#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 300800620

Model # RETEX-18

Store SKU # 1002624315

Performance 18 kW Self-Modulating 3.51 GPM Tankless Electric Water Heater

$441.36
Buy 3 or more $397.22
Apply Now
Pay $391.36 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Electric tankless water heater provides consistent hot water
  • Energy and cost savings of up to 34% in whole-home installations
  • Tankless water heater requires 2 x 40 AMP double pole breakers
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

Get hot water for your space with this Performance Self-Modulating Tankless Electric Water Heater. This energy-efficient tankless water heater delivers an endless hot water supply and consistent temperature with a self-modulating technology that adjusts energy based on your hot water needs. With the electronic thermostatic temperature, you can easily read the incoming water temperature and control it in one-degree increments. Point-of-use installation and compact size makes this Performance tankless water heater a convenient choice.

Highlights

  • Energy and cost savings: heats water only when it is needed for savings of up to 50% on water heating costs when used in a point-of-use application or 34% when used as a whole-home solution
  • Instant, continuous hot water: instantly provides ample hot water for up to 2 showers and 2 faucets (review selection guide below to confirm this water heater will provide the hot water needed based on your geographic location)
  • Space savings: small, compact design fits perfectly in tight places like under cabinets and sinks
  • Great investment and value: energy cost savings and a 5-year heat exchanger and 1-year parts limited warranty
  • Easy to adjust: electronic temperature control adjustable in 1-degree increments from 80-140 degrees F with easy-to-read display (Celsius and Fahrenheit compatible)
  • Easy installation: compatible with 3/4 in. water connectors for flex hose installation and no venting or T and P valve required for Easy installation (professional installation recommended)
  • Easy to maintain: durable, easy-to-replace heating elements
  • A reliable hot water solution from Rheem, the global leader in water heating
  • Before purchase and installation, please verify that you have the proper electrical requirements for your chosen heater
  • ETL Listed to UL-499 and CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 64
  • Check out our buying guide on water heaters
  • What tankless water heater is right for you?
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 300800620

Model # RETEX-18

Store SKU # 1002624315

Specifications

Dimensions: H 18 in, W 14.5 in, D 3.5 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

3.5 in

Product Height (in.)

18 in

Product Width (in.)

14.5 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in NPT

Details

Amperage (A)

75 A

Application Type

Residential

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

211

Flow Rate @ 35°F Rise (gallons/min)

3.51 gal (US)/min

Flow Rate @ 45° Rise (gallons/min)

2.73 gal (US)/min

Flow Rate @ 55° Rise (gallons/min)

2.24 gal (US)/min

Flow Rate @ 65° Rise (gallons/min)

1.89 gal (US)/min

Fuel Type

Electric

Heat Exchanger Warranty

5 Year

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

140 F

Minimum Activation Rate (gpm)

0.25

Minimum Temperature (F)

80 F

Number of Elements

2

Number of Showers

1-2

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

11 lb

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Returnable

90-Day

Uniform Energy Factor

0

Water Connection Location

Bottom

Water Heater Features

Wall Mounted

Wattage (watts)

18000 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

CSA Listed, ETL Listed, UL Listed

Labor Warranty

No Warranty

Part Warranty

1 Year

Questions & Answers

1240Questions
caret
Q:How many breakers does this unit require?
by|Jul 19, 2024
0 Answer
Answer This Question
caret
Q:Which tankless hot water would be best in my 5th wheel?
by|Jul 19, 2024
0 Answer
Answer This Question
caret
Q:How many and what size breaker
by|Jul 18, 2024
0 Answer
Answer This Question
caret
Q:How can I claim the warranty
by|Jul 16, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hello Rodrigo, For warranty and technical assistance, please reach out to our Technical Support team at (800) 374-8806, 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST, and one of our agents would be happy to assist. Isaiah

by|Jul 16, 2024
    Showing 1-4 of 1,240

    Customer Reviews

    3.9 out of 5

    • 3.9 out of 2,376 reviews
    • 61% recommend this product
    Filter by:
    Showing 1-10 of 2,376 reviews
    Don’t buy - catches on fire!
    Installed in April of 2021 in my guest house in a closet. The thing sparked and smoked and did NOT trip the breaker almost causing house to burn down. Rheem would not replace it and tried to tell me that it was my fault because I hadn’t been flushing the system out with vinegar even though the manual says no maintenance is required.
    by
    Response from RheemMay 31, 2024
    Hello,

    We are really sorry to hear about the serious issues you’ve encountered with your water heater. It’s certainly not the experience you should have, especially considering the potential danger it posed.

    It’s concerning that could not get your heater replaced and instead was suggested that the issue was due to lack of maintenance, especially when the manual states that no maintenance is required. This seems like a discrepancy that should be addressed.

    Your feedback is important and can help make crucial changes. We hope your issue gets resolved soon. If you have any other questions or need further assistance, feel free to call 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

    Derius rheem
      1 found this review helpful
      after 3 years I'm getting rid of it.
      Purchased in 2021 and was great for a few years. In March one of the heat exchangers burnt up. Rheem wouldn't do anything for me because the heat exchanger warranty only covers the copper casing and the solder joints. I replaced the part and got it running again. 2 months later another one burnt out along with some wiring. Rheem dismissed the failure as scale build up, but I flush it out with vinegar and water every 6 months and from the photos it doesn't look to me like a lot of build up.
      by
      Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
      Grant,

      Thank you for this review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with this water heater. It’s unfortunate that you’ve had such a challenging experience.

      This particular model generally comes with a 5-year warranty for the heating chamber and a 1-year warranty for parts. However, your experience underscores that individual experiences can vary, and issues can arise with any product.

      We would recommend reaching out to our customer service again for assistance. If you’re not satisfied with their response, you might consider contacting Home Depot.

      Remember, it’s important to have a certified professional handle any repairs to ensure the safety and longevity of your water heater. We hope your situation improves soon. For additional assistance, please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

      Derius rheem
        2 found this review helpful
        Lifecycle 2 years
        Rheem claims to have the best warranty, it is only 1 yr for parts. In year 2 the first heating element will disintegrate and clog all my hot water lines with metal particles. Include the water lines to my Thermodor dishwasher and high end LG washing machine. Be prepared to replace this unit every 2 years and pay to have all your lines flushed and risk voiding your appliance warranties This item should be recalled
        by
        Response from RheemMay 15, 2024
        Hello Divina,

        Thank you for your review and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with our product. We always strive to provide a quality product and customer experience. We will certainly take your feedback to help our current and new customers have a better experience and product.

        Isaiah rheem
          1 found this review helpful
          Beware.
          Voids all warranty if. Water quality is >11 Gpg (hardness scale) Your water has chlorine. You don't flush your unit every 3 months. There's any "build up" anywhere on the unit. Many many many more reasons to avoid honoring their warranty. Your welcome I hope online shoppers see this review.
          by
          Response from RheemMay 15, 2024
          Hello,

          We are sorry to hear about the issues you’ve encountered with the warranty for the water heater. It’s certainly frustrating when warranty conditions are stringent or not clearly communicated at the time of purchase.

          Your detailed feedback about the warranty conditions, such as water quality, chlorine presence, regular flushing, and build-up on the unit, is very valuable. This information can indeed help online shoppers make more informed decisions.

          If you have any other concerns or need assistance with something else, please contact 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            6 found this review helpful
            Did not heat the water to set temperature. Not impressed. Looking for other options. Box was damaged on arrival.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 18, 2024
            Gene,

            We are sorry to hear about the issues you’re experiencing with your water heater. It’s definitely frustrating when a product doesn’t meet your expectations, especially when it arrives in a damaged box.

            If you haven’t done so already, we would recommend contacting The Home Depot’s customer service about the damaged packaging and the performance of the water heater. They may be able to provide a replacement or refund or offer a solution to the heating issue.

            In the meantime, if you’re looking for other options, there are many different types and brands of water heaters available on the market. Factors to consider when choosing a new water heater include the size of your household, your hot water usage, energy efficiency, and your budget. A professional plumber or a representative at a home improvement store can help guide you to the best option for your needs.

            We hope this helps, and we hope your issue gets resolved soon! For assistance please call, 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            2 found this review helpful
            This water heater lasted 1 year and 2 weeks!
            Our first electric tankless was an ECO-18 and it lasted 3 years. I bought this one from Home Depot on 3/28/3024 and installed the same day. It worked great for 1 year. It has a 1 year warranty on parts. It was 2 weeks out of warranty when it died yesterday.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 16, 2024
            Hello James,

            We are sorry to hear about the issue with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that it stopped working just after the warranty period.

            You might want to contact the technical support team to see if they can provide any assistance. Our Technical Support team may be willing to help even if the warranty has just expired.

            In the future, you may want to consider purchasing an extended warranty for such appliances.

            Also, regular maintenance and proper use can extend the life of such appliances. Make sure to follow the use and care instructions for proper use and maintenance.

            We hope this helps and you get your water heater issue resolved soon.

            For additional assistance, please call 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

            Derius rheem
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              The first product I received was refurbish. And that was mailed to my home the second time. I got it. I had it shipped straight to home depot and it was a brand new one, home depot online helped with it. And gave me a refund. The sandusky home depot was very unhelpful, So the reason for the bad rating and customer service is due to home depot in sandusky
              by
              Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
              Richard,

              We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced with the delivery and customer service at your local Home Depot in Sandusky. It’s unfortunate that the first Performance 27 kw Self-Modulating 5.27 GPM Tankless Electric Water Heater you received was refurbished. However, we are glad to hear that Home Depot online was able to assist you and provide a refund. Your feedback is important and can help improve the overall service.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              E5 code error
              I was soo happy on getting this install, ran my wires, panel update, all good, love the feeling of having this mount taking no space, too good to be true, but seem that my small house isn’t small enough for it I have to keep for now the hot water line half open to avoid trigger the E5 code error ( too much water flow) been that the tank is literally no even 8’ from shower to trigger that, now I have to figure how to fix this, I have 3 faucets, 1 shower and wash machine and is water well system
              by
              Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
              Hi,

              Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you’re experiencing with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that you’re having to deal with the E5 code error due to too much water flow. We understand how frustrating this can be, especially when you’ve put in the effort to install the unit and update your panel. If you have any questions or need assistance with anything, feel free to call 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

              Derius rheem
                Rheem performance 36kw insta hot
                I purchased this whole house insta hot system to replace my old hot water heater. Had a professional electrician install it. It takes four 40 amp breakers to power it. My first unit would not power on. Entire weekend with no hot water. Purchased the same unit and it works. But, the hot water pressure is very poor. The water is hot but not much flow. Had plenty of flow with the 21 year old hot water tank but the new Rheem insta hot not so much. Did I tell you I purchased the largest insta hot Rheem makes! I should have got a new hot water tank. Buyer beware.
                by
                Response from RheemMar 22, 2024
                Jimmie,

                We are sorry to hear about the issues you’re experiencing with your water heater. It’s indeed frustrating when a new product doesn’t meet our expectations.

                Low water pressure can be due to several reasons. It could be related to the plumbing in your house, or it could be an issue with the unit itself. A few things you might want to check are for any blockages in your plumbing, the flow rate settings on your unit itself, review the installation itself, and you can always contact the Technical Support team for additional assistance. Please contact, 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday.

                We hope this helps, and your issue gets resolved soon!

                Derius rheem
                  Buyer beware
                  We purchased and installed one of these about two and a half years ago. Had no issue until this week. One of the heating elements disintegrated. Once the heating element broke apart, the small pieces and parts ran through all of the hot water system. Thankfully the filters for the washing machine and dishwasher prevented the debris from destroying the inlet valves. But the pieces and parts did destroy two faucets. Damage costed a couple thousand. I do not recommend this product at all.
                  by
                  Response from RheemApr 2, 2024
                  Hi,

                  We are really sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s unfortunate that the heating element disintegrated and caused damage to your faucets. Your feedback is valuable and it’s important to help us be aware of these potential issues. If you haven’t already, we would recommend reaching out to our Technical Support team at 800-374-8806 between the hours of 8 A.m. and 5 P.M. EST Monday through Friday for possible solutions or compensation for the damage caused. If you need any assistance with this process or have any other questions, feel free to ask our experienced technicians.

                  Derius rheem
                    5 found this review helpful
                    Showing 1-10 of 2,376 reviews

                    Compare Similar Items

                    current item

                    Required Volt Connection

                    240 volt

                    240 volt

                    240 volt

                    240 volt

                    Wattage (watts)

                    18000 W

                    27000 W

                    19200 W

                    36000 W

                    Application Type

                    Residential

                    Residential

                    Residential

                    Residential

                    Indoor/Outdoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor

                    Water Heater Features

                    Wall Mounted

                    Wall Mounted

                    Digital Display, Freeze Protection, Overheat Protection, Wall Mounted

                    Digital Display, Freeze Protection, Overheat Protection, Wall Mounted