Model # RM-65

Internet #202536089

Store SKU #976532

Store SO SKU #976532

Roofmelt Ice Melt
0852111000253

Roofmelt

Ice Melt

  • Simply toss tablets onto the ice dam in clusters
  • Roofmelt works to -20F Made of 100% Calcium Chloride
  • Tablets melt thru ice dams allowing water to drain safely
$1997 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Simply toss tablets onto the ice dam in clusters
  • Roofmelt works to -20F Made of 100% Calcium Chloride
  • Tablets melt thru ice dams allowing water to drain safely
The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25°F.
  • While safely on the ground toss a Roofmelt tablet onto the roof
  • Roofmelt tablet then melts its way down and settles on the roofs surface
  • Roofmelt begins to work when it comes into contact with snow and ice, the Roofmelt and water mixture begin to melt away the existing ice dam
  • Water drains from the roof to the ground, the ice dam and snow are safely eliminated
  • Available in 14 lb. bucket
  • 60 tablets per bucket

Product Overview

  • Simply toss tablets onto the ice dam in clusters
  • Roofmelt works to -20F Made of 100% Calcium Chloride
  • Tablets melt thru ice dams allowing water to drain safely
Model #: RM-65
Sku #: 976532
Internet #: 202536089

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25°F.

  • While safely on the ground toss a Roofmelt tablet onto the roof
  • Roofmelt tablet then melts its way down and settles on the roofs surface
  • Roofmelt begins to work when it comes into contact with snow and ice, the Roofmelt and water mixture begin to melt away the existing ice dam
  • Water drains from the roof to the ground, the ice dam and snow are safely eliminated
  • Available in 14 lb. bucket
  • 60 tablets per bucket

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Package Size (lb.)
14
Product Depth (in.)
8
Product Height (in.)
10
Product Width (in.)
8

Details

Ice Melt Features
Includes Calcium Chloride
Lowest effective temperature (F)
-25
Outdoor Living Product Type
Ice Melt
Product Form
Tablets/capsules
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Satisfaction guaranteed

Specifications

Dimensions

Package Size (lb.)
14
Product Depth (in.)
8
Product Height (in.)
10
Product Width (in.)
8

Details

Ice Melt Features
Includes Calcium Chloride
Lowest effective temperature (F)
-25
Outdoor Living Product Type
Ice Melt
Product Form
Tablets/capsules
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Satisfaction guaranteed

Questions & Answers

I live in NY and go to florida each winter, if I put them up in Nov. do they last all winter

Asked by: trike
No these would not last for that long and that's because as they are melting the ice, they are dissolving as well
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21

Can i use this on roof with asphalt shingles

Asked by: Nsi
yes
Answered by: Smitty
Date published: 2017-02-21

Is this product suitable to use on a steel roof?

Asked by: Murph
this would work on steel roofs as well
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21

how often do I need to re-apply

how long will the tab work, before it needs to be re-placed with a new one
Asked by: mtriple777
reapply when there's a chance of ice possibly building up,
Answered by: Associate
Date published: 2017-02-21
  • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_, sid_202536089, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Ice Melt is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 163.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product as advetized Had used them before about two years ago...... Worked as advertised..... I use a 16Ft extension pole, was for painting ceiling, with a measuring cup attached to the end..... The way I can drop the " pick " right where I want it, while being on the ground.... I try and drop them a few inches above the ice dams.... Works well for me.......
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to rig up an extension pole with a cup to hold the tablets. I was able to place the tablet... I had to rig up an extension pole with a cup to hold the tablets. I was able to place the tablets on the ice dams that were forming on my roof. Just do a few at a time or it becomes hard to control placement and they may roll off the roof if they aren't placed flat. The product works as advertised. The tablets bore holes down through the ice. They don't eliminate the dams but they melt enough ice to let the water pass under the dams.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I use This and Salt Socks I use these tablets and Make my Own Roof Salt Socks.. Just use either Calcium or Mix Blend of Salt into Cut Pantyhose and make a Dozen of them in a 5 Gal HD Bucket in December and ready to go for Old Man Winter..Up here in Wi. I Have one of HD's Roof rakes just incase for a Heavy Snow or Build up.. But I can't work it, being Handicapped and the Guy who Plows my Driveway uses it on my roof. for me If & when Needs it. and I have HD's Gutter Leaf Covers that really just Extend your Eve's out another 6 In.. or with of your Gutter and that is a Good.thing. No Ice Build up in the Gutters..
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken We opened the one box and nothing but powder in box haven't checked other box going back to store normally there might be one or two broken but this time all were gone. I know the product because I work at home depot and sell all the time in winter.
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Box Gutter Protection from Ice Purchased this product after we sustained tremendous interior damage from a ice dam within the box gutter in December, well we had twice the amount of ice and snow in Jan and Feb, and NO ice dams since using this. Very each to use - they are slightly smaller than hockey pucks and have a good weight to them. Very easy to lobe them up to the 3rd story roof into the ridge and box gutter. Wish I did this in December!! Oh and very roof friendly, no residue or salt stains which we were concerned since the roof is only 3 years old!
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ice melt roof top Works great deep snow on roofs this works throw it on roof tops
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Took time but did help with ice jams in roof... Took time but did help with ice jams in roof valleys.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work on ice dam on roof. Did not work on ice dam on roof.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money I suppose if you are a major league pitcher and can throw one of these things to exactly the location they should be in, they would be ok. After several attempts at placement by tossing I gave up. Because they are round, all simply rolled right back off the roof and fell into the snow. Being white, they were impossible to recover. I finally decided that perhaps finding a way to get them up there by putting them into a bucket at the end of a pole might work. I poured the pucks out only to see them roll off the roof. Finally gave up.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easy to throw on the roof, but did not see any results. Used about 12 of the 19, and nothing. P... Easy to throw on the roof, but did not see any results. Used about 12 of the 19, and nothing. Put one on the ground on some ice, melted the ice just in the shape of the salt puck, but nothing around it. Would not buy again
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works just as designed The product is intended to use on ice, not inches and inches of snow. If you have ice buildup near the edge of your roof, you will find this product useful. However, if you expect the pucks will melt eight inches of snow, start with a roof rake to expose the ice. Then you won't be wasting your money. Hence the name "ice" melt.
Date published: 2014-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The ice melt is easy to use, just toss the discs up on the roof and let them go to work. This is ... The ice melt is easy to use, just toss the discs up on the roof and let them go to work. This is the second year I have used them. Last year I already had a problem before applying so I was not able to properly review them. This year I got them on the roof before we had a significant melt and they helped prevent any leaks caused by ice dams. We have one spot in our home over the kitchen that seems to be vulnerable due to the exhaust hood causing more melting. I just concentrated the amount of discs I threw in this area and everything is fine so far.
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work Don't waste your money. I was looking for a cheaper solution to ice dams than the expensive steam removal. I should have listened to the ice dam removal companies websites. They all say the salt pucks do not work. I just figured they were trying to drum up business but they were right
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! Fast shipment as well. Was happy it arrived so quickly. Worked great! Ice jam melted quickly and leaked stopped within 12 hours.
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea. Works well. Poor implementation. The good news is that it does what it is supposed to do. Placing it in strategic places will break up the ice allowing the runoff to not back up onto the roof. The bad news is trying to get them to stay on the roof. Throwing them, as suggested, is haphazard and most of the time they end up rolling off of the roof. I finally took a roof rake, rigged a type of scoop on the end with some cardboard and tape, and PLACED the tablets on the roof where I wanted them. Even then, some would roll off and had to be redone. If you have the patience, they are worth having. They are also good for places where you can't scrape or have any roof coils.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I ordered the ice melt on line for delivery to the store, as there were none in stock at the stor... I ordered the ice melt on line for delivery to the store, as there were none in stock at the store. All but about 10 blocks were totally pulverized, possibly during shipping? The bucket was half full of powder with some blocks on the top. I returned the product to the store for credit, as there were no buckets in stock, because of the late winter season. I have used the product and am happy with the results. I wish it was easier to purchase it in our area throughout the winter season.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money Don't waste your time or money on this product. I emailed the company's customer service as well as VP Tom O'Malley and told them I had a bad batch of their product. Mr. O' Malley did not respond but customer service asked for my address so they could send me a container to return the product for testing. They never did send me anything. So, poor product, poor customer service equals poor company. The product didn't melt jack. I tried it on the ground in a pile of snow to make sure. Again, do not buy this product.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saved our house We where lucky enough to have Home Depot selling it for the regular retail with free shipping. A good amount of sellers prices doubled or almost trippled during the bad snow here in New England. The product does work. ( we did roof rake as well) We had part of an ice dam fall off our roof and we were able to see the water channels the tablets created. My only compaint is they are hard to get on roof. (we have 3 floors) The best way I have found is an under hand toss. Just aim away from windows they could break them. I think if we were able to get them up there right after the storm the results would have been better. I ended up buy 3 more totes for next year!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great idea, poor results for an inch or more. Doesn't do all that great of a job. You need several tablets for a small area if the ice is thick. Well beyond what is recommended. The tablets appear to melt straight down. If you have more than an inch of ice, and the area around the tablet doesn't melt. It just gets covered back up by the next snow fall, or water from tablets melting ice on the roof higher up. I also noticed area where there was just snow, the tablets would melt the snow, but there wouldn't be enough tablets based on recommendations to get the water off the roof. You'll end up with a mini ice rink on your roof. One more thing. If the snow hardens, the tablets just bounce off sometimes and roll off the roof if you are trying to throw them up to a second story roof.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from try something else worked well at melting the snow in a little hockey puck shape, on the roof and where it rolled off the roof into the yard.. Not sure it did anything with the ice dams. Had better luck smashing them on the sidewalk and using them as regular salt
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great price..poor product This just didnt work. Theres nothing to talk about. You throw the tablets up on the roof and nothing happens. Nothing Melted. It would be a great idea if they can make it work.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very impressed The product melted the snow/ice wherever it landed or was placed, but it certainly did not help like i had hoped. I would not purchase it again.
Date published: 2014-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Roofmelt did not do the job I thought it would. You have to use a lot more of the product th... The Roofmelt did not do the job I thought it would. You have to use a lot more of the product than the package directions tell you. Basically just melted holes in the ice immediately around the puck. Might be better on small ice buildup areas (1 to 3") but not on bigger ones.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from over half of the roof melt tablets were crushed so I pretty much got a bucket of powder, could of... over half of the roof melt tablets were crushed so I pretty much got a bucket of powder, could of bought a bag of ice melt containing the same chemicals anywhere for a lot less money. otherwise was pleased with home depot for ordering online and picking up in store.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I had approx. 6" of ice built up with some snow over it. I tossed several of these pucks up on t... I had approx. 6" of ice built up with some snow over it. I tossed several of these pucks up on the roof trying to get then to land just above the ice dam. Even after two days nothing happened. It all finally melted after a couple of sunny days.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not too effective Product is quite expensive for 14# of basically compressed salt. Easy to apply, no ladders, etc. needed. The salt discs had only minimal effectiveness and I did apply them prior any ice dam buildup. Built up anyway, maybe not as much as in previous years. I could purchase 50# of higher quality de-icer and throw it up on the roof with a scoop for less than half the price. There was a lot of crushed and broken salt in the bottom of the plastic bucket which became waste as far as the roof was concerned.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ice melt disks were entirely broken into powder except 5 I would not recommend this product. Due to the severity of the ice dam, my family had to use the broken powder to panty hose. I was very disappointed with this product and home depot and will not purchase again.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pellets do melt the ice. But they should be square... Pellets do melt the ice. But they should be square instead of round, so they stay up on the roof. When they roll off the roof onto the snow, you can’t find them because they are white too !
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It does what it says it does...once This product saved my bacon, and the bacon of my just-renovated porches. In Minnesota we got a ton of snow this year, and I don't own a roof rake. So the ice dams were incredible - 2 to 3 feet thick in places. You toss these little pucks (a little smaller than a hockey puck) onto your roof and hope for the best. Within hours, you can hear dripping and see a gap between the ice and the roof, allowing water to escape off the roof instead of into your house. The box comes with a lot. Probably like 50 pucks for about $17. Seems like a pretty good deal. You need to use quite a few, roughly one per square foot of ice on your roof. Since you throw them, you just have to aim and hope. It doesn't need to be exact and I have a feeling a few less would still work. These worked in ABSOULTELY FRIGID temperatures for me. I've heard they didn't but I was desperate and at 20 degrees below zero, they ate right through rock-hard ice. The bad news is, they work once. Once they've carved their path and melted away a bit of ice. THey are gone and the gap they've formed will re-fill after a week or two. I went through three boxes of these this winter, which is really nothing compared to re-drywalling my porch (again). But it is still a consideration. Don't think because you threw pucks two weeks ago that you're protected. Monitor the gap between the shingles and the ice dam and when you see it close, its time to reapply. Also, it makes your icicles cloudy - do not eat these icicles.
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I ordered 4 boxes. 3 of the 4 arrived with... I ordered 4 boxes. 3 of the 4 arrived with half the tablets broken or completely turned to power. What I could use worked well but there is some learning curve to "tossing" onto the roof.
Date published: 2017-02-07
  • y_2017, m_12, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_, sid_202536089, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 197ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT