#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205599919

Model #100520288

Store SKU #1001101751

35 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix

$5198
  • Grow a thick lawn that thrives in both shady and sunny areas
  • All needed ingredients are conveniently pre-mixed in the bag
  • Covers up to 525 sq. ft.
  • See More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas

Repair bare spots in two weeks or less in areas of your yard that receive full sun to medium shade.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Repairs Bare Spots

Repair Bare Spots

Pennington One Step Complete Seeding Mixture system makes it easy to grow beautiful, thick, water-saving grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Our super absorbent seeding mixture holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients needed to grow lush, thick grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas How to Apply

How to Apply

Follow these guidelines to patch bare spots.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Preparation

Prepare

Remove debris, then rake the soil to loosen and smooth the top layer.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Application

Apply

Spread the seeding mix approximately 1 cup per sq. ft. everywhere thick, beautiful grass is desired.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Water

Water

This is the most important step! Keep the soil moist by watering daily (twice a day if you have to) until grass sprouts and reaches about 3 inches tall. The mulch turns a lighter color when it's dry indicating that it's time to water again.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Where it Grows

Where It Grows

Northern, transition, and Southern zones

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Light Requirements

Light Requirements

Full sun to medium shade (4 to 8 hours of daily sun)

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Seedling Emergence

Seedling Emergence

7 to 14 days

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Traffic Tolerance

Traffic Tolerance

Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Drought Tolerance

Drought Tolerance

Very Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Planting Rate

Planting Rate

1 cup per 1 sq. ft.

With Pennington, your lawn will get the love and attention it deserves. The Pennington One Step Complete Sun and Shade North Mulch seeding mix makes it easier to grow beautiful, thick, water-saving grass that thrives in both sunny and moderately shady areas. Everything you need is pre-mixed in one bag: premium Smart Seed grass seed, mulch and professional-grade fertilizer. Simply apply, water and watch it grow. Perfect for patching or repairing problem spots in your lawn. This super-absorbent seeding mix holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients to help grass grow healthy and strong.
  • Pennington One Step, Smart Seed and Lawn Booster Grass Seed
  • Contains a combination of grass seed, mulch and fertilizer
  • Ideal for new lawn growth and spot repair
  • Contains stabilized-release fertilizer that feeds your lawn for up to 8 weeks
  • Best for full sun to medium shade (4 to 8 hours of sun per day)
  • Superior drought, heat and disease resistant
  • Save up to 30% more water each year versus ordinary grass seed
  • Penkoted technology protects the seed from deadly fungus during the early growth period when grass is most susceptible to disease
  • Not recommended for use in warm season lawns

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

current product
35 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix
Best Seller20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and ShadeKentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed25 lbs. Sun and Shade Grass Seed
BrandPenningtonScottsPenningtonJB
Name35 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and ShadeKentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed25 lbs. Sun and Shade Grass Seed
Price
$5198
$5849
$6698
$9998
Ratings
(2706)
(964)
(550)
(64)
Grass TypeSun and ShadeMixedFescueSun and Shade
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,South Florida,Southeast,Southeast-Central Texas,Southwest,Southwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainNorthwest Coast
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelMedium LightMedium LightAny LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantNoYesNoNo
Grass Seed UsePatch & RepairPatch & RepairNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsAccessorySeeds
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
525
Product Depth (in.)
5.0
Product Height (in.)
24.0
Product Size
35.51 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
16.0

Details

Drought Tolerant
No
Grass Seed Use
Patch & Repair
Grass Type
Sun and Shade
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
35
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,South Florida,Southeast,Southeast-Central Texas,Southwest,Southwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.2
    out of 2,706 reviews
  • 52% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,706 reviews
Despite following instructions and repeated watering, the grass is growing...
Despite following instructions and repeated watering, the grass is growing weakly and unevenly, still leaving some bald spots. Not the same as before-and-after picture comparison on the bag ...
by HomeDepotCustomer
Response from Pennington TeamJun 14, 2021
Hello, we apologize for your negative experience with our product. Please contact our customer service department toll-free at 1-800-285-7333 so we may assist you further. Thank you. pennington
Used this product to repair a small bare spot the size of a large frying pan and a larger area wi...
Used this product to repair a small bare spot the size of a large frying pan and a larger area with several bare spots. The small area grew grass, the larger area did not. It has been 5 weeks since I seeded both areas. Maybe I did not seed correctly? I am disappointed with the results.
by hollydoggle
Response from Pennington TeamJun 7, 2021
Thank you for your review! Should you have any questions or require additional assistance, please contact our customer service department toll-free at 1-800-285-7333. pennington
1 person found this helpful
I just used the product and I am waiting to see if it works. Then I will do another review.
I just used the product and I am waiting to see if it works. Then I will do another review.
by Granny
The WORST!!! 1 out of maybe 200 seeds actually grew.
1 of of every 200 seeds grew at best NOT GOOD. The ratio of what grows compares to how many seeds you put down even if you overseed it is not good. Maybe got 50 cents worth of what I paid for.
by henri
Response from Pennington TeamApr 22, 2021
Hrc2, we're sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our product. Thanks for letting us know. Hearing about your experience is important to us. We hope you'll consider giving us a call at 1-800-285-7333 so we can learn more. pennington
3 people found this helpful
Amazing, I was able to grow a beautiful lush green lawn under our huge pine tree, where grass nev...
Amazing, I was able to grow a beautiful lush green lawn under our huge pine tree, where grass never grew before. I definitely Recommend Pennington Smart Seed
by cinnnabunz
Great For Small Spots
I wouldn't use this on a large area but for little spot treatments, it seems to be pretty nice. I typically stray from combination products because I can never be sure of how well mixed it is. I fear that I might get a ton of seed in one spot but only Fertilizer and soil in another spot. But since I only needed to cover about 30 sq ft, I figured I would give it a shot. I shook up the bag spread this evenly but there are definitely dense patches in some spots and little to no growth in others but the good outweighs the bad enough to where I'm glad I tried it. I applied the product on September 18th and my results pic is after the 2nd time I've mowed which is October 14th. I must also add that I did throw a light coating of Lesco Starter Fertilizer on top of this as well to give it a little extra help.
by CJackson
Response from Pennington TeamDec 9, 2020
Hi CJackson, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review! pennington
1 person found this helpful
I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased th...
I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased this. It especially looked bad, considering about one-third of the lawn had new soil and new grass seed. So one glance at the yard looks like two different lawns are in the same place. I purchased this in hopes that the situation would be rectified. Two weeks later, and it just looks like smashed dog food in areas where there are still the same patches. Bunny rabbits and birds are about the only thing that enjoy this stuff. I considered one of those nets to stop wild animals from eating the fertilizer/grass seed, but that didn't stop the new grass seed from growing in less than a week. I would never buy this again.
by Montie
Response from Pennington TeamDec 4, 2020
Hi Montie, We certainly wouldn't expect this product to cause an experience like this, so we'd like to chat further with you about this. When you have a moment, please give our consumer care center a call at 1-800-285-7333. Thank you. pennington
1 person found this helpful
Awesome product with good prep
Prep is key: First time I used it, I just threw it on the lawn, got some grass, and it quickly died. Second time I used it I already had some compost down a few weeks prior. Raked out any dead grass/thatch and put down a thin layer of topsoil. Put down the one step, watered, and had grass coming up in 5 days. In three weeks, the lawn looks awesome. I rarely leave reviews for anything, but this worked great and definitely deserved a review. See attached for results from beginning to 3 weeks later. Completely different lawn. Tip: Buy the big bag of mix and the small handheld container of mix. Use the small container first, and refill it from the big bag. Makes spreading product much easier/more consistent.
by Derek
Response from Pennington TeamDec 4, 2020
Hi Derek, Thank you for sharing your review! pennington
3 people found this helpful
I highly recommend this product but you can find it else where for much cheaper and a bigger bag ...
I highly recommend this product but you can find it else where for much cheaper and a bigger bag of it too.
by Gena
3 people found this helpful
Nothing but shade but it still grew
I was skeptical at first but i have nothing but dirt near my home. I spread this mix by hand and watered it once in the morning and once in the evening. I saw results after about a week of planting. Im hoping that it continues to keep growing
by Zach
Showing 1-10 of 2,706 reviews