#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205810657

Model #XE30M06ST45U1

Store SKU #1001301796

Store SO SKU #1001230816

Performance 30 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater

$49900
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Inner tank design raises efficiency by lowering standby heat loss
  • Make sure it fits: measure your space to ensure dimensions fit
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 1-2 people
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:
$49900

Product Overview

The Rheem Performance 30 Gal. Electric medium water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 1 to 2 people. This unit comes with two 4500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 6 year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 1 year in home labor warranty.
  • 30 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 1 to 2 people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 45 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6 year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1 year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.90 uniform energy factor signifies an energy efficient water heater
  • Dual 4500-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Medium tank fits in a variety of indoor applications
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

Performance 30 Gal. Tall 6-Year 3800/3800-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
current product
Performance 30 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
Performance 50 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NamePerformance 30 Gal. Tall 6-Year 3800/3800-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 50 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
Price
$49300
$49900
$52900
$55900
Ratings
(1036)
(5661)
(2514)
(2514)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)30305030
Water Heater ProfileTallMediumTallTall
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Efficiency LevelHighHighSuper HighHigh
Water Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Fuel TypeElectricElectricElectricElectric
Household Size1-21-23-51-2
Wattage (watts)3800450045004500
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Kilo Watt
4.5
Product Depth (in.)
20.25 in
Product Height (in.)
37.75 in
Product Width (in.)
20.25 in
Tank Valve Size (in.)
.75
Water Connection Size (in.)
.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
18.75 A
Application Type
Residential
Commercial/Residential
Residential
Efficiency Level
High
Electricity Phase
Single Phase
Finish Family
Gray
First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)
45
Fuel Type
Electric
Household Size
1-2
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Maximum Temperature (F)
150
Minimum Temperature (F)
90
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)
30
Number of Elements
2
Pack Size
1
Product Weight (lb.)
92 lb
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)
27
Required Volt Connection
240 volt
Returnable
90-Day
Tank Lining Material
Glass
Tank Warranty
6 Year
Uniform Energy Factor
0.9
Water Heater Features
Overheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Water Heater Profile
Medium
Wattage (watts)
4500

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Labor Warranty
1 Year
Part Warranty
6 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 4,697 reviews
  • 81% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 4,697 reviews
So far so good! Installed 2 of these in...
So far so good! Installed 2 of these in tandem for a 5 bedroom 3 bathroom house. 30 minutes heat up time from start. No thrills hot water heaters, so less fault points, but nothing fancy about them. Don't use the HD install kits, junk. Shark bites and an hour later after drain time and removal of the old units - I'm done. I'm not a plumber or an electrician, just a DYI guy and this was a snap. 2 months in with 2 adults and 3 teenagers, haven't ran out of hot water yet!
by
    1 person found this helpful
    Economic Replacement for a 50 Gallon water heater Customer was happy...
    Economic Replacement for a 50 Gallon water heater Customer was happy with the Lower price and Lower annual usage cost .
    by
      So far, so good
      Much more gooder hot water than the previous one, which was GE, built by Rheem. Then again maybe the original was just as hot, can't remember back to 2008. ¯\_ (ツ)_/¯
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      1 person found this helpful
      Water heater damaged and rusted
      Not happy. Thought we were getting a new water heater and this looks like it is used. Rusted and dirty!! They need to come get this one and bring a new one!
      by
      Response from RheemSep 30, 2021
      Hi,

      To better help you, please contact our HD.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 call any day between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. EST, or call your local store, they can either answer your question or transfer you to your local store to answer your specific questions.

      Jennifer rheem
        1 person found this helpful
        The product and the add-ons that were suggested, functions as advertised. It replaced a much larg...
        The product and the add-ons that were suggested, functions as advertised. It replaced a much larger 85 gallon Rheem that lasted for 15 years, which was longer than I expected. Overall, am very happy with the performance and the excellent installation services provided locally. The unit fits inside a closet area and installation required door removal, removal of the old unit, and ensuring all plumbing connections were made correctly, and then restoration of the area to it's original condition after the previous unit had leaked and stained the flooring (which is quarry tile).
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        4 people found this helpful
        Awful Product
        2 water heaters within a month. All leaked from the top of the temperature and pressure. Did not leak from it, but rather from the threads. Would not recommend
        by
        Response from RheemJun 29, 2021
        Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Jennifer rheem
          9 people found this helpful
          Simple it’s quality...
          Simple it’s quality
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          2 people found this helpful
          Plan on replacing it after 7 years
          I had this model installed 7 years ago (or so). It started leaking out of the top panel, which started the bottom panel leaking and there's water all over my garage floor. It worked fine up until this, but we now have to replace it on an immediate emergency basis rather than realizing that it's wearing out and being able to take a few days about it. But it's not a very expensive model, so you get what you pay for, I guess. I personally would recommend getting a model with a longer warranty period and preferably not a Rheem. A warranty period shouldn't be the same as a replacement period, in my opinion.
          by
            13 people found this helpful
            It's Perfect...
            Its been great so far. It was so easy to hook it up & my hot water was ready 15-20 minutes after it was connected. I would recommend this hot water heater 2 anyone.
            by
              • Recommended
              3 people found this helpful
              Easy to install. Has been working quite well. Recovers hot water almost unnoticeably. A great buy...
              Easy to install. Has been working quite well. Recovers hot water almost unnoticeably. A great buy when I swap from gas to electric. Thanks Home Depot
              by
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              Poor Quality
              After 6.5 years, inside tank failed allowing water into electrical connection up top just in time to exceed the 6 year warranty. Save your time and money and buy a Bradford-White if you can. These things are junk .
              by
              Response from RheemMar 26, 2021
              Brad,

              We are sorry to hear about your water heater and hope you were able to call technical support for assistance. Please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with any warranty questions you may have.

              Jennifer rheem
                • Recommended
                7 people found this helpful
                Great water heater.
                Good looking tank. Easy installation! Hot water immediately. No more leaks. So far I'm very happy with it.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  5 people found this helpful
                  leaking out of top (Day 1)
                  Installed same day as pickup and after completing fill up, water started pouring out of the cold water hookup. Returning two hours after pickup.
                  by
                  Response from RheemMar 18, 2021
                  Hi,

                  We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you are now enjoying a new water heater. If we can help answer any question about installation please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Jennifer rheem
                    • Recommended
                    12 people found this helpful
                    Leaked soon as water added
                    Purchased on 2/17 and installed on 2/17. Installation was easy enough. Started filling with water and the bottom element leaked, (see picture), no gasket. I understand why they say call their number and not return to Home Depot as they would have the back filled with defective product. I had not choice put to go purchase another element to complete the install. Calling a tech and waiting IS NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR A WATER HEATER, maybe a lawnmower, but not a water heater. On the top place it stated "TESTED, OK", if air or water was run through this they would tell it leaked. Purchased from Home Depot (you guys rock). Home Depot may want to rethink the brand of water heaters they sell. Contacted Rheem have not heard back and did not expect to.
                    by
                    Response from RheemApr 12, 2021
                    Hi Bob,

                    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with any questions or concerns you have about your water heater or any warranty claims that need to be filed.

                    Jennifer rheem
                      19 people found this helpful
                      Installation modification
                      This review is for the Rheem Performance 50 Gal. Medium tank. The installation was pretty straight forward other than the supply line connects. As Brooklyn56 mentioned in his/her review the thread length on the Home Depot SS 3/4" supply lines do not have enough I.D. thread length to get a good start on the tanks supply nipples. The nipples have plastic that line the insides and extend 3/16" or so past the beginning of the threads. Brooklyn56's fix is a good one but I instead used a hack saw to remove this plastic lip flush with the steel nipple, this allowed me to get the supply lines started and secured. I inserted a rubber glove into the nipples before sawing to prevent the debris from falling into the tank. I used emery cloth to smooth out the cut and remove any plastic burrs. There was no issues starting or tightening after this mod. Like Brooklyn56 stated, it's only about 1 1/2 threads but it made it impossible to get started trying to compress the washer to catch the first thread. Just a heads up to be aware of if using the exclusive Home Depot SS supply lines. Either fix works, just be aware and plan accordingly. The paper towel wraps on the connections are just a moisture indicator I keep on for a couple days to make sure there are no small leaks.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        4 people found this helpful
                        Leaked immediately
                        Immediately began leaking where the threaded insert for the upper heating element should have been welded to the tank.
                        by
                          9 people found this helpful
                          I should have trusted the reviews that mentioned these units leak new. Brand new unit, manufactur...
                          I should have trusted the reviews that mentioned these units leak new. Brand new unit, manufactured December 2020, leaks from the bottom heating element.
                          by
                            11 people found this helpful
                            This is identical to the one that I had to...
                            This is identical to the one that I had to replace after only 5 years .. it was easy to replace and the the only real option at the home depot. I have used these water heaters several times for rental properties. I am hoping this one lasts longer that its predecessor which sprung a leak somewhere in the tank and ran down into the lower electrical area where the thermostat and element are causing it to stop working. Photo of old one is added to show the water leak. I think I might have been unlucky ...
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            My water stays nice and hot
                            I bought this water heater from home depot on 12/19/20 then took it home and installed it my self and I love it,the last one last me 20 years with no problem at all.this new water heater cost me about $500 total that's including new fitting pipes and some tools to help make the connections.i must say thanks to the homedepot workers who help me with my purchase.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              4 people found this helpful
                              My existing water heater cracked and needed a new water heater stat! I was able to order this on...
                              My existing water heater cracked and needed a new water heater stat! I was able to order this online for curbside pickup at my local store. I have always had good luck with Rheem water heaters so this was any easy choice. Even though this is not the most efficient water heater on the market, it is still more efficient that my old high efficiency water heater. The home depot guys loaded on my truck and I was off to the house. This water heater was so easy to install as my fittings were already installed on the original so all I needed was a plumbers wrench and a screw driver. After the install I had hot water at the tap in 10 or 15 min! My showers are so amazing now!
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                5 people found this helpful
                                Great, Easy to Install
                                Highly recommend. Try to do everything I can around the house, so when our hot water heater started leaking I chose to do the same. Looked at a few videos online and very easily done. Much smaller than our old one, the only issue this caused is wire length. Used shark bite hoses to replace previous copper piping to tank. Be sure to have drainage hose that can come from the top of tank for relief. My previous tank had relief from the side which was the only thing i did not get dueing initial purchase. From the time I started till running hot water through the faucets in the house took around an hour and a half. Easy project with very little mess.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  3 people found this helpful
                                  False advertisement. Tank is 36 gallons not 40. Was mislead . Why is it advertised as 40 gallons?
                                  False advertisement. Tank is 36 gallons not 40. Was mislead . Why is it advertised as 40 gallons?
                                  by
                                  Response from RheemDec 15, 2020
                                  Hi,

                                  We are sorry to hear about you experience and would like to get more information. I will be reaching out to the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking wot you soon.

                                  Jennifer rheem
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  9 people found this helpful
                                  Leaks!
                                  Just purchased, had installed and there was a leak within minutes from the center pressure valve. Called the 800 # to help resolve the issue... we’ll see what happens ! Do not recommend purchasing.
                                  by
                                  Response from RheemDec 15, 2020
                                  Hi,

                                  We are sorry to hear about your experience and hope our customer service team was able to resole your issue. If yo need additional assistance please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

                                  Jennifer rheem
                                    13 people found this helpful
                                    Easy install!
                                    I purchased the Reem 40 Gal Performance Electrical Water heater based on various research and reviews. The install went pretty flawless except for one issue. I purchased a new set of 2 ft. and 18" Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connectors for the cold/hot water lines. I tried to connect these to the new Reem water heater and it was difficult to connect. I compared the original Braided Stainless connector with the new ones and much to my surprise, the brass coupler was 1 1/2 threads smaller the the original connector. I then measured both old/new brass coupler and sure enough, it was a tad smaller (not very easily determined via side to side comparison. I guess someone along the line determined that the company could save $$$ if they cut back on the size of the brass coupler. This was extremely frustrating. I had to look for another solution and based on my plumbing experience, I purchased two 3/4" couplings with two 3" pipes which I first connected to the Water Heater and then was easily connect the Braided Stainless connector (see picts). Other than this issue, so far so good. Family happy with hot water since install.
                                    by
                                      • Recommended
                                      12 people found this helpful
                                      Easy to install & performs great for the price...
                                      Easy to install & performs great for the price...
                                      by
                                      • Verified Purchase
                                      • Recommended
                                      1 person found this helpful
                                      Just installed and already leaking
                                      I just purchased and installed the Rheem 50 gal electric water heater. Got the cold water flowing and made sure no air in the hot line before going to connect the wiring to the unit. Just as I'm about to connect the wires I notice water in the housing unit where they sit. Call me crazy but a 1/4 inch of water in the same housing as where my 240V 30AMP wired connection sits seems a bit odd to me. Called up the rep from Rheem and talked to Josh who explained since it was under warranty they would pay for a rep to show up in 1 business day... Which would be two days from now since its a Saturday. That just doesn't work for me or my family who is already going on 3 days without a hot shower. Considering this is brand new and from what I've read online that this isn't the first time for a leak like this I would expect a faster response or perhaps even a recall on a defective product but hey, what do I know. I'm currently draining this and will be returning this to Home Depot.
                                      by
                                        28 people found this helpful
                                        Easy to install
                                        Super easy installby Me on August 8, 2020 Needed to replace a 27yr old Rheem that held up well past its time. It finally gave up and start leaking water, I Choose to purchase same brand. This was a great price for what I needed. Install is super easy, there is a kit that can be purchased with stainless water lines, which replaced my old copper, so no welding needed. Hot water in about the same time it took to clear the lines. Very happy.
                                        by
                                          • Recommended
                                          9 people found this helpful
                                          Leak after 6 months
                                          Did a fair share of reading reviews and listening to advice from family and friends to determine that rheem was the water heater i wanted to use. Installation was easy enough for myself to do in under a few hours. The kost time consuming part was bleeding the air out of the system. Purchased in February of 2020. Installed same time since old water heater was leaking. The water heater worked great for providing hot water fast. I was so excited because this was a night and day difference over our original water heater that was 11 years old. Than sometime towards the end of July, I started to notice that when I first turned on the water we would get a small air pocket for a split second and than it would work fine. Than, started to notice a damp smell from the garage. We live in Florida so I chalked it up to just a high humidity environment. I happen to need a ladder stored near the water heater and noticed water at the base of the water heater.. Decided to double check the water lines at the top to make sure it wasn't installation errors and it is dry all around the pipes and fittings. Happened to pull off the wire junction box on the top and it was filled with water. Decided to call warranty since that its only 6 months its got to be something simple and the warranty will take care of it. Warranty department said they would have someone contact me to come out and check a few things. NOW, the warranty company is stating that there are no reps available in my area and I have to hire someone, pay them, and than wait for reimbursement for rheem. Words can't describe how let down I feel about their warranty. Especially now that my family members who have the same product are nervously waiting for their new water heater to fail on them.
                                          by
                                            35 people found this helpful
                                            Dont expect warranty to mean warranty.
                                            This water heater worked for over a year so it couldn't be returned. They tried everything they could not warranty when it was tripping the breaker. They couldn't trouble shoot over the phone because they didnt know how their product worked and blamed everything else from breakers to wires even after being told that when the wire are un hooked from the top of the water heater it doesnt trip the beaker. After having a electrician change the breaker and tell them that their water heater was bad they only shipped half the parts that they were told were defective. Changed the parts they were sure was the only problem it still tripped the breaker. They won't pay for anyone to fix their piece of junk they expect to to trouble shoot and repair their piece yourself. Some warranty. Save yourself the trouble and buy a diffrent brand. The electrician said that them is one of the worst and not really warranting their product.
                                            by
                                              18 people found this helpful
                                              It leaks and can’t heat up after only 8 months of use.
                                              It leaks and can’t heat up after only 8 months of use. The service is too poor and too slow. When the whole family is waiting to use it, and the service is not available for two days, I will return it and never use it again.
                                              by
                                              Response from RheemSep 10, 2020
                                              Hi Ben,

                                              I hope you were able to call Technical Support at 866-279-4566. We are available between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and look forward to helping you.

                                              Jennifer rheem
                                                8 people found this helpful
                                                Showing 1-30 of 4,697 reviews