#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #206605406

Model #17504

Store SKU #319037

20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and Shade

  • For use in sun, shade, on slopes, and in high traffic areas
  • Contains fertilizer to jumpstart seed growth
  • Added tackifier reduces seed wash away
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Scotts EZ Seed Patch & Repair Sun and Shade is a revolutionary seeding mix that guarantees seeding success. The unique combination of Scotts high performance seed, premium continuous release lawn food and Scotts super-absorbent growing material, make it possible for grass to grow anywhere. Guaranteed (subject to proper care) Scotts EZ Seed now has a tackifier to reduce seed wash away on sloped areas of your lawn.
  • Grows anywhere guaranteed (subject to proper care)
  • Reduces seed wash-away, so EZ Seed even grows on slopes
  • For sunny, densely shaded or high traffic areas
  • Absorbs 6X its weight in water
  • Combination seed, mulch and fertilizer



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair for Tall Fescue Lawns
current product
20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and Shade
20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
BrandScottsScottsScottsScotts
Name7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair for Tall Fescue Lawns20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and Shade20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
Price
Ratings
(2267)
(496)
(926)
(5458)
Grass TypeSun and ShadeFescueMixedSun and Shade
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelMedium LightMedium LightMedium LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantYesYesYesYes
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingPatch & RepairPatch & RepairNew Lawn,Overseeding
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsSeedsSeeds
Product Weight (lb.)721.721.720
OrganicNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
420
Product Depth (in.)
22
Product Height (in.)
15
Product Size
21.7 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
5

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Seed Use
Patch & Repair
Grass Type
Mixed
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
21.7
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

17Questions19Answers

How long after planting can I use a weed and feed?

Asked by Dave June 18, 2021
1
Answer

You’ll want to wait at least a month after the grass has germinated

What setting on a Scotts broadcast spreader would you use for this?

Asked by Jake June 2, 2021
1
Answer

Scotts EZ Seed Sun & Shade is intended more as a patching product applied by hand. We do have a way that it can be applied by a spreader. Set the spreader to the highest setting available. Measure the area you wish to apply EZ Seed. 2# - Will cover 42 Square Feet. Go over area in alternating directions until spreader is empty. Be sure not to over apply, when applied too thickly the grass seed will not germinate or establish well due to overcrowding.

Can I use this to repair St Augustin grass?

Asked by JV May 26, 2021
1
Answer

Yes For certain. It is an easy blend grass and should work well for you. I love this grass repair. With 10 grandkids and several dogs, I use it every year.

Is a seed spreader the best way to apply this

Asked by Bollocks May 9, 2021
3
Answers

No, the material is too clumpy. You have to apply by hand.

Can I use a drop spreader to apply this?

Asked by BobHe April 23, 2021
2
Answers

I use a hand held spreader that I use for fertilizer. That seems to work good.

Will this work on St. Augistein.

Asked by Jerry April 15, 2021
2
Answers

Yes

Should i put some top soil down first?

Asked by Henry April 10, 2021
3
Answers

Henry, the mulch in Scotts EZ Seed will be enough to keep the seeds in place and moist, however, you can apply a layer of topsoil before applying this product if desired. The addition of the organic material in topsoil will help improve the quality of the existing soil.

Is this pet safe?

Asked by Lance April 1, 2021
3
Answers

Lance, although people and pets can reenter the lawn immediately after applying, we recommend limiting activity on the lawn until the new grass has a chance to become established.

Is this safe to use in the backyard with dogs? Is it harmful if they ingest it?

Asked by Asheville January 3, 2021
2
Answers

I would not let a dog ingest. Be careful because they enjoy the order the mixture provides.

What types of grass seeds are contained?

Asked by JM August 9, 2020
1
Answer

JM, the Scotts EZ Seed Patch & Repair Sun & Shade Mix contains Green Star Kentucky Bluegrass, Avalanche Kentucky Bluegrass, Silver Dollar Perennial Ryegrass, Majesty II Perennial Ryegrass, Wendy Jean Creeping Red Fescue, and Shademaster III Creeping Red Fescue

20 lbs. EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and Shade - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 930 reviews
  • 79% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 930 reviews
Great product
This stuff really works. Just make sure you keep it moist.
by Chris
The holy grail of lawn care
We had super patchy grass and had the hardest time getting it to grow. After looking at several products we decided to give this one a go. We hit the jackpot! We raked the dirt prior to laying the seed and watered it twice a day for about 15 minutes. I can’t believe the difference in just a few short weeks. If you are on the fence but it. You won’t be disappointed!
by Ashley
Didnt work at all- surprising
I bought a 3.5 gallon size as it looks like a great idea for some spots I had. After 2 weeks of watering, mixed in good soil, good sun, etc not a single strand of grass has started, seriously...not one. The "Guaranteed" on the front label made me think that this might be average. But it was worse than I expected from Scotts.
by No_grass
Not so good
Bought this a month ago, watered, observed still no grass growing. Help??
by RogerM
Lawn patch works well!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Scotts EZ Seed Patch & Repair Sun and Shade worked very well on my lawn even though it is shaded at times. My lawn had some bare spots that I was able to easily fill in using Scotts EZ Seed Patch & Repair Sun and Shade.
by Toria
Worked great for me!
This worked great for my lawn! The 4th of July really burnt my lawn. I mowed at the lowest setting, raked up dead grass, raked up the soil, spread the EZ seed mix generously, raked that in, and then watered. I watered every day for at least 2-3 weeks, tapering off over time. Even after a week, I saw great results! I tried to use the Pennington brand on another spot in my lawn (figured I would try the cheaper option)... this has not worked very well at all. I would fork over the extra $$$ and buy the name brand for this case.
by Isaac
1 person found this helpful
Grew stickers
I bought this a couple months ago to seed an area I completely tilled. Instead of getting beautiful green grass I got ugly tedious sticker plants. At first I thought they were weeds until my kids kept getting stickers in their feet. Now I get to deal with these pests all year unless I pick them out by hand. Not at all happy and I used to recommend Scott's brand, not any longer though.
by Snh7
Response from Consumer ServiceAug 9, 2020
Our apologies for the negative experience you have had while using Scotts EZ Seed Patch and Repair Sun and Shade Grass Seed. It is normal to have some weeds germinate while seeding because soil preparation brings weed seeds to the surface. All Scotts seed is thoroughly cleaned and is 99.9% weed seed free. We stand by our products with a satisfaction guarantee, and if you would like to discuss this further, feel free to contact us at 888-270-3714. Refer to this review when calling.
I have used MANY different types of seeds to rejuvenate...
I have used MANY different types of seeds to rejuvenate large patches of our lawn which has basically turned into sand. This is the first time i am seeing IMMEDIATE results with grass growth! Ample watering is key to ensuring the grass germinates and grows. Highly recommend this for lawns that need repair.
by HomeDepotCustomer
Great product. Works well.
Great product. Works well.
by GreenAcres
No results
I used this product per instructions on two areas. Neither one grew any grass. I have used the product before with acceptable results but nothing this time. I will not use nor recommend this product again.
by Jon52
Response from Consumer ServiceJul 31, 2020
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts EZ Seed Patch & Repair Sun and Shade. Cool nighttime temperatures and fluctuating temperatures will slow germination. The warmer the soil, the faster the germination. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
Showing 1-10 of 930 reviews