Internet #100350697

Model # 65306217

Store SKU #251407

0764661121602

SAKRETE

60 lb. Sand Mix

  • A quality mixture of sand and cement
  • Can be used as bedding material or as topping mix
  • Also use as a topping mix to rejuvenate damaged concrete surfaces
$ 7 47
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • A quality mixture of sand and cement
  • Can be used as bedding material or as topping mix
  • Also use as a topping mix to rejuvenate damaged concrete surfaces
SAKRETE Sand Mix is a multipurpose product designed for a variety of projects ranging from repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry to creating mortar beds under ceramic tile installations. It is a pre-blended mixture of sand and cementitious material that is ideal for applications from 1/2 in. to 2 in. Simply add water and mix for ready application.
  • Uses: Repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry, driveways, walkways, concrete overlays
  • Can be used as a bedding mix for flagstone, slate or brick
  • For applications requiring a thickness from 1/2 in. - 2 in.
  • Just add water; sets in approximately 6 hours and allows foot traffic in 24 hours
  • Exceeds strength requirement of ASTM C 387
  • High strength 5,000 psi compression strength
  • Learn more about concrete and cement here in our Buying Guide
  • Note: Product availability may vary by store

Product Overview

  • A quality mixture of sand and cement
  • Can be used as bedding material or as topping mix
  • Also use as a topping mix to rejuvenate damaged concrete surfaces
Model #: 65306217
Sku #: 251407
Internet #: 100350697

SAKRETE Sand Mix is a multipurpose product designed for a variety of projects ranging from repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry to creating mortar beds under ceramic tile installations. It is a pre-blended mixture of sand and cementitious material that is ideal for applications from 1/2 in. to 2 in. Simply add water and mix for ready application.

  • Uses: Repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry, driveways, walkways, concrete overlays
  • Can be used as a bedding mix for flagstone, slate or brick
  • For applications requiring a thickness from 1/2 in. - 2 in.
  • Just add water; sets in approximately 6 hours and allows foot traffic in 24 hours
  • Exceeds strength requirement of ASTM C 387
  • High strength 5,000 psi compression strength
  • Learn more about concrete and cement here in our Buying Guide
  • Note: Product availability may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • A quality mixture of sand and cement
  • Can be used as bedding material or as topping mix
  • Also use as a topping mix to rejuvenate damaged concrete surfaces
SAKRETE Sand Mix is a multipurpose product designed for a variety of projects ranging from repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry to creating mortar beds under ceramic tile installations. It is a pre-blended mixture of sand and cementitious material that is ideal for applications from 1/2 in. to 2 in. Simply add water and mix for ready application.
  • Uses: Repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry, driveways, walkways, concrete overlays
  • Can be used as a bedding mix for flagstone, slate or brick
  • For applications requiring a thickness from 1/2 in. - 2 in.
  • Just add water; sets in approximately 6 hours and allows foot traffic in 24 hours
  • Exceeds strength requirement of ASTM C 387
  • High strength 5,000 psi compression strength
  • Learn more about concrete and cement here in our Buying Guide
  • Note: Product availability may vary by store

Product Overview

  • A quality mixture of sand and cement
  • Can be used as bedding material or as topping mix
  • Also use as a topping mix to rejuvenate damaged concrete surfaces
Model #: 65306217
Sku #: 251407
Internet #: 100350697

SAKRETE Sand Mix is a multipurpose product designed for a variety of projects ranging from repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry to creating mortar beds under ceramic tile installations. It is a pre-blended mixture of sand and cementitious material that is ideal for applications from 1/2 in. to 2 in. Simply add water and mix for ready application.

  • Uses: Repairing wide cracks in concrete and masonry, driveways, walkways, concrete overlays
  • Can be used as a bedding mix for flagstone, slate or brick
  • For applications requiring a thickness from 1/2 in. - 2 in.
  • Just add water; sets in approximately 6 hours and allows foot traffic in 24 hours
  • Exceeds strength requirement of ASTM C 387
  • High strength 5,000 psi compression strength
  • Learn more about concrete and cement here in our Buying Guide
  • Note: Product availability may vary by store

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Rapid Set SAKRETE SAKRETE SAKRETE
Name 0.88 oz. Concrete Pharmacy Set Control 60 lb. Sand Mix 94 lb. Type I-II Portland Cement Concrete Mix 94 lb. Portland Cement
Price
$2.50
$7.47
$13.85
$13.85
Ratings (13) (124) (11) (62)
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (cu. ft.)
.45
Product Depth (in.)
17.5
Product Height (in.)
4.5
Product Length (in.)
15

Details

Color Family
Gray
Compression Strength (psi)
5000
Features
Pre-Mixed,Stainable
Material
Sand
Product Weight (lb.)
60lb
Use Location
Floor
Working Time (min.)
45

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 YR

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (cu. ft.)
.45
Product Depth (in.)
17.5
Product Height (in.)
4.5
Product Length (in.)
15

Details

Color Family
Gray
Compression Strength (psi)
5000
Features
Pre-Mixed,Stainable
Material
Sand
Product Weight (lb.)
60lb
Use Location
Floor
Working Time (min.)
45

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 YR

Questions & Answers

can this product be used on a shower floor?

Asked by: brian
Yes, it is designed for that
Answered by: SteveVA
Date published: 2018-04-27

Why cant you ise this for tiling the walls was told we could by HD employee?

Will it not hold or why does it matter if you dont use thin set morter?
Asked by: Jess
This product is meant for building a mud bed for a shower. It has no bonding strength. Thinset adhesives have the necessary added components to Bond the tile to floors or walls.
Answered by: Trell
Date published: 2018-06-07

can I mix this into my garden soil to lighten it for planting?

can I mix this into my garden soil to lighten it for planting?
Asked by: maxie
NO. It is a mixture of sand and cement. It will set and make a block of your bed.
Answered by: dyinortheast
Date published: 2019-08-01

Can I use this material to repair the cement holding the flagstones together on my walkway? Just Between a few stones.

Asked by: Adrienne
Note that it contain pebbles at large as 1/8". It may not be suitable for thin layers.
Answered by: dyinortheast
Date published: 2019-08-01
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_59
  • loc_, sid_100350697, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

60 lb. Sand Mix is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 124.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I needed some sand that was sandy, but not so... I needed some sand that was sandy, but not so sandy that it might be too sandy; this was just the sandiness I needed . Now I just need to buy some ready dug post holes...
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No help in the area. Bought this thing by pure... No help in the area. Bought this thing by pure guessing. It worked out ok.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works just as it supposed. Sakrete is always consistent and reliable. It works just as it supposed. Sakrete is always consistent and reliable.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New 1/4 to 1/2 topping on an aging and cracking patio. Looks great. New 1/4 to 1/2 topping on an aging and cracking patio. Looks great.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This worked great for my application underneath my patio pavers.... This worked great for my application underneath my patio pavers.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick, fast, easy to use and did the job very... quick, fast, easy to use and did the job very well.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made rocks to paint with this awesome product ... Made rocks to paint with this awesome product
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great to patch a hole in parking lot. Worked great to patch a hole in parking lot.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish they sold it in a smaller size. I wish they sold it in a smaller size.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGH END PRODUCT WELL SATISFIED... HIGH END PRODUCT WELL SATISFIED
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good produce good produce
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mortar shower pan...follow instructions! I was happy with the product for use in laying a shower pan for tile. Water proof membrane stuck to it well. End result was solid. Just a warning: I have seen more than one DIY website that suggests adding sand to sand topping mix for the right ratio of sand to cement (at least 4 to 1). Since sand topping mixes are typically 3 to 1, you are supposed to add sand to make it a good consistency for a shower pan. My experience is that this does not work with this product. I added sand and the pan turned out crumbly. Follow the instructions for a shower pan on the back (no additional sand required). The consistency should be just moist and crumby, but packs into "snowballs" that hold together. Do this and your pan will turn out right the first time :-)
Date published: 2015-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why does it have gravel? I fail to understand why this sand mix has so much gravel. I have used other sand mixes and I don't run into this problem. I often like to mix a sand mix with certain fortifiers that allow a sand mix to be troweled to a feather edge. With this one it's next to impossible unless I pick out the gravel by hand which is very time-consuming. I have remember running into this problem before about two years ago, but I had completely forgotten and bought it again. Now I have quite a few bags which I might return and buy something else.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product is easy to work with. We used this product to both build a flagstone sidewalk and to patch our driveway. Didn't take but a couple hours with two people to set the sidewalk, but you have to work quickly. The driveway is holding up nicely and we are considering purchasing more cement to complete a much larger section
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for all around repairs. Over the years, I've used Sand Mix to fill-in and replace missing... Perfect for all around repairs. Over the years, I've used Sand Mix to fill-in and replace missing parts of sidewalks on small projects. Recently I used it to level a 12' x 12' patio that went from 1/2" to more than 2" It mixes well and allows plenty of time to work with it before it sets. I raised the patio more than originally planned and needed additional material and this product worked well enough to tie-in with the first set without cracks. Note: Lanco Bonding Agent was used where the new work capped the original slab.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Purchased to provide the floor foundation for a tiled-shower install. Sets-up perfectly, no issues!
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was looking for a different brand of sand/topping mix, but the local HD had this in stock so I ... I was looking for a different brand of sand/topping mix, but the local HD had this in stock so I gave it a try. I was doing a re-mortar of an irregular flagstone walkway. I'm a DIY'er and this was my first masonry project, but it turned out pretty well. My primary focus was safety; the walkway hadn't been maintained for over 30 years and most of the original mortar was gone, leaving large gaps between the flagstones where trick-or-treaters or other guests could trip and seriously injure themselves. I pressure-washed 1/16" thick moss and lichen off the stones and removed the old concrete. The base (stone dust) was still in good shape, so I leveled the stones with all-purpose sand then got to work with the mortar using a masonry trowel and a tuck-pointer trowel for the smaller cracks. Some notes: as mentioned by other commenters there were some small pebbles in the mix, but nothing that interfered with the project. One bag had a large charcoal briquette in it, so that was interesting. Follow the instructions; putting too much water in the mix will make it sloppy and splatter all over the paving stones. The biggest concern is the _irregular coloring from bag to bag_; as seen in the close-up, the coloring of the mortar changed from a bright tan, to a dark slate from another bag, back to a bright tan in another bag. Not a big deal for me, but I strongly recommend getting all the bags from the same pallet, which will hopefully keep it a uniform color. If bags are picked from different pallets it might be from a different location with a different color of mortar.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had to remove my old concrete block steps because we moved my back door to my screened in porch... I had to remove my old concrete block steps because we moved my back door to my screened in porch.. I only needed a 2" thick slab because some of the block is still below the finished floor the Sakrete sand mix did the trick it mixed very easy with a consistent blend from the (2) bags I needed. Even that your not going to see it after I put my finish floor down you always have to start with a strong foundation that will not crumble.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OK, but the stuff from the Tile Shop works much better for a shower bed. If you are going to do a shower floor, go to the tile shop and buy their mix. It is about $2 more but they give you 80 lbs. It is much finer,packs much better and has no gravel. I think Sakrete is trying to shave some pennies off their cost by putting a bunch of pebbles in it. Also - this should not be recommended for shower floors because the beginning of the slope and preslope are much less than 1/2 inch, and as the label says, you shouldn't use this for less than 1/2 inch. All that said, it wasn't a total loss. I was able to do my shower floor slope, but the gravel was a real pain and added about 2 hours to the job. I think I might put some thinset over the top to smooth it out before I try to tile. My recommendation - sakrete should make a dedicated shower floor mix. Get rid of the pebbles and charge an extra buck for the bag.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked well for fireplace hearth overlay This may help someone trying to decide which product is best for their particular use. I had struggled trying to decide on an appropriate product for resurfacing a fireplace hearth, where I had removed the 12'x12' tiles which someone had put down in the past. I wanted to go from about a half inch at the edge of the firebox, to an inch and a quarter depth at the outer lip, which I had formed with some angle aluminum stock I had. I toyed with the idea of using Flo-coat, but had never used the product, and was uneasy about the 20 min. set time. Also, it would take about 4 pails to do the job, about $90. I settled on the Sand-mix, since I was familiar working with this type of portland cement based product. I used charcoal color pigment as per instructions, and in hindsight, probably should have used some strength additive, but didn't. I had plenty of time to steel trowel it, and have misted it daily with water and kept it covered with plastic, which I intend to do for at least a week or more. After 48 hrs. I gently removed my edge form, and rubbed the edge out with an abrasive stone. The color is great, and I'm very pleased, having spent less than $30 . Hope this helps someone trying to figure things. By the way, there were NO stones in the mix, only sand.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did the job. My only criticism: Why is this stuff so expensive in relation to concrete mix? No... Did the job. My only criticism: Why is this stuff so expensive in relation to concrete mix? No reason for that. The two products are the same except the gravel in the concrete mix.
Date published: 2019-04-30
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_124
  • loc_, sid_100350697, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT