#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #204318424

Model #XG40T06PV40U0

Store SKU #1000035126

Store SO SKU #1000109992

Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater

$1099.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Vents with PVC, ABS or CPVC - vertical or horizontal termination
  • CA, UT Residents – see disclaimer below before purchasing
  • Provides ample hot water for households with 2-4 people
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
+
+
Price:
$109900

Product Overview

The Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Natural Gas Tall Power Vent Water Heater comes with a 40,000 BTU/hour environmentally friendly low NOx burner that provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. The electronic ignition system ensures safe and easy startup. Its maintenance free combustion air intake system means there are no filters to clean and replace. The self-diagnostic gas control valve monitors system performance. A premium grade anode rod provides long lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This water heater is ENERGY STAR qualified.
  • California & Utah Residents (Utah Effective 7/1/18): THIS WATER HEATER DOES NOT MEET ULTRA LOW NOX (ULN) EMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS. REGULATIONS PROHIBIT THE SALE, SHIPMENT OR INSTALLATION OF THIS WATER HEATER IN ANY AIR QUALITY DISTRICT THAT REQUIRES ULN WATER HEATERS. Please refer to the maps below to confirm if your home is in a district that requires ULN emission water heaters, and if so please select an approved ULN model.
  • Requires standard 110-Volt electrical outlet (3-prong grounded) for installation
  • 40 Gallon tank provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people
  • Natural gas water heater costs less to operate than electric models
  • Delivers 86 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.69 uniform energy factor indicates an ENERGY STAR qualified water heater
  • Maintenance free - no filter to clean or replace
  • Electronic ignition system simplifies the startup process
  • Self-diagnostic gas valve monitors system performance
  • Can be vented vertically or horizontally up to 100 ft. to suit any application
  • Vents with PVC, CPVC or ABS
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Click here to learn more about Eco Options and Energy Efficiency
  • Meets 2015 NAECA standards



  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents

Compare Similar Gas Tank Water Heaters

Top RatedPerformance 50 Gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater
current product
Top RatedPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water Heater
Performance 50 gal. Tall 6-Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Direct Vent Tank Water HeaterTop RatedPerformance 55 Gal. Tall 6 Year 45,000 BTU Ultra Low NOx (ULN) Natural Gas Tank Water Heater
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NamePerformance 50 Gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water HeaterPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Power Vent Tank Water HeaterPerformance 50 gal. Tall 6-Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Direct Vent Tank Water HeaterPerformance 55 Gal. Tall 6 Year 45,000 BTU Ultra Low NOx (ULN) Natural Gas Tank Water Heater
Price
$103840
$109900
$124900
$134900
Ratings
(71)
(1400)
(100)
(1896)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)50 gal40 gal50 gal55 gal
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Water Heater ProfileShortTallTallTall
Vent TypePower VentPower VentDirect VentAtmospheric
Product Height (in.)51.25 in59 in59.5 in59.125 in
Household Size3-52-43-55+
Water Heater FeaturesLoNox,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveLoNox,Overheat Protection,Pilot Light Window,Pilot Reset Button,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveLoNox,Overheat Protection,Pilot Light Window,Pilot Reset Button,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Pilot Light Window,Pilot Reset Button,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Ultra LoNox
Efficiency LevelHighHighStandardHigh
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)19.75 inProduct Height (in.)59 in
Product Width (in.)19.75 inTank Valve Size (in.)0.75 in
Water Connection Size (in.)3/4 in

Details

Application TypeResidentialBTU Rating40000
Efficiency LevelHighFinish FamilyGray
Fuel TypeGasGas TypeNatural Gas
Household Size2-4Indoor/OutdoorIndoor
Maximum Temperature (F)160 °FMinimum Temperature (F)45 °F
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)40 galPack Size1
Product Weight (lb.)140 lbRated Tank Capacity (gallons)38 gal
Recovery Rate at 90F Rise (gallons/hour)40.4Returnable90-Day
Tank Lining MaterialGlassTank Warranty6 Year
Uniform Energy Factor0.69Vent TypePower Vent
Water Heater FeaturesLoNox,Overheat Protection,Pilot Light Window,Pilot Reset Button,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveWater Heater ProfileTall
Wattage (watts)0 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsCSA Certified,FVIR CertifiedLabor Warranty1 Year
Part Warranty6 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 1,400 reviews
  • 78%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,400 reviews
EZ-peasy install
This unit was a replacement for a GE unit. Turns out, the GE was made by Rheem. Easy install. The only modification I had to make was the exhaust plumbing. The blower was 5" or so lower than the old heater so I needed a longer up section of PVC to reach the outlet location.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
DON’T BUY RHEEM
-Purchased first unit on Feb 2018, lasted 3yrs, 4mo (tank leaked) with install $1400.00 -Purchased second unit Aug 2020 lasted 1yr, 8mo (tank leaked) with install $605.00 received a pro rated price on the second thru RHEEM w/warranty. -Purchased extended warranty from Home Depot, they won’t cover anything including labor until after the unit 6yr warranty expires…..NO HELP! -Current RHEEM water heater I have, tank leaks…if I exchange it now with install $1190.00. Would you buy?
by
Response from RheemMay 11, 2022
Hi Mike,


Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you have experienced as a result of this issue and would love an opportunity to assist you. We see that the water heater you have reviewed includes a 6-year limited warranty on tank and parts and a 1-year labor warranty. Please call our Technical Support between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST at your earliest convenience. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to answer any questions on applicable warranty for the issue you are having and go over warranty coverage and service options.

Derius rheem
    2 found this review helpful
    Do not buy if you have very cold water!
    If you have really cold water, much like the Buffalo, NY area during winter, avoid this water heater. Especially if you have family members that will drain most of the hot water from the tank. During the heating cycle, moisture condensation from the tank flue pipe drips onto the burner causing it to shut down. You will have to power cycle the control module multiple times before the internal flue pipe gets hot enough where the condensation stops. Very annoying!
    by
    Response from RheemJun 8, 2022
    Hi Kyle,

    Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of condensation putting out your burner flame. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with technical questions, and potential service options.

    Derius rheem
      2 found this review helpful
      Easy Install
      The water heater came with great install instructions. The venting diagram was easy to follow. If you are handy this is a simple task to do alone, if not I would suggest a licensed professional to complete it.
      by
      Response from RheemJul 15, 2022
      Hi Caleb,

      So glad to hear installation was easy and you are enjoying your new water heater! If you ever have any questions about your new heater, please call Rheem Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

      Thank you for choosing Rheem for your water heating needs!

      Derius rheem
        • Recommended
        Installed easily - Appears to be well made - high quality. Has a Honeywell regulator which looks ...
        Installed easily - Appears to be well made - high quality. Has a Honeywell regulator which looks like a good thing. Produces a lot of hot water and I have turned it down twice. - no issues with it, Arrived with a baseball sized dent on the upper seam where the top attaches but fortunately it is in the back of the unit - no effect on the operation so far so good.
        by
          • Recommended
          3 found this review helpful
          Faulty Out of the Box
          Everything connected just fine on the install. Went through step by step procedure from manual. When to start it and had 2 fault codes right away. I have a pressure switch failed open fault as well and a Flammable Vapor Sensor (FVS) fault. I called the Rheem number on front of tank that they want you to call. No one available till the next business day. Can't wait to shell out more money on a unit that hasn't worked from the moment of unboxing.
          by
            5 found this review helpful
            Garbage - bottom rusted out and extended warranty worthless
            Purchased 1 Nov 2016 No issues until 8/9/2020. Purchased 5 yr protection plan for piece of mind and still waiting for Home Depot to provide a plumber to confirm its leaking and not repairable. Home depot can install your appliance next day but cant help when its covered under the extend warranty. Still have no hot water in 7 days, cant do anything until home depot approves replacement. Plumbers must not get paid much from the plan because no one is responding to the service call.
            by
              28 found this review helpful
              Installation instructions were clear. I had to modify vent,...
              Installation instructions were clear. I had to modify vent, gas and water lines to the unit, took me a couple hours. I did get an initial low gas pressure error code, but it cleared itself in a couple minutes. I would recommend this unit.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              3 found this review helpful
              Replaced an existing 17 year old Rheem with the same specs. about two weeks ago. So far so good....
              Replaced an existing 17 year old Rheem with the same specs. about two weeks ago. So far so good. Hope to get at least 17 years out of this one.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              Pretty smooth install, no hiccups, works great. Ask me again in 10 years if I like it lol
              Pretty smooth install, no hiccups, works great. Ask me again in 10 years if I like it lol
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              Showing 1-10 of 1,400 reviews