#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #302681458

Model #438510605

5.4 lbs. Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer

$2320
  • Don't pull weeds and grasses, prevent them
  • Prevents new weeds and grasses from sprouting for up to 6 months
  • The easy to use built-in applicator provides even coverage
  • View More Details

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
+
+
Price:
$2320

Product Overview

Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer

  

A Simple Step Towards a Weed Free Landscape and Garden

Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer prevents weeds and grasses for up to 6 months, Guaranteed!* *Consumer Guarantee: If for any reason you are not satisfied after using this product, simply send us original proof of purchase and we will refund the purchase price.

  

Photo showing product being applied.

  

Don't Pull Weeds and Grasses, Prevent Them

Apply Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer directly to soil around plants in spring before weeds germinate and before mulching. Won't harm your desirable plants and flowers when used as directed.

  

What It Does Icons

  

Creates a Weed Barrier

It works by forming a weed barrier to stop weeds before they start.

Where To Use Icons

  

Where To Use

Use around annuals, around established flowers, bulbs and around trees & shrubs.

How To Apply Icons

  

How To Apply

Step 1: Sprinkle 2 tbsp per 10 sq. ft.Step 2: Wash granules from plants & activate by watering in.

Photo of four different weeds.

  

Prevents Weeds

Stop over 40 types of grassy and broad leaf weeds.

Photo of Product

  

Built-In Applicator

Convenient and easy to use.

Calendar Icon

  

When to Apply

Apply to soil around plants in spring before weeds germinate and before mulching.

1X Icon

  

Apply Once Per Year

Also, allow 2 weeks for new plants to become established before treating.

Ruler Icon

  

Coverage

5.4 lb. covers 1000 sq. ft.13 lb. covers 2420 sq. ft.

Guarantee Icon

  

The Roundup Guarantee

Guaranteed results or your money back. See label for details.

Roundup, Where there's a weed there's a way.

  

Take Control

Roundup products can help you take control of your yard.

Don't Pull Weeds and Grasses, Prevent Them. Introducing Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer which prevents weeds and grasses for up to 6-months, Guaranteed. It creates a weed barrier and stops weeds from growing. For best results, apply directly to soil around plants in Spring before weeds germinate and before mulching. And, when used as directed, it won't harm your desirable plants and flowers. The easy to use built-in applicator provides even coverage. Save time and energy with Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer. Outsmart weeds before they appear. A simple step towards a weed free landscape and garden. Consumer Guarantee: If for any reason you are not satisfied after using this product, simply send us original proof of purchase and we will refund the purchase price.
  • Prevents weeds and grasses for up to 6-months
  • Won't harm desirable plants
  • Stops weeds from growing
  • Creates a weed barrier
  • Built in applicator

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Weed Killer

24 oz. Ready-to-Spray Season Long Weed Control for Lawn
current product
Top Rated5.4 lbs. Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer
30 lbs. Lawn Weed Control25 lb. Weed Prevention Plus
BrandBioAdvancedRoundupPreenConcern
Name24 oz. Ready-to-Spray Season Long Weed Control for Lawn5.4 lbs. Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer30 lbs. Lawn Weed Control25 lb. Weed Prevention Plus
Price
$1497
$2320
$3169
/bag
$4062
Ratings
(1360)
(269)
(341)
(53)
Area of UseLawnGarden,Landscape BedLawnLawn
Application TypeSprayGranularGranularGranular
Concentrated or Ready to UseReady to useReady to useReady to useReady to use
Emergent TypePre and Post EmergentPre-EmergentPost-EmergentPre-Emergent
Compatible Grass TypeBermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,ZoysiaAll PurposeBermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall Fescue,ZoysiaAll Purpose
OrganicNon-OrganicNon-OrganicNon-OrganicNon-Organic
Safe for EdiblesNoNoNoYes
Pack Size8111
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
1000 ft²
Product Depth (in.)
5
Product Height (in.)
11.5
Product Width (in.)
12.25

Details

Application Method
Shaker Bag
Application Type
Granular
Area of Use
Garden,Landscape Bed
Bag Weight (lb.)
5.4
Compatible Grass Type
All Purpose
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Neither (Pre-emergent)
Emergent Type
Pre-Emergent
Equivalent ready to use amount
n/a
Extended Control
Extended Control
Features
Controls Crabgrass
Form
Granular
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Organic
Non-Organic
Pack Size
1
Primary Active Ingredient
Pendimethalin
Returnable
90-Day
Safe for Edibles
No
Weed Type
Burweed,Henbit,Knotweed,Lambsquarters,Puncture Vine,Sandbur,Smartweed,Speedwell,Spurge,Wood Sorrel

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 269 reviews
  • 89% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 269 reviews
I waited a long time to write this review, because I wanted to test the claim that it prevents we...
I waited a long time to write this review, because I wanted to test the claim that it prevents weeds for 6 months. Well it's true. I sprinkled these little micro-balls at the base of several fruit trees, and 6 months later, only one little weed grew at one of the trees the whole time. I re-applied after 6 months and waited another 6 months. Same results, while the rest of my backyard is sprouting weeds like crazy. Trust this stuff, it works. The bag is a bit clumsy when trying to get in under a tree, but the built-in handle would work well if you simply want to broadcast over an area.
by
  • Recommended
2 people found this helpful
I’ve given this product several weeks of trial on the gravel portion of my driveway, and I can sa...
I’ve given this product several weeks of trial on the gravel portion of my driveway, and I can say it works well! After killing what was already growing with a systemic weed killer, I applied this product and have had absolutely no regrowth. In the past I’ve had to use a weed killer spray several times during the growing season to keep regrowth down, and as of 6 weeks I can see absolutely nothing returning.
by
  • Recommended
1 person found this helpful
This is a 5.4 lb. plastic bag of pre-emergent weed preventer. It is NOT a weed killer, it is a ne...
This is a 5.4 lb. plastic bag of pre-emergent weed preventer. It is NOT a weed killer, it is a new weed growth blocker. It comes in a plastic bag with a handy spout and handle and has a good coverage rate of 2 tablespoons per 10 square foot area. The manufacturer states this product IS NOT FOR LAWNS OF VEGETABLE GARDENS. It is safe for established plants (planted for over 2 weeks) and will not injure plants if the residue is washed off. The product needs to be watered in after application and used with mulch is more effective. We had several weeks of very hard rains after application and thus our review is not a typical application and we are waiting to see how effective it is under unusually harsh conditions, The product applies easily and it is easy to see how much and where you are putting it. It prevents weeds for up to 6 months but is to be applied only once a year before weed seeds germinate.
by
  • Recommended
3 people found this helpful
I used this to control the weeds that might sprout up around my container garden area. I first us...
I used this to control the weeds that might sprout up around my container garden area. I first used a liquid weed killer spray to quench the weeds after I mowed over them. I then put down a good dose of this weed preventer followed by landscape fabric and mulch. I put my pots on top of some flat pavers placed on top of the mulch. So far no weeds have come up in the middle but I have a few peeking up around the edges although those may have come in after the treatment and in the mulch. Overall, I think it does a pretty good job of keeping the weeds at bay.
by
  • Recommended
2 people found this helpful
We finally have weather that allows us to get outside to take care of some yard work. My husband...
We finally have weather that allows us to get outside to take care of some yard work. My husband handled the sprinkling of the weed preventer and was really impressed with how much control he had over where the pellets were going. He liked the handle and the ease of use. This bag was enough to do our front flower beds and should work all season here's to hoping.
by
  • Recommended
1 person found this helpful
you be the judge
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] fantastic produce use as directed no more wasting time pulling weeds
by
    Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer says it'll prevent weeds and grasses for up to 6 months, Guarant...
    Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer says it'll prevent weeds and grasses for up to 6 months, Guaranteed. It creates a weed barrier and stops weeds from growing. It won't harm your desirable plants and flowers according to the manufacturer. The easy to use built-in applicator provides even coverage. Manufacturer states: Prevents weeds and grasses for up to 6 months Won't harm desirable plants Stops weeds from growing Creates a weed barrier Built in applicator
    by
    • Recommended
    1 person found this helpful
    MY NEW LANDSACAPING WEED PREVENTION PRODUCT
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this product about two weeks ago. I had never seen this before, as it is a new item for sale from round up. I love the way the bag is designed with the handle on the side to make it easy to hold and distribute throughout your landscaping. On March 28 I applied the product in and checked it 10 days later. You can already see the weeds dying, I also have two loops and lilies and other flowers planted in the landscaping. This product is not affect the flowers but it did kill the grass and weeds. That’s great before I would have to take the round up spray and spray each individual weed this way you apply the granules in a does it for you. You only have to apply it every six months or maybe even once a year. It’s my new go to landscaping weed preventer. I will provide pictures.
    by
      • Recommended
      It will take a few months to determine if the product really works but I'm sure it will. Monsanto...
      It will take a few months to determine if the product really works but I'm sure it will. Monsanto/Roundup products usually do work. What I did not like is the packaging. It's a plastic bag that weighs five lbs and to hold it with one hand it is difficult because of an embedded plastic rod that tries to act like a handle. To get proper spread it will take two hands. Other companies similar products use a plastic bottle with a full handle and it is easier and more comfortable to use. Perhaps if the bag had a cutout for your finger to act as a handle it would be better. Using it once a year may not be all that bad, however, I live in Florida and this product would be needed at least two times a year. Winter weeds in Florida (south and central) germinate in September and Summer weeds start around March time frames.
      by
      • Recommended
      1 person found this helpful
      I have used other products in my flower beds, to stop the entry of weeds from sprouting up and st...
      I have used other products in my flower beds, to stop the entry of weeds from sprouting up and still I have had to spend time "standing on my head" in a garden pulling weeds. This product claims to do a better job. I will have to fill you in with more details as the spring growing season progresses, but I have to say I really like the design of the bag, which has a built in handle that makes it easy to shake out what seems to be the right amount, every time. I actually enjoyed sprinkling the product out by simply shaking my hand side to side. The side spout is designed to feed the product out slowly thru the hole. This bag was enough for me to do all of my flower beds in my front yard, plus my edging street-side, as well as the edging and beds of my two next door neighbors. I would definitely buy this again, if it proves to be effective.
      by
      • Recommended
      1 person found this helpful
      The best weed preventer around!
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have tried numerous brands of weed killer to use in my flower garden and found Roundup Landscape weed preventer does the best job! It prevents many types of weed popup like crabgrass, chickweed and foxtail (all very prevalent in my area) from becoming a problem. I spray at the first sign of weeds, and this product kills them almost instantly without harming my flowers. It also helps from weeds coming back. I now spray my flower bed in the spring before weeds begin to grow and it keeps them under control for the whole season. I couldn't live without my roundup!
      by
        • Recommended
        If you apply this in the uniform manner in the amount shown in the instruction photo, the weeds w...
        If you apply this in the uniform manner in the amount shown in the instruction photo, the weeds won't happen. I used the weed control in my planting bed just before I spread out wood mulch. No problems with weeds sneaking up. Make sure that plants and trees you use this around are listed on the packaging. I have queen palms which are not on the list of trees that the product can be used around. I know that some palms can be damaged by preemergent herbicides, so I keep this product away from my palm trees. I have a love/hate relationship with the built-in shaker top of the bag. It lets you spread the product evenly and allows you to seal up the unused portion. The downside for smaller-stature users is swinging around the 13 lb. bag to apply the product. The front of the bag says "prevents weeds and grasses for 6 months". The use instructions say "Do not apply more than one time every 12 months". I have an almost 365 day a year growing season. What am I supposed to do after six months to keep the weeds from coming back? I can apply Trifluralin preemergent every 3 months, as needed. The product may seem a little expensive, but I think the benefits of reduced weeds outweigh the cost of the product.
        by
        Response from ScottsCustomerCareMar 30, 2018
        Thank you for your feedback on RoundUp Landscape Weed Preventer, and we apologize for some of the issues you have encountered with this product. Your comments are important to us, and we will pass them on to our Quality Assurance Team. If you have any further questions or would like further assistance, please contact us at 877-220-3089 and one of our representatives would be glad to assist you. scotts
        We use Roundup Brand, Landscape Weed Preventer with Scotts Brand, Earthgro Brown Mulch in our roa...
        We use Roundup Brand, Landscape Weed Preventer with Scotts Brand, Earthgro Brown Mulch in our roadway flower beds as a one/two punch for keeping weeds at bay. The Roundup pre-emergent helps keep weed seeds from sprouting and the mulch helps the seeds decompose for weed free flower beds year-round. One application of pre-emergent prior to spring has worked well for our needs despite Roundup Brand, Landscape Weed Preventer advertised lasting for only 6-months.
        by
        • Recommended
        1 person found this helpful
        Prevent weeds before they start
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I like this product to use in my Caladium beds, since they are hard to weed when planted so close together. No or little weeding needed when using this!
        by
          • Recommended
          I got this for hubby and he's been using it for a couple weeks. He says it works the way it shoul...
          I got this for hubby and he's been using it for a couple weeks. He says it works the way it should. We have 2 flower beds. one in front and one out back. They both seem to be maintaining the weed free life for the most part. some just wont die unless I burn the house down. roundup and is a tried and true brand. the bag and spout are my favorite, super easy to use.
          by
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          The convenient 5.37 lbs size is easy to use. Apply approx. 2 tbsp. per 10 x 10 foot area, that me...
          The convenient 5.37 lbs size is easy to use. Apply approx. 2 tbsp. per 10 x 10 foot area, that means this little bag will last you for a while. Apply under mulch. Can be applied around annuals, flowers, bulbs, trees, shrubs, and ground covers. Not for use on lawns or vegetable gardens. Applied only once per year. Easy pour spout, with easy twist on/off spout. The heavy duty plastic packaging leaves less of a footprint on the environment. Also comes in a 13 lb size too.
          by
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          This new Roundup Weed Preventer is easy to use. The plastic package is sturdy and leaves less of ...
          This new Roundup Weed Preventer is easy to use. The plastic package is sturdy and leaves less of a footprint on the earth. The 13 lb size is a great value, particularly if you have a lot of beds that need preventative maintenance. Requires on approx. 2 tbsp. per 10 x 10 ft area. Applied only once a year! Easy pour spout has twist on/off cap. This size has a handle built into the plastic for easy portability. Not for use on lawns or veggie gardens. Can be applied around annuals, flowers, bulbs, trees and shrubs, and groundcovers.
          by
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          Easy too use!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This product works great on my southern lawn. I just put it down and relax, but the packaging is not so great. The bag was busted at the top seam, so some of the product wasted out. Not a great packaging design for a great product.
          by
            • Recommended
            Doesn't seem to be working as good as it originally...
            Doesn't seem to be working as good as it originally did when it first came on the market.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            So far it is working just fine put it down...
            So far it is working just fine put it down about a month ago.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Didn’t help prevent weeds. I was very hopeful for this product.
            Didn’t help prevent weeds. I was very hopeful for this product.
            by
            Response from Roundup TeamJul 2, 2021
            I would like to apologize for any performance issues that you experienced with your Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer. This is not the quality we expect from our products. Please contact our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 so that we can help troubleshoot and fill you in on our guarantee. roundup
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            I purchased Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer about a month ago and put it down immediately before...
            I purchased Roundup Landscape Weed Preventer about a month ago and put it down immediately before mulching my flower beds. Application was easy and the instructions were clear. So far I have been pleased with the results as I see no evidence of new weeds in my flower beds, I will buy this product again.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Controls Weeds Fast!
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great product! Didn't hurt my plants and really does the job keeping weeds in control. Those weeds that do pop up are weak and easy to remove. I would highly recommend if you need a product that is going to make your garden weeding really easy!
            by
              • Recommended
              Prevents most weeds around my flower beds & plants without killing the plants! Was disapointed th...
              Prevents most weeds around my flower beds & plants without killing the plants! Was disapointed that it was not sold in the store any more & had to order it online & wait for it! Was ready to use it the day I went to Home Depot to purchase it & found out that I had to order it this time! You need to restock this item in the store! It is one item that really works! Too many actually don't!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              There are a few weeds coming up....
              There are a few weeds coming up.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Showing 1-30 of 269 reviews