Internet #100177648

Model # S 4140

Store SKU #632671

Store SO SKU #632671

0049793041401

Prime-Line

Nickel Universal Mailbox Lock

  • Replaces original mailbox locks
  • Includes two keys
  • Five cams increases compatibility
$ 6 65
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Replaces original mailbox locks
  • Includes two keys
  • Five cams increases compatibility
The Prime-Line Products Nickel Universal Mailbox Lock replaces original equipment for brands, including American, Florence, Miami-Carey and Bommer. It comes with five cams for increased compatibility. The mailbox lock includes two keys and a 90-degree counterclockwise rotational cylinder to unlock.
  • Replaces brands such as American, Florence, miami-carey and bommer
  • Standard key lock with 90 degree counterclockwise rotational cylinder to unlock
  • Die-cast cylinder and nickel-plated face
  • Includes five came sizes and two keys
  • Hudson keyway uses ILCO 1003M key blank
  • Please refer to line drawing on this page for measurements
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Replaces original mailbox locks
  • Includes two keys
  • Five cams increases compatibility
Model #: S 4140
Sku #: 632671
Internet #: 100177648

The Prime-Line Products Nickel Universal Mailbox Lock replaces original equipment for brands, including American, Florence, Miami-Carey and Bommer. It comes with five cams for increased compatibility. The mailbox lock includes two keys and a 90-degree counterclockwise rotational cylinder to unlock.

  • Replaces brands such as American, Florence, miami-carey and bommer
  • Standard key lock with 90 degree counterclockwise rotational cylinder to unlock
  • Die-cast cylinder and nickel-plated face
  • Includes five came sizes and two keys
  • Hudson keyway uses ILCO 1003M key blank
  • Please refer to line drawing on this page for measurements
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Prime-Line Prime-Line Prime-Line Master Lock
Name 1-1/8 in. Chrome Drawer and Cabinet Keyed Cam Lock Nickel Universal Mailbox Lock 1-3/8 in. x 4-1/2 in. Thick Solid Brass Lock and Door Reinforcer, 2-1/8 in. Single Bore, 2-3/8 in. Backset 265D 27-1/2 in. to 42 in. Adjustable Steel Door Security Bar
Price
$5.74
$6.65
$14.76
$20.98
Ratings (79) (101) (35) (524)
Commercial / Residential Commercial / Residential Commercial / Residential Commercial / Residential Commercial / Residential
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Bore diameter (in.)
0
Product Depth (in.)
1.25 in
Product Height (in.)
4.938 in
Product Width (in.)
3.813 in
Required door thickness (in.)
1 3/8 to 1 3/4

Details

Backset size (in.)
Adjustable
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
Commercial/Residential
Commercial,Residential
Product Weight (lb.)
0.21 lb
Returnable
90-Day
Safety & Security Product Type
Lock & Door Reinforcer

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Goods are warranted against defects in manufacturing for 1 year. In no case is Prime-Line responsible for user related damage or damage incurred during installation. Warranty is void if products are subjected to abnormal conditions, misapplication or abuse.

Specifications

Dimensions

Bore diameter (in.)
0
Product Depth (in.)
1.25 in
Product Height (in.)
4.938 in
Product Width (in.)
3.813 in
Required door thickness (in.)
1 3/8 to 1 3/4

Details

Backset size (in.)
Adjustable
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
Commercial/Residential
Commercial,Residential
Product Weight (lb.)
0.21 lb
Returnable
90-Day
Safety & Security Product Type
Lock & Door Reinforcer

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Goods are warranted against defects in manufacturing for 1 year. In no case is Prime-Line responsible for user related damage or damage incurred during installation. Warranty is void if products are subjected to abnormal conditions, misapplication or abuse.

Questions & Answers

Will this product work as replacement for Husky truck tool box lock?

Need a replacement for a lock on my truck tool box. Will this work?
Asked by: Legend
I would advise you to take the old lock out and carry it to the store for a comparison. They have more than one type of lock. If this one will not work you may find another one that will. They were all located in the mailbox section in the store.
Answered by: Plywood
Date published: 2018-04-26

So this will replace a Hudson Mail Box Lock?

Asked by: Keyzzdzz
I would advise you to take the old lock out and carry it to the store for a comparison. They have more than one type of lock. If this one will not work you may find another one that will. They were all located in the mailbox section in the store.
Answered by: Plywood
Date published: 2018-04-26

Will this work on a lock box

Asked by: Cookie
Thank you for your inquiry regarding this item from Prime-Line Products. This item might be able to be used on a lock box. The hole diameter to fit the lock needs to be 7/8". The length of the barrel of the lock is 5/8"L and comes with different cam arms. You can contact the manufacturer directly with your questions regarding this item, or any other product manufactured by Prime-Line Products by calling their toll free number at (877) 649-9740, or by contacting them by email at info@primeline.net.
Answered by: primelineProductExpert
Date published: 2018-03-20

I need a Hudson mail key replaced. Where do I order one?

My tenant (mother in law) lost her mail key and I have the Hudson key number. Do you know how I can just get a replacement key?
Asked by: PDUyehara
Thank you for your inquiry regarding this item from Prime-Line Products. You can contact Prime-Line Products with your key number to see if they still have any matching key numbers available... you may be required to purchase a new lock to get the keys. For additional questions regarding this item, or any other product manufactured by Prime-Line Products, please call their toll free number at (877) 649-9740, or contact them by email at info@primeline.net
Answered by: primelineProductExpert
Date published: 2015-09-26
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_, sid_100177648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 35ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Nickel Universal Mailbox Lock is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 101.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was able to change a lock out that the key... Was able to change a lock out that the key was lost for
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best replacement locks in my area.... These are the best replacement locks in my area.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit , easy install... Perfect fit , easy install
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so strong but good... Not so strong but good
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked just fine... worked just fine
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value good value
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not use this mailbox lock on the type of mailbox it was designed for. I used it on a conven... I did not use this mailbox lock on the type of mailbox it was designed for. I used it on a conventional style post mounted mailbox that was fully enclosed in a masonry structure. The door would not stay closed and it would drop open every day, often allowing the mail to get wet. I installed the lock and utilized one of the 3 different length catch levers. I cut a slot in the top front edge of the mailbox for the catch lever. After I installed it the door & latch worked perfectly. I permanently attached the key (in case it fell out when the door opened) using a small chain to the mailbox door. The latch worked perfectly and the door is easily unlatched and opened and then latched by my postal delivery person. Door is always closed. Key has never fallen out that I know of. Everything I needed was in the package along with additional latches that came in handy. Good product.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works better and fits tighter than the original lock on the mail box. The lock was easy to install. It was more secure than the original and did not rotate slightly when the key was turned as the original. The key is made with a more substantial material than the original. Product. Which means had the original product been made properly I would not have had to buy a replacement. It came completely apart the last time I opened it.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Had to replace our mailbox lock and I find this lock more secure than the previous one. Installation was pretty easy and the price was great! Overall I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase Works great. Easy to install.. The hardest part was catching the postman to open from that side.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In a pinch this solved my problem. Wife lost... In a pinch this solved my problem. Wife lost both mail box keys, so I had to drill thru the current lock and replaced it with this one. It was easy to install, had multiple accommodating latches for different setting. My only concern is the metal. Even though it has a chrome finish, it is very basic and cheap. Luckily my outdoor mail box is not exposed to the elements, so I hope to get 5 years of use. If expose to water, I don't think this will last more than 6 months.
Date published: 2018-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect, make sure when you put it in the... perfect, make sure when you put it in the mail box hole that it faces the correct way.....key facing to the left
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple to install with the retention clip and with... Very simple to install with the retention clip and with the various clips I was able to securely lock my mailbox. Only took about 5 minutes to install and works wonderfully.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value. ... Good Value.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This lock comes with a variety of latches, one of... This lock comes with a variety of latches, one of which was perfect. I had bought a similar lock at my local hardware store for twice the price that didn't work. This one was THE ONE! Thanks, Home Depot!
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough shims to choose the right one. ... Not enough shims to choose the right one.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fit perfectly for my mailbox.... This fit perfectly for my mailbox.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My car was broken into and my mailbox key was stolen. USPS wanted $40 and about 3 weeks to replac... My car was broken into and my mailbox key was stolen. USPS wanted $40 and about 3 weeks to replace the lock. A customer in line suggested that I'd buy a lock at the HD and replace it myself. I was a little comprehensive about it but she assured me that it's easy to install and it really was. I had to stalk the mail carrier (I eventually left a note and she called me when she was there) and she opened the mailbox for me. It took me maybe 5 minutes to replace the lock. I had to use the old lock's locking part because the ones included weren't compatible with my mailbox but otherwise, it was very easy.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchased 3 items, had to return one of them because... Purchased 3 items, had to return one of them because the keyway was popping out making it not usable. Returned for another one and all is well.Decent quality for a mailbox - I wouldn't use it to lock up my gold bullion but fine for the intended purpose.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This lock replaced a standard USPS-L-1172C. I dropped my only... This lock replaced a standard USPS-L-1172C. I dropped my only key for it in a storm drain. (Yeah, my wife also asked "how?") This lock is inexpensive, installed easily, fit perfectly, has a 5 pin tumbler, looks great and works smoothly especially after a dash of WD-40. I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By material (corrosion proof nickel), ease of lock operation with... By material (corrosion proof nickel), ease of lock operation with key, and general appearance and ruggedness I judged the lock to be of excellent quality. Due to fit problem I was unable to install in my x-tra large Gibralter box and was provided with original new lock and keys from Mfr in Miss. after burglars effectively stole the box by stealing its keys.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief! I lost my mailbox keys and panicked when USPS told me they would replace it for $85. After doing a lot of online research, I purchased this and did it myself. Our post lady was very helpful and my new lock works great. A little adjusting due to it not fully turning to the correct lock angle when initially installed, but it finally worked out. Glad I saved $80!!!! Remember, this unlocks counter clockwise.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great as long as your lock closes clockwise Does not work for my mailbox. Closure in the counter clockwise direction is required by my mail box but this lock only locks in the clockwise direction so all cams catch on the lower edge of the locking slot which has plenty of room on the top side - if only it turned and locked the other way. Key only removes in 'locked' position so installation options are limited.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This lockset was reasonably priced and easy to install. The only problem was the latches included... This lockset was reasonably priced and easy to install. The only problem was the latches included would not fit the mailbox, so i used the old latch.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Good quality lock set. My only issue is cost of shipping being equal to cost of the product. Home depot needs to find a better way to do this.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our mailbox lock stopped working at the post office wanted $30 for us to replace it even though i... Our mailbox lock stopped working at the post office wanted $30 for us to replace it even though it failed due to age. We found this lock and were pleasantly surprised at how inexpensive they were. It fit perfectly and was very easy to install. Only complaint is that the key is a little sticky even after two months.
Date published: 2016-12-29
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_101
  • loc_, sid_100177648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 130ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT