Internet #100038849

Model # 30002

Store SKU #729019

Store SO SKU #1001375060

0010306300025

Roberts

12 in. Quick-Cut Vinyl Tile VCT Cutter

  • Easily cuts vinyl tile in a fluid motion
  • Features a built-in measuring gauge for ease of use
  • Durable aluminum construction for reliable performance
$ 52 97
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Easily cuts vinyl tile in a fluid motion
  • Features a built-in measuring gauge for ease of use
  • Durable aluminum construction for reliable performance
The Roberts 30002 Vinyl Tile Cutter features a hardened-steel blade to cleanly and smoothly cut vinyl tiles up to 12 in. x 12 in. Equipped with ball and needle bearings. Ball bearings at stress points provide a precise cutting action. The built-in measuring gauge ensures accuracy.
  • Cuts vinyl tiles up to 12 in. x 12 in.
  • Die-cast aluminum base
  • Hardened-steel blades
  • Built-in measuring gauge
  • Ball and needle bearings

Product Overview

  • Easily cuts vinyl tile in a fluid motion
  • Features a built-in measuring gauge for ease of use
  • Durable aluminum construction for reliable performance
Model #: 30002
Sku #: 729019
Internet #: 100038849

The Roberts 30002 Vinyl Tile Cutter features a hardened-steel blade to cleanly and smoothly cut vinyl tiles up to 12 in. x 12 in. Equipped with ball and needle bearings. Ball bearings at stress points provide a precise cutting action. The built-in measuring gauge ensures accuracy.

  • Cuts vinyl tiles up to 12 in. x 12 in.
  • Die-cast aluminum base
  • Hardened-steel blades
  • Built-in measuring gauge
  • Ball and needle bearings

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Roberts Roberts Roberts Bullet Tools
Name 12 in. Quick-Cut Vinyl Tile VCT Cutter 9 in. Laminate and Engineered Wood Cutter 12 in. Pro Grade VCT Vinyl Tile and Luxury Vinyl Tile Cutter 13 in. EZ Shear Laminate Flooring Cutter for Laminate, Vinyl, Rubber and More
Price
$52.97
$111.15
$214.99
$309.57
Ratings (246) (18) (7) (13)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Thickness (in.)
0.125
Blade size (in.)
12
Maximum cut depth at 45 degrees (in.)
.25
Maximum cut depth at 90 degrees (in.)
0.25
Product Length (in.)
20
Product Width (in.)
7

Details

Blade Material
Steel
Color Family
Silver
Flooring Product Type
Vinyl Tool
Flooring Tool Features
Handle grip,Non-slip hand grip
Flooring Use Type
Vinyl
Material
Aluminum
Product Weight (lb.)
6.2lb
Returnable
90-Day
Vinyl Tool Type
Cutter

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
This QEP product has a limited warranty to be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a period of 90 days from the date of purchase. This warranty does not cover accidental damages, unreasonable or improper use, normal wear and tear, loss of use, or consequential damages.

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Thickness (in.)
0.125
Blade size (in.)
12
Maximum cut depth at 45 degrees (in.)
.25
Maximum cut depth at 90 degrees (in.)
0.25
Product Length (in.)
20
Product Width (in.)
7

Details

Blade Material
Steel
Color Family
Silver
Flooring Product Type
Vinyl Tool
Flooring Tool Features
Handle grip,Non-slip hand grip
Flooring Use Type
Vinyl
Material
Aluminum
Product Weight (lb.)
6.2lb
Returnable
90-Day
Vinyl Tool Type
Cutter

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
This QEP product has a limited warranty to be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a period of 90 days from the date of purchase. This warranty does not cover accidental damages, unreasonable or improper use, normal wear and tear, loss of use, or consequential damages.

Questions & Answers

does this cut Vinyl Composition Tile

It says VCT in the title but nothing in reviews, questions/answers, or description says it actually cuts VCT
Asked by: Dave
NO! It will cut 1 or 2 fine. After that, it won't work anymore because the blade gets so dull.
Answered by: lambition
Date published: 2018-04-23

How much of a diagonal cut can you make with this cutter?

Asked by: Dex57
Only as much as you can position on the platform--not much more than 12 inches--so you could not do a diagonal corner-to-corner cut.
Answered by: Andy
Date published: 2018-09-30

Is this cutter designed to cut luxury vinyl plank flooring? Several reviews stated it did not work on this product.

Asked by: David
It cut trafficmaster allure grip strip vinyl plank like butter
Answered by: RayOp
Date published: 2019-05-07

Will this cutter work on luxury vinyl plank?

Asked by: Scott66
Yes it will.This is The reason I purchased the Cutter. I installed The Vinyl Planks and needed pieces for areas around door frames. The Cutter works well. Be sure to use a flat work surface or countertop.
Answered by: kittykitty
Date published: 2019-02-13
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_25
  • loc_, sid_100038849, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

12 in. Quick-Cut Vinyl Tile VCT Cutter is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 246.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cant imagine anything better than this product. Easy, sharp. Perfect cuts every time! I cant imagine anything better than this product. Easy, sharp. Perfect cuts every time!
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I can understand the polarized ratings now. I think the biggest problem with this unit is the fac... I can understand the polarized ratings now. I think the biggest problem with this unit is the factory assembly. I bought one of these things from the local store. Got it home, oiled the sliding spots and hinges (from reading other reviews). I could not open the jaws far enough to get a 3.8mm thick vinyl plank into the cutter. Disappointed, I returned it to the store and exchanged it for the last one on the shelf. Got it home and the same thing. Desperately wanting this thing to work, I backed out the bolt between the blade and the handle by about half a turn. Worked great from there on. Finished my floor project much quicker and with a lot less pain and waste than using a knife and a square.
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to use and only cut one size tile. ... Hard to use and only cut one size tile.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Cuts were clean. ... Just what I needed. Cuts were clean.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke the corners of the floor tiles Broke the corners of the floor tiles
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This tool was recommended to me by the gentleman who works in the flooring section at Home Depot.... This tool was recommended to me by the gentleman who works in the flooring section at Home Depot. He said that he uses it when he makes displays, both for vinyl tile and vinyl planks. I had read the mediocre ratings, but I decided to take a chance based on his recommendation. I am so glad I did! I used it to finish a bathroom that I was doing with thick vinyl tiles (Trafficmaster Ceramica) and also when I installed vinyl plank flooring (Trafficmaster Allure with Grip-Strip). The handle was difficult to move, but I put WD-40 on all the screws, and it works perfectly. I did not have any problems with chipped edges; when you can make a quick cut, as I could after lubricating it, that's not an issue. With this cutter, you get sharp, clean lines--much better than I could get with the score and snap method--and it's fast. I wouldn't do an another installation of vinyl tile or vinyl plank without it (and I plan to do more).
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vinyl Tile Cutter After reading the reviews I was uncertain about using this but I am soooooo glad I bought it. This was my first big project- replacing the carpet in my master bathroom with peel and stick vinyl tiles. Cutting tiles to fit had become a nightmare, I tried an exacto knife, scissors, heavy-duty scissors, wire cutters, prayer, etc but kept ruining tiles. I bought this vinyl tile cutter and it worked great! I was able to cut 12 inch tiles with ease. The tiles fit perfectly and the cuts were always precise. I don't know why other folks had issues with this because I never did. Seriously, I was about to hire someone to finish but this piece of equipment saved my pocketbook and now I think I'll tackle another room!
Date published: 2011-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Read this review... I spent some time reading (most of) the reviews on this product prior to purchasing it for a 12' x 12' kitchen floor tile installation. I also spoke with the flooring associate at The Home Depot and asked for her honest opinion on the cutter. She said personally she recommends it and she has used it frequently for vinyl tile and VCT. The combined effect of previously tiling a bathroom with resilient vinyl tile and having to make each cut with a fresh blade on my utility knife and the fact that I was going to be making a LARGE amount of cuts on this project was what sold me on this cutter. The main problem is seems people are having is that it doesn't fit the tile and it is binding on the cut part of the tile. Here are some tips to make sure you don't have the same problems. 1) Place the tile cutter on the floor and if possible screw it into either the floor or build a small base to hold it steady. The reason I say the floor is you need the leverage to get good cuts and to pull the blade all the way up. 2) Pull the blade up slowly the first few times and then once the cutter loosens up a bit you can get slightly more forceful in pulling the blade completely open. Once it is completely open you will easily be able to slide a full 12" tile in the opening. 3) When cutting tiles place the tile on the line to be cut and disregard the "built in tape measure" at the bottom, you shouldn't need to use that if you have marked your tile properly. 4) To cut the tile, push down on the cutter until it engages in the tile and then swiftly push down very hard. It will be loud, but you are cutting tile for crying out loud, but the cut will be straight and there is no binding or breaking of the tiles. If you can not push it down then simply use your fist to hit the flat red handle and it will push right through. Overall this is well worth the money! TIP: By the way, when you need to make cuts around corner and ANY cuts that are not just a straight line all the way across the tile, buy yourself some "Wiss MetalMaster Straight Aviation Snips" or any other brand for that matter (See below). You have to use some muscle to cut through the tiles, but it is about 1,000 times easier than using a blade and straight edge! Good luck and you are quite welcome!
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works good enough, or at least better than anyone is going to do with a knife and straightedge. I... Works good enough, or at least better than anyone is going to do with a knife and straightedge. I gotta question the bad reviews--this thing cuts at an exact & straight 90. You MUST have clean, straight, exact 90-degree cuts when laying tile. If your cuts are not straight and 90-degress exactly, you're whole job is going to be botched up. . You will be sitting on the floor in a cramped space. This saves a boatload of time and wasted tiles from bad cuts. I tried cutting with a straightedge and knife. Not fun when sitting on a bathroom floor. Just use this thing---put the tile in, whack the blade down, and you're done. Perhaps some of the reviewers were trying to push or muscle the blade down. Works better if you give it a very firm, whack and follow-through. Going slow is gonna pull the tile a little, creating an inexact angle.You must hold the tile tight against the base edge so you get an exact 90 cut. Also, seems to work better with the tile's finished-side down. . No it's not a perfect tool. If you sew, this ain't no Juki. If you're a machinist--this ain't no Mitutoyo. If you're a guitarist, this ain't no Martin. But it is 1000 times better than a box cutter and a ruler.
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I purchased to assist in cutting luxury vinyl and the... I purchased to assist in cutting luxury vinyl and the plank broke irregularly. Not a good tool to use.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 11 boxes of Traffic Master Allure vinyl planks to lay. That is a lot of planks! I tried th... I have 11 boxes of Traffic Master Allure vinyl planks to lay. That is a lot of planks! I tried the utility knife score and snap method. That was not working for me! I decided to try the Roberts vinyl cutter to save time and fingers. I oiled the screws and bearings with liquid wrench so it would move easy. It gave me nice straight cuts, It was easy to shave off a little from an end or lop the planks in half. Its all metal and quite sturdy. I completed a small bathroom today and still have all my fingers and toes. I am very happy I found this nifty tool to cut my vinyl planks.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This thing is absolute junk. I bought it in-store, cut 12 pieces of vinyl, and the grey base snap... This thing is absolute junk. I bought it in-store, cut 12 pieces of vinyl, and the grey base snapped in half from metal fatigue. Exchanged it about an hour after buying it, and then used the second cutter. I noticed metal fatigue cracks after cutting 7 pieces, and the black blades were dulled. Returned it for a refund and finished the project with a utility knife. For a $60 simple piece of equipment, the craftsmanship is very poor.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for vct 12 inch With due respect to the pros who like this item, I did not find it as useful for 12" excelon vct tile as the old score and snap method. The positive reviews surprise me because there seems to be a basic design flaw. The cut mechanism has two arms, the 'blade' and the 'lever'. When cutting 12" tiles, the lever hits the far end of the 12" tile before the blade and, because vct are quite brittle, it has a tendency to scrunch the tile and make a jagged edge. If this is the edge that is ultimately hidden under a baseboard, maybe it's not a big problem, and maybe, as one reviewer suggested, the tile can be made less brittle with a heat gun, but what a pain. Might work better on more flexible types of vinyl tile, but I'd suggest you try a score and snap with a good mat knife first before investing in this cheap gizmo.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked for me I am not a very strong woman, and the thought of having to cut all the vinyl tiles that were to go along the walls in my kitchen with a box cutter scared me. I tried a couple, but found it difficult and time consuming, and i could just see myself cutting off a finger. Despite the negative reviews, I bought this cutter and it did exactly what I needed. I finished the floor in no time. It does kinda stick on one side, but I cut all the tiles while I was on the floor and put all my strength down and it was fine.
Date published: 2010-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I talked to 2 salespeople at Home Depot about a... I talked to 2 salespeople at Home Depot about a tool to cut vinyl plank flooring and they provided me this tool. I brought it home and this tool definitely was not meant to cut vinyl plank flooring. It required a lot of pressure to force the cutter through the flooring and broke the floor
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I rated this very poor, but I used it specifically... I rated this very poor, but I used it specifically on vinyl planks. I would not recommend this especially since it put me behind schedule and broke in half when used.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It chipped the vct tiles at the end of the cuts went back to using my utility knife and returned ... It chipped the vct tiles at the end of the cuts went back to using my utility knife and returned the cutter the same day I purchased it
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The edge it leaves on cuts is at an angle... The edge it leaves on cuts is at an angle so when placed it makes the appearance of a gap.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother. Save your $50. Funny thing is that the store associate in the flooring department suggested not buying this--but I went ahead a did anyways--and she was right: this cutter is a piece of junk. You think it will do the trick of cutting your VCT tile, and it does--to a point. That point? The critical last inch of your tile--it shatters it instead. Every. Single. One. You are better off with a Stanley knife, a package of replacement blades, a metal straight edge and the weight of your knee and score it, and snap it.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have had this tile cutter for several years and have done numerous floors with it. I have had little trouble with it breaking tile or not cutting correctly except when i forget to keep it clean. If you get glue built up on it or a stray chip of tile sticks to it it can have a few issues but take the time and clean it regularly and you will have a tool that will last for years
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver. Do not attempt without! I bought 36 x 6" Peel and Stick wood laminate flooring. I tried to install some with scissors and a razor. No bad don't do it! This vinyl cutter does straight cuts right through the long pieces to make the end cuts extremely easy. I placed it on the ground, figured out how much to cut off and marked it with my razor blade. Popped it into cutter, straight cut in 5 seconds. Then I removed backing and laid peel and stick down. Highly recommended. Now if only I had a 36" long cutter for the long cuts!
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT GOOD! Was laying down self stick tile and I needed something sharper than a razor blade to cut the tile. So I saw this product and figured, "Wow this wil be great!". Turned out though to be so wrong. For the first maybe 5 tiles it did the job. Though after that, the blade would only cut about halfway through the tile. Then the little ball bearings on the side started to fall out. Great concept but this product did not stand up to the job. Took back to store:(
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from this cutter's eyes are bigger than its stomach We bought this tile cutter to trim the 12x12 commercial vinyl tiles we were installing in our kitchen. Pros: - cheap - simple to use Cons: - *barely* accepts 12" tiles; we found it was difficult to fit tiles this big into the cutter - blade is rather blunt and CRUSHES the last 1-2" of the tile (again, probably shouldn't be used on tiles this large) - precision and/or small cuts virtually impossible without damaging the tile This cutter would work best on thin vinyl tiles - the tiles we used were thick (3/16" approx) commercial tiles so that might have been part of the problem. If you need to cut 10" or smaller thin tiles this product may work fine for you.
Date published: 2009-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to give this a 5 rating. This truly has been a lifesaver. None of the shop knives we had ... I had to give this a 5 rating. This truly has been a lifesaver. None of the shop knives we had could cut through the traffic master ceramica tiles. I read the reviews for vinyl cutters, and even though the reviews were very mixed for this one, I had to try. It has served my needs well. I am a 65 year old female, but I'm able to put enough oomph into cutting the tiles. To my calculations, it has taken me 4.5 minutes to retrieve, measure, cut, and install each perimeter tile around my craft room floor. Prior to purchasing this, I spent at least 20 minutes trying to cut one tile with scissors and knives to no avail. I have had great fun finishing this project! I probably won't have another project for which I can use this, but for me, it was worth the money to be able to nicely finish my craft room floor.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It broke on us; some screws in the handle came... It broke on us; some screws in the handle came out but the one I wanted to replace it with was too expensive to purchase..we continued the job despite of
Date published: 2019-02-07
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_246
  • loc_, sid_100038849, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT