#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #304082154

Model #30075APM

Store SKU #1002940888

40 lbs. Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix

$5698
  • Turn your thin grass into a thicker, greener lawn
  • 3-in-1 solution containing seed, fertilizer, and soil improver
  • Apply with a spreader
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:
$5698

Product Overview

Get up to a 50% thicker lawn subject to proper care results may vary based on current condition of lawn

Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Tall Fescue

Everything you need to help turn weak, thin grass into a thicker, greener lawn. Subject to proper care. Results may vary based on current condition of lawn.

Seed Fertilizer Soil Improver

It's a 3 in 1 Solution

Thick'R Lawn contains seed to fill gaps with new grass, fertilizer to feed new grass plus thicken and green existing turf, and soil improvers for enhanced root development.

3 Steps to Success

Easy to Use

Calculate the size of your lawn with the Scotts My Lawn app to determine coverage amount and then just prep, apply and water.

First mow the area to a height of approximately 2 inches or lowest mower setting

Prep

After mowing, rake or de-thatch to loosen the top layer of soil and remove any dead grass or debris.

Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Product in Broadcast Lawn Spreader

Apply

Use a Scotts spreader to apply to your entire lawn.

Water Sprinkler on Lawn

Water

Water daily or as needed to keep soil surface moist for the first two weeks.

Grass Types Graphic

Grass Types

For tall fescue lawns.

Coverage Graphic

Coverage

Covers up to 1200 sq. ft. or up to 4000 sq. ft. based on bag size.

How Often to Apply Graphic

How often to apply

For best results, apply in the spring and fall.

Average Germination Time Graphic

Average Germination Time

Between seven and fourteen days.

No Quibble Guarantee Icon

No Quibble Guarantee

Guaranteed or your money back. See label for information on Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee.

Easy to Use Spreader Graphic

Easy to use

Apply to the entire lawn with a Scotts spreader.

Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix has everything you need to help turn weak, thin grass into a thicker, greener lawn. With this 3-in-1 solution get up to a 50% thicker lawn with just one application (Subject to proper care). Thick'R Lawn contains soil improvers for enhanced root development, seed to fill gaps with new grass, and fertilizer to feed new grass and thicken and green existing turf. This product is intended for use on an entire lawn and can be applied easily with a Scotts spreader. Results may vary based on current condition of lawn.
  • 3-in-1 solution for thin lawns, including seed, fertilizer and soil improver
  • Seed to fill gaps in your current lawn
  • Fertilizer for thicker, greener turf
  • Soil improver for enhanced root development
  • Get up to a 50% thicker lawn with just one easy application with a spreader (subject to proper care; results may vary based on current condition of lawn)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

20 lbs. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Blend with Water Saver Seed Coating
current product
40 lbs. Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix
Kentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
BrandVigoroScottsPenningtonScotts
Name20 lbs. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Blend with Water Saver Seed Coating40 lbs. Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Tall Fescue MixKentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
Price
$4498
$5698
$6198
$6199
Ratings
(671)
(2536)
(591)
(5743)
Grass TypeFescueFescueFescueSun and Shade
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest,Southwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,SoutheastAppalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelAny LightMedium LightAny LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantNoYesNoYes
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingGrass ThickenerNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Product Size20 LB-Pound43.17 LB-Pound40.5 LB-Pound20 LB-Pound
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)5000400080008000
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsAccessorySeeds
Product Depth (in.)521515
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
4000
Product Depth (in.)
21
Product Height (in.)
5
Product Size
43.17 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
15

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Seed Use
Grass Thickener
Grass Type
Fescue
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Pack Size
1
Product Weight (lb.)
40
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.4
    out of 2,536 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 2,536 reviews
Does Not Work
I bought this product to repair lawn damaged by Fall army worms. I treated the worms a month before using this product and as you can see from the photo after 3 to 4 weeks of keeping the soil damp, there is still no new grass.
by
Response from ScottsCustomerCareOct 10, 2021
Jpm4, we're sorry to hear Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn didn't perform as expected. For best results, day and nighttime temperatures should be consistently between 60-80 degrees. Contact us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
    Little work once it comes in enough
    I bought Scott’s Sun and Shade because of the location (behind the garage) I wanted to fill in. I used both the bag seed and compost to start and watered every day for about two weeks. I’m please with how well it came in and only have a few patches I need to go back and fill.
    by
      • Recommended
      2 people found this helpful
      Applied at 2X coverage, see pics!
      I moved into a new construction house with a garbage lawn (1/2 acre) and am working on small sections at a time. The bag says this covers 4,000 square feet but that’s a lot of watering to keep up with every day for 3 weeks. My lawn was bad enough that I decided to apply the whole bag to just 2,000 square feet for double coverage. The pictures tell the story - taken exactly 3 weeks after application and watered 19 out of 21 days. I have another 2,000 square foot section I’m tackling next but I plan to mix additional seed with the THICK’R LAWN product to better fill the bald spots. I will also be applying an entire bag at double the rate (4,000 sq ft of product in a 2,000 sq ft area). I should also note that this was from June 18 - July 9, in Southern PA; not exactly the best time to grow grass but I kept up with the watering and it did well in spite of the heat.
      by
        • Recommended
        5 people found this helpful
        Really works
        Great lawn product. Really does the job. Will have everyone asking what you use.
        by
          • Recommended
          Awesome
          I used this after detaching lawn and over seeding. I was fortunate to have almost 2 weeks of staright rain. This product worked great on my lawn. I will definitely buy again. Word of advice...buy the big bag so you dont have to rebuy more
          by
            • Recommended
            I saw no results whatsoever. It’s been few weeks now. Very disappointed.
            I saw no results whatsoever. It’s been few weeks now. Very disappointed.
            by
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 2, 2021
            We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with Scotts Turf Builder THICK'R Lawn Sun and Shade. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
            • Verified Purchase
            1 person found this helpful
            This really worked!!!
            First seeded Mar 27 and made sure to dethatch bu raking and water 10 min 3 times a day for the first 2-3 weeks. Also later hand applied a lot to the bare areas and put some Scotts topsoil over the seed to keep them moist. Could see some growth by April 10 but maybe because it was a cool spring, I didn’t think it worked. But this pic is from May 12 and the difference is huge. I started with a lot of bare spots and thin (mostly weed) lawn and now it looks really green and awesome. And keeps getting thicker every day. It really works - just like it says: Thickr Lawn. But just have to do the work, watering and special treatment with topsoil for bare spots. But it will pay off!
            by
              • Recommended
              3 people found this helpful
              Beautiful results 1 year later
              Was skeptical this seed mix would revitalize a weed infested side yard but spending some time with feed and weed and then applying this mix it started off a bit worrisome as it didnt look as thick but now after the Winter its thriving! Will definitely buy more every year to reseed when needed.
              by
                • Recommended
                Great grass
                Great grass
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Disappointing Seeding Germinating Results
                Purchased 3 40lb bags of Thickr Lawn Fescue. The lawn was prepped by hand weeding the entire space, aerating, dethatching, raking up debris. Product was applied according to instructions and watered daily for over 2 weeks. Very minimal germination. I would say maybe 2 % of what I was expecting. All the areas inside the lawn where weeds had been removed was open soil perfect for this product to germinate and fill in. It did not work plain and simple. I have a patch in the backyard that was literally crusher dust (fine ground stone for patio) that some seed grew but as I stated it is minimal compared to 3 40lb bags of product. On a positive not the grass is green where it was established. I specifically use Scotts products all season. Start with Crabgrass preventer (bad results) Summerguard (not doing this next season) turf builder (good results) and the overseeding with Thickr Lawn (poor results). I also used Scotts EZ seed Sun and Shade earlier in the summer with zero germinating results. Just seems Scotts seed is not meant for Southern Maine climate. Tried some competitors product and while germination did take awhile it grew in and filled in spots on my lawn. I follow the instructions use Scotts Spreaders and Sprayers specifically but will need to look into other options. Disappointed in this outcome this season. Also had state soil test done so I know what to apply next year instead of just using the products big box stores say we need to dump on our lawns. Pictures taken a couple months after applying product. MaxGreen 27-0-2 Turfbuilder 32-0-4 Turf Builder Thick’R Lawn Tall Fescue 9-1-1 (not the numbers I like to see)
                by
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareApr 28, 2021
                sr1970, we're sorry to hear Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn didn't meet your expectations. This product is for use when overseeding an existing lawn and is not suitable for filling in bare spots. We want you to be confident when using our products; that's why we offer a product guarantee. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 for assistance with our product guarantee. Scotts
                  2 people found this helpful
                  Average Results, Poor Germination
                  Purchased 3 40lb bags of Thikr Lawn Fescue. The lawn was prepped by hand weeding the entire space, aerating, dethatching, raking up debris. Product was applied according to instructions and watered daily for over 2 weeks. Very minimal germination. I would say maybe 2 % of what I was expecting. All the areas inside the lawn where weeds had been removed was open soil perfect for this product to germinate and fill in. New seed development was poor, it did not work well at all, plain and simple. I have a patch in the backyard that was literally crusher dust (fine ground stone for patio) that some seed grew but as I stated it is minimal considering I used 3 40lb bags of product. On a positive not the grass is green where it was already established. I specifically use Scotts products all season. Start with Crabgrass preventer (bad results) summerguard (not doing this next season) turf builder (good results) and the overseeding with Thikr Lawn (poor results). I also used Scotts EZ seed Sun and Shade earlier in the summer with zero germinating results. Just seems Scotts seed is not meant for Southern Maine climate. Tried some competitors product and while germination did take awhile it grew in and filled in spots on my lawn. I follow the instructions use Scotts Spreaders and Sprayers specifically but will need to look into other options. Disappointed in this outcome this season. Also had state soil test done so I know what to apply next year instead of just using the products big box stores say we need to dump on our lawns.
                  by
                  Response from Consumer ServicesApr 27, 2021
                  S1970R, we're sorry to hear Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn didn't perform as expected. This product is intended for overseeding an existing lawn and is not suitable for repairing bare areas. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please reach out to us here: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
                    Worked just as advertised! I do think the prep work...
                    Worked just as advertised! I do think the prep work prior to seeding was a big factor in the end result!
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Thick R Lawn Tall Fescue
                    I applied Scott’s Thick R Lawn (Tall Fescue) and watered every other day!
                    by
                      My lawn has never looked better
                      After dethatching my lawn at the end of August, I threw down two 40# bags of Scotts Thick'R Lawn the next week on Sep 5th. Watered every day, we just entered a drought that week apparently, it did not rain for 6 weeks. I had never watered the lawn previously, having been at my current house for 2 years. Its relaxing to be out there diligently nursing the lawn to life. I also added a little extra seed for my front lawn to cover some larger bare spots. After two weeks or so I could see improvement. After 6 weeks spectacular. I wish I had a picture right after dethatching for comparison. If you want a good looking lawn it takes work, this helps make it easy. The grass is dark green and very full. I mow it pretty tall, mostly tall fescue. I never could see new seed sprouts, as my lawn was already established. But it clearly has improved. Neighbors give me all sorts of compliments for my yard.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        2 people found this helpful
                        Worked perfectly!!!!!
                        Short and to the point—— followed instructions to the T. Cut down to 2 inches, raked, roughed up dead spots and watered as instructed. After two weeks my lawn was thicker and greener
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          3 people found this helpful
                          very poor product, used last year did great, did this...
                          very poor product, used last year did great, did this year not so great, picture tells the truely,very displeased.
                          by
                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 10, 2020
                          Rock, we apologize for this experience with our Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Sun and Shade. We hope this experience has not caused you to lose faith in our product, as we use reviews like yours to maintain and improve the quality product that you and other consumers have come to know and love. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                          • Verified Purchase
                          5 people found this helpful
                          Started with a slug ridden front lawn and in one easy treatment, watering each day and 6 weeks la...
                          Started with a slug ridden front lawn and in one easy treatment, watering each day and 6 weeks later perfectly vibrant and full fresh green grass!! Extremely pleased with results!
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          3 people found this helpful
                          Great product
                          Our lawn was pathetic! Patches everywhere of dead grass, raked it up just as instructed to. We have sandy soil and between the animals digging up the lawn and so many different types of seed, we gave up. Saw this products and as a last resort, we gave it a try. It took approximately 3 weeks to see anything sprouting, but once it did, it was off and running. Wish I had a before photo because the results are amazing. The lawn is green, thick and beautiful! Thank you fiorthis product. It was worth every penny!
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            1 person found this helpful
                            very good made my grass greener and Thicker n better looking
                            very good made my grass greener and Thicker n better looking
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            1 person found this helpful
                            In my experience, it doesn't do anything. It supposed to have 3 ingredient 1-Seed, 2-Fertilizer, ...
                            In my experience, it doesn't do anything. It supposed to have 3 ingredient 1-Seed, 2-Fertilizer, 2-Soil Improver. But in my experience the seeds are not going to work to cover anything... Just wrong message! After 3 weeks of use and watering at least twice a day no visible improvement at all... no change on color or thickness on grass and still I have the bare spots. Do not waste your time or money and try other product...
                            by
                            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 23, 2020
                            Johni, we are sorry to hear of your experience with Scotts Turf Builder THICK'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix. When applying in the spring lawns should be actively growing (mowed at least 1-2 times) before expecting results. We want you to be confident in our products; therefore, we offer a product guarantee. To receive more details about this, please contact us at 877-220-3089. Please refer to this product review when calling in. Scotts
                            • Verified Purchase
                            4 people found this helpful
                            Grows super fast and super thick!!
                            Grows super fast and super thick!!
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            1 person found this helpful
                            This stuff is majic
                            We aerated and dethatched the yard and overseeded with this product.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              2 people found this helpful
                              Shocking Results
                              This is a product that I was catuious in purchasing. With mixed reviews I decided I would give it a shot. Prior to application the grass was cut low, I raked the area and aerated by hand using a garden tiller; so no machinery. The results are mind blowing in my opinion, beautiful thick green grass. Two reasons for only rating 4 stars; 1) the types of weeds that grew during this process were not there prior to application 2) there are still a few bare patches that nothing germinated in. I believe the patches filled in or appear to have filled in because of the fullness of the grass now. The date of application picture is May 4th and the results picture is June 11. I guess you can be the judge. Side note I did hand pull weeds prior to application and during the growth process. The grass was watered twice a day for 15 minutes
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                3 people found this helpful
                                Not just grass seed...
                                After spending two summers and this spring prepping this area for grass, I'm super disappointed to see that we will have to spend even more time now getting rid of whatever other plants grew with this mix. We spent countless hours pulling up ferns, itch weed, and many other plants after buying this home in 2018. This spring we shoveled more, tilled multiple times, sprayed round up, rake numerous times to ensure it was clear. We used two bags of this stuff and half of what is growing isn't grass. These plants were definitely not there before and it's thickness where the grass has grown so I can only assume that these bags were contaminated with other seeds. Such a waste of time and money.
                                by
                                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 16, 2020
                                Jocelyn, we apologize for this experience with our Scotts Turf Builder THICK'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix. The seed mix in this product was thoroughly cleaned and is 98.9% to 99.9% weed seed free. All native soil contains thousands of weed seeds. When the soil is disturbed, such as raking and tilling, weed seeds can be brought to the surface where growing conditions are better, allowing them to germinate. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                  2 people found this helpful
                                  Planted grass seed per instructions. Very disappointing results. At the same time, planted a co...
                                  Planted grass seed per instructions. Very disappointing results. At the same time, planted a competitor and the results were remarkably different. See photo attached. Would certainly like to get some sort of return or reimbusement for the grass seed purchased.
                                  by
                                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 13, 2020
                                  We are troubled to hear of the issues you encountered while using Scotts Turf Builder THICK'R Lawn Tall Fescue Mix. You should start seeing germination in 6-14 days under ideal growing conditions. It will take about a month for all the seed to germinate. We want you to be confident about our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  2 people found this helpful
                                  This stuff works great for my recent overseeding project. I...
                                  This stuff works great for my recent overseeding project. I will likely do this every year now. I would recommend to any that is looking for a thicker, greener lawn. I thactched and aerated first, but likely could have got away with only one of the two.
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  Highly recommend...
                                  Highly recommend
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  FABULOUS! This greener and thickened my lawn after applying using garden weasel in April to push...
                                  FABULOUS! This greener and thickened my lawn after applying using garden weasel in April to push the seed in beyond my wildest dreams!! Best lawn I have ever had... beats all my lawn care companies combined.
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  1 person found this helpful
                                  Great product does exactly what's advertised
                                  Even with having a fertilizing company landscaping company a grub control company my grass was always not as lush as it could be. It was always just good never great.I applied the application about a month-and-a-half ago back in early April. Now 6 weeks later. Lawn is nice and green more green than my neighbors and very lush and full.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    Made my lawn worse
                                    This makes your lawn thicker from the weeds. I should have left my lawn alone. Would have been in better shape.
                                    by
                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2020
                                    Nick, we're sorry to hear about your disappointment with our Scotts Turf Builder Thick'R Lawn Sun and Shade. Sometimes the preparation of the ground for seeding can turn over weed seeds in the ground and make them appear also. We recommend waiting until the lawn has been mowed at least 4 times then apply a selective weed control for the specific weeds you have. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                      1 person found this helpful
                                      Showing 1-30 of 2,536 reviews