Internet #205599915

Model #100520281

Store SKU #1001101708

5 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix

  • Pre-mixed grass seed, professional-grade fertilizer and mulch
  • Ideal for sunny to moderately shady areas
  • Covers up to 75 sq. ft. with 7-14 day seed germination
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$1298

Product Overview

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas

Pennington One Step Complete for Tall Fescue Areas

Repair bare spots in two weeks or less in areas of your yard that receive full sun to medium shade.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Repairs Bare Spots

Repair Bare Spots

Pennington One Step Complete Seeding Mixture system makes it easy to grow beautiful, thick, water-saving grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Pre-Mixed and Ready to Use

Our super absorbent seeding mixture holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients needed to grow lush, thick grass.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas How to Apply

How to Apply

Follow these guidelines to patch bare spots.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Preparation

Prepare

Remove debris, then rake the soil to loosen and smooth the top layer.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Application

Apply

Spread the seeding mix approximately 1 cup per sq. ft. everywhere thick, beautiful grass is desired.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Water

Water

This is the most important step! Keep the soil moist by watering daily (twice a day if you have to) until grass sprouts and reaches about 3 inches tall. The mulch turns a lighter color when it's dry indicating that it's time to water again.

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Where it Grows

Where It Grows

Northern, transition, and Southern zones

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Light Requirements

Light Requirements

Full sun to medium shade (4 to 8 hours of daily sun)

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Seedling Emergence

Seedling Emergence

7 to 14 days

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Traffic Tolerance

Traffic Tolerance

Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Drought Tolerance

Drought Tolerance

Very Good

Pennington One Step Complete for Sun & Shade Areas Planting Rate

Planting Rate

1 cup per 1 sq. ft.

Pennington One Step Complete Complete seeding mix makes it easy to grow beautiful, thick, water-saving grass that thrives in both sunny and moderately shady areas. Everything you need is pre-mixed in one bag - premium Smart Seed grass seed, mulch, and professional-grade fertilizer. Simply apply, water, and watch it grow. Perfect for patching or repairing problem spots in your lawn. This super-absorbent seeding mix holds and maintains moisture around the seed while providing the essential nutrients to help grass grow healthy and strong.
  • Contains a combination of grass seed, mulch and fertilizer
  • Ideal for new lawn growth and spot repair
  • Contains stabilized-release fertilizer that feeds your lawn for up to 8 weeks
  • Superior drought, heat and disease resistance
  • Germinates in 7-14 days
  • Penkoted technology protects the seed from deadly fungus during the early growth period when grass is most susceptible to disease
  • Save up to 30% more water each year versus ordinary grass seed
  • Best for full sun to medium shade (4 - 8 hours of sun per day)
  • Not recommended for use in warm season lawns

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

current product
5 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix
Smart Seed 3 lbs. Ohio State Grass Seed and Fertilizer3 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade MixSmart Seed 7 lbs. Ohio State Grass Seed and Fertilizer
BrandPenningtonPenningtonScottsPennington
Name5 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer MixSmart Seed 3 lbs. Ohio State Grass Seed and Fertilizer3 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade MixSmart Seed 7 lbs. Ohio State Grass Seed and Fertilizer
Price
$1298
$1548
$1613
$2998
Ratings
(2272)
(3)
(3596)
(3)
Grass TypeSun and ShadeSun and ShadeSun and ShadeSun and Shade
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,South Florida,Southeast,Southeast-Central Texas,Southwest,Southwest MountainMidwestAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainMidwest
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelMedium LightMedium LightMedium LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantYesYesYesYes
Grass Seed UsePatch & RepairNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsSeedsSeeds
Product Weight (lb.)53.142 lb37.155 lb
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
75
Product Depth (in.)
5.1
Product Height (in.)
12.0
Product Size
5.6 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
9.0

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Seed Use
Patch & Repair
Grass Type
Sun and Shade
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
5
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,South Florida,Southeast,Southeast-Central Texas,Southwest,Southwest Mountain
Returnable
180-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

68Questions27Answers

Hello how good is this for areas being driven on?

Asked by Terribleter January 5, 2021
1
Answer

Hi Terribleter, We only recommend driving on any lawn minimally and when the soil is dry, as tire treads damage grass and can tear up soil. Thank you.

This states all in one, Does this mean I don't have to cover with topsoil to keep the bird from ...

Asked by Shooter August 27, 2020
3
Answers

Hi Shooter, this product doesn't have to be covered with topsoil. Just be sure to follow the directions on the backside of the packaging and you'll be set. Thanks!

Product info says not to be used in warm season lawn ? What is that ? I live on LInnew York need ...

Asked by Craftykaren July 22, 2020
2
Answers

Hi Craftykaren, warm season lawns are those made up of warm season grasses, including Bermuda, Zoysia, St. Augustine, Centipede, and Bahia. These are opposite of cool season grasses, which make up our Sun & Shade mix, including Tall or Fine Fescue, Perennial Ryegrass, and Kentucky Bluegrass. Since daytime temperatures typically exceed 80 degrees during July in New York, we would recommend waiting until fall to apply this product. Cool season grasses need cooler temperatures, ideally between 50 and 75 degrees. For more help, call our Customer Service Dept. at 1-800-285-7333. Thanks!

Is this dog safe?

Asked by Dogfriendly July 5, 2020
2
Answers

Hello, once this product is applied, animals and children should remain off the seeded area until it has been watered in and has thoroughly dried. Thank You!

I have St. Augustine grass, can this be used with my type of grass? Will it blend in and will it ...

Asked by Tash June 20, 2020
1
Answer

Our Dense Shade grass seed products consist of fine fescues, which are thin bladed and have a bunch type growth habit, so they may not blend perfectly with St. Augustine. Dense Shade products are some of the most shade tolerant blends of grass seed, requiring only 2-4 hours of sun per day. If the area that you are planning to seed receives a limited amount of sun, causing your St. Augustine to struggle, this may be the best option for you. Our Dense Shade products contain perennial grasses that establish best during the fall, when temperatures are below 80 degrees during the day and there are at least 45 days before the first hard frost is expected. When this blend has ample time to develop a sturdy root system before warmer temperatures arrive, it has the ability to survive throughout the summertime and grow year after year without being reseeded.

Is this safe to use if you have dogs in the yard?

Asked by Jim April 15, 2020
5
Answers

Don’t have pets

what is a warm season lawn?

Asked by john April 6, 2020
5
Answers

I have a cool season lawn. It goes off of where you live in the country. In the north it’s cool season grass types. Down south it’s warm season. Just look up grass type zones and it will show you.

I just purchased and laid this bag in Hawaii but just now realized that it says that it is "not r...

Asked by Mike March 17, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Mike, Please reach out to The Home Depot customer support for further assistance. Thank you.

What type og grass is it

Asked by Batbieboo January 8, 2020
2
Answers

fescue

Can this be used for fall seeding over an established yard? I like the idea that the fertilizer ...

Asked by Subaru1 October 21, 2019
5
Answers

I wouldn't use it for overseeding. It's for patching. It contains mulch. Put it specifically in the holes and keep it wet until it is three inches high. Let it grow longer before you mow it.

5 lb. One Step Complete for Sun and Shade North Areas with Smart Seed, Mulch, Fertilizer Mix - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 2,234 reviews
  • 52% recommend this product
5star-icon835
4star-icon364
3star-icon198
2star-icon180
1star-icon657
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,234 reviews
Great For Small Spots
I wouldn't use this on a large area but for little spot treatments, it seems to be pretty nice. I typically stray from combination products because I can never be sure of how well mixed it is. I fear that I might get a ton of seed in one spot but only Fertilizer and soil in another spot. But since I only needed to cover about 30 sq ft, I figured I would give it a shot. I shook up the bag spread this evenly but there are definitely dense patches in some spots and little to no growth in others but the good outweighs the bad enough to where I'm glad I tried it. I applied the product on September 18th and my results pic is after the 2nd time I've mowed which is October 14th. I must also add that I did throw a light coating of Lesco Starter Fertilizer on top of this as well to give it a little extra help.
by CJackson
Response from Pennington TeamDec 9, 2020
Hi CJackson, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review! pennington
1 person found this helpful
I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased th...
I am not impressed. Weed killer left brown areas in the yard, which was the reason I purchased this. It especially looked bad, considering about one-third of the lawn had new soil and new grass seed. So one glance at the yard looks like two different lawns are in the same place. I purchased this in hopes that the situation would be rectified. Two weeks later, and it just looks like smashed dog food in areas where there are still the same patches. Bunny rabbits and birds are about the only thing that enjoy this stuff. I considered one of those nets to stop wild animals from eating the fertilizer/grass seed, but that didn't stop the new grass seed from growing in less than a week. I would never buy this again.
by Montie
Response from Pennington TeamDec 4, 2020
Hi Montie, We certainly wouldn't expect this product to cause an experience like this, so we'd like to chat further with you about this. When you have a moment, please give our consumer care center a call at 1-800-285-7333. Thank you. pennington
1 person found this helpful
Awesome product with good prep
Prep is key: First time I used it, I just threw it on the lawn, got some grass, and it quickly died. Second time I used it I already had some compost down a few weeks prior. Raked out any dead grass/thatch and put down a thin layer of topsoil. Put down the one step, watered, and had grass coming up in 5 days. In three weeks, the lawn looks awesome. I rarely leave reviews for anything, but this worked great and definitely deserved a review. See attached for results from beginning to 3 weeks later. Completely different lawn. Tip: Buy the big bag of mix and the small handheld container of mix. Use the small container first, and refill it from the big bag. Makes spreading product much easier/more consistent.
by Derek
Response from Pennington TeamDec 4, 2020
Hi Derek, Thank you for sharing your review! pennington
1 person found this helpful
I highly recommend this product but you can find it else where for much cheaper and a bigger bag ...
I highly recommend this product but you can find it else where for much cheaper and a bigger bag of it too.
by Gena
2 people found this helpful
Nothing but shade but it still grew
I was skeptical at first but i have nothing but dirt near my home. I spread this mix by hand and watered it once in the morning and once in the evening. I saw results after about a week of planting. Im hoping that it continues to keep growing
by Zach
After placing the Pennington down it started growing within 2...
After placing the Pennington down it started growing within 2 weeks. However, this was not the type of grass currently growing in my yard. I checked the package and it didn’t state the type of grass. Just make sure you select the correct Pennington grass. Good product.
by HomeDepotCustomer
1 person found this helpful
Spreading difficult. Germination poor after 25 days.
Spreading difficult. Germination poor after 25 days.
by Charles
1 person found this helpful
Surprise!
Against many reviews here I purchased this product. I tried a small area first before buying multiple bags. I watered 3 times a day as I saw the ground drying out in the 70-80 degree weather. It says sprouts will occur on Day 3. Well, nothing happened. Day 4, I saw 3 leaves sprout. Just 3! So I went out and bought some different grass seed to try on another area. Well, the morning of Day 5 sprouts sprung up everywhere! Day 6, even more! I was completely surprised that I should’ve just had a little more patience. I continued to water 3x’s a day and it worked as expected. The dirt did get a little separated by my fur baby but I can still see a few sprouts in those areas. I will be doing a touch up for the areas my dog messed up. Due to a huge tree hardly any sunlight hits this area and it was just dirt. So, I guess it’s uphill from here!
by Jo
1 person found this helpful
Surprise!
Against many reviews here I purchased this product. I tried a small area first before buying multiple bags. I watered 3 times a day as I saw the ground drying out in the 70-80 degree weather. It says sprouts will occur on Day 3. Well, nothing happened. Day 4, I saw 3 leaves sprout. Just 3! So I went out and bought some different grass seed to try on another area. Well, the morning of Day 5 sprouts sprung up everywhere! Day 6, even more! I was completely surprised that I should’ve just had a little more patience. I continued to water 3x’s a day and it worked as expected. The dirt did get a little separated by my fur baby but I can still see a few sprouts in those areas. I will be doing a touch up for the areas my dog messed up. Due to a huge tree hardly any sunlight hits this area and it was just dirt. So, I guess it’s uphill from here!
by Jo
I have been using pennington one step complete for 3years...
I have been using pennington one step complete for 3years now and I haven't had any problems. I have used it for over seeding and also for bear spot repair. I just purchased 8 35ibs bags this month to over seed a different area of my lawn that I couldn't do last year. I love it.
by Sidney
1 person found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 2,234 reviews