Internet #310155453

Model #RY40860

Store SKU #1004521319

Store SO SKU #1004483506

21 in. 40-Volt Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 5.0 Ah Batteries and Charger Included

  • Brushless Motor and (2) Active Dual Discharge Battery Ports
  • 21 in. Clearing Width and 13 in. Clearing Depth
  • Includes (2) High Capacity 5 Ah Batteries
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$54900

Product Overview

Take charge this Winter with the RYOBI 40-Volt 21 in. Brushless Cordless Snow Blower. Powered by two 40-Volt lithium batteries you can clear snow up to 13 in. without the hassle of gas or oil. Combining the convenience of cordless with a powerful brushless motor this snow blower delivers instant power at the push of a button. Adjust the 180° chute with the easy access directional chute control and throw snow up to 40 ft. away. Select the perfect setting with the variable speed auger, for faster snow throwing or more run-time. Equipped with two 40-Volt 5 Ah high-capacity lithium-ion batteries and designed with 2 active battery ports, users can extend their run time and achieve optimal performance. The telescoping collapsible handles make this product easy to fold down into its most compact form, ideal for tight storage spaces. The RYOBI 40-Volt Brushless 21 in. Cordless Snow Blower is backed with a 5-year limited warranty and is guaranteed to deliver results for years to come.
  • California residents
  • Brushless motor for increased power and efficiency
  • 2 active dual discharge battery ports for optimal performance
  • 21 in. clearing width
  • 13 in. clearing depth
  • Variable speed auger
  • Discharges snow up to 40 ft. away
  • 180° directional chute for controlled snow throwing
  • Hassle-free push-button start
  • LED headlight bar for increased visibility
  • Includes two 40-Volt 5 Ah high-capacity lithium-ion batteries for extended run time
  • Backed by a 5-year limited warranty
  • Learn More about the RYOBI Platform Here






  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Cordless Snow Blowers

18 in. 40-Volt Single-Stage Hybrid Cordless Electric Snow Blower Kit with 4.0 Ah Battery + Charger
current product
21 in. 40-Volt Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 5.0 Ah Batteries and Charger Included
21 in. 100-Volt Brushless Lithium-iON Single Stage Cordless Electric Snow Blower Kit with 5.0 Ah Battery + ChargerPower Clear 21 in. 60-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 6.0 Ah Batteries and Charger
BrandSnow JoeRYOBISnow JoeToro
Name18 in. 40-Volt Single-Stage Hybrid Cordless Electric Snow Blower Kit with 4.0 Ah Battery + Charger21 in. 40-Volt Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 5.0 Ah Batteries and Charger Included21 in. 100-Volt Brushless Lithium-iON Single Stage Cordless Electric Snow Blower Kit with 5.0 Ah Battery + ChargerPower Clear 21 in. 60-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 6.0 Ah Batteries and Charger
Price
$27118
$54900
$80791
$84900
Ratings
(509)
(520)
(87)
(277)
Clearing Width (In.)182121 in21 in
Clearing Surface TypePavedPavedPavedPaved
FeaturesBrushless Motor,Chute Control,Cord Lock,Electric Start,HeadlightBrushless Motor,Chute Control,Electric Start,Headlight,Variable SpeedAuger Assisted,Brushless Motor,Chute Control,Headlight,Variable SpeedAdjustable Handle Height,Brushless Motor,Chute Control,Headlight
RefurbishedNoNoNoNo
TractionWheel DriveWheel DriveTrack DriveWheel Drive
Assembly RequiredYesYesYesYes
Voltage (v)40v40v100v60v
Power TypeCordlessCordlessCordlessCordless
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
54.5 in
Assembled Height (in.)
38.5 in
Assembled Width (in.)
21.75 in
Auger Diameter (in.)
6.625
Clearing Width (In.)
21
Ideal Snow Depth (In.)
8
Intake Height (in.)
13
Tire Height (in.)
8
Tire Width (in.)
1.875

Details

Amperage (amps)
5
Assembly Required
Yes
Auger Material
Steel
Battery Amp Hours
5.0
Battery Power Type
Lithium Ion
Battery Run Time (min.)
60
Battery/Charger
(2) 5.0 Ah Batteries & Charger Included
Body Material
Plastic
Charge Time (hours)
3
Charger Included
Charger Included
Chute Material
Plastic
Chute Turning Radius (Degrees)
180
Clearing Surface Type
Paved
Engine Make
Ryobi
Engine Torque (ft.-lb.)
0
Features
Brushless Motor,Chute Control,Electric Start,Headlight,Variable Speed
Maximum Throwing Distance (ft.)
35
Number of Batteries Required
1
Number of Forward Speeds
0
Number of Reverse Speeds
0
Number of Total Batteries Included
2
Pitch Control
Manual
Plowing Capacity (lbs/min)
1200
Power Type
Cordless
Product Weight (lb.)
48.5
Recommended Terrain
Flat
Refurbished
No
Returnable
180-Day
Snow Equipment Product Type
Cordless Electric Snow Blower
Start Type
Electric
Traction
Wheel Drive
Type of Snow
Fluffy,Heavy,Light
Voltage (v)
40v

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
5-Year Limited Tool Warranty, 3-Year Limited Battery Warranty

Questions & Answers

84Questions62Answers

Why is it offered with two batteries? I only want one. I already have one for my mower. The 20...

Asked by Mark February 16, 2020
8
Answers

Why not just enjoy that it offers an additional battery? It'll mean the one you have will last longer cause you can cycle all three out.

Will the 6ah HP batteries (OP40602) fit in this snowblower?

Asked by Greg October 30, 2020
8
Answers

No, it appears the snowblower is not compatible with that battery. I had the same question myself, and was disappointed to see the lack of understanding in the response from Ryobi. See the photo below to verify.

is it okay to use it on a gravel driveway ?

Asked by Sam January 23, 2020
7
Answers

For a gravel driveway, buy a snowblower with adjustable skids. You can set the blower to sit just above the gravel. It isn't quite as perfect a snow removal job as on concrete, because ice can form between pieces of gravel but it sure beats breaking your neighbor's window or shoveling.

Can this handle heavy thick snow

Asked by Hari September 5, 2019
7
Answers

No... stops on 1.5 inches of moderate snow. Am returning it.

How do I remove the batteries after using snow blower. Can not get them to release.

Asked by battery November 28, 2019
6
Answers

So what is it? Pus down to release or a button?

can you make it go up to 55 feet

Asked by farsidelover January 5, 2020
6
Answers

Yes. Tie a rope around the handle. Then lean out a second floor window with the other end of the rope and then pull it up by the rope.

With cordless tools, I always buy a ''spare'' battery. With this tool, would I have to buy 2 extr...

Asked by sodbuster November 15, 2019
5
Answers

This snow blower will run on one battery. However, your runtime will be diminished. I found that I get about 30 minutes of runtime off of the two batteries that are included with the snow blower. If you believe you will need more than 30 minutes of runtime then I would suggest you consider two extra batteries. Also, I have found that the 40 volt batteries I've acquired from the purchase of other Ryobi 40 volt products work in this snow blower. If you have other Ryobi 40 volt products maybe try the runtime with those batteries before committing to buy two additional batteries.

Is this self propelled ?

Asked by Nalu December 25, 2019
5
Answers

No, you must push this unit. There is no drive on the wheels.

Is this model self propelled?

Asked by Jeremy October 27, 2019
5
Answers

Not self propelled, you must push this unit.

Is there a way to shut the light off so as not to not decrease battery power? Secondly, can I use...

Asked by mettao January 4, 2020
5
Answers

I have not found a switch

21 in. 40-Volt Brushless Cordless Electric Snow Blower with Two 5.0 Ah Batteries and Charger Included - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 522 Customer Reviews
  • 3.6 out of 5 stars overall
70% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(193)
4star-icon(142)
3star-icon(61)
2star-icon(27)
1star-icon(99)
Sort By:
First Cordless Snow Blower and I Love It!
Features :
5
I was a little reluctant when I first read reviews compared to other brands, but I own several other yard tools and power tools from Ryobi. I was seriously impressed with this unit. The first snow that I used it on was 3" of snow. Little wet on the bottom and fluffy on top. I used the older batteries that I use for my leaf blower and weed eater as the new batteries were not fully charged yet. At first I was disappointed at what little power it had, but it moved the snow just fine. Now I have had these batteries for at least 6 years. I thought, lets put in the new batteries and see how it works. Big difference! It went from just lightly throwing the snow onto the deck to throwing the snow into the neighbors yard. It was simple enough to run that my 8 year old stepson used it with ease. Definitely would recommend to others!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Solid needs extra effort in heavy or wet snow
I picked this up after the last snow storm that we had. First thing I did not care for was around the batteries. The batteries do not come fully charged. Mine had 1 of 4 bars and this only includes ONE charger with two batteries. Not ideal for a tool you may not use very frequently. The instructions are below average. It did take a moment to get the chute on. Now to performance. The blower works very well. Throws very far. The distance does drop when the batteries start to get low. For wet heavy snow performance goes down a bit but that should be expected. If you are already in the Ryobi 40v system this is an ideal product for you. The lack of a second charger really urks me. It is a bit pricy but all battery powered snow blowers are in this range. I think this is a solid product that will get it done for the average homeowner that does not have Canada levels of snowfall a year
Was this helpful?
0
0
What a failed product
Features :
3
Ran ok for 15 feet, now stops at the slightest bit of resistance. The snow isn't even dense.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from RYOBIOutdoorsJanuary 4, 2021
Hello, ManualShoveler - We are very sorry your Snow Blower is not working properly! Would you please be looking for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com? We would love the chance to connect to try and provide a solution! RYOBIOutdoorTools
Well worth the price for its power and features.
Features :
5
of weight. It’s around 44 pounds when it came shipped in the box. The box dimensions are 25 inches high by 30 inches wide by 22 1/2 inches deep. If you have a charger for other Ryobi products for 40 V, it will charge the batteries that come with this unit as well. It comes with a OP404VNM charger and my OP404 that I use to charge my 40 V batteries for other Ryobi equipment and will charge as well so you can charge two batteries at the same time if you have that charger. Now the coolest feature about this machine is its variable speed control. That is nice to have because it will extend battery power for taking care of snow one or 2 inches in depth and all you have to do is slide the control to make the impellers go faster for deeper snow. This is the best feature on this machine. As far is directing the chute- no hand cranking here. On the handle there is a bar that simply moves the shoot left to right which really affects bending over for crank turns. And finally it does a great job clearing snow off driveways and decks. It stores very nicely under a workbench with the handle system that slides to fit any height of any person. It’s made in Vietnam but the brushless motor is made in the USA.
Was this helpful?
0
0
winnipeg
Poor handle construction
Customer review from ryobitools.com logo
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Overall a decent snow blower in terms of power without the hassle of gas. The handle construction is garbage though. Third time using it and the handle broke. I exchanged it for a new one, but am expecting this to be an ongoing problem. It is not built for real snow or drifts at all.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Regina, SK
Great on level ground, goes through anything.
Customer review from homedepot.ca logo
I bought this yesterday - I have 2 drive ways, 1 around 100 ft long, the other around 50 ft. I'm in Saskatchewan across from a school playground, so the wind always blows the snow across my driveways, and I'm lazy so I drive through it until it's too deep - so it is very very dense snow. This thing went through over 1ft of layered dense snow no problem - I'm shocked. The handle did collapse down like everybody says, but I'm 6'2 and had no problem pushing with the handle in that collapsed lowest position. I did the long driveway, a good 20x10 section of my patio and got 2 passes into the short drive way before the batteries finally died. I finished that short driveway today - around 30 ft of that drive way is level, the last 20' is sloped. Full batteries, one side had very light snow and going up or down that sloped part it kept turning off. If I went across that sloped part, no problem, again the super dense drifted snow and it went right through. Worked fine as long as I was going across and not up and down on the slope. Just to see I tried to clear a walk way beside my house that has never been cleared - layers of crusty snow and it went right through it - I had to push very hard, but it never even choked. Also I easily carried it up the stairs of my deck to get to my driveway.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Disappointed!
Purchased this 11/27/20 after 2 previous snow falls that eventually melted so had to wait until the next show fall. December 23, we finally got snow so I was excited that I was finally going to have to shovel and be able to use the snow blower. So on 12/24/20 it started up fine then after about 10 min, it shut off. I would pull it back and it would start back up but as soon as I attempted to clear the snow again, it would shut off again. Attempted this for about 15 min before giving up. I was limited on time as I had to get to work but was very disappointed that I was only able to clear 1 path.
Was this helpful?
4
0
Response from RYOBIOutdoorsDecember 28, 2020
Hello, mnmrjones - We're very sorry that your snow blower kept shutting down! And we'd very much like to speak with you, so we can try and move this experience in a better direction. Will you please be looking for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com? RYOBIOutdoorTools
A few issues but otherwise OK
Features :
4
Bought this snow blower 2 days before an expected storm. Charged both batteries, which took too long in my opinion. It would be nice if there was a quick charge feature. While the snow was winding down, I went out to give it a try. It performed well with the fresh snow. With both charged batteries, I was able to clear my driveway, front, back and side patios and my sidewalk. (see photos). The only issue was the handles kept sliding down. I finally pulled them all the way up and locked them and that seemed to do the trick. The snow was wet and a little heavy and it performed OK. The next morning, there was more sleet and snow and it didn't perform that well. It was basically all ice at that time. I was able to clear a little bit once it got going, but eventually had to use a shovel. If there is going to be a large snowfall, I recommend going out a few times as to not let the snow build up. It had some issues at the bottom of my driveway because of the plowed snow. I think this will be OK for fresh powder snow, but you will need to work a little with the heavier stuff. Also, when I went to register the product, the model # on the Operations manual and the snow blower itself is different from the number on the website. Two numbers are flipped. You would think someone from Ryobi would catch that. I'm also wondering if there may be an issue with one of the batteries. When i went to charge it a 2nd time, after 3 hours on the charger, it was still blinking at one cell. I used the battery anyway and it seemed to work fine. If this issue persists, Ryobi will be getting a call. All in all, it's not a bad machine. It could use some upgrades for the handle locks and storage levers. Another thing was that they give you a screw to attach the chute, but there is no hole on the chute for the screw to fit into. I found that odd, but the chute locks in place so I don't think it's too much of a concern. I have other Ryobi products and am happy with them.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Veazie, Maine
So easy to put together
Customer review from ryobitools.com logo
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We bought the weed wacker. It worked so well we bought the snowblower. It's so easy to store, it can go anywhere. We can't wait to buy the lawnmower this spring!!! These are quality products. The batteries have a great lifespan. They can really hold a charge. Thank you RYOBI.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Love that it works with the rest of my things like my lawnmower, weedwhacker, and hedge trimmer. ...
Features :
4
Quality :
4
Ease of use :
5
Value :
5
Love that it works with the rest of my things like my lawnmower, weedwhacker, and hedge trimmer. I have plenty of batteries to keep it working until I finish. Biggest issue is the plastic on the bottom that scrapes the ground. First one arrived with a chunk missing from fork lift lifting the box. Second one broke two places first day using it. If you hit ice, rocks, or a bump, it does not hold up. Needs to have a metal plate screwed on there for stability and it would be golden. My only issue with it so far. Just used it for 6-8" of snow we got today in Minnesota.
Was this helpful?
15
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers