Internet #300569432

Model # 022081004

Store SKU #577923

0071549022082

Ortho

Home Defense Max 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer

  • Odor-free formula won't stain the home
  • Controls insects for up to 12 months
  • Creates a bug barrier to control listed insects
$ 7 97
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • Odor-free formula won't stain the home
  • Controls insects for up to 12 months
  • Creates a bug barrier to control listed insects
The Ortho Home Defense Max 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use. It kills ants, roaches, spiders and other pests while also preventing new pests from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for easy application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.
  • New, fast-acting formula
  • Up to 12 month control, plus, kills insect eggs
  • Non-staining, odor free
  • Creates a bug barrier
  • Includes a sprayer for application
  • Kills interior bugs to help keep areas free of pests
  • Helps to prevent exterior bugs from entering your home
  • Note: product may vary by store



Product Overview

  • Odor-free formula won't stain the home
  • Controls insects for up to 12 months
  • Creates a bug barrier to control listed insects
Model #: 022081004
Sku #: 577923
Internet #: 300569432

The Ortho Home Defense Max 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is designed for interior and exterior use. It kills ants, roaches, spiders and other pests while also preventing new pests from entering your home. This product features a sprayer for easy application of the fast-drying, non-staining formula.

  • New, fast-acting formula
  • Up to 12 month control, plus, kills insect eggs
  • Non-staining, odor free
  • Creates a bug barrier
  • Includes a sprayer for application
  • Kills interior bugs to help keep areas free of pests
  • Helps to prevent exterior bugs from entering your home
  • Note: product may vary by store



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Hot Shot Spectracide Ortho Ortho
Name MaxAttrax 1 lb. Roach Killing Powder with Boric Acid Bug Stop 1 gal. RTU Home Insect Control Home Defense Max 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer Home Defense Max 1.33 Gal. Insect Killer Refill
Price
$2.98
$5.97
$7.97
$9.47
Ratings (68) (633) (2362) (589)
Application Type Dust Spray Bottle Spray Bottle Sprayer Application
Concentrated or Ready to Use Ready to use Ready to use Ready to use Ready to use
Organic No No No No
Pest Type Ants,Palmetto Bugs,Roaches,Silverfish,Waterbugs Ants,Beetles,Boxelder Bugs,Brown Dog Ticks,Crickets,Earwigs,Firebrats,Fleas,Flies,Millipedes,Palmetto Bugs,Pill Bugs,Rice Weevils,Roaches,Silverfish,Spiders,Stink Bugs,Stinkbugs,Waterbugs Ants,Aphids,Armyworms,Beetles,Black Widow Spiders,Brown Recluse Spiders,Carpenter Ants,Caterpillars,Chinch Bugs,Crickets,Earwigs,Fleas,Harvester Ants,Hobo Spiders,Millipedes,Mole Crickets,Mosquitos,Roaches,Whiteflies Ants,Aphids,Apple Maggots,Armyworms,Bagworms,Beetles,Black Widow Spiders,Borers,Boxelder Bugs,Brown Recluse Spiders,Brown Scale Insects,Budworms,Cabbage Loopers,Carpenter Ants,Caterpillars,Cherry Fruit Flies,Chiggers,Chinch Bugs,Cicadas,Codling Moths,Colorado Potato Beetles,Corn Earworms,Crickets,Cucumber Beetles,Cutworms,Earwigs,Euonymus Caterpillars,European Corn Borers,Firebrats,Flea Beetles,Fleas,Flies,Gypsy Moths,Harvester Ants,Hickory Shuckworms,Hobo Spiders,Hornets,Hornworms,Japanese Beetles,Leafhoppers,Leafrollers,Locusts (Grasshoppers),Mealybugs,Mexican Bean Beetles,Millipedes,Mites,Mole Crickets,Mosquitos,Moths,Palmetto Bugs,Peachtree Borers,Pear Psylla,Pecan Nut Casebearers,Pine Beetles,Plum Curculios,Potato Leafhoppers,Psylla (Psyllids),Sawflies,Scale Insects,Scorpions,Silverfish,Sod Webworms,Sowbugs and Pillbugs,Spiders,Spirea Aphids,Spittlebugs,Stink Bugs,Termites,Thrips,Ticks,Tomato Hornworms and Tobacco Hornworms,Twospotted Spider Mites,Wasps,Whiteflies,Zimmerman Pine Moths
Indoor/Outdoor Indoor Indoor,Outdoor Indoor,Outdoor Indoor,Outdoor
Safe for Edibles No No No No
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4.875 in
Product Height (in.)
12 in
Product Width (in.)
9 in

Details

Application Type
Spray Bottle
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor,Outdoor
Organic
No
Pest Common Name
Ants,Aphids,Beetles,Caterpillars,Earwigs,Fleas,Flies,Moles,Mosquitos,Roaches,Spiders,Worms
Pest Control Type
Lawn Insect Control
Pest Type
Ants,Aphids,Armyworms,Beetles,Black Widow Spiders,Brown Recluse Spiders,Carpenter Ants,Caterpillars,Chinch Bugs,Crickets,Earwigs,Fleas,Harvester Ants,Hobo Spiders,Millipedes,Mole Crickets,Mosquitos,Roaches,Whiteflies
Product Weight (oz.)
128 oz
Returnable
90-Day
Safe for Edibles
No
Safe for Pets
No

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
4.875 in
Product Height (in.)
12 in
Product Width (in.)
9 in

Details

Application Type
Spray Bottle
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor,Outdoor
Organic
No
Pest Common Name
Ants,Aphids,Beetles,Caterpillars,Earwigs,Fleas,Flies,Moles,Mosquitos,Roaches,Spiders,Worms
Pest Control Type
Lawn Insect Control
Pest Type
Ants,Aphids,Armyworms,Beetles,Black Widow Spiders,Brown Recluse Spiders,Carpenter Ants,Caterpillars,Chinch Bugs,Crickets,Earwigs,Fleas,Harvester Ants,Hobo Spiders,Millipedes,Mole Crickets,Mosquitos,Roaches,Whiteflies
Product Weight (oz.)
128 oz
Returnable
90-Day
Safe for Edibles
No
Safe for Pets
No

Questions & Answers

Does this product kill cockroaches in the house?

Does this product kill cockroaches in the house?
Asked by: GLC
NO. This will not kill anything. Not even a fly.
Answered by: Brock
Date published: 2019-07-07

Is it safe around cats

Asked by: Elaine
I have no idea because I received no response from Ortho when I ask them,, so if they refuse to respond I would say that this product is not safe around any pets at all,, especially our cats..I will not use it.. DW C
Answered by: PoppaSmurf
Date published: 2019-05-25

Will itkill all types of crickets that have entered my home

Asked by: Holly
If this kills cockroaches I bet it will kill crickets.
Answered by: Shey
Date published: 2019-01-24

How long does it take to kill roaches

Asked by: Bailey1
Less than seconds
Answered by: Emad
Date published: 2019-04-23
  • y_2019, m_7, d_18, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_122
  • loc_, sid_300569432, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Home Defense Max 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Perimeter and Indoor Insect Killer is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 2362.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sprayer Sprayer is the problem. Only worked once...repellent was fine. But you need to get a better sprayer. Most people don’t use a gallon at a time
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from does not work I have gone through 2 gals of this stuff and it is not working. it's like the darn ants never die. very disappointed.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love that this comes with a spray nozzle. Works well outdoors for ants, etc. I love that this comes with a spray nozzle. Works well outdoors for ants, etc.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from sprayer is ill-designed I bought the 1.33 gallon Home Defense unit with battery operated sprayer and it worked for the first 3 uses. Then, for some unknown reason, the sprayer refuses to prime itself and emit a spray either as a direct stream or as a fine spray. I replaced the batteries and secured the top as best I could to the white valve and it still refuses to prime or spray although I can hear and feel the internal motor running. I think the design of securing the valve to the uptake line is faulty as apparently there is an air leak that prevents the unit from drawing up the fluid. My best option is to buy an empty spray bottle and transfer the fluid from the large jug to the bottle and throw away the sprayer handle which is apparently a piece of junk. I would not recommend this sprayer to anyone.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible!!! I live in a very wooded area by a canal in florida so summer time brings serious palmetto bug/roach problems. Once the sun goes down, I don't even dare going into the garage due to how many nasty critters are in there. It was to the point where my fear of spiders have subsided to give way to my new fear of palmettos. They squeeze their gross little selves under my doors in search of leftovers my toddler hid around the house. I used the barrier spray right before dusk around the perimeter and on the floor in the garage and on the borders of every door and window around my house. At around 11:30 that night I peaked out into that bug cave and to my surprise I didn't see a single roach, palmetto beast, or other creepy crawly that is usually out there. The only ones that are seen anymore are dead!! I'm super impressed and will definitely be a returning customer. I highly recommend this to anyone with a pesty bug problem. And the price was awesome for how big the container was!! Thanks so much Ortho!!!!
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STAY AWAY FROM THE WAND. The bug killer liquid works on all kinds of insects—that’s good—but the... STAY AWAY FROM THE WAND. The bug killer liquid works on all kinds of insects—that’s good—but the “comfort wand” has a design defect. It will work the first time you spray, but when you take it off the shelf a few months later to re-apply it, you will be out of luck, left holding a gallon of bug killer you can’t get out of the container! It’s happened to me twice now. (Yes, I stupidly bought a second one thinking THAT wand would work and I could just use the first one as a refill. I was wrong.) The mechanism works (you can hear it running), the batteries are fine (I’ve even replaced them anyway, to no avail), the wand just won’t spray. Which is the whole point of the wand. Which makes it a waste of money. Google “ortho home defense wand won’t spray” and you’ll see I’m not the only one. So, buy another Ortho product if you wish, but DON’T. BUY. THE. WAND. Fool me once, shame on Ortho. Fool me twice, shame on me.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full time RVer and post home owner I have used this product for years. Inside and outside my home and Rv trailer. Know as soon as I park my rv the first thing I do is spray this product on anything bugs could crawl up on into my rv such as the level jacks,tires,electric cord etc. It does not take much. I also spray around area where pic nic table and lawn chairs set. When I keep the windows open i spray the screens to stop the little knives from coming in to the lights. This is amazing stuff. Would not be caught with out it.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more spiders! I bought this product to deal with a spider infestation in our old 60's-era apartment. Our unit was directly over the building's basement, and huge (1-2" leg diameter) grass spiders were coming up from the baseboard heaters and around the edges of the poorly-installed carpet. We saw an average 1-3 of these spiders daily. I sprayed this stuff EVERYWHERE around all the doors, windows, edges of walls, closets, corners, behind furniture, and directly under and down inside the baseboard heaters. About a week later there were no more spiders! They reappeared about 3-4 months later so I re-sprayed successfully. YAY! Only downside is the batteries are inconvenient to change since you need a tiny star-head screwdriver. I did have the sprayer clog on me once but swishing it in hot water for 10 seconds worked great. Also, the white plastic wand is kinda flimsy (I broke it - my fault- but tubing is still intact so still works). Could be sturdier IMO. We are in a new apartment now, and I have already recommended this product to our neighbor.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye bye SCORPIONS!! I moved into my home 3 years ago. The neighborhood is still fairly new. With all the construction going on, the scorpions had it out for us. For the first 3 years, I paid for pest control. Very expensive. My neighbor recommended this product. I sprayed all around the perimeter, inside and out. I haven't seen a scorpion since. I can't say enough great things about this product. Going on 7 months without having to pay the bug man a fortune. Thank you ORTHO!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KILLS HUGE SPIDERS!!!!!!!!! I LOVE this product!!! I moved from the East Coast of N.C. to the farthest western part of the state, after about 6 months in my new home, I saw the most humongous spider of my life crawling on the top of my couch!!! (supposedly its called a "wolf spider" according to locals, and I have seen them at the least the size of a small child's hand!) Supposedly, "they don't bite", and "arent poisonous", but jeez', I don't want to take that chance!! So..I tried every spray I could find, and nothing worked, until I found "Home Defense". Granted, one spraying does not work for 12 months for me, but the moment I spot one inside, I spray the entire house inside (does not hurt my carpet or upholstery), and all around the entry ways, and it usually lasts for about 6 months. I NEVER let my supply get low!! Thank you Ortho!!!<3
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wrong caps and wand not usable I bought this item today. When I arrived home to use it, it appears the wand connection and the cap are incompatible. The instructional video here even shows the old flip up and push until it clicks connection. There are no directions on how to connect the wand to the new cap with the on/off feature. There is no way to use the comfort wand. I ended up dumping this into an old hand pump pressure sprayer to use the product.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't kill fleas Bought this item 5 weeks ago, sprayed garage for flea infestation. entered garage 1 week later, still infested with fleas, sprayed again, 1 week later entered garage still flea infestation, sprayed again and again and again at 1 week intervals. still have fleas in garage, used the whole gallon in there and still have fleas infestation.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fail Unless sprayed directly on cockroaches does not kill. They will walk right across when dry? End up spraying daily in kitchen and only when roaches are moving. Have used Ortho Home Defense for years with only Germin spiney crickets imune to it, as a barier they to had to be sprayed directly.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good bug spray. I have been using this off and on for the last five years because it's the only one locally I can get. It always seems to make the bug problem worse. Like it attracts them, but doesn't kill or get rid of them. Home Depot, please get a better bug spray or at least have more options.
Date published: 2019-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from For years Home Depot sold this product as the leading insecticide.Now that Ortho has made billion... For years Home Depot sold this product as the leading insecticide.Now that Ortho has made billions they are selling a watered down insecticide solution. This stuff will not kill anything. Bugs seem to enjoy the buzz they get from crawling over this stuff. Waste of money.
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective Wand The wand worked well for the summer of 2018. I removed the batteries for the winter and when I tried to use again this spring the wand turns on but doesn't pump the liquid.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work I use this product and saw no results at my job is our office area, so a week later I sprayed it directly on ants and roaches and they still managed to crawl away
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Sprayed as directed inside and out and I watched the ants walk right across the line that I had sprayed the day before. Total waste of money.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of $$ i wont waste any more of my time with home defense,it doesn't do what it says it does..looks like i am going back to diatomaceous earth
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I sprayed around my entire home and after a week... I sprayed around my entire home and after a week the bugs were out and about the entry of my home again.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Roaches continue here is Florida Unfortunate your product does not work for the Florida Roaches
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Kills bugs. We live in NC on a slab foundation, so little critters sneak in from time to time. I buy Ortho Home Defense and apply it to the inside & outside of my home & garage. I rarely ever see bugs in our home, but once I spray, critters start crawling out and dying. I apply about every 6-8 months. It doesn’t last a full year, but it’s still worth it. Around month 6-7, I’ll start to notice a few bugs here and there. That’s when I know it’s time to Re-up on the ortho. This time, I waited the full 12 months & saw a roach in my house. I almost died! I hate bugs. For a bug hater, Ortho will be your new best buddy. I just finished spraying my house again. Excellent product.
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New battery driven sprayer sucks. I am used to applying... New battery driven sprayer sucks. I am used to applying this product with a hand sprayer or one which allows pulling and then s praying. The new battery driven sprayer is awful. I had a hard time getting it to work and when it finally did, I could not adjust the pattern to anything but stream. I have used this product in my home for many years with great success, but "if it ain't broke, don'dt fix it". The time spent in trying to get the sprayer to work and get the proper pattern was not worth my time. I have a hand sprayer that I will supstitute until the product is exhausted and will buy a Bayer product next time. When you have something that works, stay with it.The battery driven sprayer simply sucks
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Simply Works I started using this product several years back. To put it plainly, it works almost immediately. Within a few hours of spraying, I notice fewer bugs showing up than usual. After about a week or so, I only see babies. Before long, bugs disappear and become a rarity altogether. So far I've noticed it's wise to spray about every 6 months to keep bugs out in this humid area I live in, which is still reasonable and worth the time/money spent doing it. Whenever I neglect to use this product, I can definitely tell the difference. As such, I will continue to purchase this product and have it on hand for unexpected home invasions. As of yet, it's the only one I can trust because it simply works.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best insecticide! This Ortho Home defense insect killer is totally awesome!!!! Works better than paying for an exterminator! Normally, I spray inside my home couple of times a year because I live in a apartment complex, so buying this product was the best decision, So far I’ve sprayed once, I tollaly noticed the diference the next following day. I dont have roaches Whatsoever, nor spiders, I love the spray nozzle on this--it sprays a continuous stream and I have no hand fatigue after spraying for a long time.This stuff is simply the best. Highly recommended .
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Good
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have been a user of this product for many years on 2 properties that I own. This is the 1st time that I am utterly disappointed with its effectiveness and wand! The wand stopped spraying out product after a couple of uses; albeit, you can hear the mechanism running. I had to take the wand off of a Round Up bottle to use this product. Moreover, the effectiveness of Ortho Home Defense is horrible! The product no longer acts as a barrier, nor kills any of the ants that I tend to have a problem with in one of my properties. One day I literally sprayed my window sills and exterior door frames 3 times in 24 hours. I am going back to good ole fashion Raid products.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go-to for insect problems. One gallon is more than enough to spray around the outside ... This is my go-to for insect problems. One gallon is more than enough to spray around the outside of my house and inside the basement. One application each spring and no more insects, ants, roaches, spiders, etc., inside the house for the entire year. A few of my neighbors get monthly visits from an exterminator and still have insect problems. I pay a fraction of their monthly expense for one self-treatment with Ortho Home Defense get protection for a full year - every year. No unpleasant odor. Save your pumping finger, time, and energy. Buy a small pump sprayer, pour in the Ortho, and let the sprayer do most of the work. Then put it away until next year.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The product is poor!!! I got the product for roaches in my home & I tried it twice & it doesn't w... The product is poor!!! I got the product for roaches in my home & I tried it twice & it doesn't work. I even put it around my home as well this is awful I want a full refund & reimbursement on gas for having to drive 50 miles to only be disappointed again!!!! I had the product a total of 3 1/ 2 weeks trying it out
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ortho Home Defense works well but doesn't last as long as the container says it will. I find I m... Ortho Home Defense works well but doesn't last as long as the container says it will. I find I must reapply it on a monthly basis around the house perimeter. It does last longer and works very well when used indoors and has eliminated some spring hard shell bug species (unidentified) that emerged for years in the house. It may not work as well outdoors for me because I live in a very wooded area and there are more than enough bugs and insects to break through the barrier. I do recommend it and I highly suggest getting the wand rather than the hand-squeeze applicator if you have a large area to spray.
Date published: 2019-06-04
  • y_2019, m_7, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2362
  • loc_, sid_300569432, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT