Model # ES5000

Internet #205489754

Ryobi Phone Works Inspection Scope
0033287165261

Ryobi

Phone Works Inspection Scope

  • Turns your smartphone into a wireless inspection scope
  • Works with free app to capture/share image, video and voice notes
  • Great for seeing behind walls, inside pipes and other structures
$9997 /each
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Installation Options

Product Overview

  • Turns your smartphone into a wireless inspection scope
  • Works with free app to capture/share image, video and voice notes
  • Great for seeing behind walls, inside pipes and other structures
Inspect hidden spaces with more confidence and functionality than ever before. With the one-of-a-kind Ryobi Phone Works mobile app and Inspection Scope device, your smartphone transforms into a smart, wireless inspection scope. This unique device creates a dedicated wireless network that connects to your smartphone and the free mobile app turns your phone screen into a high quality display of your inspection site. Mount your phone to the device, or use remotely up to 10 ft. away. With a 3 ft. submersible, flexible cable and ultra-bright, adjustable LED light for visibility in all kinds of environments. The mobile app allows you to capture images and videos and add voice notes. Easily share data through email and social networks. These cutting-edge features and functions make the Phone Works Inspection Scope and mobile app the smart way to get eyes behind walls, inside pipes and other hidden structures. Store the Inspection Scope or other Phone Works tools in the storage case (sold separately). Ryobi Phone Works - Transform your phone into your smartest tool.
  • Provides visibility behind walls, inside pipes and other hidden structures
  • Captures video and images with voice notes for easy filing and sharing
  • Can be used up to 10 ft. away from your smartphone
  • Features 3 ft. submersible, flexible cable and ultra-bright LED work light
  • App available on the app store and google play
  • Launch the phone works app on your smartphone before connecting the device to your phone; make sure the phone volume all the way up before starting
  • Includes: (1) ES5000 inspection scope, (1) phone mount clip and (2) AA batteries
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Product Overview

  • Turns your smartphone into a wireless inspection scope
  • Works with free app to capture/share image, video and voice notes
  • Great for seeing behind walls, inside pipes and other structures
Model #: ES5000
Internet #: 205489754

Inspect hidden spaces with more confidence and functionality than ever before. With the one-of-a-kind Ryobi Phone Works mobile app and Inspection Scope device, your smartphone transforms into a smart, wireless inspection scope. This unique device creates a dedicated wireless network that connects to your smartphone and the free mobile app turns your phone screen into a high quality display of your inspection site. Mount your phone to the device, or use remotely up to 10 ft. away. With a 3 ft. submersible, flexible cable and ultra-bright, adjustable LED light for visibility in all kinds of environments. The mobile app allows you to capture images and videos and add voice notes. Easily share data through email and social networks. These cutting-edge features and functions make the Phone Works Inspection Scope and mobile app the smart way to get eyes behind walls, inside pipes and other hidden structures. Store the Inspection Scope or other Phone Works tools in the storage case (sold separately). Ryobi Phone Works - Transform your phone into your smartest tool.

California residents: see   Proposition 65 information

  • Provides visibility behind walls, inside pipes and other hidden structures
  • Captures video and images with voice notes for easy filing and sharing
  • Can be used up to 10 ft. away from your smartphone
  • Features 3 ft. submersible, flexible cable and ultra-bright LED work light
  • App available on the app store and google play
  • Launch the phone works app on your smartphone before connecting the device to your phone; make sure the phone volume all the way up before starting
  • Includes: (1) ES5000 inspection scope, (1) phone mount clip and (2) AA batteries
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Cable length (ft.)
3
Camera head diameter (in.)
.354
Display size (in.)
4
Product Depth (in.)
2
Product Height (in.)
6
Product Width (in.)
1.5

Details

Color Family
Gray
LCD display
No
Power Tool Features
No Additional Features
Product Weight (lb.)
.10lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Waterproof camera head
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
LIMITED 1 YEAR WARRANTY

Specifications

Dimensions

Cable length (ft.)
3
Camera head diameter (in.)
.354
Display size (in.)
4
Product Depth (in.)
2
Product Height (in.)
6
Product Width (in.)
1.5

Details

Color Family
Gray
LCD display
No
Power Tool Features
No Additional Features
Product Weight (lb.)
.10lb
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Power Tool
Waterproof camera head
Yes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
LIMITED 1 YEAR WARRANTY

Questions & Answers

Does it produce color image or black and white?

Asked by: Wowmemalone
Color images if the light is bright enough. When using the built in LED it tends to bleach out the color to blue-ish light.
Answered by: Slamma
Date published: 2018-03-01

how do I get app

Asked by: mn1
google play store or any app store
Answered by: westhill
Date published: 2017-05-17

Is WiFi or mobIle data necessary to run app and use scope?

Asked by: Ed
Yes, you need to download the app from an app store. Then you must connect your phone to the scope's wifi signal, but this does not use mobile data
Answered by: westhill
Date published: 2017-05-17

Will this work with a Iphone ?

Will this work with a Iphone ?
Asked by: James
Mine works with my 5s for around 5 seconds before losing WiFi connection. Junk.
Answered by: PGVB
Date published: 2018-03-01
  • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_9CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_, sid_205489754, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 113ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Phone Works Inspection Scope is rated 2.3 out of 5 by 127.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless Drops connection after a few seconds. No help from Ryobi. Documentation poor. 404 errors on website. Recommend you spend the extra $ for a real scope.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Diverse Time Saver This isn't a tool I really thought I would need until I started using it. In the last few months alone I';ve used it for plumbing, air, and car work and each time it's kept me from having to do a lot of additional work just to see what's going on. With my car: I didn't have to take off the tires to see that the joint was completely broken. In My Basement: i didn't have to take off some paneling to get a look at the pipes and find a leak With my furnace: as actually able to see how bad the rust was on my heat exchange If you do a lot of work yourself this is something worth having around.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent scope, app needs work. The nicest aspect of this inspection camera is it works with your smartphone. The app allows you to organize photos, videos, notes, locations and audio recordings grouped by project. As improvements are made to the software you can have access to them without having to purchase a new scope. Because there's no screen on the scope it also is lighter and takes up less space in your toolbox. The inspection scope connects to your camera via a wifi connection. Once you turn on the scope you set up your phone to use the camera's as your wifi hotspot. Using the scope and your phone you can view behind walls, down plumbing, etc., through your phone's screen. You can even take photos and 30 second videos. LED bulbs around the lens provide light for a clearer view. You can adjust the level of the light to three different brightness settings or turn the light off. The camera is at the end of a 3' long cable that you can bend in different ways and it will keep it's shape. The end of the scope can even be used underwater to try and identify the source of blockage in plumbing. Since the phone connects via wi-fi, it doesn't need to be mounted on the scope to work and can be used up to 10' away which can help get into some tighter spots while still viewing the screen comfortably. The PhoneWorks Inspection Scope seems to burn through its 3 AAA batteries pretty fast. I would recommend getting some low-self discharge rechargeable batteries for it. The ones that are labeled "precharged". Since the photos are on your smartphone, you can easily text or email them to others. You'll first need to reconnect to an internet connected wifi network or use your cellular wireless plan (3g/4g) before using email. It doesn't seem like you can currently share videos though. Hopefully that gets improved in the app later on. One thing you need to remember is that after pressing the yellow circle to take a picture, you need to swipe the thumbnail to the left to store it, otherwise it gets discarded. Image size is 720x480 pixels. It doesn't take up the full size of my phone's screen. It would be nice if the image could go full screen while using the scope's interface. Picture quality is okay and could benefit from less compression but video quality sucks. Too much compression and the video gets very choppy when there's movement in the scene. Since the video seen on the screen while not recording appears clean this hopefully just requires a software fix. The app needs some work. It would be nice if it could have some more project management features but there are some other issues that make it a bit annoying to use. Like I said though, as the app gets upgraded, you don't need to purchase a new scope to get the benefits. Some of those issues are: * Can't edit project name. Some things generally don't work like I'd expect and this is one of them. From at least the project list view, I should be able to long press a project and have an option to change the project name. * Can only create projects while using one of the PhoneWorks devices. I can't just go to the project list and create a new project which is annoying. * Data not organized well. There are two different ways that your stored photos, videos, audio, notes, etc are organized. When you first go into the project screen you'll see icons for different devices. When you click on the different devices you can see the data captured by that device in the list below. For the inspection camera you can see photos and videos you've taken with it. It's just a text list and you can't edit the name of the file. It's just Video1, Photo1, etc. There's another screen for project files where you have photos you've taken without devices, text notes, audio, etc., but these photos and videos don't show up there. I think it would be better if everything was in just one space. From the other view you can see thumbnails of photos but strangely, you can't press a thumbnail to enlarge it. You also can't change the names of files as far as I can figure out. It would be beneficial if you could edit the names of files to give them a more descriptive name. One nice aspect from this other view is that it's easy to share multiple files over text or email. Just click the sharing icon, click the share icon on the individual items you'd like to share and you can send one email with multiple files. I don't see why Ryobi doesn't just use this one screen and create different sections for the various PhoneWorks attachments. A way to record (and share) video independent of attachments would be a nice feature. * If you're going to let users take video, might as well let them share too. This is one of the quickest and easiest ways I know of to be able to take and share photos with an inspection camera which makes it big benefit to those that need to send images to either another contractor, supervisor or client that is not on site. Hopefully the app improves soon.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little device. It uses the screen from your phone. This is a well built piece of equipment. It feels good in your hand Im using all my Phone Works devices with my iPhone 5s and so far they all work fine. You can save photo or video of what the camera sees for sharing or future reference. Just download the APP for your phone and a bit to familiarize yourself with the functions your ready to go.. Very clear images from the LED illuminated camera on the end of a submersable 3ft long flexable camera cable will lend itself to numerous applications
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from celluler data has to be off in order for this scope to work for me it is truly a nice inspection scope even considering g the amount of time I wasted trying to figure out why it hasn't been working for a while, i tried the trouble shooting, and just about everything else you can think of until I was fortunate enough to find a YouTube video on a different scope but the same problem and I happened to look through the the comments and see one man who stated that he had found the way to work his, which was to turn off cellular data and I thought at first it couldn't as simple as that, but hey I figured I has tried everything so far and was desperate so I tried it anyway and it worked that's why I'm giving it four stars
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Set up was pretty easy, but took a little time. The images from this were absolutely terrible. Completely unusable. I don't know if I got a defective unit or what, but most of the time I was lucky if I got a partial image with the rest of the display being a smear of colors. Occasionally if I left it sitting completely still, it would produce what looked like a pretty decent image, but as soon as I moved it, the image went back to just blurs of color. I called Ryobi PhoneWorks support and was told they had never heard of such a problem and that possibly it was a defective unit. Took it back, but did not feel like giving another one a try.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Functionality This is a really handy tool and at this price point, it’s a solid purchase as long as you have a supported smartphone to use it with. The picture is decent, not perfect, but definitely good enough to allow you to identify a problem area or blockage in a small, dark area like a drain or behind the walls. Being able to keep the phone separate from the scope is also handy, especially in wet conditions. I haven’t been able to get it to work the advertised 10 feet away, but it’s performed well at 4 or 5 feet. Setup of the app is a bit unwieldy in places, but I’ve seen worse. It’s important to note that there’s very little in terms of setup instructions in the packaging for this device. You’ll want to read the manual under the settings tab for the full instructions (I overlooked it at first because the other options under that tab are actual settings, not literature). It’s a little inconvenient to have to manually switch wifi over to the scope’s signal every time you want to use it. It would be nice if they’d built in the option of having it pair over your existing wifi connection when available - again, inconvenient, but not a deal breaker. After the initial setup the app is fairly straightforward and the option to take photos & videos in the app is nice. It has crashed on me a couple times, but for the most part, it works as it should. So far I’ve used this to inspect shower drains, the garbage disposal and the hull of a Seadoo. It’s performed well in all of those circumstances, though once or twice I had to remove the camera and wipe it off. If dust or dirt gets on the end of the camera when using the LED lights, the light creates a glare making the image largely unusable until its cleaned. Each time it was easily resolved by cleaning the camera though. Other observations – the packaging on this was a major pain to get through. Just do yourself a favor and have a very sharp knife on hand from the beginning. Also, I’m not a fan the mounting clip that holds your phone. You have to be really careful that it’s actually snapped in or it will fall off. I’m not really sure why this piece needs to be detachable. I would much rather the scope be one solid piece, but if they are going to keep going with a snap on model, I wish they’d use something a little more sturdy/robust. It’s just hard to tell when the clip is actually in place. When properly in place it does a good job of holding the phone though, and the fact that it’s expandable is good for accommodating a wide variety of phones. Now, while I really like the camera and I have no reason to think Ryobi won’t do right by its customers (all of my experiences with Ryobi have been excellent!), I can’t in good conscience finish this review without pointing out that this scope (and the entire Phone Works line) is entirely dependent on a functioning smartphone app. If Ryobi were to someday stop supporting this app, these tools are worthless. Again, I’m not saying they will, I’m just pointing out that if they did, with the way phones are advancing, it wouldn’t be very long before the app was obsolete on newer phones, rendering this tool useless. Now, with that said, I still think this is a great tool at this price point. You’d be paying 2 or 3 times as much for a comparable scope that wasn’t app based, and you wouldn’t have the convenience of being able to record and send photos directly from the app. As long as you understand that this is a tool you’ll probably get to use for a few years and not a lifetime, I definitely don’t think you’ll be disappointed.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This tool is inadequate in every way. 1. the instructions said that you had to register the produ... This tool is inadequate in every way. 1. the instructions said that you had to register the product in the app to use it, but there was no mention of where to find the app. 2. you are required to connect your phone to the unit's wifi network to use it. 3. you cannot use your phone while you are using your phone as the camera display. 4. Activating the display (your cell phone) takes about 30-40 seconds every time. 5. every time I bumped or tapped the unit, it shut off. It repeatedly shut off while I was in the middle of an operation, requiring me to stop the process I was in and start connecting my phone to the camera all over again, and then start the process all over again. I am taking this back to HD in the morning.
Date published: 2017-05-17
  • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_, sid_205489754, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 120ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT