Internet #205585045

Model # 56687

Store SKU #1001069561

0046878566873

Orbit

5/8 in. - 3/4 in. Zinc Male Hose Mender

  • Replaces attachment end of 3/4-in. and 5/8-in. garden hoses
  • Tapered design enable easy installation
  • Constructed of heavy-duty, corrosion-resistant metal
$ 4 98
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Replaces attachment end of 3/4-in. and 5/8-in. garden hoses
  • Tapered design enable easy installation
  • Constructed of heavy-duty, corrosion-resistant metal
This male mender is designed to replace the attachment end of a standard garden hose. Heavy-duty metal construction protects against corrosion and extends hose life. Unique tapered design allows for easy installment with minimal effort.
  • Extends hose life
  • Repairs attachment end
  • Fits 5/8 in. to 3/4 in. hose
  • Heavy-duty metal construction

Product Overview

  • Replaces attachment end of 3/4-in. and 5/8-in. garden hoses
  • Tapered design enable easy installation
  • Constructed of heavy-duty, corrosion-resistant metal
Model #: 56687
Sku #: 1001069561
Internet #: 205585045

This male mender is designed to replace the attachment end of a standard garden hose. Heavy-duty metal construction protects against corrosion and extends hose life. Unique tapered design allows for easy installment with minimal effort.

  • Extends hose life
  • Repairs attachment end
  • Fits 5/8 in. to 3/4 in. hose
  • Heavy-duty metal construction

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Orbit Orbit Orbit Orbit
Name 5/8 in. Metal Repair Mender 5/8 in. x 3/4 in. Hose Mender Kit 5/8 in. - 3/4 in. Zinc Male Hose Mender Grip-Lock 5/8 in. Male Zinc Mender
Price
$4.18
$4.87
$4.98
$7.48
Ratings (8) (12) (202) (95)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.25
Product Height (in.)
5
Product Width (in.)
1.5

Details

Number of Pieces
2
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
5 year warranty

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.25
Product Height (in.)
5
Product Width (in.)
1.5

Details

Number of Pieces
2
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
5 year warranty

Questions & Answers

I installed it correctly and no leaks BUT when i go to put on a squirt nozzle, it leaks around the threads. Whats wrong.

When i put this nozzle on another prefab hose, the threads dont leak.
Asked by: Ed
If you have a rubber washer in the hose it will seal. Your either missing the washer or the washer is old hard.
Answered by: Engineer
Date published: 2018-09-05

Is the male hose thread portion brass, or brass coated zinc? I don't see that defined on the pro...

Is the male hose thread portion brass, or brass coated zinc? I don't see that defined on the product page.
Asked by: David
Its made in China, so it is a cheap plating over some kind of white metal disguised to look like brass. Secondly, You will have to remove the screws completely and clean the threads up with a 7 mm die. They are very tight so be careful not to strip the head of each screw. They are gaulded with metal from tapping them into the housing during manufacturer. As the average consumer probably doesn't own a die set, you'll probably have to go to the hardware section and buy 2 new 7mm screws. I put the screws in a vice and cleaned the threads up with my 7mm die. Good luck.
Answered by: jonybuilder
Date published: 2019-06-07
  • y_2019, m_6, d_19, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_, sid_205585045, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 29ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

5/8 in. - 3/4 in. Zinc Male Hose Mender is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 201.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality screw bracing bracket that loses it’s scew treads.... Poor quality screw bracing bracket that loses it’s scew treads.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfect! Fixed my broken hose end in 2 minutes.... Worked perfect! Fixed my broken hose end in 2 minutes. 5 stars!
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheaply made screws striped out. cheaply made screws striped out.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from all ready broke... all ready broke
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!... Great fit!
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Threads strip easily I was quite disappointed with the Orbit zinc hose mender. I expected the "zinc" clamps to be much less prone to stripping while the screws/bolts are tightened, compared to plastic hose menders that I have tried in the past. But not so. I was carefully tightened the bolts, alternating my screwdriver from side to side to ensure the clamp was closing evenly in an effort to avoid the common causes of stripped threads. The clamp wasn't even close to being tight when the one bolt started spinning easily without much effort on the screwdriver. The bolt had stripped the threads inside the clamp. I had been very careful when inserting and tightening the bolts; it was not "user error." It clearly is a lousy product which I will not buy again. My search for hose repair kits goes on, with the humid bird brand (green plastic clamps) still my favorite. I never expected metal clamps to be inferior to plastic, but that is the case with this Orbit metal hose mender product. Ultimately, I used the brass Orbit insert with a competitor's green plastic clamps.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work with my 3/4 inch hose. The clamp is too small and only a few threads on the screws w... Did not work with my 3/4 inch hose. The clamp is too small and only a few threads on the screws went into the bottom piece resulting in stripped threads. Now leaks.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is a poor quality product. I realize that zinc alloys are cheaper than brass however I woul... This is a poor quality product. I realize that zinc alloys are cheaper than brass however I would rather pay more money for a product that is more durable and actually works. The sizing on flange is all wrong. I had to put a wrap of duct tape around the hose in order to tighten the flange so it wouldn't leak. Tightening the flange until I couldn't any more, it still leaked and the fitting spun in the hose when I tried to tighten it on the female hose fitting. So I had two leaks. SMH Another poor quality product sold at HD.
Date published: 2018-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inside diameter only 1/2” so not ideal for 3/4” hose. Better products available at similar price... Inside diameter only 1/2” so not ideal for 3/4” hose. Better products available at similar price if you need to maintain the flow capacity of your 3/4” hose.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality.....I thought the metal connector would be better than a plastic one, but the thread... Poor Quality.....I thought the metal connector would be better than a plastic one, but the threads stripped out as soon as I tried to tighten the clamp on the hose. Another thing is that this product is not usable for a 3/4 inch hose. My 5/8 inch hose barely fit into the clamp...no way it would fit a 3/4 inch hose
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great solid repair coupler. Solid hose end fitting with no plastic . Easy to install , dosent slip after it's been on for a while . Great for fixing an old hose . Hint if you can't get the screws to start try using a sea clamp to squeeze the casts together.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Picked one up today it works great. Easy to install no leaks. Just have to keep even pressure wh... Picked one up today it works great. Easy to install no leaks. Just have to keep even pressure when tighteing the screws. Tighten one side a few turns then the other a few and back and forth till its tight.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's working now but had a problem with the threads holding the clamp together. They were nearly... It's working now but had a problem with the threads holding the clamp together. They were nearly stripped at the factory and backing them out to do the install further messed them up. After some filing on the screws was able to get it together. I have 5/8 hose on this one and when screwed together as far as they go -- it doesn't completely clamp tight as shown in the picture. There's a gap between the two halves.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seemed like a nice product until installing. The clamp is of a weak metal and the threads in the... Seemed like a nice product until installing. The clamp is of a weak metal and the threads in the clamp itself strip way to easy. Ended up using a traditional hose clamp over the gold connection part in the end.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from metal is better than plastic! The concept of 'hose repair' is simple and efficient, so your decision comes down to whether you want to mend your hose with a plastic piece, or a metal piece. This piece is metal through and through, allowing you to tighten the screws without worrying about breaking a plastic piece. I always have a concern when I see something "made in China", but this is not life support equipment, so I gave it a chance. I'm happy with it.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works good like hose end should works good like hose end should
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and it works. Easy to install and it works.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brass hose end is better that light hose ends that are more common. The clam shell style crimp is... Brass hose end is better that light hose ends that are more common. The clam shell style crimp is safer to have on a hose end than a hose clamp with the exposed tail of the clamp hanging out waiting to rip into flesh. I like this product for exactly what it does. Also it looks clean enough in appearance to have hanging out of the hose reel box.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and great quality ... Easy and great quality
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to install, make sure to apply dish soap to tube insert before attaching to hose(will make i... Easy to install, make sure to apply dish soap to tube insert before attaching to hose(will make it much easier) Only reason I do not rate higher would be that male connector is pot metal with gold finish, Solid brass would be much better! And because of the pot metal construction I consider the repair temporary, as the life span is much shorter!
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks like it's metal, but it's plastic For this to work, you must use some kind of pliers to squeeze the plastic while using a screwdriver to tighten it. Although the gray piece looks like metal, it's really plastic and if you tighten the screws without using some kind of tool to squeeze the plastic pieces, it will strip and it's useless.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very happy to find one that was made out of something other than plastic. This item works ... I was very happy to find one that was made out of something other than plastic. This item works perfect. It slipped right into place and stayed there. The plastic ones don't work with the newer way they make the inside of the water hose.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chose the metal one instead of the plastic and also the 2 screw vs the screw clamp one. Pressed t... Chose the metal one instead of the plastic and also the 2 screw vs the screw clamp one. Pressed the 2 halves together while tightening the screws and feel how much pressure you are turning the screws. No leaks.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good heavy duty male hose end coupler. Good heavy duty male hose end coupler.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the hose mender did not do the job. Water hose... the hose mender did not do the job. Water hose kept leaking after installed. Not a good product
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am completely satisfied with this product because it is made completely with quality metal part... I am completely satisfied with this product because it is made completely with quality metal parts and should last a very long time.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor 2 or the 4 that I bought 2 of the screws were already stripped out of the plastic threads so I couldn't get the screws out.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install does not leak. I had used one... Easy to install does not leak. I had used one before on a different hose so I knew it was a quality product
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great product, For less than $5 you can repair your hose instead of buying a new one!!! This is a great product, For less than $5 you can repair your hose instead of buying a new one!!!
Date published: 2017-05-19
  • y_2019, m_6, d_19, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_201
  • loc_, sid_205585045, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 108ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT