#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #314448288

Model #RHS42

Store SKU #1005707346

Preferred Plus 42,000 Grain Water Softener

$529.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Ideal for households of up to 6 people
  • Pays for itself in 3 years with Rheem learning technology
  • Industry-leading, extendable warranty
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
caret

Product Details

The Rheem PREFERRED Plus 42,000 Water Softening System can handle the water demand for houses of all sizes while keeping water and salt costs associated with your softener to a minimum. The built-in Rheem Learning Technology adapts to your household water usage, which conserves water, energy, salt and saves you money. Rheem Water Softeners are designed, engineered, and manufactured right here in the USA.
  • Ideal for large households
  • Rheem Learning Technology learns your water usage patterns, which optimizes salt consumption and provides on-demand soft water for your home
  • Advanced water management electronics
  • Proven, industry-leading valve maintains water pressure in up to 1-1/4″ plumbing and homes with multiple bathrooms.
  • Customizable water hardness with blending valve
  • Angled tank design for easy loading of salt
  • Clear water iron reduction
  • Light illuminates and flashes for alerts
  • Extra layer of sediment protection for water-using appliances and plumbing by limiting large particles from long-term damage
  • Inner tank light for low-light conditions
  • High impact salt storage tank with internal, double-lined mineral tank
  • Resin bed agitator keeps resin bed free of contaminants
  • DIY installation kit and instructions are included
  • Warranty: 1-year parts and labor, 3-year electronics, 10-year tanks; 1-year warranty can be extended up to 5 years with regular use of Rheem Water Softener Cleaner (RHWSC)
  • Low salt monitor



  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.
caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

145Questions
caret
Q:Does this also remove calcium, magnesium and clear water iron as well?
by|Feb 5, 2023
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Correct. Our softeners are designed to reduce hardness minerals (Ca and Mg), along with Clear Water Iron. All specifications can be found in the Owner's Manual - https://ecowater.zendesk.com/hc/article_attachments/4420696656151/7386473Eng_F.pdf

by|Feb 7, 2023
    caret
    Q:Upflow or downflow regeneration?
    by|Jan 30, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Rheem water softeners use upflow brining to maximize efficiency.

    by|Jan 31, 2023
      caret
      Q:Is the drain gravity fed or can I run the line up and into the washing machine drain?
      by|Jan 28, 2023
      3 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  The drain line for brine tank is gravity. You will have to check tank drain to see if it is higher.

      by|Jan 30, 2023

        A:  Not gravity fed, you can run the drain up into the washer drain or laundry sink. It uses the water pressure to suck the salt brine out (using venturi action like a carburetor does), so it's a low-to-moderate pressure stream that should be able to easily get to your drain.

        by|Feb 1, 2023

          A:  There are two drains attached to the back of the softener. The upper valve drain (connected to the head of the unit) can travel up to 8ft from the floor and 30 ft horizontally. The lower overflow drain (connected to the salt tank) is a gravity drain and must run downwards to a drain.

          by|Jan 30, 2023
            caret
            Q:How to clean it?s? and how many in one year?
            by|Jan 26, 2023
            1 Answer
            Answer This Question

            A:  We recommend using Rheem Water Softener Cleaner once every 4 months. Please see the following guide in our Help Center for instructions: https://rheemwatertreatment.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/1500006334101-Rheem-Water-Softener-Cleanser

            by|Jan 27, 2023
              Showing 1-4 of 145
              caret

              Customer Reviews

              4.1 out of 5
              (195)
              • 4.1
                out of 195 reviews
              • 53%recommend this product
              Filter by:
              Showing 1-10 of 195 reviews
              Leaked & how I Fixed it.
              I bought & installed 3 last week - All had a very slow drip on a few of the 4 connectors with the O-rings. Those parts move 1/8th" when under water pressure & some of the connectors leak. SOLUTION: Buy 4 O-rings (Ace HW- size= 1 1/16 I.D., 1 3/16 O.D.), lube up, put one on first, then the one supplied, eliminates the movement and leak (it is a tight fit). Rheem was great, replaced parts (first one). Much better than a 1 Star, but I wanted Rheem to see my post since all 3 had same leak.
              by
              Response from Rheem Water Treatment TeamJan 23, 2023
              Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you informing us about the repeated leak you saw on the units you installed. It sounds like we were able to get you the replacement parts you needed, but if you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach back out to us! RheemWaterTreatment
                • Recommended
                1 found this review helpful
                I Like It!
                I bought this unit to replace a whirlpool model that had stopped working. Install was easy but I had to return the first one I installed due to it leaking. Overall, I'm satisfied with this purchase.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Major Problem
                  I bought this in July 2021 and yesterday 3/19/22 it failed in the worst kind of way. My wife wakes me up "we don't have any water". Checked the well it was fine. Outside spickets were fine. No water in the house. Shut off water and cut the 3/4 line past the water softener and the problem pored out in tiny resin beads. The entire house was plugged with resin beads, sinks, toilets, washer, dish washer, showers, etc. Will be calling Rheem next week. Do not buy any softener from Rheem.
                  by
                  Response from Rheem Water Treatment TeamMar 21, 2022
                  Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we're sorry to hear of the problem you've encountered with resin escaping your water softener. If you haven't already, please give us a call at 1-800-754-7027 at your earliest convenience, and we would love the chance to discuss the issue further and find a solution for you! RheemWaterTreatment
                    15 found this review helpful
                    Leaks
                    I purchased one of these softners today, it was easy to install. However, it is very low quality. Later the same day after it was installed it started leaking between where two peaces of plastic meet on the control valve and is dripping onto the tray.
                    by
                    Response from Rheem Water Treatment TeamMar 8, 2022
                    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we're sorry to hear you've encountered a leak on your new water softener. Please give us a call at 1-800-754-7027 and we would love to discuss the issue in more detail and help to find a solution for you! RheemWaterTreatment
                      5 found this review helpful
                      Seems OK. No real issues
                      Only issue: the horrible job someone at the factory did on installing the control panel label. This was embarrassing to say the least. Actually hanging off OVER the guide edges and at a jaunty angle (see photo). How anyone could do this AND let it past inspection is beyond me. I just hope the rest of the unit is better assembled.
                      by
                      Response from Rheem Water Treatment TeamDec 10, 2021
                      Brian, thank you for leaving a review, and we're certainly sorry to hear of the problem with the softener's faceplate decal. Please feel free to reach out to us at 1-800-754-7027 and we would love to discuss the issue further and help find a solution for you! RheemWaterTreatment
                        • Recommended
                        4 found this review helpful
                        Defective Parts, Faulty Operation, Ultimately Ok
                        I purchased the Rheem Model RHS42 water softener as a replacement for a Whirlpool water softener that stopped working after 7 years. The installation of the Rheem water softener was fairly straightforward and I was able to install it in a couple of hours. However, there were some quirks with the Rheem unit. For example, after all connections were in place, I followed the instructions about removing any air in the plumbing. When I eventually, enabled the bypass valve to get water into the softener, the water went straight to drain and it continued doing this non-stop. After much troubleshooting, I added salt to the tank and manually started a regeneration cycle. It was only at this point that the system stopped sending water to drain and began working ok. Another thing that I experienced with this Rheem unit, is that the bypass valve itself was leaking water from within the piston (near the handle). All the connections were on point, however the valve itself was defective. I contacted Rheem customer service and they agreed to send me a replacement bypass valve. In the meantime, I have a bucket catching the dripping water from the defective bypass valve. I have tested the water to see if the unit is functioning as designed. The water hardness test strips confirmed that the unit is indeed softening water. Overall, I think the installation was relatively easy for me, however the quality of the unit is in question. I have only had the unit a few days and am still waiting for the replacement bypass valve. Time will tell if this was a good buy. Based on my experience, I can't recommend the Rheem RHS42 water softener.
                        by
                        Response from Rheem Water Treatment TeamMay 19, 2021
                        Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review, and we're sorry to hear of the leak you encountered on your new water softener. It sounds like our customer service team was able to help get the issue resolved, but if you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out! RheemWaterTreatment
                          12 found this review helpful
                          Ok so the install was smooth and build quality seems fine but... I think I got a bad batch of res...
                          Ok so the install was smooth and build quality seems fine but... I think I got a bad batch of resin because the water taste in service mode is quite chemical tasting and in bypass totally fine. I called the manufacturer and they are sending me new resin. I mean this can happen. So if the new resin fixes the taste issue, again which we never had with our previous softener, then I’ll update this to +5 stars.
                          by
                          • DIY
                          • Verified Purchase
                          11 found this review helpful
                          My house was already plumbed for a 3 valve bypass, so I think my job was pretty easy. So far so g...
                          My house was already plumbed for a 3 valve bypass, so I think my job was pretty easy. So far so good, I replaced a 20 year old leaking water softener. The one thing I don't care for on most of these water softeners is the all in one unit. This design doesn't allow for flexibility to place your brine tank close to where you load salt out of your car. My water softener is installed in the mechanical room in the basement. Lugging bags of salt that distance is no fun. There's a way around this conundrum, consult a plumber. However, this water softener seems to be doing a great job. It's fairly quiet, now that the air is out of the system. The 42k grains will be more than enough for my family. I can't attest for how efficient it uses salt yet, but I'm confident that it will use less than my old one, especially with fewer regenerations. This unit is very easy to program, and the led light indicator makes it easy to know when the softener needs attention. It also kinda knows your salt level, and can remind you to check it. (It's an educated guess) Looks great, takes up a little more room than my old one. I think I'll be good for the next 20 years. Save your self some time on install and buy the water softener braided flex hoses, they are 1 inch npt on one end and 3/4 sharkbite on the other, speeding things up and making fewer connections!
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          3 found this review helpful
                          I live in Florida and the water here is notoriously hard, just ask my plumbing fixtures. I've liv...
                          I live in Florida and the water here is notoriously hard, just ask my plumbing fixtures. I've lived in my house for almost 6 years, and although there was already a water softener installed when I moved in, it was older and we never had it hooked up and it stayed on bypass mode. I already have a Rheem water heater, and they seem to be new to the water softener business but I trust them so I went with this one for my home. Installation was simple since I already had an existing softener, and the computerized setup was a breeze thanks to detailed instructions. It comes with a single test strip to test your tap water so that you can plug in the hardness level to the softener after installation. We can already feel a difference when showering and washing our hands how hard our water really was. Great investment!
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          3 found this review helpful
                          Water quality is extremely important. We installed the Rheem performance plus water softener to i...
                          Water quality is extremely important. We installed the Rheem performance plus water softener to improve the hard, harsh water that we currently have. We had a pro install it because we wanted to make sure they wouldn’t be any leaks or anything like that. It holds about 440 pound bags of salt. It has other features that are very good to have, angled tank designed for easy loading of salt, it has several settings, a light on the inside to show how much salt you have left, it has an agitator warranty and a built-in sediment filter as well as a low salt monitor.We are very happy with this and recommended very highly for everybody.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          9 found this review helpful
                          Showing 1-10 of 195 reviews

                          Frequently Bought Together

                          Exclusive
                          +
                          +
                          Price:
                          $52900

                          Compare Similar Water Softener Systems

                          current product
                          ExclusivePreferred Plus 42,000 Grain Water Softener
                          ExclusivePreferred Platinum 42,000 Grain Water Softener with Wi-Fi TechnologyTop RatedHarmony Series 48,000 Grain Water Softener with Fine Mesh Resin for Iron Removal80,000 Grain Whole House High Demand Premium Grade With Digital Valve Heavy-Duty Water Softener System 1 in. Ports
                          BrandRheemRheemAQUASUREPRO+AQUA
                          NamePreferred Plus 42,000 Grain Water SoftenerPreferred Platinum 42,000 Grain Water Softener with Wi-Fi TechnologyHarmony Series 48,000 Grain Water Softener with Fine Mesh Resin for Iron Removal80,000 Grain Whole House High Demand Premium Grade With Digital Valve Heavy-Duty Water Softener System 1 in. Ports
                          Price
                          $52900
                          $59900
                          $60798
                          $639.98 Save $32.00 (5%)
                          $109231
                          Ratings
                          (195)
                          (166)
                          (197)
                          (16)
                          House Hold Size5-6 people5-6 people3-4 people8+ people
                          Maximum Grain Capacity (grains)42000420004800080000
                          Application TypeWater TreatmentWater TreatmentFood Service,Industrial,Office,Water Treatment,Well WaterFood Service,Household,Industrial,Office,Water Treatment,Well Water
                          Salt TypeSodium ChlorideSodium ChlorideSodium ChlorideSodium Chloride
                          Indoor/OutdoorIndoorIndoorIndoorIndoor
                          FeaturesAlarm,Indicator light(s),Permanent settings memory,ProgrammableAlarm,Indicator light(s),Permanent settings memory,ProgrammablePermanent settings memory,ProgrammableIndicator light(s),Permanent settings memory,Programmable
                          IncludesInstallation kitInstallation kitInstallation kitInstallation kit
                          View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product