Model # 258240

Internet #202572595

Store SKU #399626

Rust-Oleum Transformations Dark Color Cabinet Kit (9-Piece)
0020066203948

Rust-Oleum Transformations

Dark Color Cabinet Kit (9-Piece)

  • Each kit covers up to 100 square feet of space
  • No need for stripping; acrylic/latex base easily adheres to wood
  • Finish is easy to clean with just mild soap and water
$7448 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Installation Options

Product Overview

  • Each kit covers up to 100 square feet of space
  • No need for stripping; acrylic/latex base easily adheres to wood
  • Finish is easy to clean with just mild soap and water
Transform your outdated cabinets with the Rust-Oleum Cabinet Transformations 9-Piece Dark Color Kit. No stripping, sanding or priming necessary for a beautiful custom finish. The kit covers up to 100 sq. ft. Made from a durable acrylic and latex base that adheres easily and cleans with simple soap and water.
  • 4-step process is designed for simple application with a synthetic 2 in. brush
  • Acrylic and latex base offers good adhesion and durability
  • Dark tint base provides 24 attractive color options for customization
  • Decorative glaze finish to enhance your wood grain
  • 1 kit covers up to 100 sq. ft.
  • No stripping, sanding or priming needed
  • Cleans easily with soap and water
  • Kit includes 1 deglosser, 1 scrub pad, 1 bond coat, 1 decorative glaze, 1 glazing cloth, 1 protective top coat, stir sticks, 1 instructional DVD and 1 pamphlet
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations

Product Overview

  • Each kit covers up to 100 square feet of space
  • No need for stripping; acrylic/latex base easily adheres to wood
  • Finish is easy to clean with just mild soap and water
Model #: 258240
Sku #: 399626
Internet #: 202572595

Transform your outdated cabinets with the Rust-Oleum Cabinet Transformations 9-Piece Dark Color Kit. No stripping, sanding or priming necessary for a beautiful custom finish. The kit covers up to 100 sq. ft. Made from a durable acrylic and latex base that adheres easily and cleans with simple soap and water.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • 4-step process is designed for simple application with a synthetic 2 in. brush
  • Acrylic and latex base offers good adhesion and durability
  • Dark tint base provides 24 attractive color options for customization
  • Decorative glaze finish to enhance your wood grain
  • 1 kit covers up to 100 sq. ft.
  • No stripping, sanding or priming needed
  • Cleans easily with soap and water
  • Kit includes 1 deglosser, 1 scrub pad, 1 bond coat, 1 decorative glaze, 1 glazing cloth, 1 protective top coat, stir sticks, 1 instructional DVD and 1 pamphlet
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Price
$69.96 /each
$69.96 /each
$79.98 /each
$150.52 /each
Name Dark Color Cabinet Kit (9-Piece) Light Color Cabinet Kit (9-Piece) 1 qt. Pure White Cabinet Small Kit 48 oz. Desert Sand Small Countertop Kit
Brand Rust-Oleum Transformations Rust-Oleum Transformations Rust-Oleum Transformations Rust-Oleum Transformations
Ratings (771) (771) (771) (240)
Container Size 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 48 OZ-Ounce
Paint/Stain Key Features Tintable Tintable No additional features Mildew Resistant
Sheen Natural Stain Natural Stain Natural Stain Gloss
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 100 100 100 ft² 30 ft²
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
100

Details

Application Method
Brush
Coating Product Category
Paint
Color Family
Clear
Color/Finish
Tint Base Dark Clear
Dry to touch (min.)
900
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Paint & Primer in One
Yes
Paint/Stain Base Material
Acrylic
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
Tintable
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Cabinet & Countertop
Professional Paint Supplies & Values
Pro Supplies
Sheen
Natural Stain
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Semi-Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
100

Details

Application Method
Brush
Coating Product Category
Paint
Color Family
Clear
Color/Finish
Tint Base Dark Clear
Dry to touch (min.)
900
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Paint & Primer in One
Yes
Paint/Stain Base Material
Acrylic
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
Tintable
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Cabinet & Countertop
Professional Paint Supplies & Values
Pro Supplies
Sheen
Natural Stain
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Semi-Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

Does the cabinet surface need to be stripped (e.g., glossy paint, etc.) before applying this product?

Asked by: beginner2
Either way you still do a lot of scrubbing with the deglosser. You have to get rid of the shine on the existing finish or the paint won't adhere as well. With the amount of elbow grease you might as well use an orbital sander and sand it down. Probably easier and provides a better base for the paint. You just need to scrub the tight crevices afterwards.
Answered by: Gem
Date published: 2018-03-04

Do I have to get the dark bond kit tinted somewhere? Mine is almost a clear color?

Asked by: Hortonsizefun
When you purchase this product, you get it tinted at the paint counter to the color you want. The colors available are listed on the box. Note: The colors shown on the box are slightly lighter.
Answered by: Cricket
Date published: 2018-05-04

Approximately how many cabinets will one kit cover?

Asked by: beginner
There is a formula you can use to find out how much this kit will cover. I bought the small kit & it did both of my (SMALL) bathrooms. In total, it covered 2 small vanities & their doors (6 doors total) as well as my overhead small storage cabinets + their doors (2 doors total). Hope this helps!
Answered by: DarlingDIY
Date published: 2018-03-01

Can I use a cloth to wipe on the clear coat instead of brushing it?

Can I use a cloth to wipe on the clear coat instead of brushing it?
Asked by: Gem
I wouldn't recommend using a cloth to wipe on the top coat because of consistency of product and recommendation not to over-brush. It dries quickly and this is the final sheen that will seal in the paint and protect all of your hard work. Don't skimp on the cost of the brush (you don't want to pick out "brush hair" during the entire process). When in doubt, contact Rustoleum's customer service 1 (877) 385-8155.
Answered by: MINTN
Date published: 2018-01-09
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_455
  • loc_, sid_202572595, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Dark Color Cabinet Kit (9-Piece) is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 765.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We used this product on our kitchen about 5 years ago. Whereas initially I was very happy with i... We used this product on our kitchen about 5 years ago. Whereas initially I was very happy with it, 5 years later it's chipping in many places (especially around heavy use areas and around door knobs) and I've reached a point where I regret using this product, and not investing in something a little more expensive (such as Sherwin Williams). Admittedly, , we have a very large kitchen and most areas are still intact, but the chipped areas are an eye-soar.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was easy to use and transformed my kitchen. I will say it is A LOT of work and very... This product was easy to use and transformed my kitchen. I will say it is A LOT of work and very time consuming. I'm nearing the end and am so tired of painting. Although the finished product looks really good. Take your time! We decided to use a small foam roller on the doors and large cabinet areas even though directions say 2 inch brush. We didn't use the glaze and could see some brush marks. The top coat is super runny so be sure to keep a look out for pooling & drips. I just brushed away lightly when they appeared. This is a great DIY product. Very happy with results.
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First off, it was extremely difficult to get a consistent look with the stain. I am so unhappy wi... First off, it was extremely difficult to get a consistent look with the stain. I am so unhappy with the way it turned out. My cabinets look dirty. That could very well just be a user error, though. The real reason I do not recommend this product is the fact that after a year we need to repaint. We were incredibly careful in striping the first coat of glaze on the original stain because we didn't want to risk the chance of paint not fixing properly, but that didn't seem to matter. One year later and we already need to redo the cabinets. The paint is chipping off everywhere. This stuff is a pain to use, expensive, and totally worthless.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from USE A SPRAYER! For the best professional look, you will need to use a sprayer (unless you plan to glaze) for bond and top coat. The top coat is very difficult to get a clean look without using a sprayer. I tried multiple times with a brush and it looked horrible. If you don't have a sprayer, go buy one. Your results will be night and day. If using a sprayer, you will not need to dilute. The instructions says up to 30%for bond and 10% for top coat. When I did that I found it to be too thin and had some runs. When I sprayed without any dilutions, it came out very nice Overall, a good product but it's very difficult to get a clean look without a sprayer. Good luck!
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes we did a whole lot more than just change the finish, but this product is part of what ties al... Yes we did a whole lot more than just change the finish, but this product is part of what ties all this together. The product produces stunning results but is very time intensive. I suggest you watch the videos , take your time, and pay attention to detail.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this stuff!! so much better than sanding Ive done two baths and my kitchen now. Yes its time-consuming but results are amazing if you follow instructions and dont rush. I did add a shellac based primer under the light paint to assure no gold oak bleed through and I put an extra coat of bonding coat on as my cabinets were worn and dry and bonding coat soaked into grain with just two coats. I love the glazing but experiment on spare wood to develop the look and technique before you do the actual cabinets. Have the correct supplies- good brushes, etc.. If you are glazing, hand wash the wiping cloths and hang dry before use or youll get lint. Or buy (a lot) of lint free cloths and skip using the included ones.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The stripping phase is almost as intensive as sanding and does not save time. Maybe a bit of elbo... The stripping phase is almost as intensive as sanding and does not save time. Maybe a bit of elbow grease. The protective coat and stripping fluid far outlast the bond paint. I had to use an additional 1.25 gallons of better cabinet paint to finish the kitchen and a bathroom that was way more than 100 sq ft and I still had half my stripping fluid and I had just run out of protective coating. I didn't use tge gloss. Dark cabinets require around 4-5 coats to cover up. Rust-oleum would have you purchase another kit as they make it very difficult to figure out what they've given you. The end product is very good, but takes way longer than expected.
Date published: 2018-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s absolutely important to read the instructions throughly and do... It’s absolutely important to read the instructions throughly and do research based upon others who have similar situations to your own. I had golden oak colored cabinets and thanks to reviews by others I read the primer in this kit was not adequate for coverage. I used a primer made by Valspar - sanded between coats - and took my time brushing on the first layer and following with a foam roller. I used 4 coats of primer and paid special attention to corners and nooks. The more time you spend prepping is key to the success of this product- the degloser phase is key- time spent here will determine your overall end product. My kitchen has completely transformed thanks to this kit- if you have the time and dedication along with attention to detail this product is for you.
Date published: 2018-06-26
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_765
  • loc_, sid_202572595, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT