Internet #203165686

Model # 6642

0662425028375

Post Protector

6 in. x 6 in. x 42 in. In-Ground Post Decay Protection

  • In-Ground Post Decay Protection for posts in soil or concrete
  • Simple installation and Post Longevity increased by 250%
  • Pole Barn, Deck, Fence, Pergola, Mailbox, any post-foundation job
$ 24 99
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+

Product Overview

  • In-Ground Post Decay Protection for posts in soil or concrete
  • Simple installation and Post Longevity increased by 250%
  • Pole Barn, Deck, Fence, Pergola, Mailbox, any post-foundation job
For 18 years, Post Protector has provided simple, slide-on ‘barrier’ protection for in-ground posts. It works in conjunction with the chemical preservative as an important additional layer of protection against soil-dwelling & atmospheric decay fungi & insect infestation. It’s first important to understand decay. Many believe that moisture CAUSES decay. Moisture is not the cause of decay but is one of (3) conditions needed for decay to occur. The conditions: (1) Moisture, (2) Oxygen & (3) Suitable temperature. These conditions enable the soil-dwelling or atmospheric decay fungi, as well as termites & other subterranean insects, to feed on the wood fiber. So the Decay/Degradation of ground-contact wood is not CAUSED by moisture but by the action of wood destroying organisms feeding on the wood. The ‘chemical preservatives’ protection strategy is to ‘poison’ the wood fiber, rendering it an unsuitable food source for the wood destroying organisms. The downside to that approach is that all chemical preservatives eventually lose resistance to decay and insect infestation. Post Protector becomes the perfect complement to the pressure treated (or cedar) post by simply providing a physical "barrier" isolating the post so the wood-destroying organisms have NO access to the post.
  • Simple slide-on installation
  • Perfect for both Pro and DIY
  • Speed, affordability, and strength of a direct burial post while wood destroying organism have no post access
  • HDPE lightweight, flexible and strong; 449 years of in-ground service life
  • Integral uplift protection feature with Uplift protection hardware/installation instruction pack
  • Integral drainage feature
  • Minimizes chemical leaching into the environment
  • Attractive appearance-rich clay tone color with wood grain texture
  • Easily trims to desired height above grade
  • Stronger, faster, and less expensive than concrete pier and steel bracket method
  • Weed-eater protection
  • Fits the typical 6 in. x 6 in. post with the actual dimensions of 5-½ in. x 5-½ in.
  • Can also be used to create a removable in-ground post
  • Toll free tech-line for expert product information/installation assistance
  • Item is a quantity of 1 Post Protector

Product Overview

  • In-Ground Post Decay Protection for posts in soil or concrete
  • Simple installation and Post Longevity increased by 250%
  • Pole Barn, Deck, Fence, Pergola, Mailbox, any post-foundation job
Model #: 6642
Internet #: 203165686

For 18 years, Post Protector has provided simple, slide-on ‘barrier’ protection for in-ground posts. It works in conjunction with the chemical preservative as an important additional layer of protection against soil-dwelling & atmospheric decay fungi & insect infestation. It’s first important to understand decay. Many believe that moisture CAUSES decay. Moisture is not the cause of decay but is one of (3) conditions needed for decay to occur. The conditions: (1) Moisture, (2) Oxygen & (3) Suitable temperature. These conditions enable the soil-dwelling or atmospheric decay fungi, as well as termites & other subterranean insects, to feed on the wood fiber. So the Decay/Degradation of ground-contact wood is not CAUSED by moisture but by the action of wood destroying organisms feeding on the wood. The ‘chemical preservatives’ protection strategy is to ‘poison’ the wood fiber, rendering it an unsuitable food source for the wood destroying organisms. The downside to that approach is that all chemical preservatives eventually lose resistance to decay and insect infestation. Post Protector becomes the perfect complement to the pressure treated (or cedar) post by simply providing a physical "barrier" isolating the post so the wood-destroying organisms have NO access to the post.

  • Simple slide-on installation
  • Perfect for both Pro and DIY
  • Speed, affordability, and strength of a direct burial post while wood destroying organism have no post access
  • HDPE lightweight, flexible and strong; 449 years of in-ground service life
  • Integral uplift protection feature with Uplift protection hardware/installation instruction pack
  • Integral drainage feature
  • Minimizes chemical leaching into the environment
  • Attractive appearance-rich clay tone color with wood grain texture
  • Easily trims to desired height above grade
  • Stronger, faster, and less expensive than concrete pier and steel bracket method
  • Weed-eater protection
  • Fits the typical 6 in. x 6 in. post with the actual dimensions of 5-½ in. x 5-½ in.
  • Can also be used to create a removable in-ground post
  • Toll free tech-line for expert product information/installation assistance
  • Item is a quantity of 1 Post Protector

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Post Protector Post Protector Post Protector Post Protector
Name 4 in. x 4 in. x 3.5 ft. In-Ground Fence Post Decay Protection 6 in. x 6 in. x 42 in. In-Ground Post Decay Protection 6 in. x 6 in. x 5 ft. In-Ground Fence Post Decay Protection 6 in. x 6 in. x 60 in. In-Ground Post Decay Protection (Case of 6-pieces)
Price
$20.50
$24.99
$37.07
$171.98 /case
Ratings (17) (27) (8) (22)
Features UV Protected UV Protected UV Protected UV Protected
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual post height (in.)
42
Actual post thickness (in.)
5.75
Actual post width (in.)
5.75
Product Depth (in.)
6
Product Height (in.)
42
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Application Type
Corner,End,Gatepost,Line,Terminal
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Beige
Features
UV Protected
Includes
Hardware
Material
Composite
Number of Posts Included
0
Product Weight (lb.)
3lb
Recommended Fastener
Screws
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Square

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
30 day manufacturer defect

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual post height (in.)
42
Actual post thickness (in.)
5.75
Actual post width (in.)
5.75
Product Depth (in.)
6
Product Height (in.)
42
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Application Type
Corner,End,Gatepost,Line,Terminal
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Beige
Features
UV Protected
Includes
Hardware
Material
Composite
Number of Posts Included
0
Product Weight (lb.)
3lb
Recommended Fastener
Screws
Returnable
90-Day
Shape
Square

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
30 day manufacturer defect

Questions & Answers

When installing a post with this protective sleeve , should the bottom of the post be set in conc...

When installing a post with this protective sleeve , should the bottom of the post be set in concrete or a few inches of material that will allow trapped moisture to wick from the very bottom , just below the section incase in concrete ? This is for a south Florida location,where the water level varies from 5 to 7 feet below the surface .
Asked by: Jim
It can be but is not necessary.
Answered by: SnSJ
Date published: 2017-11-14

will the post protector work for cylindrical posts?

am planning 6" posts
Asked by: Rick
No. It would not be stable.
Answered by: SnSJ
Date published: 2017-11-14

Will these work on 3ply 2x6 laminate posts

Asked by: Dale
We can help you with 3-ply but there are multiple styles so you will need to reach out to customer service at Post Protector to ensure you get the right one.
Answered by: Cornerstone Products Grp
Date published: 2019-02-12

Can this be used/cut to fit around existing post to a pole building in order to apply a barrier before pouring slab?

Asked by: Northpole
Yes, Post Protectors can be cut to "retrofit" existing posts. Call manufacturer with your application details for exact instructions. 570-624-7030
Answered by: RotrexMiata
Date published: 2018-07-25
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_5
  • loc_, sid_203165686, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 56ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

6 in. x 6 in. x 42 in. In-Ground Post Decay Protection is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Met my expectations This protector arrived pretty quickly. To better understand the instructions, I called the number listed on the insert. The nice gentleman who answered was a clear expert in posts and protectors. He was very helpful. The sleeve installed quickly and the set screws were easily installed after pilot holes were drilled. The heavy duty sleeve material I expect will hold up well over time.
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Posts protected Fast delivery, as advertised, highly recommended product.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Post Protector I wanted to build a pole barn and was reluctant to bury my posts in the ground. I found this product on the computer and thought to myself this is exactly what I need.I would highly recommend this product and company. I emailed the company and the next morning I had a reply and a phone call to boot. Ken called me and insured me that his product POST PROTECTOR would be on its way that very day 2 days later it was in my yard this was one of the best companies that I have ever dealt with . The product is easy to install and gave me some peace of mind knowing my post will last many more years.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pole protection ever! After much research I decided to purchase this product, so glad I did. Easy to install and provides the needed protection that I was looking for. Customer service through the company was excellent! Every contractor that I have used in helping to build my pole barn has been impressed with the product and plan on offering it to their customers.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and easy to install. After learning a bit more about the 'red zone' (2" above grad... Great product and easy to install. After learning a bit more about the 'red zone' (2" above grade and 14" below) where post typically fail, I'm confident this product will provide excellent protection.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Post in-ground? You need these. Posts go in the ground without ground contact. Works as advertised. Product is a slam-dunk! Don’t put a post in the ground without them!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Protection Easy to use, great product Made in USA I would not build a pole barn with out using these to protect the poles
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product was excellent and was easily ordered and picked... Product was excellent and was easily ordered and picked up at your local store.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality product and easy to trim. ... Good quality product and easy to trim.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from To early to tell if they will keep termites from destroying my deck To early to tell if they will keep termites from destroying my deck
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great product. This is a reorder because of... What a great product. This is a reorder because of previous satisfaction. These are manufactured by an excellent company determined to create satisfied customers. A call for information got me straight to the owner whom showed a sincere interest. WHAT GREAT SERVICE to go with a great product.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help prevent rot The protectors get warped in shipment but once warmed in the sun they fit the post snugly. A little pricey for what ya get but what price can you put on protecting your posts from rot! Each protector comes with instructions and a pack of bolts and sealing washers to secure them to the post.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we needed to protect posts in the ground from rot and insects. Exactly what we needed to protect posts in the ground from rot and insects.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Received wrong size but still a good product I ordered 6x6 protectors but received 4x6. I was still able to use them and they should work well based on what I've read about them
Date published: 2015-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not heavy duty for sure Construction is similar to a cheap plastic garbage can. Not even as thick a a Rubber Maid. Makes you wonder if the plastic will degrade before the post does. I cannot see why the product is not made from a heavier type of plastic. I would have thought it would have been at least 1/4 inch thick. Not even close.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wish I had these 10 years ago when I... I wish I had these 10 years ago when I first built my fence.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unimpressed and disappointed. Protectors are good idea, but poorly executed. Bought 3 of these to 'experiment' with for new 36x72 pole barn, with hopes of using the protectors for all of the posts. Per manufacturer instructions, trimmed 6x6 ends to fit into tubes, but even doing so, 2 of the 3 were so warped from manufacturing and/or shipping (open ends & half tube were diamond shaped (not square)) that they cracked along seams when bending back to square to put on the 6x6's. It was cold out (about 45 degrees, but still way above freezing), for the price would expect better. Wasn't worth driving the 20 miles each way to return the 2 bad protectors. Also, even with use of shrink wrap around top of protector to 6x6 that water got into the boot. Company says to drill out 'drainage holes' on dimples, but we have a very high water table in winter (what's point of the protector if you are going to allow water to enter & be against the wood??? Ended up using the 'protectors' for some of the inside posts of building to reduce chance of water getting into the tubes. Found it easier to coat the bottom 4 ft of the remaining poles (and 2 damaged "protectors") with heavy duty roofing cement, two coats & let dry. No water against post & it is not that much more time to coat the posts than to do all the preparation work required to 'fit' the posts into the protectors & lag on. Also, the roofing cement is way cheaper; I've used the cement approach on countless fence posts & another small post building over past 10 years & cement is holding up just fine.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money I recently purchased 12 - 6x6x42 , the quality control is poor to say the best. Great idea, poor product . I had to heat(in the sun) to get them to be pliable enough to put on, one side went from 1/8" to almost 1/4 "thick so they were angled on the post -molding of the plastic I guess. I would not purchase again-- spent over three hundred dollars and I wish they were back where they came from.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Product fit well and installed with no problems. I have not had it long enough to comment on long term durability, but it appears well made and meets my expectations for the product. I have seen many posts without such protection where the only rot was in a zone 6" above and below grade, I expect this product will help address that issue.
Date published: 2014-12-31
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_, sid_203165686, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 90ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT