#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 309627128

Model # XE50M12CS45U0

Store SKU # 1004435909

Store SO SKU #1004356706

Gladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

Buy 3 or more $665.10
Apply Now
Pay $689.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in Wi-Fi enables control and monitoring at home or away
  • Restricted in Demand Response States: See below before purchasing
  • View More Details
0 in stock
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Gladiator 50 Gal. electric water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 3 to 5 people. The Gladiator water heater is unlike any other water heater because it provides the Power to Know, the Power to Control, and the Power to Protect. The Power to Know: detect potential leaks with the 360° LeakSense Leak Detection system. The Power to Control: integrated EcoNet Wi-Fi enables management of water temperature, tracking of energy usage and monitoring from your phone. The Power to Protect: Features the LeakGuard Auto Shutoff Valve, which engages in the unlikely event a leak is detected, to protect your home from water damage. Its self-cleaning feature prolongs tank life and maintains the water heater's efficiency. As a Performance Platinum, the Gladiator has a 12-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 3-year in home labor warranty. This model comes with 2 4500-Watt stainless steel heating elements.


  • Attention Washington and Oregon Residents: This water heater does not meet demand response requirements in your state; Regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in a state that requires demand response water heaters
  • If your home is in a state that requires Demand Response water heaters, please select an approved Demand Response model available on homedepot.com.
  • 50 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 3 to 5 people
  • Power to know: built-in LeakSense leak detection system alerts you of any leak large or small, internal or external
  • Power to control: built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water, track energy usage, and set modes like vacation mode from your mobile device
  • Power to protect: protect your home from water damage with LeakGuard, the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Delivers 63 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Self-cleaning: fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Hot water availability indicator: know before hot water runs out via EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • Vacation mode: save money on water heating costs while away by setting your water heater in vacation mode from your mobile device with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.92 Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) means it's high efficiency, saving money on energy bills with low energy usage
  • Dual 4500-Watt stainless steel heating elements
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Thick, premium sacrificial anode rod and Rheemglas tank lining combine to protect the tank from corrosive elements in the water
  • As with any WiFi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the WiFi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 309627128

Model # XE50M12CS45U0

Store SKU # 1004435909

Store SO SKU #1004356706


Dimensions: H 48 in, W 22.25 in, D 22.25 in




Product Depth (in.)

22.25 in

Product Height (in.)

48 in

Product Width (in.)

22.25 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in


Amperage (A)

18.75 A

Application Type


Efficiency Level


Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family


First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)


Fuel Type


Household Size




Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

50 gal

Number of Elements


Pack Size


Power Options


Product Weight (lb.)

129 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

45 gal

Remote Access

Remote Access

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Requires Hub?

No Hub Required



Smart Home

Smart Home Enabled

Smart Home Protocol


Tank Lining Material


Tank Warranty

12 Year

Uniform Energy Factor


Voice Control Hub Required

No Voice Control

Water Connection Location


Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile


Wattage (watts)

4500 W

Works With

Google Assistant

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

3 Year

Part Warranty

12 Year

Questions & Answers

Q:How long does it take to fully heat up after use?
by|Jul 14, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Karl and thank you for your question. The Recovery in G.P.H. 90° F Rise is 17.

by|Jul 15, 2024
    Q:What is the cost for a 50 gallon electric water heater tank installation?
    by|Jul 13, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hellow Kamal, installation for any unit would depend on the technician you would hire to to the installation for you.

    by|Jul 14, 2024
      Q:Is the warranty covered by Rheem or is it a Home Depot warranty
      by|Jul 13, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi Chuck, the 12 year warranty for tank and parts with 3 years warranty on labor is the manufacture warranty through Rheem.

      by|Jul 14, 2024
        Q:Are the nipples dielectric and is there a heat trap built into it
        by|Jul 12, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Paul, Yes they are dielectric and there are heat traps built into them.

        by|Jul 14, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 282

          Customer Reviews

          4.3 out of 5

          • 4.3 out of 8,294 reviews
          • 74% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 8,294 reviews
          Great water heater, I live in a mobile home and my 30 gallon went out, replaced everything on it, it was ready to lay in peace, bought this, easy peasy to swap out and hook up, not too heavy and only a few hook ups, that's it and your all done. BTW this one I bought is the 40 gallon, so glad I updated!
          • Verified Purchase
          Almost perfect
          Picked it up at new Milford store very fast service with additional parts just in case for self-installation. following with the manual everything works good so far at this moment working properly. Came with manor Damage top side corner i wasn't expecting something perfect but its was very light item was able deal itself moving around.
          Response from RheemJun 28, 2024
          Hello Roman,

          Thank you for this 5-star review. We value your feedback and regret the inconvenience caused by the cosmetic damage to your water heater. Please be assured that any cosmetic damage will not hinder the 6-year warranty for parts and tank, and a 1-year labor warranty. If you ever need assistance with your water heater, we encourage you to reach out to our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566, available from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST. Our seasoned analysts are ready to assist you with any warranty-related queries. Thank you for your understanding.

          Isaiah rheem
            • Recommended
            No Quality control
            Unit leaked immediately after installation. Water welled up around TP valve and ran down outside of unit. There is no way this unit was tested before leaving the factory so I can only assume the Rheem no longer has any sort of quality control. Also, it took 5 days to get a service technician out to look at the unit, Rheem refused to replace it until service had been attempted? Avoid.
            Response from RheemJun 18, 2024

            We are truly sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with water heater. It must have been really frustrating to deal with these issues you've mentioned, especially the delay in service. Please know that your feedback is greatly appreciated and taken seriously. We look forward to making your future experiences much smoother.

            Derius rheem
              5 found this review helpful
              Great deal beautiful price savings $ installation self motivation.
              Response from RheemJun 14, 2024
              Hello Kano,

              Thank you for your 5-star review! Rheem is glad that you were able to find a great deal with our product.

              Isaiah rheem
                • Recommended
                Great water heater, very easy to install, this is the second time we’ve bought one of these
                Response from RheemJun 18, 2024

                Thank you for that 5-star review and for choosing Rheem once more!

                Isaiah rheem
                • Verified Purchase
                The water heater looks like it had been pushed off a moving truck. There are big dents in two different places on the heater. We replaced a perfectly functional, but older, water heater because we are going to sell the house. Now we have a banged up water heater I am embarrassed for anyone to see.
                Response from RheemJun 25, 2024

                Thank you for this review. We’re truly sorry to hear about the condition of your water heater. We strive for customer satisfaction, and this is not the experience we want for our customers. Please reach out to our customer service for assistance. Please contact 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST at your earliest convenience.

                Derius rheem
                • Verified Purchase
                3 found this review helpful
                Does not honor warranty
                I bought a Rheem Performance Electric Hot Water heater 40 gallons. At the end of year 5, it failed. After many phone conversations, emails, pictures of the burned out wire and a receipt Home Depot said I had to deal with Rheem directly. Again after several emails and phone calls to Rheem they stated all I need to do was to give them the serial number, pictures, and date of purchase receipt I would be given a refund. So I emailed it all in and went and had another hot water heater installed. A few days later they said they would no honor it because I did not return the water heater back to the Home Depot store. Home depot said I needed to work directly with Rheem. So, I never received a refund or a credit with Rheem or Home Depot.
                Response from RheemMay 23, 2024

                We are sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s unfortunate that you’ve had such a challenging experience.

                This water heater model generally comes with a 6-year limited warranty for tank and parts. However, your experience underscores that individual experiences can vary, and issues can arise with any product.

                If you’re still within the warranty period, we would recommend reaching out to Home Depot's customer service for assistance.

                Remember, it’s important to have a certified professional handle any repairs to ensure the safety and longevity of your water heater. We hope your situation improves soon. For assistance, please call 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

                Derius rheem
                  13 found this review helpful
                  Will not last
                  Worked great for 3 years and 9 months from the day it was made 3 years from the install date. After that leaked everywhere even with a whole-house water filter. Warranty Ha Ha HA...guess again
                  Response from RheemMay 23, 2024
                  Hello Harry,

                  We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Isaiah rheem
                    6 found this review helpful
                    DON'T have this shipped to point of use!!!
                    Order Ship to Store and and when you go to pick it up, OPEN THE CARTON and INSPECT it BEFORE ACCEPTING IT. The packaging on these things is totally inadequate. There was a moderately thick cardboard bottom on the box, and two half-pieces of pool noodle in two corners, which were loose and did nothing to fill the space. There were styrofoam corners at the top. There is NO protection for the sides of the heater from dents, and very little to protect it from damage if it falls
                    Response from RheemMay 21, 2024

                    Rheem appreciates your review and feedback. We regret any inconvenience you may have encountered with our product. Our commitment is to deliver a high-quality product and customer experience. Your feedback will help current and future customers have a better experience and product.

                    Isaiah rheem
                      • Recommended
                      7 found this review helpful
                      Didnt Last - No Warrenty Acknolwedged
                      Unit failed under 6 years, unit was warrantied for 9. Rheem was not helpful.
                      Response from RheemMay 15, 2024

                      We appreciate your review and feedback. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our product may have caused you. Rheems goal is always to deliver a high-quality product and customer experience. If you require help, please reach out to our Technical Support at 866-279-4566. They are available from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST and our skilled analysts will be able assist you.

                      Isaiah rheem
                        8 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-10 of 8,294 reviews