Internet #203381348

Model # HPA11-11599

0729849115996

PetSafe

8-1/4 in. x 12-1/4 in. Medium Freedom Aluminum Pet Door

$ 61 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

The PetSafe Freedom Aluminum pet door gives your pet all the freedom it needs. Easy to install, the solid aluminum frame has reinforced corners for heavy use or for multiple pet homes. The flexible, soft flap is tinted and adjustable and has a magnetic closure and pile weather-stripping along the sides to form a weather-resistant seal. A closing panel is included for improved weather-resistance and to control your pet's access to the pet door.
  • Pet access door - for pets up to 40 lbs.
  • Medium entrance size - 8-1/4 in. x 12-1/4 in.
  • Solid aluminum frame - perfect for heavy use or multiple pet homes
  • Transparent single flap - magnetic closure for weather-tight seal fits doors from 3/8 in. to 2 in.
  • Easy, do-it-yourself installation - includes detailed instructions, cutting template and installation hardware
  • Locking panel included - improves weather-resistance and helps control your pet's access

Product Overview

Model #: HPA11-11599
Internet #: 203381348

The PetSafe Freedom Aluminum pet door gives your pet all the freedom it needs. Easy to install, the solid aluminum frame has reinforced corners for heavy use or for multiple pet homes. The flexible, soft flap is tinted and adjustable and has a magnetic closure and pile weather-stripping along the sides to form a weather-resistant seal. A closing panel is included for improved weather-resistance and to control your pet's access to the pet door.

  • Pet access door - for pets up to 40 lbs.
  • Medium entrance size - 8-1/4 in. x 12-1/4 in.
  • Solid aluminum frame - perfect for heavy use or multiple pet homes
  • Transparent single flap - magnetic closure for weather-tight seal fits doors from 3/8 in. to 2 in.
  • Easy, do-it-yourself installation - includes detailed instructions, cutting template and installation hardware
  • Locking panel included - improves weather-resistance and helps control your pet's access

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand PetSafe PetSafe PetSafe PetSafe
Name 8-1/8 in. x 12-1/4 in. Medium White Plastic Pet Door 8-1/4 in. x 12-1/4 in. Medium Freedom Aluminum Pet Door 13-5/8 in. x 23 in. X-Large Freedom Aluminum Pet Door 10-1/4 in. x 16-1/4 in. Large Freedom Aluminum Pet Door
Price
$46.02
$61.98
$62.92
$88.09
Ratings (73) (81) (80) (80)
Maximum Pet Weight (lb.) 40 40 220 100
Pet Door Mount Type Door Mount Door Mount Door Mount Door Mount
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Door Thickness (In.)
Max Thickness 2 Inch
Product Depth (in.)
2.25
Product Height (in.)
15.625
Product Width (in.)
10.75

Details

Electronic
No
Features
Lockable Flap/Panel
Lockable Flap/Panel
Yes
Maximum Pet Weight (lb.)
40
Pet Door Mount Type
Door Mount
Pet Door Opening Width (in.) x Height (in.)
8.25 x 12.25
Pet Supplies Product Type
Pet Door Flap/Panel
Returnable
90-Day
Type
Pet Door

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 YEAR

Specifications

Dimensions

Door Thickness (In.)
Max Thickness 2 Inch
Product Depth (in.)
2.25
Product Height (in.)
15.625
Product Width (in.)
10.75

Details

Electronic
No
Features
Lockable Flap/Panel
Lockable Flap/Panel
Yes
Maximum Pet Weight (lb.)
40
Pet Door Mount Type
Door Mount
Pet Door Opening Width (in.) x Height (in.)
8.25 x 12.25
Pet Supplies Product Type
Pet Door Flap/Panel
Returnable
90-Day
Type
Pet Door

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 YEAR

Questions & Answers

what color is the surround?

what color is the surround?
Asked by: Elisa
White
Answered by: Husky
Date published: 2019-03-12

What are the chances this can be installed on an RV metal door?

What are the chances this can be installed on an RV metal door?
Asked by: Megan
Yes, it could be installed in a camper door.
Answered by: masterdiy1
Date published: 2019-06-14

Is there an additional purchase available to get metal screws?

Is there an additional purchase available to get metal screws?
Asked by: MichelleF
I used the plastic, and they worked great.
Answered by: masterdiy1
Date published: 2019-01-08

The pet door looks beige. Is this correct? I prefer a clear flap so the dog can see that it's th...

The pet door looks beige. Is this correct? I prefer a clear flap so the dog can see that it's the way to outside.
Asked by: thenyoreeta
It is beige. However, my dog has never had an issue with the door.
Answered by: Buck
Date published: 2019-02-28
  • y_2019, m_7, d_14, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_42
  • loc_, sid_203381348, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8-1/4 in. x 12-1/4 in. Medium Freedom Aluminum Pet Door is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit disappointed in quality I have an older version of this same PetSafe dog door and it was made better than the new version. The new version comes with PLASTIC screws - how cheap! And the locking door is no longer metal, but plastic. It is advertised as an aluminum door still, so I expected it ALL to be aluminum. Door does seal well and installs easily however.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install and works well I've had the same kitty door for about 3 years and it's working well, haven't yet had to replace the flap. That let him get into the garage. The new door now allows him to get into the house. The biggest hassle to the installation would be the same with any door... cutting the hole in the door. The garage door is a 2" metal clad, foam filled door and we cut the hole with a Saws-all... A stout jig saw would probably work as well. The new install was through 3/8" plywood and as recommended, I snipped on a pre-scored line to shorten the depth of the door and it fit nice and snug. Having someone on the other side of the door really helped but could have been installed by one person. It's a reasonable price and looks nice. The plastic model is much cheaper but this one feels solid.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good item for the price This is the perfect door for the larger breeds. This allows for less stress on the spine and hind legs when passing thru the opening. The security panel is well constructed.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and easy to install... It's a better value through Home Depot than buying direct from manufacturer or other sites. Several great improvements over previous ones. It's attractive and fairly easy to install if it's a new installation. Mine was a replacement of an older door that was larger so I had to do some improvising to make the wall look right and neat. I used it also in my vacation home using the flap on the inside wall and instead of using the outside trim frame I used a wood trim border around the opening and made a wood hinged door that matches the wood exterior of the house. This unit is supposed to be for installing in a door but it is versatile enough that with a little thought and planning you can adapt it to go most anywhere.
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awsome metal frame for heavy duty dogs!! This dog door is to replace and older, smaller plastic frame dog door which has run out of time. Have one large and one extra large dogs. The extra large dog currently has to duck to get through the older door. I have high hopes for this larger and metal frames door. Because the top and sides will not be constantly scraped it should hold up much better. I have not installed it yet because it has been much too cold to have the back door open or a large hole cut in it for any length of time. The only thing I did not like about the door were the plastic screws in which to attach and secure the new door. Seriously?! Plastic? For a 100 pound plus dog to go flying in and out of? I will be purchasing metal screws before I install the door. Still overall, seems to be good, sturdy and high quality, I am pleased.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from One step forward, five steps back I was very excited to see that the flap can now be changed without having to remove the frame. However, the new style flap is flimsy, blows open with the breeze and the magnetic closure system is waaaay down the scale on quality - these flaps used to SNAP closed and stay closed - I am now trying to see if I can invent some way to attach magnetic tape to get a better seal. I love doggy doors and have used them for about 15 years - this is the first one I have been disappointed in. Sure wish they'd put quality back in the flap!
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had an older PetSafe Classic XL dog door and... I had an older PetSafe Classic XL dog door and when I went to re-order a new flap I found out PetSafe discontinued that model as well the replacement flap! I had to buy a NEW dog door so I went with the Freedom XL. Home Depot was by far the cheapest price available and shipping was free.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I already had a large plastic doggy door, that broke I replaced it with this metal one. I had to ... I already had a large plastic doggy door, that broke I replaced it with this metal one. I had to barely cut the door a little more for this one to fit. Your price on the metal one beat everyone else's price. Glad I ordered this product from Home Depot.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have two German Shepherds that are very rough on these doors. There are two installed on our s... We have two German Shepherds that are very rough on these doors. There are two installed on our screened porch. We absolutely would recommend them for outside porches.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Flap, Cheap Plastic Screws, Weak Magnets .............................................. Poor Quality Flap, Cheap Plastic Screws, Weak Magnets .............................................. Very disappointed! This door replaced our previous PetSafe door and is no improvement over the worn out and deformed door that it replaced. The plastic flap is very stiff in cold weather and doesn't close nicely. Would be much better if made of silicone.The magnet closure is too weak to pull the door closed. I'm going to try adding rare earth magnets to see if I can improve it. The plastic screws that are used to install the door are a joke and must be replaced before you even begin the process of installing the door. The door is WAY too overpriced for the quality of the product and I am angry with myself for not putting this purchase price money toward a higher quality door instead of wasting it on this one.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dog door for large dog (90 lbs) HD had dog... dog door for large dog (90 lbs) HD had dog door I was looking for at a better price than the discount online pet sites. Delivered quickly and exactly what I wanted
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The picture is a little misleading - read description closely. It looks like the flap is thicker... The picture is a little misleading - read description closely. It looks like the flap is thicker but is a single flap. It does work good for my Boston Terrier.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alright - I Guess?! I think that anyone giving a review of this dog door as "easy to install" must be putting them on doors very different from mine (and from what I can see to be the same as all my neighbors). I'm referring to the wood-inside alumium-outside insulation-in-the-middle type, and although I found this product difficult to install I would probably say that ANY dog door would have been just as onerous because of the type of door we were attempting to cut through. So thank heavens for my friend down the street who came to the rescue - Andy happens to be a general contractor with an arsenal of tools - cause there's no WAY I would have been able to do this myself. Oh yeah - the one thing I found way off was measuring our dog's shoulder to line up with the template -- following the instructions would have resulted in a way too low installation so I had to eyeball it (Casey is a 14-pound Jack Russell and we used the medium door). As for our dog training herself on it -- we're 3 days in and she's still not using it without a whole lot of coaxing and holding it open for her (the magnetic snap back is making her shy away from it), but overall it's a good product and I'm sure that come the warm weather days when we're outside she'll want to be with us and force herself to figure it out. I'll try to upload a photo showing you the type of door we used this on, and I bid you all good luck out there with yours!
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very solid door. A lot bigger than I expected. Just wish it had more insulation when open. Doesn'... Very solid door. A lot bigger than I expected. Just wish it had more insulation when open. Doesn't keep wind out during the day.
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from installation video was a great help. template was a little contusing at first but i finally saw ... installation video was a great help. template was a little contusing at first but i finally saw the pattern.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I received an open box item and there were parts... I received an open box item and there were parts missing so I ended up having to return it.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Came quickly. Great price. Met my needs... Came quickly. Great price. Met my needs
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you get the correct one OK If you get the correct one OK
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice item eeasy install... nice item eeasy install
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Was not the right size... Was not the right size
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for both me and my dog. Installer said... Works great for both me and my dog. Installer said it was sturdy and easy to install
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and works great!... Easy to install and works great!
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Best quality Pet Door. If I, a 66 yr. old woman can install one of these in an insulated garage door with the EASY to understand instructions, anyone can install one. They are tough and rugged. I've had our first one for over 4 yrs now. And it is as good as the day it was new. We are buying another home, so off course this is my pet door of choice.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Do not Buy, ...Retreat..! 1) Cheap Quality. 2) I would not recommend. I was dissatisfied. My previous installation was much easier. 3) Cheap Plastic Screws, I had to go buy new ones. 4) The led cover is slim..SNAPS on, instead of making it a slide door. 5) I wish this was durable materials instead of disposable temporary materials 6) Difficult installation ( Not impossible )_ but difficult. 7) Return it ? Well nope, I have a big hole on the door and just going through the whole hassle again is not even worth my time. So I guess I will settle with it.. and not waste any more time. The four walls along the door, plus the two frames are nightmare to put together. It is difficult to match the multiple walls to match the front and back plate frames. I think that a better design should have been built.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Petsafe large pet door This is the second one I have purchased only because we moved and it's awesome. Very easy to install and it's perfect size for my 60lb. Australian shepherd dogs. I love that it comes with a locking panel also for if we want them left outside or inside.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and great for my pet! My dog is older and although he is not huge (60 lb boxer), I was worried about getting him to squeeze through the smaller sized door. He can easily walk through this and has proved that you can teach an old dog new tricks!
Date published: 2013-06-04
  • y_2019, m_7, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_, sid_203381348, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 179ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT