Internet #202959675

Model #43V30-60 RE6

Store SKU #736826

Store SO SKU #1000894608

XR90 29 gal. Tall 6 Year 60,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater

  • Same-day installation in most areas. Call 1-855-400-2552 by noon.
  • See More Details

Product Overview

Designed for residential applications, this Rheem EcoSense XR90 is a 29-gal. 60,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater featuring an electronic self-diagnostic gas control system that monitors system performance and operation. This water heater delivers 90 gallons of hot water within the first hour, providing more hot water than most 50 gal. models. The small foot print of this water heater is ideal for installations in tight spaces.
  • Due to Ultra Low NOx requirements from Air Quality Management Districts in the State of California, please confirm that your shipping zip code is not restricted from the use of items that do not meet local qualifications
  • 29-gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with three to five people
  • Integrated self-diagnostic gas valve monitors water heater performance
  • Provides up to 90 gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6 year tank and parts warranty plus 1 year in home labor warranty
  • 0.70 energy factor exceeds Energy Star requirements
  • Factory-installed temperature and pressure relief valve
  • Eco-friendly burner with low-Nox design
  • Small foot print of 17-3/4 in. allows for installation in tight spaces
  • 110-volt fan-assisted draft inducer comes with an 8 ft. cord with a 3-prong plug
  • Maintenance free - no filters to clean or replace
  • CSA listed
  • Click here to learn more about Eco Options and Energy Efficiency
  • California Residents - See if your county requires water heaters that meet Air Quality Management District Ultra Low NOx (ULN) requirements:

    Ultra Low Nox Requirements

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
17.75
Product Height (in.)
65.5
Product Width (in.)
17.75
Tank Valve Size (in.)
0.75
Water Connection Size (in.)
.75

Details

Application Type
Residential
BTU Rating
60,000
Commercial/Residential
Residential
Finish Family
Gray
Fuel Type
Gas
Gas Type
Natural Gas
Household Size
1-2
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Maximum Temperature (F)
160.0
Minimum Temperature (F)
60
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)
29
Pack Size
1
Product Weight (lb.)
136
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)
27
Recovery Rate at 90F Rise (gallons/hour)
61.0
Returnable
180-Day
Tank Lining Material
Glass
Tank Warranty
6 Year
Uniform Energy Factor
0
Vent Type
Atmospheric
Water Heater Features
LoNox,Overheat Protection,Pilot Light Window,Pilot Reset Button,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Water Heater Profile
Tall
Wattage (watts)
0

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
CSA Listed,FVIR Certified
Labor Warranty
1 Year
Part Warranty
6 Year

Questions & Answers

1Questions1Answers

Venting of this water heater

Asked by Gupta July 21, 2015
1
Answer

No you will not be able to use your existing PVC venting for the XR90. The XR90 is a vent assisted with blower on the top. This water heater is not a Powered Vented water heater. The XR90 requires the same double walled B venting as required by any atmospheric vented water heater.

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 12 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
5star-icon5
4star-icon2
3star-icon0
2star-icon1
1star-icon4
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews
Lemon of a water heater
This unit was purchased by the Plumbing Company I hired in 2013. Within 11 months the burner went out. New one installed and that lasted one month. Another one installed and guess what the burner went out again this week. (2015), We are on our third burner. If this happens again I will be filing a Lemon Law complaint with the manufacturer. While the unit is still under warranty I have to still pay the plumber to repair it. Buyers beware.
by Maggie
Response from RheemJan 27, 2016
Hello,

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Rheem has been less than satisfactory. We completely understand your frustrations and want to ensure that what you have experienced does not happen again to you or any of our future customers. Although we have strict quality control standards in place, we unfortunately still experience defects in our units from time to time. We also want to apologize for the very disappointing and unacceptable experience you encountered regarding the unit's warranty. As part of our goal to provide our customers with the best products and services in the market, we are working with all of our team members to ensure that problems like this do not occur in the future. Thank you for your feedback, and once again, our apologies for this disappointing experience.

Thanks rheem
1 person found this helpful
So far so good..
It has only been a few days installed but I don't have anything bad to say yet outside of it smells like burning ceramic when it is on. I got this open box-discontinued at my local HD for under 200 so I really cannot complain. Installation was easy and my current vent slid right over top without any screws.. we had to tilt it under, lift the vent, slide the heater under at an angle, boom(see comments below). All the electric makes me nervous of it's lifetime but it is still a 6 year warranty just like any other so I don't know how much we can compare apples to oranges. All in all, it heats water faster than a 50 gal and is Energy Star Rated. Crazy thing is all you do is "turn it on" and it lights itself and everything. Weird.
by WhiteHeat
Great Water Heater, Don't Let Low Capacity Fool You
I've been running it for a year or so. It's a great water heater, and it beats my old 50 gallon heater in first hour performance. I have a 4 bed, 2.5 bath house, and have put 6-8 adults through consecutive showers on several occasions and never got cold. I do run low flow shower heads, so be sure to look at first hour performance on any water heater you're looking to by. Also, be aware the vent height is taller than most heaters so it may require vent adjustments during installation.
by rhsanborn
2 people found this helpful
Terrible Product
Had this heater installed 14 months ago. Within the first 6 months a pressure switch for the blower went bad; unit would not fire at all. Spent 4 days without hot water while the part was shipped in. It was under warranty, yadda yadda. Now, the unit keeps going into a hard lock out; flashes an error code. 6, pause, 3 flash error code citing a flame loss. Had the service company out to check things over; after 5 hours of troubleshooting, they determined that the gas valve control unit (main part as far as I am concerned) is defective and needs replaced. Now I have to manually reset it each time I want hot water. Each time, for every thing. I have contacted Rheem, but have not received a return call to discuss these issues and my dissatisfaction with this unit. I wish I had never purchased this and I don't recommend it for anyone else. If you'd like to know what it is like to own this unit, turn off your water heater and get a shower.
by jordan
8 people found this helpful
Surprisingly efficient, replaced a 50-gallon heater with no let-down.
I admit that I needed to be persuaded to replace a 50-gallon water heater with this 29-gallon unit. I am glad I listened to my wife and went along with this purchase! Don't be fooled by the low price and seemingly too-small capacity, this unit does what it says it does: heats the water rapidly and efficiently. We have had this unit for 3 months, and many of the reviews I read were mixed about this product. I also noticed that many of the reviews were from a few years ago when there were some supplier problems and a lot of bad units were shipped. If you're on the fence like I was, buy this unit and you'll be glad you did!
by GenXGOP
5 people found this helpful
Very efficient water heater - excellent performance
I took a chance on this heater with it's greater efficiency versus one with greater capacity. We have 4 kids so our hot water is in high demand. This water heater is extremely efficient and easily meets the demands of our family as long as we use water wisely (e.g. don't have two people taking showers at the same). It reheats water extremely quickly (fully reheated ~10 minutes or less after finishing a 15 min shower), which is critical for the use in our house. The electric start is a nice feature - no more pilot light worries.
by Eric
4 people found this helpful
Great Water Heater
This water heater is an excellent choice for a family of 5 individuals. Make sure you have a 110 outlet near and have it professionally installed and buy the extended warranty you should have no issues with it we have had ours for over 2 months and it heats up faster van our old 50 gallon hot water heater. The only downside is that three people cannot be taking a shower back to back. But the heater recovers quickly.
by Chad
4 people found this helpful
Better think more that twice...
I wish the 'very poor design' and 'Think Twice' reviews were available when we bought our unit in March. Within a week or so the unit shut off for no apparent reason. I went downstairs and looked for an error code or something but the unit was just dead, nothing but cold water. I unplugged the cord, plugged it back in and the loud fan motor started up again. This happened several more times and I contacted the company that installed the unit and was told that they had gotten several complaints about the same unit. I called Rheem and they told me that they had zero complaints about this model. I wanted to see if we could get a different unit but were told that a new fan motor would take care of the problem. A new motor was sent out and the installation company installed it with no problems...until 2 weeks later and the unit is doing the exact same thing, shutting off with no hot water available! I am hoping to try and go back to a good old-fashioned 50-gallon hot water heater with no fan motor that has to be plugged in. I would prefer not another Rheem but apparently that is all that Home Depot carries now. We are very unsatisfied with both this water heater and Rheem.
by pned
Response from RheemNov 1, 2015
Hello,

Its been a while since your review, we just wanted to apologize for any bad experiences you've had with your unit or with Rheem and we hope that you were able to work out any of the issues that you were experiencing with your water heater. We would love to hear from you so we know your unit has been functioning like it should over the years. Thanks for your purchase!

Thanks

For water heater warranty information, parts and technical support
Tank-type: 1-800-621-5622 (Mon-Fri - 7:30AM to 5PM, CST) rheem
14 people found this helpful
very poor design
This is a very poorly designed product. (1) The vent was at the front top instead of at the back. If one wants to replace an older model from the same manufacture, in most cases, it requires changes to the PVC vent pipe. (2) There is no pre-drilled holes for attaching the power-vent to the top. There is no mention of how to do the attachement. The screws provided are too short. (3) The water pipe fittings are extremly close to the power vent. There is hardly any room to tie up the cold and warm water pipes. (4) The electric decouplers are too close to the top. There is no sufficient room for one to tie them up, when I saw a small leak at the joint between one decouplere and the pipe fitting. (5) The top of anode rod is below the top of the water heater. One must use a deep socket to remove it for replacement. (6) The instruction does not mention how to connect it to PVC vent pipe. This product is for whom has a PVC vent in place and is comfortable to hand these issues.
by DIY25yrs
Response from RheemNov 1, 2015
Hello,

Its been a while since your review, we just wanted to apologize for any bad experiences you've had with your unit or with Rheem and we hope that you were able to work out any of the issues that you were experiencing with your water heater. We would love to hear from you so we know your unit has been functioning like it should over the years. Thanks for your purchase!

Thanks

For water heater warranty information, parts and technical support
Tank-type: 1-800-621-5622 (Mon-Fri - 7:30AM to 5PM, CST) rheem
8 people found this helpful
Think Twice
Have had the unit for less than 3 months and continue to get error code after error code. Have to reset unit 6 times in less than 90 days. Wife does not like cold showers in the morning!!!!!!!! Great when it works, problem is keeping it working!
by Cool
Response from RheemNov 1, 2015
Hello,

Its been a while since your review, we just wanted to apologize for any bad experiences you've had with your unit or with Rheem and we hope that you were able to work out any of the issues that you were experiencing with your water heater. We would love to hear from you so we know your unit has been functioning like it should over the years. Thanks for your purchase!

Thanks

For water heater warranty information, parts and technical support
Tank-type: 1-800-621-5622 (Mon-Fri - 7:30AM to 5PM, CST) rheem
6 people found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews