#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205810725

Model #XE40M06ST45U1

Store SKU #1001301831

Store SO SKU #1001230839

Performance 40 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater

$449.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Inner tank design raises efficiency by lowering standby heat loss
  • Make sure it fits: measure your space to ensure dimensions fit
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 2-4 people
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$44900

Product Overview

The Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Electric medium water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. This unit comes with two 4500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 6 year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 1 year in home labor warranty.
  • 40 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 53 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6 year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1 year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • Dual 4500-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Medium tank profile fits in a variety of indoor spaces
  • Uniform energy factor 0.93
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • California residents

Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

current product
Performance 40 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Short 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NamePerformance 40 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Short 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
Price
$43900
Buy 3 or more $412.66
$45900
Buy 3 or more $431.46
$54900
Buy 3 or more $516.06
$77900
Buy 3 or more $732.26
Ratings
(7202)
(3135)
(2341)
(2642)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)40 gal40 gal30 gal50 gal
Water Heater ProfileMediumTallShortTall
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Wattage (watts)4500 W4500 W4500 W4500 W
Required Volt Connection240 volt240 volt240 volt240 volt
Household Size2-42-41-23-5
Efficiency LevelSuper HighSuper HighHighSuper High
Water Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
THD SO SKU1001230839100123081710012308051001230771
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 7,205 reviews
  • 83%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 7,205 reviews
The hot water heater itself works great. Perfect...
The hot water heater itself works great. Perfect fit etc. I had a guy lined up, took off work and the item had a vertical dent all the way down. I couldn’t be without hot water bc I’m a massage therapist and have to have hot water. So used the dinged ip on anyway. That’s my one and only complaint.
by
Response from RheemOct 3, 2022
Hi Donna,

Thank you for this review. We are glad to hear that your water heater is working great, as well as everything was a perfect fit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced because of the dent on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. If you need assistance with your new water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Leaks.
Bought this unit and hooked it up. Started spraying water out of the top of the tank somewhere, it was pouring out the top the heating element housing. (Not the element itself). Brought it back to Home Depot where they made the process very quick and easy. Brought the new one home hooked it up. Now it’s dripping out of the heating elements. We tried tightening them (even though we should not have to do that) still leaks. We will not be exchanging this one and we will be going somewhere else.
by
Response from RheemSep 6, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced because of the leak on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. Please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage.

Derius rheem
    2 found this review helpful
    Pretty Good for the money!
    I have no complaints about this hot water heater. Easy to install, quiet and so far so good.
    by
    Response from RheemAug 18, 2022
    Hi Michael,

    So glad to hear installation was easy and you are enjoying your new water heater! If you ever have any questions about your new heater, please call Rheem Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

    Thank you for choosing Rheem for your water heating needs!

    Derius rheem
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      Ordered this water heater on a Sunday. Home Depot delivered it the next morning (a holiday no less). Easy to install. Clear instructions. Within 20 minutes of filling the unit, we had hot water coming from our taps.
      Exactly as Advertised
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      3 found this review helpful
      Performing good so far but it’s only been a couple...
      Performing good so far but it’s only been a couple months. The unit was scratch free, dent free. I am glad Home Depot carry this trust brand. The ease of curb side pickup was good for a heavy product. Saves time and the Home Depot workers helped with the loading of the unit.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      Awesome
      Awesome the temperature is great was an great investment.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      1 found this review helpful
      It Leaks
      Like everyone else I should have read the reviews first. It appears quality control at Rheem has fallen. My guess would be no one pressure checks these before we ship them out the door. Upon completion of installation and filling the tank the water leaks out the cold inlet side of the tank. This causes me to cut the soldiered copper pipe to tighten what should have been tightened and inspected at the factory. The water temperature was set at the factory at 90 which seems a bit low. While both fixes were easy for me I shouldn't have to fix a brand new product.
      by
      Response from RheemMay 27, 2022
      Hi,

      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you to experience with the installation and performance of your water heater. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST at your earliest convenience. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with technical issues, and warranty coverage questions you may have.

      Derius rheem
        15 found this review helpful
        Two year lifespan
        I've bought 2 of these in last 4 years. Elements blow year 1 and tank leaks at year 2. Getting an AO Smith this time even though will have to modify cabinet.
        by
        Response from RheemMay 27, 2022
        Hi,

        Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you to experience and would like an opportunity to better assist you. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty. Please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with technical issues, and warranty coverage options available to you on this issue.

        Derius rheem
          8 found this review helpful
          Worth every penny
          Great purchase. Works well
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Upgraded After Reading Reviews
          I was going to buy the less expensive water heater, but after reading the reviews I upgraded to the Performance Plus with LED indicators. A friend of mine helped me install this and he had to divert the copper pipes to get it to fit as the old one was a lot narrower than these. After installing and checking for leaks, he adjusted the temp up 5 degrees then turned the power back on. This thing is very efficient and quiet! I will be saving 1000kwh a year with this water heater.
          by
            • Recommended
            3 found this review helpful
            Showing 1-10 of 7,205 reviews