Model # A9FS8R1

Internet #202078676

Store SKU #105770

Ryobi Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)
0033287147540

Ryobi

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece)

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
Was  $19.97
$1697 /each

Save $3.00 (15%)

store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.
  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Product Overview

  • Creates clean cuts in wood
  • X-Wing design for visibility and precision
  • Viewable target marks at 700 RPM
Model #: A9FS8R1
Sku #: 105770
Internet #: 202078676

Make clean holes in wood with the RYOBI Forstner Bit Set. It includes eight bits with 3-flat shanks to resist slipping. An X-Wing design gives you high visibility and precision cutting.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Helps you quickly make clean holes in wood
  • Great for making flat-bottomed holes
  • X-Wing design for greater visibility and precision cutting
  • 3-flat shanks
  • Target marks are viewable at 700 RPM
  • Includes 1/4 in., 3/8 in., 1/2 in., 5/8 in., 3/4 in., 7/8 in., 1 in. and 1-3/8 in. bits

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.97
Product Height (in.)
5.59
Product Width (in.)
8.27

Details

Bit Material
Other
Drill Bit Type
Forstner
Drill Bit Type(s) Included
Forstner
Individual/Set
Set
Number of Pieces
8
Returnable
90-Day
Self-Feeding
No
Shank Style
3-Flat
Shank Style
3-Flat
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.97
Product Height (in.)
5.59
Product Width (in.)
8.27

Details

Bit Material
Other
Drill Bit Type
Forstner
Drill Bit Type(s) Included
Forstner
Individual/Set
Set
Number of Pieces
8
Returnable
90-Day
Self-Feeding
No
Shank Style
3-Flat
Shank Style
3-Flat
Tools Product Type
Power Tool

Questions & Answers

will this forstner bit set work with my ryobi hand drill?

Asked by: Dency
Yes, it should work fine in your Ryobi. I used a 1/2" dewalt cordless with the 1 3/8" bit without a problem
Answered by: Ben
Date published: 2017-02-21

Im very new to the Ryobi trim router or any router in that case and i want to know if this bit set can be used with it. Thanks in advance

Asked by: Newdiyer
Hi, Newdiyer. We would suggest getting a router bit set. An example of one can be found at the link below. Best regards, Lynn from the Ryobi team. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Ryobi-Router-Bit-Set-15-Piece-A25R151/205626187
Answered by: Ryobi Tools Team
Date published: 2017-08-06

diameters in set

diameters in set
Asked by: cannoneer
1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 5/8", 3/4", 7/8", and 1"... then a 1 3/8"...
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-10-31

Do forstner bits come in the 1/4' siza?

Asked by: Larry
This is the one that I got.
Answered by: Fluffyjo
Date published: 2017-03-22
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 95ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Forstner Bit Set (8-Piece) is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doing fine so far. Doing fine so far.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forstner Bit Set... Forstner Bit Set
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did good job. ... Did good job.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased!... Very pleased!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good ... Very good
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Quality I needed to countersink some lag bolts and 3/4" washers, so I stopped by Home Depot and grabbed this set off the shelf. It seemed like a great deal - the whole 8 piece set was only twice the cost of a single bit from the competitor's brand. However, when I took a closer look at the cutting edges of the bits and realized they were completely mangled looking (see picture). It looks like they were sharpened by a caveman wielding a stone hammer. It doesn't appear to be a one-time quality control issue either - every single one of these bits were gouged and mangled the same way. These bits will never be able to provide a smooth cut without some serious work being done to sharpen them correctly.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible The cutting edges of these bits are very poorly machined. There are divots all along the cutting-edges and the bits do not cut well. This was a factory-sealed bit-set, so I know that it was not a returned product. The attached photos are the bits BEFORE any usage, i.e. straight out of the box!
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a hea... Great bit set for the price. They make clean holes with lots of chip clearance. They have a heavy point to keep the bit on target when starting to drill.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Right out of the package I noticed that the cutting edges were very jagged and dented and had burrs (see image). The three largest bits were dull requiring a ridiculous amount of force to get through soft pine. There was no point in trying the other bits. Completely unusable. They're going straight back to the store as soon as I find the receipt.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For occasional use ...the set is a great value. I'm not sure what other buyers expect when the set is priced less than a single high quality bit ($17 when I purchased the set), but for occasional use where tolerances are non-critical you can't beat this set. If you're expecting more plan on spending a few hundred dollars putting together a set of appropriate bits.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the money it's a good set. Very minimal tearing of soft wood when beginning to drill. For the money it's a good set. Very minimal tearing of soft wood when beginning to drill.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, awesome value I needed to make a series of 1 3/8" holes in cabinet doors. This set includes bits up to that size, so I was able to purchase this for about the price of a single 1 3/8" bit. Not only did it cut quickly, I had zero issues which slippage. And despite everyone saying not to - I used them with a hand drill. I can only imagine how well they work in a press!
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They look like forstner bits These bits cover a good range of sizes and come in a case to keep them organized. They will make fairly clean sided holes in soft woods but do so more through friction than actual cutting. The cutting edges are very dull and full of nicks and even roll overs. If I had to guess I would say they receive only the initial grinding step and none of the additional honing steps involved in the making of better forstner bits. I bought this set because the store was out of the size of Freud bit that I needed for a project and I figured these were better than using a paddle bit, I was wrong. Just for kicks I tried two of these forstner bits head to head against two of my older Freud bits and these take 8-10 times longer to make the same depth of hole in the same yellow pine stock. I ended up cutting my stock wide, using a paddle bit for the wholes, and ripping the face flat on the table saw before trimming to final dimensions. If you have to make only a few flat bottomed holes in soft lumber very occasionally you could probably get by with this set. I wouldn't even consider using them on hard woods.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What hinge? This is a great set of bits. Cuts are relatively quick, quiet, and accurately bored. The statement, 'You will never have a hard time finding your target mark again!' may apply to most people, but not to me. I managed to miss the mark twice in a line of several holes. However, visibility of the mark is superior to other forstner bits. As with any forstners, some of the bits should only work at lower than usual rpm--adjust drill belt or speed accordingly. If you don't the bits will smoke & squeal like a stuck pig on steroids. The storage box is quite well made and useful, except that mine came with no hinge pins. A couple of small sheet metal screws fixed the problem, but a company with Ryobi's reputation shouldn't allow that to happen. Also, It's difficult or impossible to remove all the advertising & promotional illustrations from the case. Sitting on my shelf, it looks like I shoplifted it. But I didn't, and the bits don't care. All in all...a great set at a great price.
Date published: 2010-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull bits in general I agree with the other two recent posters that these bits are dull, right out of the box. Maybe the manufacturing process is totally hit and miss, or maybe the quality has declined. With all of the good reviews, I was surprised how dull these bits were. I had always bought Freud before--so I was used to good, sharp bits when newly purchased. Will get to work sharpening these and see if they can be improved.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dull, dull, dull I needed to drill two 1/2" flat bottom holes in two douglas fir sliding doors. I bought this kit thinking it would be nice to have the other sizes. It was a complete waste of money. The brand new 1/2" bit was so dull right out of the (sealed) box that I could barely drill the holes. The holes were so ragged, it would have been cleaner to use my regular 1/2" drill. What a poor quality bit. This set is absolutely junk. Save your money and buy something else.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs Work Before Being Used My set had bad burrs along the cutting edge and required honing before being used. I used a diamond file to remove the burrs and the bits should be fine. Kinda like buying from Harbor Freight, as cheap as they were I knew I'd have to work on them first. Took 10 minutes but required a SMALL diamond file.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I haven't had a chance to use these bits yet since I am working on another project that doesn't r... I haven't had a chance to use these bits yet since I am working on another project that doesn't require the use of these bits. I'm in the process of finishing my garage so I can use it as a shop when I pull one or both of the cars out. I gave it 5 stars even thou I haven't used them yet. They look like they will do the job I plan to use them for. I just bought a new drill press and wanted these bits to use with it. It's a nice starter kit for a new drill press owner.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lower sizes will burn! Just picked these up the other day to drill through red oak. I know red oak is hard but the 3/8" bit was more like a wood burning tip. I adjusted my speed according to the bit size in my drill press and they smoked right away. The other reviews on the quality and how these bits were sharper are accurate. The larger 7/8" bit worked great it for about three holes and then it too began to burn. I would not recommend these bits, not even for a one time job.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought this because I had to make an 13/8" hole for some cabinet doors for a project. I had seen... Bought this because I had to make an 13/8" hole for some cabinet doors for a project. I had seen previous reviews talking about poor quality and smoking upon use. The cabinet doors were birch plywood. The bit worked flawlessly. 2 days later, I tried to make more holes in some reclaimed pine decking...and the bit bound, smoked horribly, and couldn't even do 1 hole. In summary, worked once for a job then might as well throw away.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've had these for about a week. Nice set of common sized bits for a good price. I was using this... I've had these for about a week. Nice set of common sized bits for a good price. I was using this to drill holes through some very hard wood (bocote, padauk, and wenge). After, 15 holes the bit was worn out. I'm sure its great for some softer wood but I needed the bits then and couldn't wait to order a carbide tipped blade. But, the reality was I was in a pinch, needed several different sizes and for the quantity/quality they did a good job. However, these blades can be resharpened and will be good as new. They don't have the teeth that other bits I've used in the past have but that will hopefully make a bit easier to sharpen. Despite the quick wear out on the type of wood I was working with, I didn't have any issues with the bit itself clogging; which I was more than happy with. If you're purchasing these to drive through your normal type of wood purchased at HD; you'll be in great shape.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forstner bits are wonderful for woodworking and this set had an excellent price. The case is anot... Forstner bits are wonderful for woodworking and this set had an excellent price. The case is another great feature. I've only had a chance to use them a few times, but they worked just as I expected. I think Forstner bits in general work better with a drill press, I don't think they would be appropriate to use with a hand drill, but then I rate myself as pretty much a novice woodworker.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I expected After reading the previous reviews I have arrived at the same opinion as several. Not very sharp, but under the conditions and the price it is what it is. A better set will be something on the list in the future. Not disappointed though, I expected them to not be premium quality for the price. Used to build a picnic table. Had to recess holes where the carriage bolts were placed in legs and supports. Worth the 19.00 wouldn't use on fine woodworking projects. Hope this helps.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with ... If you only need to make a few pockets then this set will work for you. If you are working with soft woods these set will work great, hard woods will be a challenge. I used them to make pockets in a slab of purple heart. These bits had problems after the second plunge.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8... I was looking for a single bit when I found this 8 piece kit. The cost was the same to get all 8. I've used it to make about 75 flat-bottom holes. It works fine in my corded drill, although a drill press would give you a perfectly flat hole without user error.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are missing a lot of things a "good" set of Forstners have. For example the securing tips, ... They are missing a lot of things a "good" set of Forstners have. For example the securing tips, too short and is not rifled. So there still a tenancy to jump from a mark. But that being said, they do the job. They are sharp makes holes just fine.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This being my first experience with Forstner bits, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was using them... This being my first experience with Forstner bits, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was using them...primarily the 1-3/8, to hollow out a log (approx 10" dia x 10" deep). While the logic was sound and the bit(s) were good for the first 4" of depth, I found I had to sharpen them after each couple of inches. I don't know if this is normal for these types of bits. Thankfully, per the youtube video I watched, sharpening isn't that involved and takes less than a minute. To get the rest of the depth, I have ordered a 3" Forstner bit which is longer and will certainly move more wood than the smaller Ryobis. Being a different brand, the larger bit may (or may not) give me an idea if the constant sharpening is common among all of these types of bits or just the Ryobis. We shall see. I like that the set came organized in a case. They hang nicely on the peg-board by my drill press, next to my spade bits. I'm sure they will come handy from time to time on less demanding, perhaps more 'conventional' projects...for that reason, I'm glad I have them.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was so glad to have this set of drills... I was so glad to have this set of drills for installing new drawer pulls, made it easy to get professional looking results. I'm going to be using the set a lot more in the future. Drilled over 100 holes and the bit is still going strong.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from With only limited use of the bits so far, it appears that the "X-wing" design does not produce as... With only limited use of the bits so far, it appears that the "X-wing" design does not produce as clean a hole as a the typical more enclosed Forstner bit design. Nevertheless, based on the limited use the set appears to be a good value.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Haida. Immediate need for one bit and chose to buy this set because of the excellent price/valu... I Haida. Immediate need for one bit and chose to buy this set because of the excellent price/value. I was completely satisfied with the performance and glad that I now have a whole set of sizes next time I need one.
Date published: 2016-12-29
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_169
  • loc_, sid_202078676, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 238ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT