concrete.

WaterGuard for Wood Waterproofing Clear Sealant offers convenience and value. A penetrating clear sealer that protects the wood while allowing the wood grain to show. Perfect for multiple wood surfaces.
  • Ready mix, ready to use clear sealer
  • Perfect for new wood, pressure-treated wood, weathered wood and wood with a weathered clear or semi-transparent stain
  • Durable sealant that provides waterproofing protection
  • Repels water
  • Provides sunblock UV protection
  • Provides a mildew resistant coating
  • Penetrates the surface for protection
  • Clean up with just soap and water
  • Online price includes PaintCare fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
350
Product Depth (in.)
4
Product Height (in.)
9.5
Product Width (in.)
6.5

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Pump-up Sprayer,Roller
Base Material
Water Based
Color Family
Clear
Color/Finish
Clear
Dry to the touch (hours)
12
Interior/Exterior
Exterior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
50
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Features
Dries Clear,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Waterproof/Sealer
Product Weight (lb.)
9.087
Recommended Number of Coats
1
Returnable
90-Day
Sheen
Natural Stain
Stain & Sealer In One
No
Substrate Condition
Finished Wood,Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Wood
Surface Location
Pool Deck
Time before recoating (hours)
24
Transparency
Clear
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
LIMITED LIFETIME WARRANTY

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 525 reviews
  • 68%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 525 reviews
Worked great
It repels water like advertised. I used a spray gun to apply it onto a raised garden. I was worried because it went on milky white, then dried clear.
by
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Fantastic product!
    I bought this to use on my recently completed fence, which stretches hundreds of feet around my property. I read all of the instructions here online for this product very carefully and then followed them and the results were excellent. I made sure the temperature outside was right, I had sprayed down my fence boards first, I stirred the waterguard thoroughly, I used an electric paint sprayer to evenly distribute it up and down all the fence boards on both sides of my new fence, and it absorbed well and has been keeping the water off my boards. If I keep a sprinkler right on the boards they do start to absorb some water after half an hour of watering, but if it just occasionally hits the fence then it repels the water well. A couple of notes: I used nearly half the amount of product that was recommended. I had bought two of the large tubs and only dipped into the second one. Oh well. I'll keep it and use it next summer, as the product recommends reapplication every year. It took about three hours to do my fence with the one tub, mostly on the "low" speed of the sprayer, with someone to help me keep refilling the small paint sprayer container. Very happy with the product, ease of use, and the price point and would recommend.
    by
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      I put this on the untreated plywood siding I bought. It did not work at all. When it rained the p...
      I put this on the untreated plywood siding I bought. It did not work at all. When it rained the plywood panel siding got damaged. That's over $200 in lumber that's ruined because of putting trust in this faulty product.
      by
      Response from Olympic TeamJul 17, 2020
      We are sorry to hear this. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can help discuss potential solutions and make this righ OlympicPaint
        3 found this review helpful
        Our 31 year old deck is 725 square feet and so this was a big project! We had used other products...
        Our 31 year old deck is 725 square feet and so this was a big project! We had used other products before but wanted a clear seal this time. We were extremely happy with the ease of application and how quickly it dried! The deck looks fresh and clean. We’re glad we chose this product!
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        8 found this review helpful
        GREAT product
        I used this product on both the old wood and new wood after replacing some deck boards on on my deck. The old boards are over 20 years old and they were previously painted. Removed the old paint from the old boards. So far its been wearing well and it is doing it’s job on both the old and new wood. Then i used it on a new picnic table and benches that i made to replace some old outdoor patio furniture. I don’t normally write reviews but this product has performed impressively. You have ti letnit dry before it gets rained on. But as long as you give it dry time, it performs.
        by
          • Recommended
          4 found this review helpful
          Disappointing
          90 days after application my picnic table is mildewing. Applied 2 coats of this water sealer on kiln dried wood and now im looking at MILDEW!! Waste of money. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT
          by
          Response from Olympic TeamJul 1, 2020
          Hi there. We're sorry to hear this. We do not recommend applying two coats of this product as this will likely result in product failure, especially in areas with high moisture and little or no direct sunlight. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can help discuss potential solutions. OlympicPaint
            7 found this review helpful
            Totally Useless as Waterproofing Agent
            I would, of course, give this product a zero rating if possible. After much time, effort, and expense I finally finished my pool pump enclosure in redwood. Being an exterior structure, I wanted to seal the wood and make it as waterproof as possible. Home Depot no longer stocks Thompsons so I chose Olympic Waterguard Clear Sealer. Application was easy, since I used my spray gun. Over the course of one week, I applied three more light coats. Much to my dismay, the overall appearance took on an orange cast. Any school kid can tell you red combined with yellow make orange! Not the effect I was after. Next came the water test. After everything was completely dry......I waited another week. I then sprayed a light mist on the project with my garden hose. Sure enough, the water beaded. Fantastic. I then let the water sit for 15 minutes, took a terry towel, and wiped down the project. Again dismay. The water had soaked into the wood!
            by
            Response from Olympic TeamJun 30, 2020
            We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in the performance of our product. We do not recommend more than one coat of application with Olympic Waterguard. To properly adhere and cure, Waterguard must be properly applied in one even, thin coat. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 so we can help provide potential solutions. OlympicPaint
              3 found this review helpful
              Easy to apply. Easy clean up. Changed the hue of the redwood just a bit but not in a bad way. Put...
              Easy to apply. Easy clean up. Changed the hue of the redwood just a bit but not in a bad way. Put some water on the sealed wood and beaded up as advertised. Not greasy or oily like other products I've used in the past. I would recommend this product.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 found this review helpful
              works and repells water
              It works as intended. applied 3 coats on my planter.
              by
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                Made my project prefect
                Made my project prefect
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Showing 1-10 of 525 reviews